Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part XI *Read OP For Mod Warnings*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 911 ✭✭✭FlubberJones

gozunda wrote: »
    Well its a bit of humour - but the comment certainly does not step outside the usual standard of direct reporting here to be fair

That is of course unless you have a link for the "country leadership stating "people are misbehaving"?

No?

No worries ;)

https://www.irishmirror.ie/news/irish-news/irish-pubs-update-reopening-date-24224311

varadkar and his comment half way down

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,623 ✭✭✭Micky 32

Dr. Bre wrote: »
    The kappa variant sounds like a dodgy coffee I had

Careful now , it’s an “ absolute beast” :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,428 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

This is a thread about covid, I am sure there are general litter threads about for people who want to discuss litter as an ongoing issue.

This is a thread about the easing of restrictions.

You wouldn't think reading it.

But a substantial easing is happening today.
    Hotels, B&Bs, self-catering accommodation and hostels can reopen from today

But anyway, back to Tony wanting to ban pints.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

I'd be obliged if you could point out where I linked litter and covid, thanks.

Or where I mentioned Holohan.

Or where I said they were breaking restrictions.

I never said any of those things and yet you're arguing against them like a mental person. DO you want to go back and read what I wrote again and formulate a coherent response?

My sympathies. Looks like you're fairly new here. It's got that bad we've even had to instigate a Things Which Were Never Said register specifically for this thread. Seems to the standard approach to round down on anyone not toeing the party line around here by claiming they said things they didnt or making up quotes and attributing them to politicians etc for added outrage. That said makes hilarious reading tbf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,331 ✭✭✭Keyzer

Where crowds gather litter will always be left, electric picnic, papal visit, busy beach. It's a fact of life.

The main whine from the covid crowd last weekend was not about covid but people having fun and leaving litter.

First it was variants, then not enough people having their second dose and now the whine is about litter.

Varadkar was even on about bad weather being a good thing next weekend.

Pathetic at this stage.

Don't pass it off as a fact of life - such a dismissive way of looking at issue. People want to get back to normal and enjoy their lives, that's fully understandable. Just clean your shít up while your at it - its not that hard.
    Ballynally wrote: »
    Ok, my take on all this is that, whatever your view is about drinking (and littering, urinating etc) in public, we should be grateful even having the argument.
    The SarsVoc2 nrs are so low the focus is on other things. Great.
    Also, like many people i was irked by the TH 'shock' statement and the subsequent outrage that followed in the news, plus the link with the pandemic.
    All very predictable in hindsight.
    You know we can just ignore that now and people making reference to it. We can let that argument simply die out and not put any fuel to it.Things are looking bright.
    In a way i find the whole thing quite amusing.
    One caveat: if the TH's of Ireland start to get overly worried about rises in infection rates resulting in the continuation of restrictions.
    THEN it is time to start kicking and screaming.
    In other words, instead of nitpicking about who said what and when (you did,no i didnt, YES you did, NO i didnt) hold your ammunition for the future.

If people want to go out and party then let them, we've been cooped up for long enough.

My view still stands - have some fúcking consideration and behave like a civilized human being, clean your shít up after you. Otherwise, someone else has to come along the morning afterwards and clean this garbage up for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 275 ✭✭NIAC Fanboy

My sympathies. Looks like you're fairly new here. It's got that bad we've even had to instigate a Things Which Were Never Said register specifically for this thread. Seems to the standard approach to round down on anyone not toeing the party line around here by claiming they said things they didnt or making up quotes and attributing them to politicians etc for added outrage. That said makes hilarious reading tbf.

Like the time you claimed people in DCC adhering to restrictions were giving a finger to people following restrictions.

Ah context - thank you. Let's look at that.
    What I saw around town was people gathering in the outdoors responsibly, sitting in relatively small groups. It's important to note that I think there's a risk always when a video goes up on Twitter of a certain number of people misbehaving in a certain number of places. There can be a bit of an overreaction to it.

