Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kanturk deaths - Greed , Pure and Simple !

• Registered Users Posts: 10,754 ✭✭✭✭Furze99

With regard to the OP, I heard the report on the day of the coroners inquest. What struck me was that we might only be hearing one side of the story. Apparently the father & son left suicide notes that presumably explained their part and reasoning. I could be wrong but it was reported that the contents of these were not disclosed to the inquest. On other hand, we heard accounts from the murdered brother and deceased mother.

So I wouldn't be drawing too many conclusions as to motive and so on without at least considering the other side of the grievances.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

We heard accounts from the mother and son because they are victims. Who cares about what paranoid twisted **** the two came up with in order to try explain away or justify their brutal actions. They’re both sick in the head, nothing they have to say about why they did it matters. There isn’t an excuse on earth that could justify what they did. Let their paranoid and toxic drivel never be heard, it made sense in their twisted heads only.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,106 ✭✭✭katiek102010

If I can't have it all then you can't either mentality

• Registered Users Posts: 6,108 ✭✭✭Jequ0n

You are right.makes you realise there is more at play than “just” greed.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,754 ✭✭✭✭Furze99

Correction, we heard one side of the story. It doesn't matter what you think of the actions of the father & son - they must have had some grievance as to how things stood, that drove them to take drastic action. I'd hope and assume that their reasoning & explanation is available to family on all sides and known to neighbours etc. But we as a public can draw NO conclusions on only hearing one side of the story. To do otherwise is foolish speculation.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,619 ✭✭✭Feisar

I can appreciate what you are saying. I remember coming up to the Leaving years ago and we were chatting about what we wanted to do etc. One lad said with a gleam in his eye, "Jaysus I'd love a lock of Land".

It's something I never forgot, it was almost a spiritual thing for him, making money didn't come in to it.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 15,945 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Picking up a gun to solve this problem isn't reasoning, it's losing your reason, being deranged.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭Sunny Disposition

One brother getting the majority of the mother's land on her imminent death, and all his father's holding when he died. And that still wasn't enough for him.

It really is incredible how little self awareness a lot of people have, how they can believe they are in the right in any circumstance. People need to hear dissenting voices far more often than they do.

The father and the youngest son were a pair of half wits.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,006 ✭✭✭pgj2015

The neck of the young brother is unbelievable. His mother could have left that land to anyone she wanted, it was her own decision. You don't have to provide anything for your kids in your will. They have no right to anything you leave in your will.

• Registered Users Posts: 859 ✭✭✭Randy Archer

He (father and younger son) was never going to get it by will or voluntary transfer and certainly would have been disqualified (had they being mentioned in the will) by law for killing or harming the land owner or any Beneficiary so ….

these guys had death wishes and wanted to torment the wife / land owner (who was dying anyway) by killing her son and beneficiary . Basically drag her and the innocent son down to hell with them

pure evil . the younger boys was brainwashed by the father and had his own sense of entitlement ..

Barring orders aren’t that easy to get ! The threshold is high as was the evidential burden

Big improvements since the 2018 reform act though

all due respect , district court judges are a law onto themselves too ! I Joe you can appeal them but so much time wasted

something tells me that a safety order in their minds (the killers) would be a scrap of paper not worth the ink that it was written on

@Shesty

Fathers and mothers having favourite children is very common and more common that parents would like to admit , especially if there’s land or a family business involved

Perfectly possible the father did not have a good relationship with the eldest - rather common . He may have seen the eldest having a big career ahead of him and that the youngster (Also just qualified in accounting too) getting nothing and him seeing it as unfair

of course , to go out of his way to kill his own son ? Not going to even try to guess what went on in his mind

“Makes you wonder why farmers are treated differently in divorce and separation of marriages , imagine telling a farmer getting divorced he has to sell the farm and give half the proceeds to the ex-wife or kids”

it’s pretty evident , it was handed down to him by previous generation of family and intended to be passed onto his successor (normally the eldest boy or in some regions the youngest)

Wifie in your example (not referring to this case) was married into The Firm, it be ludicrous to break up the farm on divorce - there’s be a lot of wandering wives going missing never to be seen again if they were a threat

in all seriousness though, this was a major major reason for the hostile opposition to divorce in the 1980s and not just church opposition . The 1995 and 1996 acts try to make dissolution of property in a fair manner for all

“But if the father alone committed the murder/suicide....his remaining favourite son would get both farms...but maybe father and son were inseparable without each other.”

