2006 is a long time ago now man .
I’m seeing a lot of criticism of the ref over Small’s challenge. I agree it should be a red card but I don’t see how the referee was able to call it. I was sitting in the front rows of the Hogan and in real time it looked like a clean hit, shoulder to shoulder. I wouldn’t expect the referee to have seen the shoulder to head impact. It wasn’t until someone had sent me a whatsapp of the challenge in slow motion, that I could see it was a red. Is it time for a television match official? The abuse of the referee over the particular decision is over the top.
As a Mayo supporter what do you say. We had some battles with Dublin the last decade. I was there when we beat them in the semi final in 2012 and was present every single time they beat us since - not to mention league games.
It was always sore because there was never really much in it. Between losing by a point, replays, own goals and everything else.
Dublin supporters were always generally sound when you'd meet them after the game but when we lost the final to a point in 2017, I met one Dublin supporter who was saying they played in second gear all day and all that craic. It just rubbed me the wrong way as I felt we died on our sword that day and there was nothing in it. Anyways to that Dublin supporter, get it up you. As Colum O'Rourke, every empire crumbles.
I'll be honest and say I'm glad Dublin's possession game was foiled and we were the ones to do it.
I think you need to go back to school find out what bribery and corruption actually is ;)
the best most talented football team in history.... the results have proven. ;)
It's just pure nonsense. Some lazy, mistimed or frustrated tackles. Even as a Mayo supporter I wouldn't call any of them dirty. Seen the same from our lads and every other team in the country on numerous occasions. Basque wasn't a black for me but Lane prob could have dished out a couple in normal time.
That Dublin team doesn't owe anything. What they have done over the last number of years will never been eclipsed. I expect it to be a very brief transition period and we could be in for heck of a championship over the couple of years.
Donegal get criticised for playing Michael Murphy deeper than full-forward, but by christ Dublin really made a balls of Con today.
He was the furthest man back for that O'Shea mark that he hit the post with, and was completely ineffective in the withdrawn role. Going through the motions. Kept scoreless vs. Wexford too.
It seems Dublin were more fearful of losing than willing to attack when six points up. Anti-football.
Mayo were easily the best team for 55 minutes, just as Meath made a show of them for 35 minutes. Infact Meath were better than Mayo today, exposed far more holes with ease, were just that too far behind and missed a few at the end.
Dublin aren't even the team they were in the league earlier in the year, and were played off the field by Kerry. Goals against the run of play kept them in it, Kerry far the superior football team. Kerry would have battered them this time around imo
The celebrations here in Killarney were a sight to behold, there is talk of an immediate 3 in a row at the minimum. Dublin cheated and bought and paid their way to infamy, a disgrace they were to our amateur sport, 6 in a row produced on over €100m of funding, this is not cheating; it is outright corruption with bribery at its core. It matters not for Kerry as Kerry are the Kingdom and the rightful old order will be restored in a few short weeks. Dublin should be retrospectively stripped of their financially doped titles.
Today was not just a win for Mayo, it was win for our sport for fairness and for the amateur game, even if Mayo beats Kerry it is a victory for us all, a victory for the dreams and joy that Croke Park days like that bring, the dark cloud of corruption banished and cast out.
Conor Lane is modding the thread
Dublins loss today was twofold. Many of their players instilled with playing a certain way, now what they know is meddled with by new management tactics. They are between trying to do different things at different points of the game, all over the place really. Their direction, control and game management is out the window. Will only deteriorate further.
Secondly they won 7 cheap All-Irelands. Money and a push was given to them from vested interests to make GAA popular in the capital. By the time we realised what happened or its consequences, we were in the 2010s. Teams now have implemented more professional set ups but were a generation behind, 10 years or so. Now we're seeing the teams match Dublin on a more professional level.
Before teams tired with 15 to go, now they can go 70+ no problem. Hopefully this is the end of Dublins free ride. Pound for pound never seen them as the best, in the sense were the best when all else was level, like most of the successful Kerry teams, or KK and Cork in hurling throughout history. I'd be surprised if they don't regress further under this management, fully expect Meath to do them in Leinster next year
no, to be honest I rarely watch Gaa on sky, is it any wonder with that guff. 🙂
Lane gives the cards as the rules dictate, it’s not Dublin finishing down a couple or three players...
when you have ex Mayo players criticizing him....