"The vast majority of people are following the guidelines, they're meeting up in back gardens in groups of no more than three households and if they aren't meeting in parks. They're keeping the numbers really small."

Mr Varadkar also called on the Dublin City Council to do more to deal with the crowds, including installing more bins and bathrooms.

So what he was saying is that a small number of people were acting the eegit but that shouldn't detract from the absolute majority generally doing the right thing?

I'd say in context that's absolutely true. The fact that the gardai had to make a number of arrests etc at the same incident certainly seems to support his thoughts on this.

Easy to take things out of context isn't it?

Like the time you claimed people in DCC adhering to restrictions were giving a finger to people following restrictions.

Ah yes claim no 7352(b) in the TWWNS database?

Sure ;)

Considering you've attempted to throw the exact same ****e about restrictions being broken at another poster - which you tried to do previously and been called out again for it - should provide enough evidence that you're talking ballocs

This is a thread about covid, I am sure there are general litter threads about for people who want to discuss litter as an ongoing issue.

Perhaps then you should take it up with the person to whom I was responding, so, as it was they who are talking about litter and I replied. Your attempts at making counterpoints to arguments I never made, however, are your own and the fact you've not even addressed that point in your latest reply speaks volumes.

It's the equivalent of someone standing on O'Connell Street ranting at the clouds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 935 ✭✭✭darconio

I wonder if the level of indignation for littering was the same when the blm protestors defaced and destroyed several sculpture and monuments around the world in the name of justice and equality.

Or has anyone ever been around the city centre the morning after paddy's day? Perhaps we should cancel every celebration going forward, I know many would be delighted by this decision

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,993 ✭✭✭Captain_Crash

Something I mentioned on the government covid thread the other day when MM suggested lockdowns as punishment, but worth mentioning here! If they were going to allow further openings earlier, and now aren’t as a result of people gathering on Saturday, then has the government admitted that they’re keeping business closed as a de facto punishment and not because of “the immediate, exceptional and manifest risk posed to human life and public health by the spread of Covid-19”? Which is what the Health Act powers are specific to?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,942 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

Keyzer wrote: »
    The fact that the country is slowly starting to turn a corner and getting back to some semblance of normality doesn't give anyone the excuse to behave like a filthy animal and throw rubbish all over the place.

Have some consideration for the people who have to get up on Saturday and Sunday mornings and clean all this crap up, the same people you championed in your post.

Clean your shít up next time.

If the bosses of those people were doing their jobs and adding bins instead of removing 2000 from the city streets in the last 10 years then there wouldn't have been as much rubbish on the streets.

Its not a complicated notion is it? That the council would provide adequate public services?

VinLieger wrote: »
    If the bosses of those people were doing their jobs and adding bins instead of removing 2000 from the city streets in the last 10 years then there wouldn't have been as much rubbish on the streets.

Its not a complicated notion is it? That the council would provide adequate public services?

How many more times does it need to be said........The fact they're NOT doing their jobs doesn't mean you have free reign to fcuk all your empty cans on the ground.

It's not a complicated notion is it? That the population might not act like filthy knackers?

Something I mentioned on the government covid thread the other day when MM suggested lockdowns as punishment[, but worth mentioning here! If they were going to allow further openings earlier, and now aren’t as a result of people gathering on Saturday, then has the government admitted that they’re keeping business closed as a de facto punishment and not because of “the immediate, exceptional and manifest risk posed to human life and public health by the spread of Covid-19”? Which is what the Health Act powers are specific to?

I read what was reported on that. And imho - the gist was there was some presure to open pubs etc earlier but on consideration of the ongoing programme for rolling back of restrictions it didn't make sense.

Have you a link where there were suggestions of lockdowns as punishment? I didnt see any tbf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,872 ✭✭✭mightyreds

never mind read it wrong

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,942 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

It's not a complicated notion is it? That the population might not act like filthy knackers?

