Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Dee Forbes banging the RTE TV licence drum again 60m uncollected fee *poll not working - pl ignore*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,863 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

The question is how do you report the news. Do you report news of heatwaves with photos of people eating ice cream at the sea side, or do you report details of the number of people killed, the towns that had to be evacuated, the roads that cracked or melted in the heat, the worldwide pattern of events.

I think we're well past the stage of 'a special' now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,351 ✭✭✭SPDUB

That seems odd they would have had such a rule since film contracts in the past allowed 3 showings in 2 years . That would imply only 11 and half months between showings

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,641 ✭✭✭✭Elmo

I think you don't understand, RTÉ are well past actually making programming, and they've just fobbed everyone off, who is interested in this programme. But I suppose a repeat of Reeling in the Years is better than a Climate Change "special". Jon's work is done.

RTÉ did actually report on the floods and those deaths, they also reported on American wildfires across north America.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,841 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Yeah I watch the RTE News every night, and saw all the reports.

Their crime was not 'linking it' to climate change.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,173 ✭✭✭RandomViewer

Weekend stuff seems to be on a loop, or the VM123 habit of showing it on the other channel later the same week

Where is iseegirls :) AFAIK Harry Potter films were not shown this Christmas, and only some of them the previous Christmas which were repeats of the Halloween airings, I suspect RTÉ planned to show the first 3 at Halloween and finish them at Christmas that year.

To me it seems to be fact that RTÉ will either need to be bailed out or that they will need an increase in public funding.

Now this fact does take into consideration any concerns audiences might have about content and services.

From its content output I believe existentially that RTÉ has never really existed, it has always meandered through.

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/politics/rt%C3%A9-faces-existential-financial-crisis-government-told-1.4637173

La Nina this year, quite strong I believe too but this won't be mentioned in the media and is a cause of major weather related events.

Facts are this that the NOAA satellite temp data does not support climate change agenda.

Land temp data is too easy to corrupt, the hottest temp recorded was in Africa, I believe some decades ago, I must find the article again, then the WMO decided to have that record removed from the history books so now the record is in Death Valley ? haha yeah.

Met Eireann Kilkenny station was removed some years ago so if there was a record there for instance in 1980 and a record broken in Oak Park for instance, how do we know Kilkenny wouldn't have beated it ? just one of millions and millions of examples all over the world.

He who pays the piper calls the tune but the satellite doesn't lie.

During Ophelia they were trying to make out that some weather station on an island off the south coast recorded the highest gust ever recorded but neglected to mention it wasn't an official met station and only there something like 20 years.

Eamon Ryan wants to spend 2 million of tax payers money to have covid style brainwashing on all media outlets, all day every day called "climate awareness" absolute idiot of a Man! So instead of "stay safe, wash your hands, keep your distance" it will be "take the bike" turn off the heat" and don't eat meat" Muppets!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,481 ✭✭✭garrettod

That's because we let them away with it - need to turn the heat up on Government TDs big time, let them know that we want reform at RTE, not a licence fee hike to keep feathering their nests.

Thanks,

G.

I think RTE will get their way when it comes to this 'digital tax'.

Licence fee will be scrapped and everyone will get charged via revenue.

predetermined and should just be legislated for at this stage. But RTÉ must reform.

They'll set up a new company called Irish Digital, your bandwidth will be reduced to a trickle if you don't pay

Except for the RTÉ Player where only Nationwide will play in full after 30 minutes of the same ad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 38,482 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

Article says "it has remade itself", well from the outside there is very little if any apparent change... and supporting the concept of PSB is not the same thing as supporting RTE

I'm partial to your abracadabra,

I'm raptured by the joy of it all.

Off course toilet paper like the Irish examiner support rte, those dying newspapers have been lobbying politicians for years to get a slice of any new household media charge

It's one thing supporting the concept of quality, pumice service broadcasting - I'm in favour of it, myself.....

But its another thing backing an out of control state entity - which is the best way I can describe RTE.

We need a Government with a pair of balls, to deal with it - or A I afraid of being voted out, if they don't start tackling the mess, currently known as RTE.

We don't need two TV channels, with significant commercial programming, much of which can also be viewed on other commercial TV channels. We only need one (keeping in mind that we also have the benefit of TG4) - and we sure as hell don't need the bunch of overpaid gobshites, and their cronies, on or screens every day.

Likewise, we don't need so many radio stations - 2FM being the biggest of those that need to go. Again, take the overpaid djs (or whatever they like to call themselves) out of RTE.

The get rid of the entire management team, they need to be replaced by a new team, who don't come from Donnybrook and surrounding neighbourhoods, and give them clear instruction on what we want going forward.

