Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The 2021 All Ireland Senior Football Championship

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,633 ✭✭✭JeffKenna

Did you watch the match on sky sports? They pulled no punches about his calls. Should have been 3 red cards for Dublin.

Do I have to call out Lee Keegan being called names a couple of years back when I wasn’t here? If I haven’t commented on that am I not allowed on this?

Anyone that called Keegan scum or a knacker is a clown. There you go. Now can I have a go at imbeciles calling people knackers? My post on it I did say Dublin or any other players for that matter.

At the end of the day they’re all amateurs. No need for the personal stuff. Said the same earlier when people were questioning what the Tyrone players were upto in their spare time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,633 ✭✭✭JeffKenna

He looked at the player, judged the tackle and went for it. Go back and look at it. He knew that was in no way a shoulder to shoulder. He had him lined up and knew exactly what he was doing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,567 ✭✭✭dobman88

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,770 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

no, to be honest I rarely watch Gaa on sky, is it any wonder with that guff. 🙂

Lane gives the cards as the rules dictate, it’s not Dublin finishing down a couple or three players...

when you have ex Mayo players criticizing him....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,785 ✭✭✭The Golden Miller

Dublins loss today was twofold. Many of their players instilled with playing a certain way, now what they know is meddled with by new management tactics. They are between trying to do different things at different points of the game, all over the place really. Their direction, control and game management is out the window. Will only deteriorate further.

Secondly they won 7 cheap All-Irelands. Money and a push was given to them from vested interests to make GAA popular in the capital. By the time we realised what happened or its consequences, we were in the 2010s. Teams now have implemented more professional set ups but were a generation behind, 10 years or so. Now we're seeing the teams match Dublin on a more professional level.

Before teams tired with 15 to go, now they can go 70+ no problem. Hopefully this is the end of Dublins free ride. Pound for pound never seen them as the best, in the sense were the best when all else was level, like most of the successful Kerry teams, or KK and Cork in hurling throughout history. I'd be surprised if they don't regress further under this management, fully expect Meath to do them in Leinster next year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,429 ✭✭✭jammiedodgers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭theguzman

The celebrations here in Killarney were a sight to behold, there is talk of an immediate 3 in a row at the minimum. Dublin cheated and bought and paid their way to infamy, a disgrace they were to our amateur sport, 6 in a row produced on over €100m of funding, this is not cheating; it is outright corruption with bribery at its core. It matters not for Kerry as Kerry are the Kingdom and the rightful old order will be restored in a few short weeks. Dublin should be retrospectively stripped of their financially doped titles.

Today was not just a win for Mayo, it was win for our sport for fairness and for the amateur game, even if Mayo beats Kerry it is a victory for us all, a victory for the dreams and joy that Croke Park days like that bring, the dark cloud of corruption banished and cast out.

Mayo were easily the best team for 55 minutes, just as Meath made a show of them for 35 minutes. Infact Meath were better than Mayo today, exposed far more holes with ease, were just that too far behind and missed a few at the end.

Dublin aren't even the team they were in the league earlier in the year, and were played off the field by Kerry. Goals against the run of play kept them in it, Kerry far the superior football team. Kerry would have battered them this time around imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,134 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

Donegal get criticised for playing Michael Murphy deeper than full-forward, but by christ Dublin really made a balls of Con today.

He was the furthest man back for that O'Shea mark that he hit the post with, and was completely ineffective in the withdrawn role. Going through the motions. Kept scoreless vs. Wexford too.

It seems Dublin were more fearful of losing than willing to attack when six points up. Anti-football.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭Euphoriasean

It's just pure nonsense. Some lazy, mistimed or frustrated tackles. Even as a Mayo supporter I wouldn't call any of them dirty. Seen the same from our lads and every other team in the country on numerous occasions. Basque wasn't a black for me but Lane prob could have dished out a couple in normal time.

That Dublin team doesn't owe anything. What they have done over the last number of years will never been eclipsed. I expect it to be a very brief transition period and we could be in for heck of a championship over the couple of years.

I think you need to go back to school find out what bribery and corruption actually is ;)

the best most talented football team in history.... the results have proven. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,048 ✭✭✭Bunny Colvin

As a Mayo supporter what do you say. We had some battles with Dublin the last decade. I was there when we beat them in the semi final in 2012 and was present every single time they beat us since - not to mention league games.

It was always sore because there was never really much in it. Between losing by a point, replays, own goals and everything else.

Dublin supporters were always generally sound when you'd meet them after the game but when we lost the final to a point in 2017, I met one Dublin supporter who was saying they played in second gear all day and all that craic. It just rubbed me the wrong way as I felt we died on our sword that day and there was nothing in it. Anyways to that Dublin supporter, get it up you. As Colum O'Rourke, every empire crumbles.

