Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part XI *Read OP For Mod Warnings*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,031 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Has anyone ever went drinking and brought their empties home? You should find a bin and use it but the implication that it's normal for someone to jump on the bus with a plastic bag full of empty cans is nonsense.

They're a lot lighter than the bag of full cans you brought with you.

Desperately grasping for excuses for the terminally lazy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,813 ✭✭✭joe40

So where should he have gone and done it?

Are you seriously defending pissing in the street.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 114 ✭✭dublin_paul

They can't accept its over. Withdrawal symptoms.

This is madness :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 469 ✭✭jakiah

They're a lot lighter than the bag of full cans you brought with you.

Desperately grasping for excuses for the terminally lazy.
    People dont bring cans with them, its the city - there are millions of options for buying all kind of drinks when you get there, THATS WHY PEOPLE GO.

The idea that everyone should bring all of their days food and drink waste out of the city on the bus/train/taxi is absurd. This situation only has to run another few weeks, DCC should provide enough bins and toilets to cope with demand. End of.

Getting real tired of the curtain twitchers having a go at the young lads now. Theyve been locked up for a year and a half and now we want to outsource the cities waste managment to them? Give me a ****ing break.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 17,643 Mod ✭✭✭✭Graham

Why are people calling for a slowing down of the reopening? There's extremely low deaths, ICU cases, and covid cases... am I going crazy? What are peoples problems??

For the most part, they're not.

From my perspective, quite the opposite. I'd rather we didn't get stupid at this stage and put the reopening at risk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,031 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

jakiah wrote: »
    People dont bring cans with them, its the city - there are millions of options for buying all kind of drinks when you get there, THATS WHY PEOPLE GO.

The idea that everyone should bring all of their days food and drink waste out of the city on the bus/train/taxi is absurd. This situation only has to run another few weeks, DCC should provide enough bins and toilets to cope with demand. End of.

Getting real tired of the curtain twitchers having a go at the young lads now. Theyve been locked up for a year and a half and now we want to outsource the cities waste managment to them? Give me a ****ing break.

The same young lads that went on strike for climate change. Lol.

Ok grandad, calm down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 214 ✭✭Ballynally

Did ye all have your logic module overwritten by George Lee killware or something? Couldnt make this sh1t up.

Be nice to George, please. He is very happy with his current spot as environment and 'science' correspondent. He is a very important and knowledgeable guy with the best of intentions. Didnt quite hack it as a politician and would likely not fly on his reputation in the commercial world so he is exactly where he needs to be, in the safe arms of the State broadcaster's spotlight telling people to be very very very very cautious. There will always be a job for George.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

VinLieger wrote: »
    I already posted 2 links showing evidence this has been going on for weeks and there's no evidence of increased infections resulting from it

https://www.thejournal.ie/portobello-plaza-closed-due-to-unacceptable-behaviour-5437111-May2021/

https://www.dublinlive.ie/news/dublin-news/temple-bar-covid-takeaway-pints-20658665

So two media articles:
    The first titled
    Beer and goading in Portobello: 'I've cleaned up s**t, I've seen more people pissing'

The second
    Coronavirus Ireland: Shameful scenes as huge crowds gather in Temple Bar for night of takeaway pints

Even they make no inference about case numbers - indicate there's no "there's no evidence of increased infections resulting from it"

Grand so. Glad that's all cleared up :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,429 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

So where should he have gone and done it?

I bet if he knew the consequences he would have found a more discrete place, or maybe don't get wánkered off your face to the extent you can't be more discreet.

But in the current upside down world we live in a lad píssíng outside someones house during the day is the victim.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,554 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

Whether or not you dispose of rubbish at home or in the city centre has zero impact on climate change. Not really clear what point you're trying to make...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,121 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

At this stage it appears that those who refuse to legally dispose of their rubbish by paying bin charges are preventing proper provision of litter bins everywhere. But, but..... those too mean to pay for bins will just use the public litter bins/skips instead. This is becoming totally absurd now.

Add a levy on to ESB charge. Everyone pays, no need to worry about disposing of rubbish, the bins are there because you paid for them. Just like more civilised places on the Continent. Time to grow up, the bin charge as it stands is not working and is resulting in the many suffering because of the few.

I know some are muppets though and will just chuck their stuff on the path anyway, but most would try to dispose of rubbish if there were facilities provided. But we ALL have to pay.

The idea that everyone should bring all of their days food and drink waste out of the city on the bus/train/taxi is absurd.

No it isn't, it's a policy that has had great success along the Wild Atlantic Way.

