Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XXXV-956,720 ROI (5,952 deaths) 452,946 NI (3,002 deaths) (08/01) Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,038 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

No.. that should read well ahead of us in infections and death .

23,000 in a 60k capacity stadium. 38%. Not bad. And not a “test event”. In Germany you do not have to wear a mask while seated, as opposed to Ireland where I had to wear a mask while seated as part of an 6,000 crowd in a 50,000 capacity stadium. I note you didn’t mention the Brentford crowd because that was a 100% capacity. For someone happy to give out about facts, your own ones are made up to suit your agenda too.

We are still limited to a couple of hundred at events unless they’re a magical test event. And have to wear a mask even when no one is seated near you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 999 ✭✭✭Stormyteacup

Surely it has to do with percentage PCR carried out versus percentage antigen.

I can’t find any breakdown as ECDC data seems to be compiled as totals - combined PCR and antigen.

Consider hypothetically testing 1,000 people with PCR only and positively rate is 5% - were you to have tested same 1,000 with antigen instead, rate would be lower (won’t estimate by how much, there are too many factors, such as frequency, situation, skilled/unskilled application of test, etc.).

So some countries in Europe with a lower percentage of population vaccinated compared to Ireland, have a lower positivity rate in part by virtue of employing antigen testing in certain circumstances. Other factors, such as stage of wave, level of restrictions, of course to be considered too - but antigen testing has a large impact on positive case reports.

I didn't mention Brentford because the UK has dispensed with all restrictions as we all know . No agenda just a fact .

Bundesliga was in correctly stated as full , and they do still have restrictions , if no masks .

I agree at this stage and have said as much before this , our capacity numbers at outdoor events are nonsensical and need urgent review and seem to based on vaccination levels a month behind what we actually are at now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,776 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

Most older people have vaccine, but 100's of old people die every day, and many will have covid, are they getting counted as covid deaths?

Historically, yes. Now, perfectly manageable. Stop looking at the past

Back from the States now and certainly going to be spending most of my time in the UK, until Ireland moves substantially further on with its reopening.

I actually don't see them ever going. They are extremely popular (quick read, but make it very quick, of that mask thread will confirm that) and one sees huge numbers of people wearing them outside. Ireland is obsessed with those things. England was pretty bad for a while with signs everywhere and non-stop mask announcements (at least in London, but I know that capital cities tend to be different from the rest of a country), but they're optional there now.

That's terrible. This safetyism stuff is a nightmare.

I agree with you that they are very uncomfortable. But it's more that if you read through that mask thread the psychological and dystopian effect of masks is never mentioned. I don't understand how a person could like looking at half a person's face 24/7. Even acknowledging that it's rather dystopian wouldn't mean that a person is against them. But I guess the fear is that if you criticise them in any way it means you're against them. And that's not permitted in the mask thread.

Masks are horrible. They are also a relatively easy measure to help reduce transmission in locations where distancing is difficult to maintain. Making it universal indoors is about being able to enable businesses to enforce it. Having different rules based on size of premises, no of people etc would be impossible to enforce.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,439 ✭✭✭Cork2021

Again this is a horror show when it comes to reporting on who is in icu and our hospitals.. what age are they? Underlying conditions, fully or partially vaccinated? How many outbreaks is there? The 8 admissions to ICU yesterday is extremely high… hardly saw that during the third wave, then we get Ronan Glynn coming out saying it’s concerning. Every day you look at geohive or the covid app, you see that there’s hospital acquired infections everyday!! Now if this spreading to ICU, NPHET and the HSE can fûck right off!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,439 ✭✭✭Cork2021

Masks, masks, masks!!! The horrible fuçking things! I’m absolutely sick of people saying it’s grand, just throw it on for the 10/20 mins I’m in the shop and it’s off. How about the people that have to wear them for 10 hours a day everyday and even then on their day off have to wear them going food shopping etc! Some people live in cloud cuckoo land! I change my masks constantly my skin has gone to shite! I’ve been off the last few weeks and the difference is huge! Much better!

We’ve been told to start living our normal lives once fully vaccinated but well that ain’t going to happen if people think masks need to continue! If personal responsibility isn’t allowed then we are truly never going back to any way near our normal of 2019!!

They're no longer required in shops, restaurants and pubs (if the government allows you to enter them that is), banks, public transport etc?

Says the doom mongers. Mask will definitely be gone except among those who choose to wear them by spring, and hopefully earlier

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,671 ✭✭✭ceadaoin.

Unless the masks are n95 or similar, they don't do anything. Do people actually still think a couple of layers of paper or cloth (which, let's be honest, most people wear, and poorly at that) stop airborne particles? They don't.

