Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Murder at the Cottage | Sky

• 09-05-2021 07:13PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9

Anyone know what channel it's on? The jim sheridan documentary about sophie toscan du plantier
    Tagged:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,261 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,257 ✭✭✭FrankN1

It's says Sky Crime are releasing it today but can't see it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 751 ✭✭✭Gal44

Meant to be on Sunday night the 9th may, I still can’t find it though. Wonder why it wasn’t on…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,257 ✭✭✭FrankN1

Still no sign of this...

set to bring up 3 non-Ian-Bailey people as persons of interest

https://www.corkbeo.ie/news/local-news/new-sky-crime-doc-murdered-20441527

plenty of scope there for legal threats and/or challenges I suppose

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91,129 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Bailey wants the case reopened here

Is it on Netflix?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭robwen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,895 ✭✭✭Brock Turnpike

robwen wrote: »

There must be a lot of legal reviewing of the content going on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 605 ✭✭✭upupup

Netflix are also releasing a documentary series on the murder.This series was made with the blessing of the du Plantier family so i think we are going to see different stories.Bailey "didn't do it" and Bailey "did it"
    https://www.irishexaminer.com/lifestyle/artsandculture/arid-40293017.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,421 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

upupup wrote: »
    Netflix are also releasing a documentary series on the murder.This series was made with the blessing of the du Plantier family so i think we are going to see different stories.Bailey "didn't do it" and Bailey "did it"
    https://www.irishexaminer.com/lifestyle/artsandculture/arid-40293017.html
    Is it possible a legal challenge between the two productions?
    I know Louis theroux was basically not allowed to interview hardly anyone related to Joe Exotic in his recent revisited doc due to Netflix having everyone in seriously tight contracts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭robwen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 999 ✭✭✭whatawaster81

See this will air Sunday week with all episodes available. Looking forward to it. Trailer doesn't give much away
    https://www.radiotimes.com/tv/documentaries/true-crime/murder-at-the-cottage-release-date/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91,129 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,790 ✭✭✭Hangdogroad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,142 ✭✭✭notahappycamper

Are Netflix doing a separate documentary on this case?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,888 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,404 ✭✭✭am_zarathustra

Yeah, Murder in West Cork I think, due out the end of the month.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 605 ✭✭✭upupup

Its available to watch now on sky.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,817 ✭✭✭✭Marcusm

Not great at all; some insight into the character of Bailey, poignant scenes with the son at the cottage but overall little in the way of analysis. Sheridan spent too much time on camera, it’s not his forte. His scene-setting in the first 10 minutes was difficult to endure. And yes, I have watched all episodes despite the beautiful day outside.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 604 ✭✭✭Gator

Found it quite good tbh, wasnt really old enough to take it in fully at the time and you kinda get soundbytes over the years. Its good to have the bones of it on screen i think, must listen to that podcast

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,421 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

Only one episode in, I know the basics of the story, but seems well made so far.
    The focus on Jim Sheridan and how he feels about the case is a bit odd.
    Fairly gripping all the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,142 ✭✭✭notahappycamper

Mr.S wrote: »
    I thought the family has their interviews removed, but they are all in it?

I thought that too but note the interviews with her parents say “Archived interview”. So, maybe there were more recent interviews for this documentary?

Confused myself. Didn't think it was that explosive but well made. I'd hoped for more about the gsoc investigation and the discrepancies in the case files. Maybe the Netflix one will have a different slant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,817 ✭✭✭Addle

If you’ve listened to the podcast, there’s nothing new in it, so it’s disappointing.
    Sheridan likes to be in front of the camera as much as Bailey. He’s not a natural presenter/documentarian.
    I’d recommend the West Cork podcast over it.

When's the Netflix doc out?

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

30th of June I think!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,043 ✭✭✭deisedude

The family were interviewed for the series but they felt the documentary was too sympathetic to Bailey and asked that all their interviews be removed so the filmmakers could only use archived footage from interviews in the past

Enjoyed the first episode, gave a good idea of the isolation of where the murder happened and hinted at the incompetence of the Gardai, the fact they left her there on the road for a second night is ludicrous.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,560 ✭✭✭✭Sadb

I thought it was good. Maybe a bit too Ian Bailey centric but good insight into his personality.

I suppose there is nothing new to be learned about the case. There isn’t any new evidence that can be magicked up. The only thing that can solve it now is an actual confession.

That Marie Farrell seems completely cracked. When I heard the description of the man with a beret I thought they must be joking. I don’t believe a single thing she said and obviously just wanted to insert herself into the investigation.

Also what was the whole thing about “Fiona”? she rings first from a phone box somewhere and then rings from her house so they were able to trace the number. Now she says the guards told her to say those things but why were they appealing for “Fiona” to come forward so?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 337 ✭✭I told ya

Watched about 35 minutes of E1.

Couldn't believe the Guard from the Technical Bureau say that when they arrived in W Cork, the local Garda Station was closed for the night and they did not have a mobile phone. Whatever about not having an official mobile phone, I would be amassed if at least one of them did not have a personal mobile.

Also, left Dublin at 3.30pm and arrived in W Cork at 10pm. Yes. I accept 23 December traffic and no M7/M8, Jack Lynch Tunnel etc but effectively, a day wasted. Could they not have used a bit of top brass pressure/back channels and get the Aer Corps to helicopter some of them there with basic equipment.

Looks v poor from the outside, IMO for what it's worth.