New used car, limit of €3500 - looking at Megane

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,239 ✭✭✭HBC08

I had a 2010 Megane Coupe and I can genuinely say it never gave me an ounce of trouble it was a decent spec as well and was unbelievable on fuel. The only gripe I had was that the front on the buttons would fade easily but was a cracking little car

I had a 97 Megane when I was a young lad and it had a high spec,lovely looking car aswell.
    The 2010 coupe model always stood out to me as a cool looking car,a bit like a cheaper version of a Sirrocho.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,102 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

colm_mcm wrote: »
    On one hand it’s great. 1.4 TSI engine so nice and torquey, DSG gearbox so lovely quick gear changes and no big drop on fuel economy. Only €400 tax too.

On the other hand, the 1.4 TSI isn’t a paragon of reliability, that said the 122ps version like that is one of the better ones. Same craic with the DSG, if it calves you’ll be crying.

If it was €2k and older or something I’d chance it, I don’t think I’d risk €4K on one though.
    Now it might be fine and it might cause no issues and be a great car.

Thanks Colm,

I'll pass on it so. As the car isn't for me, anything I get wrong will be thrown at me ad infinitum, so I'm aiming for reliability being a key factor here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,239 ✭✭✭HBC08

Thanks Colm,

I'll pass on it so. As the car isn't for me, anything I get wrong will be thrown at me ad infinitum, so I'm aiming for reliability being a key factor here.

Jeez,tell her to find her own car then.

HBC08 wrote: »
    Jeez,tell her to find her own car then.

I have, many times. She's a relic from another era. I've been told 'You're the man, it's a man's job to find a car'.

That's what I have to deal with. I don't want to touch it as there's likely to be complaints but the longer she doesn't have a car, the more mine will be used and the less I'll get to use it.

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/11-superb-elegance-1-6tdi-nct-05-2023-taxed/27822233

Complete curveball and I may be getting off track with this. It's outside of budget but it should last a good few years if it's trouble free. I know the 2 litre would be preferable but she's only doing runs up the M50 to work and back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 332 ✭✭Cyclepath

Why not buy her a Nissan Note if she likes yours so much?!

https://www.carzone.ie/used-cars/nissan/note/fpa/202101097807944?SOURCE_ID=SOURCE_ID_FPA_FROM_FEAT_LIST&journey=FeaturedListing

tbh, at that money/year I'd be staying with a Japanese car. 35 years motoring and I've never had a bad one.

Honda, Mazda, Nissan, Mitsubishi, I've driven one of each and they were unfailingly good.

BMW and Mercedes (my current car) have been an absolute nightmare. My next car will be a Toyota.

Cyclepath wrote: »
    Why not buy her a Nissan Note if she likes yours so much?!

https://www.carzone.ie/used-cars/nissan/note/fpa/202101097807944?SOURCE_ID=SOURCE_ID_FPA_FROM_FEAT_LIST&journey=FeaturedListing

tbh, at that money/year I'd be staying with a Japanese car. 35 years motoring and I've never had a bad one.

Honda, Mazda, Nissan, Mitsubishi, I've driven one of each and they were unfailingly good.

BMW and Mercedes (my current car) have been an absolute nightmare. My next car will be a Toyota.

I have indeed been looking at Notes as well. Saw what I thought was a decent low mileage one yesterday, did a Cartell report on it and well the seller wasn't upfront with their listing. The above looks promising.... though I suspect she'll say no on the tax rate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,328 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/11-superb-elegance-1-6tdi-nct-05-2023-taxed/27822233

Complete curveball and I may be getting off track with this. It's outside of budget but it should last a good few years if it's trouble free. I know the 2 litre would be preferable but she's only doing runs up the M50 to work and back.

That era 1.6 are not worth the risk IMO.

Kintaro could you purchase a vehicle up the years with monthly payments as opposed to a budget of €3k/€4k?

It's extremely hard to stand over a 8-10 year old car because no matter how good the history of the vehicle is there's always seals, trims and various other items that need to repaired or replaced solely due to age all of a sudden.

You'd get yourself a 2016-2018 car for €10k and be relatively repair cost free. I sold a focus recently 2016 for €9k and it was a grand commuter.

In terms of looking at this price point with all respect it's bottom of the barrel stuff you seen yourself that Laguna looked great on the advert and you go out and there's buttons missing from the radio unfortunately that's common on 10+ year old cars.

Kintaro could you purchase a vehicle up the years with monthly payments as opposed to a budget of €3k/€4k?

It's extremely hard to stand over a 8-10 year old car because no matter how good the history of the vehicle is there's always seals, trims and various other items that need to repaired or replaced solely due to age all of a sudden.

You'd get yourself a 2016-2018 car for €10k and be relatively repair cost free. I sold a focus recently 2016 for €9k and it was a grand commuter.

In terms of looking at this price point with all respect it's bottom of the barrel stuff you seen yourself that Laguna looked great on the advert and you go out and there's buttons missing from the radio unfortunately that's common on 10+ year old cars.

I did that in 2018 and got myself a 2015 Note. The reason there's such a low budget at the moment is that she's hoping we can sell up here and buy a new house some time next year. As a result she doesn't want to spend too much.

She's a head melter in wanting low mileage, low tax and economy in an old car. If it was myself, I'd accept the issues with buying an older car, it's just to be expected. She has different expectations and my difficulty is that I can't leave her to buy a car herself. It's expected of me..... seemingly to work miracles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,877 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

I think your looking for bit of a unicorn to be honest, your looking at 10 to 12 year old cars which are generally not going to have full documented histories. The older cars tend to get the more owners they inherit where some owners are more meticulous than others at maintaining their cars.

