If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Katherine Zappone Envoy Gig

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76,691 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,882 ✭✭✭✭markodaly

Cosgrave is Gemma O'Doherty with an iPhone and Ralph Lauren jacket. The man always seems to be in and out of court for people he messed around with or the lies he has told.

How anyone takes anything he says seriously is beyond me, while at the same time complaining about guidelines and protocols about a few people outdoors having a sandwich.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 481 ✭✭mariab21

A 2-second Goggle will reveal 4 times he has been to court. It is probably a lot more if you dig deeper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,211 ✭✭✭✭Suckit

As long as he keeps getting the ammo, he'll keep going.

Bungling Leo doesn't have any chances left, (if he survives this one), so nothing to worry about really. Unless you think Leo is incapable of suppressing his buffoonery arrogance until the end of his term. I personally, doubt it. But then again, I'm not convinced in the slightest that this latest example is over. The early defenders/defence made it a lot worse.

The ammo? The man is obsessed, like many here about Leo and FG. He will grab onto anything, real or not to have a plug. Even if it's 4 'dead' nurses.

People are going on about this being the end of Leo..... they don't live in reality. Apart from a few people on Twitter, no one is talking about this story. It's called the silly season for a reason.

So... 'people' aren't going on about it being the end of Leo?

I don't care about the online buzz for this incident enough to look into who is saying what about him, but I'm fairly confident that Leo won't make it to the next Taoiseach. Not because of this story, but including it, and his next gaffe, or the one after that.

I'm not on twitter so can't comment on that.

But if you're trying to deflect with this 4 nurses story, that's pretty pathetic. I mean, as far as non stories go, that's below the crap people don't even care about scraping off their shoes. At least have a decent deflection, or say nothing at all. The 'next leader' of our country, and the current Tanaiste, who agreed last year that all involved at golfgate should be properly disciplined, is now doing a u-turn because he was guilty of the same thing. This story coupled with his criminal investigation runs the very real risk of snowballing, especially if any more information comes out, in particular about himself.

So yes, Paddy has plenty of ammo supplied to him by Leo, and there are plenty of people talking about it - you might want to pick up a newspaper or tune a knob on your radio player to find out more, but it is definitely not exclusive to twitter or social media. Not that it matters what your opinion is (or mine) to where it is being mentioned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,514 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

In the last 2 or 3 days, yeah, it is actually exclusive to twitter and other social media. Fully.

The Indo have a story tonight that a "senior politician" is under investigation by a specialist unit in AGS for allegations of serious sexual assault. Fresh blood in the water boys and girls, the Merrion Hotel event is already wrapping fish suppers.

A number of things.... each time Leo does something we have an army of Twitter trolls come out and proudly and confidently proclaim that this is going to be the end of him. It hasn't happened yet, nor will I think it will happen.

It will happen again over the most trivial thing, and again and again... and before you know it, it will be December 2022 and Leo will be sitting there with the seal of office from Michael D. With Leo, its all personal. Note that rarely anyone challenges him on policy. Very very telling.

The issue about the nurses is not a deflection. It is a fact.

It is a fact that Paddy Cosgrave tweeted out fake news, in order to try and get on over Leo and the Government.

It is a fact he used 'dead' nurses in order to do this.

This article gives a good rundown on the lies told by Paddy Cosgrave about the dead nurses. Even when the HSE publicly commented on the fact that no nurses had died from Covid, Paddy still tries his best to try and win the argument by challenging them.

https://www.thejournal.ie/four-nurses-paddy-cosgrave-covid-19-twitter-timeline-5155876-Aug2020/

In the end, he had to hold up his hands and apologise to both the HSE and the INMO for the fact they pushed out fake news and misinformation. 2 months late, but still, better late than never.

You would think he learned to take some time out from his phone, but he is a classic narcissist.

Lastly, to compare golf gate and the Merion gathering as 'the same thing' is both factually untrue and legally untrue. People who state this as fact, are only letting themselves down to the truth of the matter and have an obvious agenda at play.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,760 ✭✭✭dudley72

The problem is he is making up the ammo and then getting caught out. He has been caught out a number of times telling lies, sometimes he apologies and most of then time he just moves onto the next lie.

I agree but it’s not an army. It’s a small number of people across all platform, normally with multiple accounts.

People are saying that each event will be the end of him because ordinarily it would be the end of him.

It's not the 'end' because of the uniqueness of the current merger of the power swap to cling to power. Neither FG nor FF want to let go, because they both know what is likely to happen if the merger collapses.

Simple as that really.

Having a sandwich outdoors in a hotel is not a resigning offense. Never has been, never will be.

One wonders why those we know that were there apologised for 'losing the run of themselves' for having a sarny.

The defence not quite cutting the mustard there Mark. Excuse the sandwichy pun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 345 ✭✭orecir

Hopefully some big revelations being saved for this Sundays papers.

The way FG have gone to ground is very sinister. Not a normal party.

