Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all, we have some important news to share. Please follow the link here to find out more!

https://www.boards.ie/discussion/2058419143/important-news/p1?new=1

Covid 19 Part XXXV-956,720 ROI (5,952 deaths) 452,946 NI (3,002 deaths) (08/01) Read OP

Table 4 is better as it concentrates on delta alone with breakdown by vaccination cohorts. Same numbers anyway.

557666.jpg

And what both tables show is that the 92,000 number is not attendances to hospital, which is actually 7,431
    Table 4. Attendance to emergency care and deaths by vaccination status among Delta confirmed cases (sequencing and
    genotyping) including all confirmed Delta cases in England, 1 February 2021 to 21 June 2021

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,372 ✭✭✭CalamariFritti

And what both tables show is that the 92,000 number is not attendances to hospital, which is actually 7,431

You seem to be right in saying its not 92,056. Thats why I asked in a previous post for someone to review my interpretation of the data.
    I guess I got thrown by the headline of the table but I wont try to make excuses for myself.

I agree now that my line of thought appears to be wrong. And I also must conclude that this data is not suitable to get to a case fatality rate.

However, the overall number however stands, 92,056 delta case / 117 deaths = 0.12%. But ye I got carried away with that divide by 50.

Thanks actually.

You seem to be right in saying its not 92,056. Thats why I asked in a previous post for someone to review my interpretation of the data.

Since I have people's attention lets try do this together.

I get to 7.931 summing up

But that isn't really the right number either. The table seems to distinguish between people attending emergency care once or multiple times.

My adding in my head missed 500. It distinguishes people who had a positive test prior to arrival at hospital and those who tested positive once they attended hospital.

Taken in total, and applying your method, we get 117/7931 = 6.05%.
    Divde by 50 = 0.121%.
    However the total cases was 92,000 so we get to 0.127%.
    0.1% in under 50s, compared to 0.1% for alpha, and 1.1% in over 50s compared to 4.8% in Alpha. The vaccine effect on the older population

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,426 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

Boris doing a presser now, they will have niteclubs open from the 19th and no more social distancing requirements, masks fully optional. Meanwhile we hold an open air concert with 500 people penned in seperate holding pens like sheep and we think we have put a man on the moon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,399 ✭✭✭✭Hurrache

Boris doing a presser now, they will have niteclubs open from the 19th and no more social distancing requirements, masks fully optional. Meanwhile we hold an open air concert with 500 people penned in seperate holding pens like sheep and we think we have put a man on the moon.

"Boris" is just great isn't he.

Hurrache wrote: »

His health system is anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,439 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

Looks like England is going back to normal from July 19.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,725 ✭✭✭Working class heroes

Boris the Brave........FREEDOM!!!!

Racism is now hiding behind the cloak of Community activism.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 469 ✭✭jakiah

130,000 at the Austrian Grand Prix this weekend.

I wonder if the PUP was doubled would the masses support a return to normal?

jakiah wrote: »
    130,000 at the Austrian Grand Prix this weekend.

Irish people have behaved so conservatively throughout this pandemic.

It could be next year before the public support a return to large gatherings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,447 ✭✭✭brickster69

Looks like no rush for the kids to get jabbed until it is proved to be worth the risk for them. Good decision IMO.

"if you get on the wrong train, get off at the nearest station, the longer it takes you to get off, the more expensive the return trip will be."

https://twitter.com/rtenews/status/1412082604384342018

We're obviously a bit behind but its a pertinet question for the UK at least, if not now, when?

Its a conversation that hasn't even been brought up over here, how do we plan to get back to normal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 469 ✭✭jakiah

It could be next year before the public support a return to large gatherings.
    At least we will be able to travel abroad to do normal things I guess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,447 ✭✭✭brickster69

Hurrache wrote: »

Good to see the leader standing in front of the country instead of just passing the buck to someone else to do it.

"if you get on the wrong train, get off at the nearest station, the longer it takes you to get off, the more expensive the return trip will be."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,500 ✭✭✭Deeper Blue

Good to see the leader standing in front of the country instead of just passing the buck to someone else to do it.

Very good point, our "leaders" should take note

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,775 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

AdamD wrote: »

We're obviously a bit behind but its a pertinet question for the UK at least, if not now, when?

Its a conversation that hasn't even been brought up over here, how do we plan to get back to normal.

Lucky baxtards

Same needs to be done here

Too radical for here to even think that.

Edz87 wrote: »
    His health system is anyway

The same health system he's being criticised for ****ing over?

Ha, lads, Johnson is only self serving, he doesn't give a **** about anything other than how he appears. If you have him on a pedestal you've fallen for his spiel hook, line and sinker.
    Even a YouGov poll over there has him out of touch with the UK public when it came to what he announced today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,092 ✭✭✭KrustyUCC

Considering we can't even get indoor hospitality open on time and are so uber cautious I would expect a few more years before the conversation here

Or whenever NPHET decide as our government will just do what their told anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,032 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

The UK asks that question because deep down they know that restrictions are against a natural order and they actively want to return to normal. It is important to them for it to happen at the earliest possible moment.

Ireland? Not so much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,545 ✭✭✭✭paulie21

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,775 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Think I'll be going to Arenas/matches in England after the summer then but knowing our government they will have fines and a few tests requirements to gain entry back to Ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,629 ✭✭✭✭Vicxas

ICU stable at 14, normal weekend hospitalisation increase.... yet here we are

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,480 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

The UK asks that question because deep down they know that restrictions are against a natural order and they actively want to return to normal. It is important to them for it to happen at the earliest possible moment.

Ireland? Not so much.

The UK is governed by a bunch of barely restrained herd-immunity-by-infection lunatics with arts degrees. They're not high minded geniuses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,132 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Vicxas wrote: »
    ICU stable at 14, normal weekend hospitalisation increase.... yet here we are
    UK numbers at 27K is why - the pause is for that future "tsunami"!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,172 ✭✭✭blowitupref

paulie21 wrote: »

Last Monday. In hospital 49 and ICU 16.

Fair play to the UK, about time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,725 ✭✭✭Working class heroes

is_that_so wrote: »
    UK numbers at 27K is why - the pause is for that future "tsunami"!

Thought it was a hurricane?

Racism is now hiding behind the cloak of Community activism.