Leave nothing but your footprints.

Not everyone is a selfish cúnt who fúcks their waste wherever they choose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,813 ✭✭✭joe40

Graham wrote: »
    For the most part, they're not.

From my perspective, quite the opposite. I'd rather we didn't get stupid at this stage and put the reopening at risk.

100% things are ticking along nicely with numbers and vaccinations.
    I'm looking forward to a reasonable summer with opportunities for socializing for all age groups.
    As you say no need to be stupid now for the sake of a few weeks.

OwenM wrote: »
    Is that your excuse for not following a data driven approach? Lets just go with a hunch and impose a curfew maybe....

Well Owen I think you may have missed the point there. There is no data from that event (as of yet) . But like most of that type of shenanigans its one reason why we likley have a constant background of relatively high case numbers and that despite the ongoing programme of vaccinations etc

But ah I see even more amazing things never said or do you mean you live in somewhere that has strict curfews to stop that kinda thing?

Fair play ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 275 ✭✭NIAC Fanboy

joe40 wrote: »
    Are you seriously defending pissing in the street.

Tell me where he should have gone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,718 ✭✭✭robbiezero

VinLieger wrote: »
    What an absurd head in sand position to take, effectively saying "weve done nothing and were all out of ideas"

If ever one sentence could capture in its entirety how our leaders have handled this pandemic......

https://www.rte.ie/news/coronavirus/2021/0531/1225102-eu-travel-covid/

From RTE news. The EU wants the newly agreed Covid cert to go ahead asap with Bulgeria, Croatia, Czech Rep, Greece, Denmark and Poland close to issueing it already.
    France possibly on june 9. This before the official implementation on July 1st.
    I think Ireland knew this was coming. They officially came out w a statement stretching it to July 19, as far away as possible. They knew they could not give that date after the EU statement so they rushed it, giving 'certainty' to people. Now the pressure will be on to do it sooner.
    What will happen is that the government will go out of its way to justify july19 by any means possible. Will they buckle?

From RTE:
    "
    When it comes into force from 1 July, the European Union wants the Covid certificate to be used to allow travellers within the bloc to avoid testing or quarantine requirements if they can show they are fully vaccinated, have recovered from a Covid-19 infection, or have a recent negative test.

A Commission website - called a "gateway" - allowing border officers and other officials to check the validity of the certificates will go live on Tuesday.

Commission officials said they encouraged member states to start issuing and accepting the Covid certificates in June, so that all EU countries were using it by the end of the month, in time for the peak summer tourist season.

Countries expected to be ready to issue certificates on Tuesday included Bulgaria, Croatia, the Czech Republic, Greece, Denmark and Poland.

France, the most-visited country on the planet pre-pandemic, was expected to be ready on 9 June.

The Commission proposal urged member states to adopt many of the elements of the Covid certificate before it became law.

They included dropping entry restrictions on people able to show they had been fully inoculated with an EU-approved vaccine at least two weeks before travel, and adopting an "emergency brake" to swiftly restrict travel from regions with a Covid-19 variant of concern.

It also suggested member states should exempt children from quarantine, and those under six years of age from testing, to allow families to travel together."

Boggles wrote: »
    No it isn't, it's a policy that has had great success along the Wild Atlantic Way.

People will always leave litter at beaches and beauty spots. Often due to lack of bins. Lack of bins is often to deter people who don't want to pay for household rubbish disposal from ramming them all the time.

Are there hundreds of businesses selling food and drink to thousands of people in a few square KMs on the Wild Atlantic Way? Ffs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,945 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

gozunda wrote: »
    Even they make no inference about case numbers - indicate there's no "there's no evidence of increased infections resulting from it"

Grand so. Glad that's all cleared up :pac:

So what do you disagree with? That this kind of thing has been happening for weeks? Or that it hasnt had an impact on the numbers?

Are there hundreds of businesses selling food and drink to thousands of people in a few square KMs on the Wild Atlantic Way? Ffs

Yes.

Yes.
    Sure. :rolleyes:

Yes.

Where?

Sure. :rolleyes:

It spans numerous counties.

Here is one part of it.
    The Dingle Peninsula Tourism Alliance also estimates 1m plus visitors to the Dingle Peninsula each year.

But you obviously never have been anywhere near it, but somehow you know best.

Good for you.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,554 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

Here is one part of it.

Good for you.

You clearly don't seem to know what "a few square KMs" means.

"Spans numerous counties" isn't it...

Here is one part of it.

Good for you.

Here is one for you, and there was one in salthill last month.