I have no problem wearing a mask. But if I am in a place where I am actually concerned about possible infection, like a doctors office or crowded place, I don't wear my **** surgical mask from amazon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,671 ✭✭✭ceadaoin.

Yeah but those masks don't even "help" reduce anything. Its hygiene theatre and that's it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,798 ✭✭✭✭josip

Most of them have decamped to Mediterranean and other seaside resorts since mid July so there are fewer of them at home to spread it.

Given how dark red those coastal resorts have been for the past few weeks, we can expect Germany to at least go orange over the 2nd half of August.

Also, Germans are better than most at following rules, which is quite a useful trait in a pandemic.

Something that we, and many other countries, haven't fully figured out yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,043 ✭✭✭Polar101

It's always the same rhetoric.

"We should do exactly as that country, because they don't have restrictions on X"

but when they do have restrictions, it's "I don't care what other countries do, we live in Ireland".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,464 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

Do you have a source that most of the 83 million Germans have moved to the Mediterranean and other resorts since mid July? I ask because I have a feeling you might be exaggerating a little bit.

No source needed, saw it first hand myself passing through. Counted 22,105,489 in South of France, Italy and Croatia.

Extrapolating a bit, based on not having surveyed everywhere, I come to a figure of 47,973,220 Germans at the seaside this summer; gut ja?

Very few in Greece mind you, but their places were taken by Austrian, Hungarian and loads of Romanians this year for some reason.

Fewer Bulgars, must all be holidaying on the Black Sea.

I find it puzzling when people suggest that the Irish haven't followed rules. I can only speak from my own experience, but I've been to several countries in the past year and it was definitely in Ireland that I saw the most compliance with the rules, regardless of how bizarre they were. In Germany the Querdenken movement has been protesting non-stop since March 2020, in huge numbers. In Ireland a few hundred people have protested on a couple of occasions since March 2020. Even vaccine passports caused barely a whimper in Ireland. So you have potentially millions (the Querdenken movement is growing) not following the rules in Germany, and perhaps a handful in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,893 ✭✭✭the kelt

I think you will find the opposite.

for example we really need to look at the uk and Scotland in particular when assessing opening up, Scotland quoted numerous times, Micheal Martin even quoting them. All the same rhetoric, let the UK open up, see how they get on then we will know more.

Then when they do open up and cases drop for example it’s a case of, well that’s the uk, they are a basket case, really shouldn’t be looking at them.

Israel is the new go to country with talk of boosters etc for the ever fearful on here.

Same cowardly rhetoric, we should follow, not lead, then when even following looks like it might be ok “hmm I’m not sure, I mean do we want to be like them, emm, oh look at that other random country over there being cautious, let’s follow them”

And the simpletons lap it up.

We no longer look at other countries and their experiences and data to find a path forward, instead we cherry pick whatever we can to justify the path we are on.

If a German is annoyed with you they will tell you to your face. If an Irish person is annoyed with you, you probably won't know about it.

Same with protesting and rule breaking. Most Irish people don't bother protesting or don't want to be seen protesting but many in private won't adhere to the rules. During the lockdowns, lots of families in our estate continued to have friends over. Our local beach had groups of 50-100 teenagers hanging out there most evenings. The guards made a token effort to disperse/catch/whatever them one evening and it was Keystone Kops stuff. The kids had lookouts and vamoosed at another exit. In fairness, the guards hearts' probably weren't in it anyway. I wondered at the time if Polizei/Policija/Polisen would have been as relaxed in their enforcement.

In what seems to be their weekly op-Ed in the Indo at this stage, interesting to note that ISAG seem to think NPHET have given up.

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/expert-warns-next-month-too-soon-for-return-to-offices-withoutproper-plan-40750311.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,973 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

You would have to assume so, remember, Ireland measures deaths "with" covid, and hides the numbers of deaths "from" covid.

Which just makes the current low death rate even more suspect. But remember, this is still an emergency.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,732 ✭✭✭DebDynamite

Yeah, it’s funny... Remember a few years ago when the burka debate was happening and you had people saying stuff like ‘in our culture we show our faces, that’s how we convey emotion and communicate’, or ‘when you live here you abide by our social norms...’

It’s hard to believe now that was said about the few small minority of women who would be wearing them. I think a lot of people now have become comfortable with the masks. You don’t have to make an effort and wear make up now popping to the shops, they can hide a spot or a coldsore, or you can hide from people whom you don’t want to see you.

It’s quite sad really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,776 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

Lately it seems that old people are swimming in the Cocoon Pool, that none of them die. Of the deaths reported in say last month due to covid, what was the ages of them/?

Pity isag wouldn’t give up but chance would be a fine thing