No
He looked at the player, judged the tackle and went for it. Go back and look at it. He knew that was in no way a shoulder to shoulder. He had him lined up and knew exactly what he was doing.
Do I have to call out Lee Keegan being called names a couple of years back when I wasn’t here? If I haven’t commented on that am I not allowed on this?
Anyone that called Keegan scum or a knacker is a clown. There you go. Now can I have a go at imbeciles calling people knackers? My post on it I did say Dublin or any other players for that matter.
At the end of the day they’re all amateurs. No need for the personal stuff. Said the same earlier when people were questioning what the Tyrone players were upto in their spare time.
Did you watch the match on sky sports? They pulled no punches about his calls. Should have been 3 red cards for Dublin.
Ah come on. You know he tried to put him hospital, do you?
Have you never attempted to shoulder someone or been shouldered yourself? What are trying to do? Tell the opposition player you’re a nice guy and you love them? Shoulders are meant to leave it in on someone. Now of course, they go wrong, regularly too. Split second turn or sudden movement and you accidentally catch someone in the face or neck or chest.
It’s awful that the poor lad had ended up in hospital and hopefully he hasn’t been badly injured. Unfortunately players have ended up in hospital before and the worst injuries don’t come from the worst tackles. There’s serious hyperbole going on in here. There was tackles and stuff that weren’t pretty today from all involved, that’s football these days.
Ah, so it's only bad form when someone says something bad about a Dublin player. Ok so.
My admiration for the Dubs players is well documented across this forum but yeah, you're playing the victim. Either call it all out or none of it. Dont just pick and choose what abuse is ok and what isnt like you've just done.
Playing the victim? Jaysus. There’s a difference between calling teams play thuggery (even though he’s wrong) and calling an individual a knacker or a scumbag.
If the only defence to that is “A dub said bad things about someone else” then that’s not a great spot to be in.
You have a respected ex Mayo inter-county player in the last 5 hours...
“Conor lane is the worst official in this country.”
The Dublin players used opportunities to put their opponents in hospital. If they did not use that opportunity their opponent would not be in hospital.
Bring back Dublin Joe! I hope you kicked off early on the beer coming out with that- it may excuse it!
Every year since 2015 we had the usual merry-go-round of who were the team most likely to beat Dublin.
In any given season it usually started with Kerry, then became Donegal, then switched to Tyrone, then Galway the odd time, then back to Kerry, then Mayo and so on and so forth.
Well it was Mayo in the end, so that puts that to bed for a while.
You're not here long enough to remember the abuse Lee Keegan got in here for his GPS incident. Was called every name under the sun by Dubs fans. It happens, I dont agree with it but that's what the mods are supposed to deal with.
Even as I responded to your post, a Dublin poster above has referred to the Mayo team as "thuggery" so maybe ease up on playing the victim.
Mayo needed extra time, thuggery and 90 plus minutes of an incompetent refereeing performance the likes of which I dont think I’ve ever seen at this stage of an All Ireland Championship... Dublin vs Kerry, all hypothetical but would have been a close and entertaining football spectacle with whomever winning doing so by virtue of 70 plus minutes of football as opposed to the nonsense we saw and no doubt will see again in the final from Mayo....
Hope to fûck the referee has his head tilted to the TV watching that today and while will be impartial will be determined not to pull a ‘Lane’ on it...and be mindful of the Mayo anti football that was part catalyst to their victory today.
I wonder can people criticise Dublin players (and any for that matter) without calling them thugs, scumbags or knackers?
It shows more about the person using them terms than it does the players it’s aimed at.
David Moran is past it. He lost the All Ireland after the 55th minute in the drawn 2019 game by giving a succession of turnovers. Alright looking good v Cork. His legs are gone if ran at. Paul Geaney isn't that much to be feared either. Seanie Sé, the Cliffords are the main men. Midfield advantage could swing it for Mayo.
As I said earlier in the year, Mayo would be doing Dublin a favour to save them from the mauling Kerry would of given them. They can also then say Kerry won a cheap All-Ireland.
But now it will be back to Mayo getting their standard battering off Kerry in a final
It's not worth entertaining him. Mods are asleep at the wheel letting his shite continue.
They were are a great team, not anymore.
Let themseleves down imo
Good to know that you think neck high challenges, forearms, cheap shots and off the ball stuff is not classy because you normally have a blind spot when it comes to Dublin