Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

An Garda Síochána - COVID19

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,222 ✭✭✭Valhallapt

bubblypop wrote: »
    No, gardai are in public order duty in the city every weekend.

Are you honestly saying this is an every day occurrence

https://mobile.twitter.com/SamanthaLibreri/status/1401279861155676162

Valhallapt wrote: »
    Are you honestly saying this is an every day occurrence

https://mobile.twitter.com/SamanthaLibreri/status/1401279861155676162

No, because usually people are quite well behaved and the public order unit are barely seen.
    Last night obviously, scrotes went wild and they had to take action.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,224 ✭✭✭zerosugarbuzz

No, gardai are in public order duty in the city every weekend.

They may be on public order duty but they keep a very low profile. Batton charging is a new departure and the optics are dreadful. We were fortunate to have a very positive, for most of the population, relationship with the Garda. I hope that era is not ending.

No, because usually people are quite well behaved and the public order unit are barely seen.

The Garda should not be calling any part of the population scrotes. It is unhelpful and is an attitude that could well incite a negative reaction from those it’s directed at. If I called someone a sceptre I wouldn’t expect it to go well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,086 ✭✭✭jackboy

Ah now, Dublin City centre has had young people going wild every weekend for decades now.

Tony’s tweet last week led to the Gardai making a statement. One of them interviewed for the news Friday evening before this started was extremely pumped up and aggressive. These actions were pre planned.

The Garda should not be calling any part of the population scrotes. It is unhelpful and is an attitude that could well incite a negative reaction from those it’s directed at. If I called someone a sceptre I wouldn’t expect it to go well.

Did the Garda call anyone scrotes?
    I doubt it, press officer? Garda Twitter account?
    Nope. No one
    Posters on boards call them scrotes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,132 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

They may be on public order duty but they keep a very low profile. Batton charging is a new departure and the optics are dreadful. We were fortunate to have a very positive, for most of the population, relationship with the Garda. I hope that era is not ending.
    Once normality returns and people have a lot more places to go this will just be a memory. Baton charging , as done here, is really at a very gentle pace and most people would back Gardai on the need for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,054 ✭✭✭D.Q

is_that_so wrote: »
    Once normality returns and people have a lot more places to go this will just be a memory. Baton charging , as done here, is really at a very gentle pace and most people would back Gardai on the need for it.

Just a gentle baton. Nothing to see here.

D.Q wrote: »
    Just a gentle baton. Nothing to see here.
    And some very fine pint carrying as well.

is_that_so wrote: »
    And some very fine pint carrying as well.

Perhaps the only good thing to come out of it all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,484 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

If I called someone a sceptre I wouldn’t expect it to go well.

I'd expect blank incomprehension.

Perhaps the only good thing to come out of it all.
    Yes it is good to see the tradition thriving, pint above self!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59,139 ✭✭✭✭walshb

More scum thuggery anarchy last night..

Will all our leaders now stand together to fully back our gardai in dealing with these scum?

walshb wrote: »

Will all our leaders now stand together to fully back our gardai in dealing with these scum?

They usually just send tweets inciting hatred.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,792 ✭✭✭PowerToWait

Ah they’ve been locked up for nearly 2 years.
    They’re doing what young people have always done.
    They’ve made massive sacrifices.
    Curtain twitchers go hide under your bed.
    We need more bins.
    Police state.
    Tyranny.
    Gardai are Nazis.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,142 ✭✭✭0ph0rce0

Just read the journal article posted there.

There's always a few bad eggs fair enough. But when you turn up in full riot gear and shields the scum that were acting the maggot see this as a challenge and only starts more trouble.

Also says in the article the garda started clearing streets at 9pm. Why can't they just let the normal people get on with it? Chasing everyone off the streets at 9 o'clock is daft. The lockdown is done for most, there's no going back to the way it was no matter how many restrictions they impose from here on in. It's over.

Are they going to be out clearing streets every night?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 375 ✭✭Stripeyman

Not a hope. According to her Twitter account, Mary Lou's been whinging to the Commissioner about it.

Stripeyman wrote: »
    Not a hope. According to her Twitter account, Mary Lou's been whinging to the Commissioner about it.

Sinn Fein will be in power next, Drew Harris will be gone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59,139 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Stripeyman wrote: »

Sure I know SF won’t stand with AGS. They’re anti AGS, and anti anything government.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,792 ✭✭✭PowerToWait

Sinn Fein will be in power next, Drew Harris will be gone

Fantastic insight and a superb unpacking of the Irish political situation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,484 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

We need more bins.
    Police state.
    Tyranny.
    Gardai are Nazis.

Well that escalated quickly.

Fantastic insight and a superb unpacking of the Irish political situation.

Thank you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,332 ✭✭✭ginoginelli

This was all avoidable. If the the Gov and guards had clamped down on takeaway pints and outdoor drinking this could have been nipped in the bud a month ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,736 ✭✭✭whippet

This is the result of the inability of the Irish political system to do anything resembling the right thing.

Imagine being a retailer in the city centre .. forced to close the doors for the guts of a year and having to close your doors again on a bank holiday weekend early to facilitate mass uncontrolled boozing on the streets. While you have to watch the political classes clap them selves on the back for encouraging them to break the guidelines by putting in portaloos.

And then the guards are expected to police laws and regulations which the politicians have facilitated people to contravene.

Our government, opposition and media are just spineless ….

Did the Garda call anyone scrotes?
    I doubt it, press officer? Garda Twitter account?
    Nope. No one
    Posters on boards call them scrotes

Am I mistaken or did you not say you are a member, on previous posts,!of The Gardai?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,191 ✭✭✭✭tom1ie

Garda wouldn't be Barton charging if people weren't acting the bollox.
    Simple really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,112 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

tom1ie wrote: »
    Simple really.

This.
    Play stupid games, win stupid prizes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,461 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

0ph0rce0 wrote: »
    Just read the journal article posted there.

There's always a few bad eggs fair enough. But when you turn up in full riot gear and shields the scum that were acting the maggot see this as a challenge and only starts more trouble.

Also says in the article the garda started clearing streets at 9pm. Why can't they just let the normal people get on with it? Chasing everyone off the streets at 9 o'clock is daft. The lockdown is done for most, there's no going back to the way it was no matter how many restrictions they impose from here on in. It's over.

Are they going to be out clearing streets every night?

Yeah sure leave them at it, they're not causing any harm.
    There are plenty of businesses on this street – and really nice, family owned businesses – hard working people who are being terrorised at their doors.

“They’ve already suffered through an absolutely horrific, horrendous 15 months. They’re trying to get their businesses back open and they’re being terrorised and intimidated at their own doorstep. They’re being forced to close their businesses at 2pm on a Saturday
    The cleaning every morning,” she said. “We’ve had to bring staff in earlier every morning to make sure they are scrubbed up and that the pathway is clean for customers. It is a worry that this is costing us business. People using the streets as a public urinal is never pleasant.”

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/ireland/irish-news/a-different-feel-in-dublin-city-firms-close-early-citing-staff-concerns-1.4585680?mode=amp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,562 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

tom1ie wrote: »
    Simple really.

What did Barton do to deserve being charged at?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,736 ✭✭✭whippet

Was there baton charging last night or just guards moving people along / closing off streets?