But that's not what happens in this country, weve seen this exact thing happen time and time again for years now so why do you expect any different all of a sudden? We as a people are lazy disgusting slobs and I agree its a disgrace but its as equally disgraceful that the council know full well this kind of thing happens and still refuse to be proactive about it. In fact thyve removed bins, in the 00s there was 5000 public bins in the city, now theres only around 3000

So what he was saying is that a small number of people were acting the eegit but that shouldn't detract from the absolute majority doing the right thing?

Tbh there are no excuses for recent scenes from Dublin City centre. With large crowds, little or no social distance, close contact / face to face / contact over extended periods

I am a bit confused here, is your ire with all the people who gathered in the city centre, or the small few who acted the eejit and got arrested etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 399 ✭✭BigMo1

mightyreds wrote: »
    Jesus that is crazy such a flippant comment too, they "toyed" with the idea of pushing out the opening, business have spent thousands preparing for outdoor dining, more time consumed getting and retraining staff and they toyed with the idea of not allowing them open.

This is the problem in this country. We have normalized these lockdowns and removal of people's freedoms to the point that statements like this don't raise any eyebrows.

It's a very slippery slope we're on. Taking away businesses right to trade isn't an idea to "toy with", it's a massive fu*king deal.

darconio wrote: »
    I wonder if the level of indignation for littering was the same when the blm protestors defaced and destroyed several sculpture and monuments around the world in the name of justice and equality.

Or has anyone ever been around the city centre the morning after paddy's day? Perhaps we should cancel every celebration going forward, I know many would be delighted by this decision

From what I saw yeah there was a massive reaction to the vandalism of statues etc around the world.

Not sure all of it was in the name of "justice and equality". And somehow I dont think we can use that qualifier for the recent gatherings in DCC to be honest.

But yeah in general I think we do have a general problem with littering in this country and not all of it 'cos there's no bins or other excuses.

How many more times does it need to be said........The fact they're NOT doing their jobs doesn't mean you have free reign to fcuk all your empty cans on the ground.

Its a simple fact that in these situations people will always leave litter. It just happens. You can point to no major event where no bins are provided and say look everybody brought their litter home.

Skip bins every 10 metres would be well utilised but sadly people start dumping domestic rubbish in them pretty quick.

I am a bit confused here, is your ire with all the people who gathered in the city centre, or the small few who acted the eejit and got arrested etc.

Yeah I've accepted the fact you're confused. Much like the acusations you threw at the previous poster for saying things they never said. That and its just to easy to take things out of context isn't it?

But no matter.

Yeah I've accepted the fact you're confused. Much like the acusations you threw at the previous poster for saying things they never said.

But no matter.

Don't bother answering the question then. Is your ire with everybody as you indicate in one post or just the few that acted the eejit?

Ah ok that's a seperate entry for the taking things said out of context (TTOOC) database.

So I dont need to bother answering your question? Grand I won't.

But here's a tip - you may wish to reread what you quoted. Viz "So what he was saying..."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 214 ✭✭Ballynally

You are all a bunch of schoolboys in the sandpit.
    "Nobody understands me" boo hoo".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 784 ✭✭✭daydorunrun

Oh my....this thread!

Echo chamber inhabited by full time posters who mansplain here because their families are likely sick of listening to them.

“You tried your best and you failed miserably. The lesson is, never try.” Homer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,445 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

Think outdoors this summer......but just not there, or over there, and definitely not there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,216 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

namloc1980 wrote: »

Think outdoors this summer......but just not there, or over there, and definitely not there.

Jesus what a comedy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,337 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

Outdoors but not in massive dense crowds was my understanding? Did I miss something or have large public gatherings been given an ok? They are doing the same thing at the quays in Galway and parts of Dublin. I don't know why you're confused it seems to be in line with the rest of what they are saying atm?

namloc1980 wrote: »

NIMBYism replaced by Not In My Outdoor Space ism NIMOSism.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,872 ✭✭✭mightyreds

Love the actions taken in this country we don't want large dense crowds so we will make the space the crowds fit into smaller.