Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Katherine Zappone Envoy Gig

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

Was just reading this and had posted about it in the FFG thread, surprised at Leo tbh, he's already under criminal investigation for leaking confidential information to a friend, you'd imagine he'd not want the attention because he attended this, certainly legally questionable get-together.

Popcorn time......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,138 ✭✭✭✭Dempo1

He appears to have checked with the Hotel (or so we are being told), this said, apart from the guidelines (and I certainly know what a crowd of 50 looks like), it's amazing given recent controverscies, he walked, actually skipped into this error of Judgement 😉

Is maith an scáthán súil charad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,558 ✭✭✭Leftwaffe

Why would Leo check with the hotel? Does he not know the guidelines?

I recall this was the excuse given by a number of individuals with regard to a certain golfgate 🙄🤔

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 171 ✭✭FoFo1254122

I pray that this brings down this fuck1ng government

I would have more time for politicians like Mattie McGrath then people like zappone, vardakar, Harris, etc

at least mattie McGrath feels like a real person, like him or dislike him, unlike Zappaone, vardakar, Harris, or anyone in the government who are nothing but wolves in sheep clothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,045 ✭✭✭silver2020

err, it was under 50 people, outdoors for a lunch. Fully compliant.

But sure reading the indo, it was a rave that went on 24 hours in a swanky hotel. (lunch is quite reasonable there) - why oh why do people believe every word written in rag publications. Are people really that gullible?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,179 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

So 200 were allowed outdoors at the time.

Yawn, next.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,293 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

It should have been easy to give her a job in that case then the method the government chose

I'll grant you there remains ambiguity regarding what is and is not permitted, ultimately this is not the main point of curiousity.

One excerpt below from the article

"The Irish Hotels Federation (IHF) said Fáilte Ireland’s guidelines for reopening hotels and guest houses state that “organised events, indoor and outdoor, are not permitted” unless they are weddings or “non-social meetings, training and educational programmes considered essential to the operation of a business”.

Aside from this, I'm more interested in

A. This event not being mentioned despite numerous interviews since

B. Politicians & Civil Servants in attendance????

C. Taking place 6 days before the announcement of the appointment & yet, Leo seems to be intent on sticking to the Line, No lobbying took place and it was in essence Coveney alone who was behind this decision.

We now know Paschal met her, Leo met her, Coveney obviously. Plans we're clearly laid well in advance of the faithful cabinet meeting. It's simply beggar's belief no one in FG had an opportunity to inform the Taoiseach and more importantly a spot of lobbying took place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

Phil Hogan did similar and Leo was out front and centre asking him to consider his position....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,476 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

At a time when the public is still being told to be extra careful, weddings are a source of debate over numbers at, the optics of this don't sit well.

But I have no doubt it'll be spun well and no-one will suffer as a result.

It probably technically didn't break any covid rules, but if you were to tell nphet you were going to have a post communion outdoor meal with 50 people at it, I'm sure they would advise you not to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,109 ✭✭✭Floppybits

Or if you were going to have a baby baptised you were told no gathering after. It doesn't look good. Has Zappone come out of hiding yet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,858 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Literally bears no resemblance whatsoever to golfgate.

But sure keep hoping!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,641 ✭✭✭✭Elmo

Well she had an interview with Miriam O'Callaghan just 12 days before this on her return "home", she expects to live in the US permanently.

As soon as lockdown was kind of over reduced she was back on a promotion trail.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,183 ✭✭✭jobless

who is the senior politician who leaked the Zappone appointment?... im outta the loop

She appears not to have freedom of Expression 🤔 how Ironic is that 😉

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 481 ✭✭mariab21

The Irish Hotels Federation (IHF) said Fáilte Ireland’s guidelines for reopening hotels and guest houses state that “organised events, indoor and outdoor, are not permitted” unless they are weddings or “non-social meetings, training and educational programmes considered essential to the operation of a business”.

Nothing to see here lol

I'd say Miriam "Genuinely" fuming she didn't get the scoop on this 🤣

Your correct, not a golf ball or club in sight but plenty of Four Play evident 😂😂

Alledgedly Simon H Mee Lord 😉

I see he was busy on his various social media platforms announcing the pending of a second child, congrats to him and his wife but the cynic in me suggests the timing of these news was more about deflection, of course I could be completely wrong, Simon would never do such a thing? Would he 🤔

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,109 ✭✭✭Floppybits

I have to say it never crossed my mind that Simon H would do something like that to deflect the attention away from himself.

I wonder who will be going under the bus this time?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,692 ✭✭✭touts

Zapponegate is taking down Katherine herself. That seems pretty clear no matter how desperately she clings onto the expenses forms as she is dragged out kicking and screaming.

The only question Varadkar, Covney etc need to answer now is are they really willing to go down with her.

2018-09-01_iri_43645719_I4.JPG

Not him anyway, he has the more lives than a cat, I've never quite understood his relationship with Leo.

The impression I always got was he was part of Leo's inner circle and yet Harris seems intent on stirring thing from the shadows.

Besides, Harris on his Holidays in Mayo god bless him, he won't be distracted but clearly has good Internet access wherever he is 😉

Just hope is mobile phone water proof 😂😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,692 ✭✭✭touts

Simon Harris. It was 90% certain he was the one leaking confidential cabinet discussions. That's why they set up the sting specifically targetting him. He's a gonner in the next reshuffle. The only question is will they let him last until then or will he stepdown "to spend more time with his young family".

Very different from Golfgate. https://www.irishexaminer.com/news/politics/arid-40352261.html

”In a statement, the Merrion Hotel said government regulations at the time of the event allowed for outdoor events "of up to 200 people, and the definition of that includes social events."

Around 50 guests were seated separately at tables of six in the Merrion Hotel’s Garden Terrace, according to the Irish Independent. 

It is understood the Tánaiste contacted the Hotel to check whether the event was in line with the Government’s guidelines for the hospitality sector prior to attending the event.”

It's a pity the Hotel didn't read the statement from their very own representative body, the Irish Hotels Federation?

The Irish Hotels Federation (IHF) said Fáilte Ireland’s guidelines for reopening hotels and guest houses state that “organised events, indoor and outdoor, are not permitted” unless they are weddings or “non-social meetings, training and educational programmes considered essential to the operation of a business”.

The Hotel should really check the guidelines from the IHF.

Surprised Leo who made up the rules had contact the hotel to check the rules.

Fooling nobody, this will be fun

Such gaslighting and lies as per usual from government supporters🤒.....going by usual pattern,they will arrive at conspiracys and blaming everyone else by 1pm

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 8,695 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sierra Oscar

She has made a statement and dropped the Merrion Hotel in it, shirking all responsibility. She is not fit to be an envoy for our country.