Wrong . Could easily be disqualified under Section 120 of succession act - unworthy to succeed .

• Registered Users Posts: 679 ✭✭✭cap.in.hand.

If the father had willed his own farm to that son following his death... can't see a problem there...his mother was still living so it would be up to her who was getting her farm then as circumstances within her family had changed regarding her previous will instructions.

• Registered Users Posts: 467 ✭✭nj27

Why did the pair of them kill themselves I wonder. Probably a bit of a "what have I done" type situation. Scary that it went so far in the end.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,624 ✭✭✭✭meeeeh

It's sad. I'm not going to speculate what was going on in their mind but it's clear that there were years of dysfunction and domestic violence. Some people are just evil and the younger son followed in the father's footsteps. This was more than greed, this were two men who demanded to be obeyed and couldn't cope with not getting their way.

• Registered Users Posts: 421 ✭✭banoffe2

Just speculating here, could this terrible tragedy have been avoided

If the mother or solicitor son had notified the Gardai that they were in fear for their lives

The solicitor was sending texts to his friends telling them of this, the fact that he was a solicitor he would have the legal knowledge what do do in situations like this

Sometimes I think it can be fear and pride, people don't want the local gardai to know what's going on behind closed doors, and abuse thrives on secrecy, even though a cousin did go to the gardai and alerted them of how serious the situation was.

Also read that the wife an only child, only inherited the farm in 2013 following her mothers death, strange it wasn't signed over long before that, so there is a message in that too imo.

Her husband's name was never added to it, it was on the wife's name, he had his own farm which he inherited, much smaller acerage and poorer land same here, only his name on this farm

Neighbours would say the couple rarely went anywhere or spent any money on home improvements despite the two good incomes and income from letting the land.

There is a strong possibility her cousin with whom they stayed with, will possibly get it, then who would want that legacy, some would say there is no luck in the place.

3 members in one family murdered

Heard of and read about another farm feud where a farmer who lived with his widowed mother, sister and brother, wanted to marry a local girl

In those days a dowry was expected to pay off the others still living at home, the bride to be hadn't the amount required for the dowry so again a lot of rows and bitterness at home and all 4 living off the farm and under the one roof.

The son who was to marry the local girl decided he was going to put a stop to all the rows, and he was going to marry the love of his life regardless.

he told the neighbours that the mother, brother and sister had to go to another County in an emergency to help with sick relatives, and would be staying to help for some time, no phones people knew no better.

He murdered his brother and sister and got his brother in law to be to kill his mother, then emigrated with his wife.

Some years the well where the bodies were buried, dried up, so digging and repair works started, and up came the three bodies.

The gardai followed him to New Zeland where he settled with his wife and family, he tried to deny it but the death penalty was served after a court hearing,

This story has been published and there was a documentary on TG 4 about it some years ago, sorry for the long thread.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,006 ✭✭✭pgj2015

There wasn't 3 murders, only 1.

Their reasoning doesn’t mean ****. The whole family is dead because of them. I don’t ever want to hear their side, they’re deranged

Would yous not think,there could be something learnt to prevent similar happening again?

Easy to foam.at mouth outraged,but in reality it offers little in way of learned experience,if we as country dont learn from this,surely we are doomed to see it repeated??

• Registered Users Posts: 679 ✭✭✭cap.in.hand.

But if the situation was the father and son only took their own lives with the same notes in their pockets outlining their greivances.... it would turn the spotlight on the mother and remaining son for not trying to resolve the issues that were there.

• Registered Users Posts: 735 ✭✭✭Heraclius

They shot a family member in his bed. Stop trying to excuse them.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,108 ✭✭✭Jequ0n

Wrong thread. This one is for torch and pitchfork fanatics only. Nobody is interested in why this happened.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,362 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Sure you think this whole thing is a comedy. Just because you want to have some kind of odd kinks about murder/killers most decent folk dont.

Learn what? How to not be a greedy cnut and kill yourself and your family after you don’t get what you want? The only thing to learn is how not to behave when your mother is after being given a terminal diagnosis

• Registered Users Posts: 735 ✭✭✭Heraclius

There might be some lessons for the Gardaí and that's about all.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,362 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

And thats not even a lesson 99.9% of people need to learn.

And if you are part of the 0.1% then you need to get help.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,405 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Something about the look of the father and especially the younger son...he doesn’t seem all there in the photos I’ve seen.

If the wife beating rumours are true - awful.

RIP to the older son and of course the mother.