Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part XI *Read OP For Mod Warnings*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,130 ✭✭✭dominatinMC

I observed an outbreak of loud music the other night, I initially was a bit shocked and thought this is bad. Then I checked my watch and it was 11pm.

There has been silence for so long that we forget people playing a bit of music in their garden from the stereo in a house 2 doors down at 11pm on the few warm Saturday nights we get was once normal.

Some people will be slow to accept going back to what things once were.
    I actually can't believe what I'm reading here. Unless this is tongue-in-cheek. Because it seems the only people I have seen propagating these theories are here in Boards and not in, you know, real life. The scenes of people out over the weekend would suggest most normal people are perturbed by loud music, crowded areas, or any of those other scary things :rolleyes:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,770 ✭✭✭GT89

A lot? Or a small sample size of, and I'll say it again, introverted types who reside on internet forums...

I've heard people say they still wouldn't be comfortable shaking someone's hand or going into a large crowd after covid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

A lot? Or a small sample size of, and I'll say it again, introverted types who reside on internet forums...

Unless they are duping the numbers, the poll numbers are generally shocking.

This one from the journal last week, 36% said we are opening up too fast. 40% are saying its just right.

The 36% is just frightening. You can't be sane and be thinking we're going too fast.

GT89 wrote: »
    I've heard people say they still wouldn't be comfortable shaking someone's hand or going into a large crowd after covid.
    And I haven't heard anyone say such things. But I wouldn't make sweeping statements based off my experiences. No one can predict the future, it could very well be the case that people will be slow to return, or it will happen almost instantaneously. But, based off recent scenes of social gatherings in Ireland, and concerts abroad, coupled with fans at matches in the UK, I'd say the latter is a lot more likely than the former.

Unless they are duping the numbers, the poll numbers are generally shocking.

This one from the journal last week, 36% said we are opening up too fast. 40% are saying its just right.

The 36% is just frightening. You can't be sane and be thinking we're going too fast.
    Ya I saw that and I was surprised too. But it's a bit of stretch to assume that 36% "don't want to return to normal". A lot of nuance is lost in a simple poll

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,945 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

gozunda wrote: »
    Ah now you're back again to things which were never said. ...

But yes we know normal outdoor activities are considered lower risk - however

The people acting the eejit in DCC last week didn't give a feq whether it did or didn't but did give a finger to everyone else sticking to restrictions.

But what's new?

And we're back to this, how many times does it need to be explained this has been happening for weeks?

We've seen now uptick in infections from these gatherings so what evidence do you have to show they are not safe?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Lol. No.

We have large crowds of people who very evidently did not exercise their personal responsibility wrt pandemic restrictions
    c'est la vie, you can't keep us locked down forever, boys will be boys

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

c'est la vie, you can't keep us locked down forever, boys will be boys

Aye but sure its all Tony's fault .... :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,228 ✭✭✭✭normanoffside

Even ISAG’s Anthony Staines was just on Claire Byrne saying the scenes from Saturdays outdoor gatherings are no risk to public health.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,077 ✭✭✭KrustyUCC

McLysart was on Virgin at 10 saying the same

More worried about indoor dining than the scenes at the weekend

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 275 ✭✭NIAC Fanboy

KrustyUCC wrote: »

Yep, and Tony has diverted the guards to deal with a minimal risk activity, leaving the house parties and sheebeens go unchecked.

A coordinated approach so.

Yep, and Tony has diverted the guards to deal with a minimal risk activity, leaving the house parties and sheebeens go unchecked.

It’s all about power and attention for Tony.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,324 ✭✭✭CruelSummer

A coordinated approach so.

Exactly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 275 ✭✭NIAC Fanboy

It’s all about power and attention for Tony.

Absolutely, and it sickened him on Saturday to see his power trip is over, hence the tantrum tweet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,021 ✭✭✭Hulk Hands

So ISAG had a member on both our main stations at the same time, on different talkshows. It's actually incredible the platform this cult is getting. Some of the more prominent ones actually have zero qualifications in epidemiology. They want to spread a defunct message that the rest of Europe has long completely rejected and our getting onto our airways each and every day to do so.

It's like if we had got Opus Dei members on, often unchallenged, each and every evening when we were debating the Marragie or Abortion referendums.

