Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Don't buy in a new estate

• 21-08-2021 6:46pm
    Registered Users Posts: 944 ✭✭✭

People buying 4 bed brand new homes in Cabinteely for €770k now face the prospect of 40% social housing in the estate as the council leases a good chunk of the estate for social housing .

Imagine trying to sell those in a few years now the cat is out of the bag. Be lucky to get €550k. Can only feel sorry for them.

It's a disgrace. And it's only going to get worse as the Department of Housing budget has been doubled.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,533 ✭✭✭Allinall

Why would they be selling in a few years?

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 67,600 Mod ✭✭✭✭L1011

Drop the political soapboxing or this thread is not going to last long. That ranges from your (anti) to the ranting about taxpayers.

There is absolutely nothing preventing your local council or an AHB buying houses in an established estate either.

• Registered Users Posts: 944 ✭✭✭Fred Cryton

That's not exactly true is it? Plenty prevents the council leasing 40% in an established estate, as most would be owner occupied.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 67,600 Mod ✭✭✭✭L1011

Time is the only thing that prevents it from happening quickly. In a functioning housing market a good 5-10% are likely to go on sale every year.

There is no guarantee, anywhere, that you are not going to have a social housing tenant beside you now or in the future - unless you also own all the properties around you. Which is unlikely.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,865 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

It's well for them, these social tenants in very decent areas all the same isn't it? No one can deny that. Compare and contrast to those who not only are paying through their taxes for them, but are also in many cases going to live next to those who did not have to sweat buckets, and beg steal and borrow to get the deposit and pay a hefty mortgage. The vast majority of purchasers feel the same. And the allocation of these properties to social housing in desirable areas lessens the pool available for those who wish to buy.

Whoever the mod is here can ban me if they want I don't care, I am totally fed up of this overypayment by councils for accommodation in purpose built properties in very good areas. I doubt I am alone, but sure look it, no one can complain about anything that affects them anymore.

Bye now in anticipation.

• Registered Users Posts: 17 pollymv1

Buy in Westmeath - no problem with social housing influx.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,871 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

And once the 1st troublesome tenant is moved in you'll soon see the owner occupiers selling up, it'll get to 40% then.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,378 ✭✭✭KevRossi

Yeah right. Athlone and especially Mullingar have problem estates. And I mean big problems in them. Just google it.

• Registered Users Posts: 691 ✭✭✭jmlad2020

• Registered Users Posts: 549 ✭✭✭jay1988

Should social housing tenants only live in bad areas? Have to love the snobs who think they should have any choice in who lives near them.

• Registered Users Posts: 411 ✭✭Enter name here

Social housing should be housed in what they contribute to society, in other words a tent in Phoenix Park. Seriously though yes social tenants should be housed together, don't want to live in social housing estates, then better yourself through work or education.

• Registered Users Posts: 549 ✭✭✭jay1988

You do understand that there is thousands upon thousands of working people in social housing don't you? So plenty of them contribute to society in many ways. Also (thankfully) people like you don't get to decide where others live, its actually **** all of anybodys business if their neighbours are in social housing or not.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 12,532 Mod ✭✭✭✭2011

Do you include nurses, treachers and garda in your list of people who don't want to "contribute to society"?

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,893 Mod ✭✭✭✭shesty

Mind you the real question there should be why the cost of a private house is out of the reach of said nurses, teachers and gardai.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,470 ✭✭✭Luxembourgo

Well paying lower rents or buying in less desirable areas would surely lead to more houses being built /bought /available.

Which in turn would lead to more people in social housing with a roof over their head, which is surely the whole point.

If those people are such snobs that they can't live in the same estate as social housing tenants, then I have no sympathy for them.

of course, most normal people don't think like that or like you OP.

If anyone is working they should not be subsidized with social housing, people should live where they can afford and not where they aspire to live. Half the reason the country has such a problem. Developers would be absolutely mad to build in this country, imagine being told you have to give 25% of your investment to the government for social housing. Why on gods earth would anyone buy in an estate with social housing, leads to higher insurance rates, exposure to criminal elements and anti social behaviour and over all substantially lowers the value of your own home. Want more houses built by developers in this country get rid of the mandatory social housing element and watch the industry boom. And for all the ensuing posts about snobs etc etc. You want to live in a socialist society move the Russia or China and see how you get on there.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,228 ✭✭✭The Mighty Quinn

Developers aren't GIVING the houses they build to local government. They're SELLING to them.