Post edited by orecir on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,324 ✭✭✭Shebean

Nothing trivial in being under criminal investigation, leaking confidential government document to a friend, pushing a crony made up appointment, however you might try.

The merrion has many similarities with the clifden event. A key difference of major interest is the AG making the unprecedented move of coming out to explain regulation to save Varadkar's skin, making it worse IMO.

running to the attorney general to change guidelines for political ease during a pandemic should be though imo

The chap is openly corrupt,has near weekly fcuk ups at this stage....its has to watch the.so called law and order party go down this path,and the party of business effecrively tell the hospitatality sector to go fcuk and they all stupid.....the effort fg have gone to,to alienate their tradional base,to defend varadkar is heroic,but ultimately a waste of time long term

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,167 ✭✭✭✭Dempo1

Those horrible inconsiderate members of the PAC have just ruined what a quite day for Coveney, Varadkar and Zappone.

Finally we might just get some answers.

Is maith an scáthán súil charad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

Squeaky bums Dempo, squeaky bums.....

I see Marc MacSharry is throwing shapes now basically saying if he gets the list of names, he'll use Dail privilege and name them all....... (no doubt he's a shinner now too😬) this thing has far from run its course.

Poor hoors should be enjoying their downtime, but no, they couldn't help themselves.

Dear me, the pure chaos these guys and gals can create. 😁

GDPR will stop him Francie, GDPR to the rescue!

The silver bullet, security blanket, cures all pain known to man woman or beast!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,167 ✭✭✭✭Dempo1

Is maith an scáthán súil charad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,514 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

Imagine, just imagine, if Marc McSharry had pulled the shyt he pulls, under Charlie Haughey. They'd need dental records to identify the body. Thats more of a reflection on Micheal Martin than it is of him incidentally.

Apart from all the stupid crap he comes out with, he's actually a political f**ktard. His father is still alive, he must be mortified every single day.

Oh and hey Marc, you don't need Dáil privilege to read an unconfirmed list of people that may have attended a networking event in a public place!!!!! 🙈

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,324 ✭✭✭Shebean

Calling the man a 'political fucktard' seems very harsh to me. You're only lucky he's not a woman or gay you'd be labelled all sorts.

So he's not a shinner, now FF are murderers, seems reasonable.

Tbf he's the only thing approaching a backbone within FF and actually tries to stand up to the worst of government excesses

I dunno why he stays on,should resign from.the party and not be dragged into the mire of corruption and cronism with rest of ffg

I'm not getting the "father must be proud of him" thing to be honest, is he under criminal investigation by the NBCI? Seems like a bit of a crass and harsh thing to say tbh,

As for the Dail privilege thing, if you were to listen to some on this thread, a photo on Facebook with some pleb in the background who didn't consent to their photo appearing on the net, they'd be found GDPR porridge FFS.

I love it when you lads start contradicting each others scutter. 🤣

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,157 ✭✭✭TomsOnTheRoof

If it was an unconfirmed list then he'd be a fool not to avail of parliamentary privilege. Why open himself to a defamation suit unnecessarily?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18 Agis_IV

A couple of things strike me here;

• The perpetually outraged, outrage brigade, clouded by their irrational distaste of the Tánaiste and FG find it so galling that our politicians, irrespective of political ideology, are actually human.
    • Can one person honestly state that they dogmatically followed, to the letter, all the COVID Guidelines / Regulations over the last 18+ months?
    • Zappone should have been considered a political liability given her abject failure as a minister and TD. The 'smartest' people in the room including supposedly shrewd politicians and senior civil servants, should have seen this coming. The leaking and resulting subterfuge is in itself utterly laughable.
    • Try not be so concerned with the conduct of others, look after yourselves, your families and the communities in which you live. If you truly want change in this country, that is where it starts.

Each time Leo does something.... Stupid/daft/bungling/possibly criminal...

It is definitely not confined to twitter trolls. I am not on twitter and I don't really make a habit of browsing it either, yet I manage to hear many berating him on plenty of other platforms.

As for December 2022.. We will see, I wouldn't hold my breath. I would bet on it, but I would imagine the odds are paltry.

The dead nurses thing barely made it out of twitter, so you must wallow around there a lot. I heard nothing about it on the radio for two days, now it is possible I missed it, but I have the radio on most of the day, so if it had been a story of any significance, I would have surely heard it. It's almost like you are saying 'when Paddy says something we don't agree with, it's irrelevant and nonsense grub for twitter trolls, but when he says something we can (try to) use to our advantage, he should be lambasted from every corner far and wide and everyone should know about.'

Golf Gate and Merrion are very very similar, not the 'same thing' I grant you, but very few differences. A gathering of arrogant asshats believing that they don't have to adhere to any rules. I don't care that the rules might have been different or change 'again' on that day 😉 😉 Leo himself had seen first hand the (possible) repercussions last year and should have or probably did know better, but decided he didn't care enough.