Another idea might be to let your wife keep your current car since you know it best already the spend the money a newer one for yourself where you will have an easier life it it's less than perfect.

bazz26 wrote: »
    I think your looking for bit of a unicorn to be honest, your looking at 10 to 12 year old cars which are generally not going to have full documented histories. The older cars tend to get the more owners they inherit where some owners are more meticulous than others at maintaining their cars.

Another idea might be to let your wife keep your current car since you know it best already, just buy a new one for yourself where you will have an easier life it it's less perfect.

You're 100% correct bazz, which is what's driving me mad.

There's no way in hell I'm letting her have my car. I paid for it and continue to pay the loan back. If she wants a new car she either ups the budget or accepts that there has to be a compromise.

If your hard set on a budget off €4000 I'd recommend sticking to the 2 door Megane hatchback from 2010-2012 as there is a huge stock of them and parts are cheap.

Best of luck but there's no point looking at German cars that are 10 years old with 150k or so miles on the clock it's awful value for money.

If your hard set on a budget off €4000 I'd recommend sticking to the 2 door Megane hatchback from 2010-2012 as there is a huge stock of them and parts are cheap.

Best of luck but there's no point looking at German cars that are 10 years old with 150k or so miles on the clock it's awful value for money.

It needs to be 4 door I'm afraid as we have a 4 year old.

Take anything you can get then that's local. Your expectations and requirements unfortunately don't align with your budget. Go with Jazz/Fit if you can find one but a decent 2012 model will cost you 5k.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,519 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Absolutely bargain in Renault's....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 332 ✭✭Cyclepath

That's an honest car and €800 would have the various creases tidied up! The renault 1.5 diesel is an excellent unit and rarely gives trouble.

The only thing I'd check for is clutch judder taking off in first gear (doesn't happen too often but some units had minor oil leaks onto the plate - you can cure it easily enough by revving and slipping the clutch while braked).

Gave him a call and he's not Alan from Celbridge and it's had more owners than listed :pac:

Will stick to the Renault's though. That seems to be where the value is. Which would you pick?

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/renault-megane-1-5dci-1-prev-owner-nct/28308047 - I'm leaning towards this one

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/renault-megane-diesel-very-low-miles-new-nct/27790432 - Possible second choice

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/renault-megane-1-5-dci-one-owner/27411947

So what if the car checks out, I don't care once it's right.
    You are going to come across many that deal a little at this level.

Put in your search engine... Clio, megane, Laguna, fluence and scenic....
    Try get as new as possible so with your budget 2011 at least and up.

This post is just becoming spam now, OP has been given loads of advice.

Oh I'm terribly sorry.

Search company registered name, see how long trading, Google the name ....

If car checks out that's a nice one good spec

I shan't bother you much more folks but if I may ask. I'm looking at some Fluence models now, have called two dealers and neither have a service history. Ordinarily that'd bother me but perhaps seeing as I'm at the lower end of the market I should judge it on looks and feel?

Both cars I'm looking at, the respective companies have been around since 2004.

I shan't bother you much more folks but if I may ask. I'm looking at some Fluence models now, have called two dealers and neither have a service history. Ordinarily that'd bother me but perhaps seeing as I'm at the lower end of the market I should judge it on looks and feel?

Both cars I'm looking at, the respective companies have been around since 2004.

Honestly wouldn't bother me in the slightest.

Drive it, check for noticeable leaks, rattles etc....
    Check vin matches VLC, check mileage on NCT cert as should have last few put in.
    Most important is belt changed or not and that there is no issues with grinding from engine or gearbox.

If you are unsure bring someone along that knows cars.

Genuinely they're a great car, cheap and cheerful, not a sports car or something that will rock your world but for getting a to b there are a hell of a lot worse ...

Comfort is quite good, definitely not a Mercedes or BMW for comfort but adequate.

One issue I have with the megane at 6ft the seat doesn't go back far enough and God help anyone that would want to sit behind unless their legs are an A4 piece of paper....

If buying off a dealer get them to service it and ask them to prove fuel filter, oil etc was done... Seen many over the years where a service was a look under the bonnet to check levels and closed again.

There is a risk buying anything, you could be sold a lemon, there are new cars coming out as lemons and others have no issues, pure luck at times but as I said no service history, wouldn't put me off.

Hi Folks,

I genuinely and sincerely appreciate all the help that was given to me, it was really invaluable. We went with the below in the end. It seems in great shape, has relatively low mileage and the dealer seemed really quite genuine:

https://webcache.googleusercontent.com/search?q=cache:mNqZZ8QeqWgJ:https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/renault-fluence-2011-1-5-dci-tom-tom-low-kms/28395185+&cd=4&hl=en&ct=clnk&gl=ie

In case that link isn't working, it's a 2011 Fluence with 126,000km on the clock. We got it for €3850.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,328 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Congrats and well wear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,585 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

Great car and very well built. Well wear and congrats on having the patience to seek out a good one :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,604 ✭✭✭DaveyDave

Good to see you bought one. Completely understand asking for feedback, lots of people here know their stuff so it's not difficult for someone to throw an eye over a listing and give their opinion, even if you know what to look for and you're asking multiple times.

People have bought absolute lemons that looked grand so you're definitely within reason to be cautious when spending a few grand. When you've got a set budget and certain requirements it can be difficult alright. Hopefully it keeps her happy :)