If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Katherine Zappone Envoy Gig

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,169 ✭✭✭✭Dempo1

There was also a mention of a consultancy contract Katherine had secured Seperately at the UN, I'd like to know more 🤔

Is maith an scáthán súil charad.

Jack Chambers, the boy wonder on this week (RTE radio 1) around 1.20pm, hopefully albeit doubtful, he might have more than to say about this debacle after a shockingly meek statement from Michael Martin yesterday who discussed "people taking personal responsibility"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76,832 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Micheál clearly has decided to go for the 'give him enough rope' strategy. Risky in the extreme, as the falling body might take him out too.

There is a palpable air of public weariness of all these chaotic shennanigans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,547 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

There's a public weariness of making mountains out of molehills.

Words escape me

A bit like being attacked by fluffy kitten's. The more I think about it, Michael is biding his time for retirement, pass the baton to Leo when his stint as Taoiseach is up, head to the back benches and have a peaceful period before fecking off. Only one slight problem, grass roots FF members getting more and more annoyed and a heave increasingly likely

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,547 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

Micheal Martin won't give a feck, he's either got 15 months left as Taoiseach, or he's got less.

If they heave, he'll do an Enda on it and say "it's my intention to step down as leader of Fianna Fáil after the transition at the end of 2022". That'll give those with ambitions time to prepare and they can conduct the contest while the Government still has 30 months to run and go into the Election with a new leadership and fresh message.

Frankly, they don't have any other choice, because FF cannot afford to fight an election one second earlier than the natural end of this Dáil term. They need every last day to embed a strategy to ensure survival and keep SF in check. If that fails it'll be 60 seats for FG, 50 for SF and 10 or 15 for FF, before they finally die off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,781 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

Leo manages to be the subject of not one but two main articles on the front page of the Sunday Times, . One on the Garda investigation into him leaking a confidential document and the other on the Zappone affair and the leaks at cabinet.

On Varadkar vs. Simon Harris

One senior party figure said that Varadkar was unlikely to make any early move against the alleged leaker, given that he himself is the subject of a Garda investigation into the leaking of a government document to a friend

On the latest Cabinet leaks and witch hunt to find the leaker a Fine Gael member said it

made Fine Gael look like a toxic house of cards where people will stab each other to get ahead

Fine Gael are now eating themselves alive. Varadkars interview on the 6.1 News trying to spin his way out of the government laws/regulations/guidelines/advice (take your pick) has completely backfired, no one is buying his excuses. Instead of just holding his hands up and telling the truth he reverted to type and went straight into spin mode by getting the Attorney General to give him political cover. He thought he would be a cute hoor and now its blown up in his face. It is actually hard to believe that Varadkar has no less than seven special advisers on massive salaries advising him but he still ends up in this mess, be it by his own ego or surrounding himself with yes men.

Next week should be interesting because there is no public appetite to be hearing Micheal Martin coming out and saying 'its time to move on', that wont wash at this stage.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,957 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

Has it become known what the reason for the event was?

How was the invite worded?

"Katherine's having a bit of a get together for (insert reason here) in the Merrion Hotel and would love for you to come, RSVP".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76,832 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

As somebody said, 'If you think FG hate SF wait until you see how much they hate each other'. 😁

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,433 ✭✭✭jammiedodgers

"Please join us in congratulating Katherine on receiving a ticket to the gravy train"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,211 ✭✭✭✭Suckit

"We are here to celebrate our arrogance, our non advertised appointments and our ability to flout the rules."

They ignored incompetence for some reason.

watch the interview on RTE back, every time he's confident of what he's saying, he opens his hands out wide in a presentation type fashion. It's indicative of him being told what to emphasise to look genuine. Then his hands barely open if at all when he's responding t o something that's catching him out.

And what's this shyte phrase of "the rules were largely silent on that day"...oh my Jesus..imagine If I said that to a guard in lockdown whilst sitting with my mam out the back..well guard the rules are largely silent on this day, can I ring my attorney general and have him cast a cynical eye over the ad hoc guidelines so as to clarify what is actually a legal obligation and what's just something to take under advisement at my discretion??

spoofer, and we've all seen him now.. he's at home now watching house of cards...such an unlikeable serpent of a life form.