I'll be honest and say I'm glad Dublin's possession game was foiled and we were the ones to do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 264 ✭✭Trey13

I’m seeing a lot of criticism of the ref over Small’s challenge. I agree it should be a red card but I don’t see how the referee was able to call it. I was sitting in the front rows of the Hogan and in real time it looked like a clean hit, shoulder to shoulder. I wouldn’t expect the referee to have seen the shoulder to head impact. It wasn’t until someone had sent me a whatsapp of the challenge in slow motion, that I could see it was a red. Is it time for a television match official? The abuse of the referee over the particular decision is over the top.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,079 ✭✭✭Barlett

Mayo didn't always lose because of circumstances or "everything else", they lost as they simply don't have the backbone, belief and will to see a final out. Had this been the final today, they would have lost.

Dublin have regressed, made Mayo seem better than they are. Dublin have regressed to the level of the chasing pack, Kerry haven't. Kerry will beat Mayo out the gate, and if Mayo are somehow still in it, won't have the bottle to see it out

"Bottle"

If ever there was a stupid term I'd love to see disappear.

Nerve then. Had a Meath team of old been in some of the positions Mayo had been in finals in recent years, would have probably won every one of them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭Euphoriasean

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,197 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

Kerry will win the Final by 7-8+

Slava Ukrainii

It depends...hopefully they’ll provide a footballing lesson and hopefully for the good of the game, spectacle, competition and fairness as well as the entertainment factor.. you know.. ‘football’ they’ll be of the ability to do it fair and square with a referee that enforces the rules of Gaelic football as opposed to rugby / WWE... like Lane today.

id say the officials earmarked to officiate the final will be watching today thinking “ I’ll be fûcked if I’m going to allow that shîte that Mayo were up to and got away with, not having that on my CV”...

Mayo winning would be bad for the sport basically. Kids across the country seeing that carry on elevated as a pathway to championship glory ? Nope, let’s back football and footballers... skill sets, entertainment and sporting endeavor over Mayo. :) Kerry all the way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,160 ✭✭✭✭Flinty997

Agreed.

Hard to see from a distance. But I think there should be some means to penalize a club for that type of calculated tackle after a game.

Otherwise its worth the risk of doing it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,079 ✭✭✭Barlett

Jaysus what a load of nonsense...you're talking about a team that's gone 20 years...stop living in the past.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,262 ✭✭✭RoyalCelt

I've never once shouldered a player above the shoulder and I must have done hundreds of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,262 ✭✭✭RoyalCelt

With the way the population and resources are shifting to Dublin I'd be very surprised if they don't do a 7 in a row in my lifetime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,163 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

Just on the "standard battering" thing.

Since Mayo bounce back on the scenes with a QF final win v defending champions Cork in 2011 they have played Kerry 5 times in Croke Park.

Kerry won the first meeting in the 2011 SF and since then Kerry have the following record in championship and league (a final) v Mayo in Croke Park.

W 0

D 2

L 2

Kerry beat a Mayo team depleted by injury in a QF group match in Killarney in 2019, but other than that I'm really struggling to see where the "standard battering" is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,743 ✭✭✭threeball

There were 3 red card offences and 5 blacks committed by Dublin last night and he missed them all bar two, one of which was pointed out to him by deegan. Its hardly a performance worthy of praise. Not a first fir lane either. He isn't even junior b standard.

Some posters were getting hysterical last year that Dublin would easily win 20 in a row. I tried to convince them that our dominance was coming to an end but they wouldn’t have it. The reality is that the Dubs have lost Gavin, Cluxton, Connolly, Brogans, McCaffrey, Mannion etc. We were never going to win 20 in a row. It might even take a couple of years of transition for us now.

However, I think it’s a good thing for the game in general including Dublin. I never WANT to see Dublin lose but winning lots in a row eventually becomes less enjoyable. In sport you need to taste defeat to fully appreciate victory.

This morning I have a fire in my belly that I haven’t honestly felt for some time. I want to see Dublin win again.

But for now, I hope Mayo go on to win because they are the one team who have been a real thorn in our side over the last decade and they deserve it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,255 ✭✭✭C__MC

They looked even buried on the hour mark. To me the game changed on basquel missing the goal chance after the hit and o Connor keeping the ball in for Kevin Mc Loughlin to score. Mayo grew in confidence after that. It was still 13 11 to dublin on 73 mins, Evan Comferord who was excellent was caught for over carrying and then Davy Byrne ran the ball over the line. Dublin needed to trust their kicking game on those occasions, really schoolboy stuff for that to happen. Mayo definitely deserved it I thought dublin should have seen it out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,017 ✭✭✭jackboy

Dublin were playing the clock down after 10 minutes in the first half. This is why they just had a 6 point lead at half time. If the went for the jugular in the first half it would have been an easy win.

The dreadful Leinster championship did them no favours.