Stop pretending that large crowds gather at beaches and bring everything home.

https://extra.ie/2020/08/03/news/irish-news/kilkee-residents-underage-party

timmyntc wrote: »
    My aforementioned surge? I havent referred to any historical surge caused by outdoor gatherings. I'm asking if you have any evidence to back up your theory that the outdoor gatherings are causing a rise in case numbers.

Yes the 'surge' you kept referring to in previous
    comments. That's not my "theory" btw. It was your theory that any increase would automatically show up as some big surge. And frankly that does not stand up to scrutiny

But I see you disagree with the CMO and other health experts advice? Well that's your perogative but making out to be an expert from reading some stuff on the Internet doesn't really wash either tbh.

But more importantly and as detailed we know that such unmanaged/ crowded / close contact
    / face to face / extended socialising is a risk and yes that includes outdoors. Were not talking ordinary outdoor activities such as meeting up with a group of friends or walking your dog btw or even organised concerts with restrictions etc .
    Google all of that if you are in any doubt.
    On the 2nd point, its a paywall not firewall, and thats why I quoted relevant parts of the article in my post. You must have missed it.

Haha hair splitting ok. Blame autocorrect if you like. But yes you hilariously accused me of not reading the IT article when I detailed the bit visible on the link despite the firewall. You also quoted the Irish study referenced in that link in another comment- even though its completely irrelevant
    I have read the studies, they are examinations of epidemiology of cases across multiple countries - China, Japan, US and more. All note very low amounts of outdoors transmission.

Tell me how many of those studies were unmanaged social street gatherings involving alcohol ? Less than zero?
    The "organised and managed" events you are referring to, they were not what I was referring to in the article - however if you want to go there, then lets go there. Here are some events from UK conducted about 1 month ago - primarily younger people in attendence, and at that time the 20-30s were not getting 1st doses in UK yet.
    So have you any proof that outdoor gatherings are high risk? Or is all your hysteria over gatherings in DUblin city, an overreaction?

See above. And btw - do you honestly believe that singularly you are right and the CMO and other health experts are wrong just becausyou've e read some studies with no relevance to the gathering under discussion?

Perhaps everyone who views the scenes in DCC as a feking disgrace are gulty of "hysteria" and "overreaction"? If so that says more about subject bias than anything else tbh

Oh dear. Never change Boggles.

Ballynally wrote: »
    https://www.rte.ie/news/coronavirus/2021/0531/1225102-eu-travel-covid/

From RTE news. The EU wants the newly agreed Covid cert to go ahead asap with Bulgeria, Croatia, Czech Rep, Greece, Denmark and Poland close to issueing it already.
    France possibly on june 9. This before the official implementation on July 1st.
    I think Ireland knew this was coming. They officially came out w a statement stretching it to July 19, as far away as possible. They knew they could not give that date after the EU statement so they rushed it, giving 'certainty' to people. Now the pressure will be on to do it sooner.
    What will happen is that the government will go out of its way to justify july19 by any means possible. Will they buckle?

From RTE:
    "
    When it comes into force from 1 July, the European Union wants the Covid certificate to be used to allow travellers within the bloc to avoid testing or quarantine requirements if they can show they are fully vaccinated, have recovered from a Covid-19 infection, or have a recent negative test.

A Commission website - called a "gateway" - allowing border officers and other officials to check the validity of the certificates will go live on Tuesday.

Commission officials said they encouraged member states to start issuing and accepting the Covid certificates in June, so that all EU countries were using it by the end of the month, in time for the peak summer tourist season.

Countries expected to be ready to issue certificates on Tuesday included Bulgaria, Croatia, the Czech Republic, Greece, Denmark and Poland.

France, the most-visited country on the planet pre-pandemic, was expected to be ready on 9 June.

The Commission proposal urged member states to adopt many of the elements of the Covid certificate before it became law.

They included dropping entry restrictions on people able to show they had been fully inoculated with an EU-approved vaccine at least two weeks before travel, and adopting an "emergency brake" to swiftly restrict travel from regions with a Covid-19 variant of concern.

It also suggested member states should exempt children from quarantine, and those under six years of age from testing, to allow families to travel together."

Lets see how the government reacts to all this on the 6 o clock news !

My guess: first out of the block: 'safety issues' (HSE hack, you know).
    Then: 'difficulties in technical implementation' (what, one month not enough time?) Indian variant, etc..
    Edit: so, on the RTE 6 o clock news it was a by the by item not really properly addressed. At the 9 o clock then, maybe