Staines actually didn't go along with CBs utterances on outdoor tonight to be fair but he still got time to air his dangerous views against travel and normal dining.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,100 ✭✭✭I see sheep

Ireland's slow re-opening is becoming a big issue imo.
    I'm on holiday in the UK and have met 2 groups of North Americans who would usually be in Ireland now.
    If another Summer is lost a huge number of tourists won't come back unfortunately.

"a terrible war imposed by the provisional IRA"

Our West Brit Taoiseach

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 241 ✭✭kerrycork13

What is the reasoning with the outdoor dining and the premises having to close for 11.30.pm? I just doesn't make any sense? Bloody height of the summer and we cant socialise behind 11.30??

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,770 ✭✭✭GT89

What is the reasoning with the outdoor dining and the premises having to close for 11.30.pm? I just doesn't make any sense? Bloody height of the summer and we cant socialise behind 11.30??

Because the Indian variant only comes out at 23:31

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,398 ✭✭✭Deeper Blue

Because we have to be good boys and girls and go to bed early or the big bad variants will get us

Ireland's slow re-opening is becoming a big issue imo.
    I'm on holiday in the UK and have met 2 groups of North Americans who would usually be in Ireland now.
    If another Summer is lost a huge number of tourists won't come back unfortunately.

Absolutely nothing to do with this no?

5bnbbr.jpg

Ireland gets a significant amount of organised tours from the US. Those companies won't come here whilst we are on the US Level 4 - "Do Not Travel" List ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,680 ✭✭✭Penfailed

Why are people calling for a slowing down of the reopening? There's extremely low deaths, ICU cases, and covid cases... am I going crazy? What are peoples problems??

Are they?

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Queens of the Stone Age, Electric Picnic, Vantastival

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,945 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

Penfailed wrote: »
    Are they?

The ISAG crowd Staines et al are, but don't forget they are also the ones who admitted they would lie, fear monger and harrass to push for their own personal zero covid agenda so they shouldn't be getting air time any more anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 935 ✭✭✭darconio

Absolutely nothing to do with this no?

5bnbbr.jpg

Ireland gets a significant amount of organised tours from the US. Those companies won't come here whilst we are on the US Level 4 - "Do Not Travel" List ...

I take you got that screenshot from this list:

https://travel.state.gov/content/travel/en/traveladvisories/traveladvisories.html/

The warning for Ireland was issued on the 21st of April, also, if you go by that list, you may as well stay at home and hide under your bed: only 16 countries worldwide are at level 2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,224 ✭✭✭zerosugarbuzz

Every second household now seems to have an outdoor bar installed in their garden.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,429 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

Every second household now seems to have an outdoor bar installed in their garden.

With taps and kegs?

I'd be vaulting the wall on the sly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,872 ✭✭✭mightyreds

Boggles wrote: »
    With taps and kegs?

I'd be vaulting the wall on the sly.

Yeah one of my friends was driving the country to try get a keg for his tap, they were very scarce, cost him 1400 to install.
    I think i'd rather the 1000 odd bottles instead myself for the money.

darconio wrote: »
    I take you got that screenshot from this list:

https://travel.state.gov/content/travel/en/traveladvisories/traveladvisories.html/

The warning for Ireland was issued on the 21st of April, also, if you go by that list, you may as well stay at home and hide under your bed: only 16 countries worldwide are at level 2

Us Warning remains active for Ireland. But yeah a lot of Americans won't be coming here on organised tours whilst its in place ...

So wtf is "hide under the bed" ballcocks got to do with anything?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭TomSweeney

Why are people calling for a slowing down of the reopening? There's extremely low deaths, ICU cases, and covid cases... am I going crazy? What are peoples problems??

Because there is a cohort that desperately wants to clutch to anything to make this go on and on.

These people WANT the variants to be vaccine resistant.
    They WANT endless lockdowns.
    They WANT us to be masked forever.

Bad bad bad people

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 17,643 Mod ✭✭✭✭Graham

TomSweeney wrote: »
    Because there is a cohort that desperately wants to clutch to anything to make this go on and on.

These people WANT the variants to be vaccine resistant.
    They WANT endless lockdowns.
    They WANT us to be masked forever.

Bad bad bad people

What nonsense.

While there may be many that support a more risk averse approach I have literally never come across one person on this thread or otherwise that wants this to go on indefinitely.