Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

What's your rothar worth as a percentage of your car or primary motor vehicle?

• 18-06-2021 1:37pm
    Registered Users Posts: 431 ✭✭

My bike is a second hand unisex hybrid. I bought it for €100.
    Yes, I verified the ownership before buying :P he showed my photos of him on it with his amateur cycling clubmates and gave me the receipt that he had from the bike shop.

My car is an old but reliable and immaculate Nissan Micra, worth about €1,000 at a push.

Bike value: €100.
    Car value: €1,000.

Percentage of bike of car value: 10%

Let's see if we can achieve over 100% for someone's bike :D

• Registered Users Posts: 2,815 ✭✭✭sparrowcar

There was a thread similar to this years ago either here or maybe reddit.
    It was how much your car was worth as a percentage of your house. Needless to say it was an eye opener. Far too many Range Rovers parked outside 2 bed mid terraces if I recall.

Anyway should be interesting.

Car €20k according to carzone
    Bike 1 MTB €4.5k
    Bike 2 Road €1.5k
    Bike 3 BMX €500

Percentage 32.5%

Reason for edit.. adding all bikes as others have

• Registered Users Posts: 7,205 ✭✭✭CantGetNoSleep

sparrowcar wrote: »
    There was a thread similar to this years ago either here or maybe reddit.
    It was how much your car was worth as a percentage of your house. Needless to say it was an eye opener. Far too many Range Rovers parked outside 2 bed mid terraces if I recall.

Anyway should be interesting.

Car €20k according to carzone
    Bike €4.5k
    Percentage 22.5%
    My figures are almost identical to that for my most expensive bike.

Add in the other six and I think I'd top the 100% though

• Registered Users Posts: 7,770 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

Bike €2.5k Bianchi
    Car €2.5k 08 Toyota.

Both performing great.

• Registered Users Posts: 431 ✭✭Jeremy Sproket

You're all putting me to shame with your fancy bikes :P Your bikes are worth multiples of my car :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

car 7k 131 kia

bike 3.5k cannondale di2 carbon wheels
    bike 2 300 10 ye old focus
    bike 3 300 planet x kaffenback
    bike4 28 year ol aluminium o (classic value ? :) )

dont forget

rule 25 // The bikes on top of your car should be worth more than the car.Or at least be relatively more expensive. Basically, if you’re putting your Huffy on your Rolls, you’re in trouble, mister.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭07Lapierre

Bike 1: about 6k
    Bike 2: about 3k
    Bike 3: about 1k
    Bike 4: €500 or what ever I can get for it.
    Spare wheels: €1200

Car: about 10k and dropping.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,197 ✭✭✭secman

Car €4,000

Bike 1 €3.500
    Bike 2 €3,500
    Bike 3 €500
    Bike 4 €300 soon to be sold
    Bike 5 vintage 27 year old Rapparee value...sentimental :)

• Registered Users Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

You're all putting me to shame with your fancy bikes :P Your bikes are worth multiples of my car :pac:

regretting asking yet ?????:D:D:D:D:D

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 38,784 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

Bike 1 (2019) €1800
    Bike 2 (2013) €500
    (Need a bike 3 - what are you selling secman?)
    Car purchased before Christmas after a driver did an dangerous & illegal turn and killed my last one - 162 BMW 520d @ €25k

• Registered Users Posts: 5,812 ✭✭✭fat bloke

Well I paid 6 and a half grand for my cervelo and 2 and a half for my Golf!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 15,705 Mod ✭✭✭✭smacl

Don't drive but have an inherited car in the driveway that I keep meaning to learn on at some time. Like myself, both the bike and the car are getting on a bit and not much to look at. Bike is my primary vehicle, could probably get €2-4k for the car but will probably give it to a mate who's in need of a new motor.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,770 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

fat bloke wrote: »

Priorities.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 19,732 Mod ✭✭✭✭Weepsie

Also don't drive.

Can't put a value on the bikes, as they're arguably worth more than I oad for them as they're all framesets built up and in one case in an option that was never available off the shelf.

Like smacl, I use the bike for everything so measuring it's value is even harder.

Wife drives though. I'd say the bikes are probably worth more than the car , but only just and onky because some lazy dinkus gave it a cat d write off when it was super cheap to fix and asses

• Registered Users Posts: 6,454 ✭✭✭Tombo2001

The bike I bought recently is possibly worth more than my car.

As much a reflection on the car as the bike.