Lol

imagine thinking developers give anything away! Hilarious

• Registered Users Posts: 298 ✭✭Jmc25

This is the ultimate issue alright.

I grew up in a working class area with loads of social housing so I'm not a snob about it and I think the state should build more of it.

But I also do empathise with someone forking out 450k on a brand new house and then seeing half the street living there virtually for free.

And I can see why a couple earning around 60k are aggrieved at paying 1500 per month for a one bedroom apartment while people they went to school with who popped out three kids by the age of 21 get a three bed semi-detached house for a couple for a few hundred per month.

Social housing is a necessary and and effective policy within an overall functioning market. When the market is as broken as it is at the moment the perception will always be that social housing is in some way unfair, and in many cases that's actually a justified view to have.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,228 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

Yes

But the fact is the majority in social housing do not work.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,893 Mod ✭✭✭✭shesty

A younger sibling of mine was a first time buyer, she bought late last year.

After 10 months of looking she concluded that second hand was the way to go.This was in spite of the grant for first time buyers, but it was influenced by the fact that the Council and housing charities are buying chunks of houses in the many new estates being built where she was looking.She just didn't want to fork out 400k only to be looking at someone across the street paying a nominal sum, or nothing.

Now....she was financially in a position to be able to make that choice.Others may not be.But I think it does have a bearing on the decision for more people than we realise.

The developers are forced to sell to local government at what they deem fair market value not actual market value (learn the difference then comment). Secondly in an affluent area how the hell is a developer supposed to sell the remaining 75% of his development at market value when that news eventually surfaces. Hence why developers are staying away in droves.

• Registered Users Posts: 944 ✭✭✭Fred Cryton

Yep, this is a huge problem. Councils should be banned from buying or leasing beyond the 10% Part V. That is the right thing to do, but no votes or virtue-signalling possible in that.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,470 ✭✭✭Luxembourgo

No don't you know social housing is the only housing that matters.

All other people must pay high rents while paying tax for the government to piss up a wall while being ignored by the opposition

• Registered Users Posts: 216 ✭✭ohnohedidnt

I live in an estate with social housing. The estate was built in stages, and a lot of the social housing seem to be grouped together, I don't live near any, but if you drove around our estate, I wouldn't have to tell you where the social housing is concentrated, its obvious. The houses aren't looked after all, that may be because they can't afford it, or because they don't have as much pride in it because they didn't have to work as hard for it. But if you work your ass off to buy a house and are surround by people who don't care about theirs, then it affects the value of your house, so not only do your taxes end up subsidizing houses for other people, the value of your own drops at the same time. I wouldn't call that snobbery, it's just a natural reaction to being shafted.

And I'm sure your going to say not all people in social housing will neglect their house, which of course it true, but a much higher percentage will than people who have paid for the house themselves. There's plenty in social housing and nobody even knows it's social housing, they're not the people anybody has a problem with.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,453 ✭✭✭Charles Babbage

I think there has been a general problem here. A lot of policy has been focussed on getting this type of cut price slice from developers, part V and so on. But apart from the issues the OP has, if you force the developer to sell x% of the houses cheaply then you cause him to charge more for the rest, essientially putting thr burdern of social houing provision on those who buy new houses, who are themselves in need of housing and sometimes not that much better off than those in the social housing. If there is to be social housing then ithe cost of it should fall on all people, not just new house buyers.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,160 ✭✭✭KaneToad

The cost of a private house is not out of reach of nurses, teachers & gardai. A single person, in those professions, will find it difficult to get a house but an apt will be within their grasp.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,505 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

very few nurses or guards live in social housing , a guard and nurse couple would be on a combined income of 100 k

social housing should not be in private estates but social housing estates should not be left ignored by government , most people in social housing estates are decent people , the trouble is that the delinquent tenants are allowed do what they like , thats both a policing and local authority issue , the hard left Politicians and ideologues who feature so prominently in the media oppose dealing with these people which hurts the decent majority in those areas