Then, and only then, is there a chance that RTE might be a public service broadcaster.

Thanks,

G.

The holding on to 2FM is a mystery

When it was first set up the Minister in charge had said it would pay for itself and that no licence fee increase would occur, by 2012 RTÉ was funding 2FM with the licence fee, they did not think to cut its funding by 25% rather it cut Children's Content, Drama and Comedy.

2FM with a national broadcasting license, its decent market share etc. could easily be sold - and would probably fetch near €50m.

I'm basing that value on previous radio station sales in Ireland, which were well reported on in the national press (incl FM104, Today FM etc.)

Given 2FM serves absolutely no public service purpose, and it's content is readily available on several other commercial stations - both it, and RTE2 should be sold immediately (with sale proceeds seized by the Government, before Dee Forbes and her mates hand it all out on overly generous severance packages, or new contracts for their cronies).

And if anyone thinks I'm being unfair to RTE with that last comment, then just go and take a look at what happened to the €100m that they got for the sale of the 5 acres in Donnybrook, a couple of years ago.

Thanks,

G.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,006 ✭✭✭ShamNNspace

The Bourne ultimatem rte2, I'm sure they've had this on many many times, kills a few hours for them I suppose

The Tupe employment legislation would be a major issue for anyone interested in buying 2fm. The same thing happened when RTE tried to sell the RTE guide, a few publishers were interested in buying it but they all ran a mile when they found out that under tupe legislation they'd have to keep all the staff on the same pay and perks.

It's a consideration alright.

However, in a scenario like this, the option would be either go with the station being sold, or be made redundant.

Not everyone has to go with the sold station, some could be made redundant - say the highest paid.

TUPE doesn't cover pension schemes, so that's one cost that can be cut by a new owner (assuming RTE have a very generous pension scheme). Also, I don't think it guarantees that you'll do the same job, or at the and location.

In fairness, both RTE2 and 2FM are stations that could do well in private ownership, so there'd be a reason to keep a lot of the staff on, if you bought those stations - I would think you'd really just be focused on getting rid of the top earners.

Thanks,

G.

http://www.superannrte.ie/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=5865:rte-briefs-staff&catid=31&Itemid=104

Under the scheme, those with more than ten years service in the organisation will be offered six weeks pay per year of service, plus statutory redundancy, capped at 104 weeks pay.

Those with less than ten years service will receive two weeks pay per year of service plus statutory redundancy.

• 6 weeks per year of service, plus statutory (for those with over 10yrs service) is incredibly generous !

Thanks,

G.

That is the previous scheme, I don't think they have announce the new scheme.

RTÉ were able to move staff to RTÉ GOLD from 2FM when it was rebranded about 4 years ago. And while RTÉ had plans to close RTÉ Gold (darn Broadcasting Act 2009) there was never an attempted to rid RTÉ of any of its former 2FM presenters, from what I can see.

If RTÉ were to sell RTÉ2 and 2fm clearly agreements with the new owner and the staff would be made.

But sure look at how long it took them to transfer ownership of the NSO to the NCH... oh wait they are still trying to do that... the Minister as said it will happen in early 2021 .... hahahahhahahahahahahha it's **** August.

For example Aidan Leonard  is Senior Producer in Charge of RTÉ GOLD ....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,836 ✭✭✭✭AndyBoBandy

If there’s a ‘senior producer’, I’m wondering how many ‘regular’ or ‘normal’ producers he has under him????

this is I believe where the real scandal is in RTÉ, and something the secret producer alluded to a few years ago with the infamous Twitter account…… how many levels of senior management, mid-management, junior management, senior producer, mid, junior etc…… department heads, deputies etc…… are there in RTÉ??? And all mostly probably pulling salaries of circa €100k-€150k a year for doing the grand sum of fcuk all!

I’d hazard a guess there’s at least 3-5 levels of various management in each department you’d have to go down before you found anyone that actually did any work..

Anyway, enough of that serious talk……

when is the Late Late show back on? And when will Nathan Carter be on for an appearance either on his own, or for a country music type special????

the country has a Nathan Carter sized hole in its life right now, and the only thing that will solve it is a few huckle bucks here and there, and a twist it in and out and a do it all again……

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,738 ✭✭✭RabbleRouser2k

Jesus, hope they don't bring back Crystal Swing again...

I mean Nathan Carter is one thing, but God help us all if Crystal Swing return... they're like the 7th circle of hell.

The 'Country Special' will have to wait I'm afraid, because the LLS is nothing if not predictable.

1st episode will be an Olympics Special, with all our fantastic athletes appearing. Socially distanced of course.