The thing about the car is that whether its cheap or expensive, it gets me from A to B.

Whereas I bike, I really feel the benefits of spending up.

(Need a bike 3 - what are you selling secman?)
    [/quote]

Caad9 54cm
    http://www.adverts.ie/...gra-bbq-55cm/6949398.
    Feels more like a 56cm.
    The original advert when I bought it.
    Its running well but seatpost is seized and i need to drop it by approx 1 inch according to a bike fit. Just trying to eliminate a back issue that keeps flaring up, doing pilates, changed office chair and selling the Caad9.
    You did ask Seth :)

• Registered Users Posts: 4,319 ✭✭✭Daroxtar

Ah jaysus, I have a fully custom, hand built Sarto bike and a 20 year old Yaris .
    Give or take, about 3000% :D:D:D

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 38,784 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

secman wrote: »
    Link not working and I can't find it on Adverts :(

• Registered Users Posts: 3,979 ✭✭✭68 lost souls

Bike is probably 2% although talking actual values in here is probably I’ll advised as there is enough info on your profile and listing the values of cars and bikes to be stolen is not a great idea.

Link not working and I can't find it on Adverts :(

Was trying to upload an old adverts link, not currently up on adverts or anywhere at the moment. Leave it with me and I'll try to sort something.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,393 ✭✭✭Grassey

Isn't it a bit mad that the cost of a car is so cheap when you consider the amount of materials in it... And a bike is so expensive for 8kg of carbon, and a 1kg of assorted shiny parts

• Registered Users Posts: 13 Landlord21

fat bloke wrote: »

6.5k for bicycle??

Am reading that right? ^_^

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 75,196 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Well one of the cars is worth €1k

6 of my bikes are each worth more than that

Both our other cars are worth more than any of the bikes

Overall I would say

Total bike value =40% of total car value
    Total bike value = 50% of horse van value
    Total bike value = 50% of total tractor value

Conclusion? I think I need some more bikes.....

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 75,196 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Landlord21 wrote: »
    6.5k for bicycle??

Yep - he's a bit of a cheapskate. Three of my Cervelos cost more than that. The other two are track bikes and a bit cheaper

Beasty wrote: »
    Well one of the cars is worth €1k

6 of my bikes are each worth more than that

Both our other cars are worth more than any of the bikes

Overall I would say

Total bike value =40% of total car value
    Total bike value = 50% of horse van value
    Total bike value = 50% of total tractor value

Conclusion? I think I need some more bikes.....

If only those bikes were vintage you'd be saving a fortune on road tax wha? :D

• Registered Users Posts: 5,812 ✭✭✭fat bloke

6.5k for bicycle??

And that was back in 2012. 10 grand wouldn't buy its equivalent today.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 48,234 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

i'm confused as to whether i should list resale value of car against new value of bike or not.
    my car was probably 20-25k new in 2012 when it was made, my bike probably 3k value new.

6.5k for bicycle??

Wait till you see this. Lets say you have a frame, saddle + seat post, wheels and handlebars but need everything else like gearing, brakes etc. and bear in mind those parts I first mentioned alone could get you to 6.5k probably.

https://www.bike24.com/p2215743.html

EDIT: I remember one of the men who won that big lotto jackpot as part of a syndicate around naul in recent times being on local radio telling the presenter he'd get a new bike and the presenter being a bit taken at what bikes could cost.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,863 ✭✭✭✭crosstownk

I don't own a car but I do use my wife's car occasionally. Based on the RRP of both, the bike is 14%. Hard to say what the current used values are.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Car 1 - daily driver €3000
    Car 2 - AWD snow car €1000
    Car 3 - garage queen classic car €12500

Bike 1 - S-Works Roubaix - €3000
    Bike 2 - Felt VR30 - €1000
    Bike 3 - Cube Attain - €400
    Bike 4 - Cube LTD Race 29er - €500

Cars - € 16500
    Bikes - €4900

So approximately 30%

• Registered Users Posts: 1,340 ✭✭✭TheW1zard

car 7k 131 kia

bike 3.5k cannondale di2 carbon wheels
    bike 2 300 10 ye old focus
    bike 3 300 planet x kaffenback
    bike4 28 year ol aluminium o (classic value ? :) )

dont forget

rule 25 // The bikes on top of your car should be worth more than the car.Or at least be relatively more expensive. Basically, if you’re putting your Huffy on your Rolls, you’re in trouble, mister.

Refer to rule 25!
    I think I'd be 50% lol