Who does all those years of college to become a doctor and walks away from it before 40!! Daddys expectations must have been very high..

He can throw all the 80's movie quotes he wants into his resignation speech and hopefully monte burns will follow him.I wish I could still link that late late show rant of Brendan Gleesons some years back...Oh the hatred Brendan had for MM is palpable....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,010 ✭✭✭glenfieldman

Are you mad ?

An physical invite would be a paper trail, Katy is too cute to do that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,824 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

Nah more like “like being savaged by a dead sheep”

My weather

https://www.ecowitt.net/home/share?authorize=96CT1F

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,957 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

Yeah but I'm lost as to why the event was held. Was it celebrating something? Was it announcing something?

I was just wondering has this been asked of Leo or Bacik? They could tell you to mind your nose but has it even been asked?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 171 ✭✭FoFo1254122

That is a great post

who organised it and for what reasons and how were the invites delivered

does the excursion show up on king Leo’s diary , I am sure it does now anyway

I know, it was around the time Harris was going round with the hangdog look talking about” saving lives”.

I thought we will never see the back of him and then we got Donnolly, remember the pic he posted of a lorry reversing,think it either had PPE stuff or vaccines on board.

Harris was bad but Donnolly is unbearable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 481 ✭✭mariab21

Which phone, the gardai are examining a few phones linked to the document leak, some pay as ya go phones not registered

Maybe he has a few more phones

If ever a headline says a political party goosed, it's this, I can name quite a few FF TD'S who'll be scratching heads this morning. Barely a mention of the actual appointment that started this, perhaps collective amnesia has set in.

"There Certainly all in this Together"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,433 ✭✭✭jammiedodgers

Politics in a nutshell -

Labour TD Duncan Smith was critical of Ms Zappone’s party when news of it first emerged. However Labour has said nothing since it transpired Ms Bacik attended.

Yes the article and others have noted the deafening silence coming out of Alan Kelly's Mouth.

Was listening to morning Ireland earlier, most of the taken up with the climate report. They did however manage to wake Eamonn Ryan up (quite a feat and so early)

He's at least made a comment

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,993 ✭✭✭FileNotFound

What would her getting a consultancy with the Un have to do with this? Would it have been a role paid for by the Irish Taxpayer?

If its funded by us, lets know more. If not then not really any of our business and not really relevant to anything.

Poor Labour don't need enemies - they seem doomed to damage themselves

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,219 ✭✭✭skimpydoo

Since Ivana was at the soiree, Labour has to keep their mouth shut.

You could be correct, however, was the consultancy subject to or reliant this little appointment, Gig 🤔 just asking for a friend 😉😉😉😉😉, was it perhaps partly to do with the little gathering and pending additional Gig, you know, reasonably straight forward normal questions 🤔

Only reasonable or meaningful if it impacts us. If its through the UN then hardly any of our concern how a private appointment by the UN is carried out.

Honestly cannot see any real appointment being tied to an makey uppy one - more likely it was handy extra cash when she was in her actual role.

I would be shocked if we have anything to do with the potential other role and the opposition hasn't called it out yet.

I am all for full visibility when tax money is involved but demanding transparency on anything not funded by us is getting a bit big headed to be fair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,047 ✭✭✭Captain_Crash

Thinking out loud here but she lives between Oregan and NYC. Maybe the consultancy gig required her to be in NY more often than before, hence the envoy gig being pitched to her mates in government so she can expense living in Manhattan to the Irish tax payer?

Something in all this stinks and I’m certain expenses has something do to with it!

I can imagine that if she had a role lined up this envoy job would have been a nice bonus for her - I can imagine her just counting 60 of the days she worked in a real role and saying they cover her envoy role.

All in all a bit of a mess, but don't see much happening about it now. Few rule changes and review of envoys will most likely be the height of any change.

As much as i hate to say it, doing stuff in the absence of rules is sadly different to breaking rules. The lack of rules , transparency and clarity are the things we need to change and actually see change.