Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part XI *Read OP For Mod Warnings*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,945 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

For those under the impression this is a sudden thing that only started happening this weekend

https://www.thejournal.ie/portobello-plaza-closed-due-to-unacceptable-behaviour-5437111-May2021/

https://www.dublinlive.ie/news/dublin-news/temple-bar-covid-takeaway-pints-20658665

Where are the surges resulting from these and the undoubtedly other similar gatherings from around the country over the past several weeks?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,993 ✭✭✭Captain_Crash

I have seen him drop somebody off at Clarenden Street before. I assume it was his daughter. The route and roads he took would suggest he went down that direction.

I posted after the tweet that he had been sitting on that tweet for a while. I know he drives that way, he has definitely seen it before but his tweet was a message to the garda and media to shut it down.

Maybe it’s a bit of both, he knows the area and knows what the craic is, and like you said had the tweet loaded and ready to fire! I just don’t know if I believe he was down that way on Sat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 114 ✭✭dublin_paul

Why are people calling for a slowing down of the reopening? There's extremely low deaths, ICU cases, and covid cases... am I going crazy? What are peoples problems??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,611 ✭✭✭timmyntc

gozunda wrote: »
    Oh fs. Not even more double negatives?
    You're the only one going on about "surges" btw.

As detailed any likley infections will be reflected in the ongoing number of new cases which are not declining in line with other metrics.

I'll leave you at it....

Fine no double negatives - have you any evidence that outdoor gatherings are causing a rise in case numbers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,293 ✭✭✭CalamariFritti

The logic of some of the posters here is absolutely non-existent.

We have a disease that affects the elderly (if even).
    We have vaccinations that we give the elderly first. The young will have to wait.
    Those same vaccinations prevent serious illness but not necessarily infection. It may prevent infections, it looks that way, but who knows.

We start opening up.

Older people (who we gave the vaccines) dont get sick anymore, but younger people are (who we didnt give the vaccines yet) but not seriously like we already know.
    Infection ('case') numbers stagnate or have bumps.

Conclusion: Oh noooo! The nth wave, we must keep everything shut.

Did ye all have your logic module overwritten by George Lee killware or something? Couldnt make this sh1t up.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 17,643 Mod ✭✭✭✭Graham

Older people (who we gave the vaccines) dont get sick anymore, but younger people are (who we didnt give the vaccines yet) but not seriously like we already know.

You reckon the 40somethings in Limerick are being hospitalised for the craic?

Graham wrote: »

Of all the sh*t takes on this thread, this has the be the sh*ttest.

How did you go from his post to this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Why are people calling for a slowing down of the reopening? There's extremely low deaths, ICU cases, and covid cases... am I going crazy? What are peoples problems??
    Very few are, it's a reaction to the events in Dublin and journalists are just hunting down sensationalist soundbytes. We've been here before with this particular hand wringing exercise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 98 ✭✭NoLuckLarry

Do you understand the difference between hospitalisation and admission to ICU or do you need someone to explain it to you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

timmyntc wrote: »
    Fine no double negatives - have you any evidence that outdoor gatherings are causing a rise in case numbers?

You mean you're aforementioned 'surge' from last week in DCC? That's your baby.

But to your previous comment...
    timmyntc wrote: »
    So you only read the headline? Very good.In my post I even quoted the article:But you ignored this. Funny that.So on the one side, we have international studies & test events that show outdoor presents minimal risk for covid spread.
    And on the other?? Nothing. You have offered no proof that what happened in Dublin over the weekend is of any risk to public health.

Your link is behind a firewall. That and you just threw it in without even specifying the headline wasn't relevant. It wasn't. But no matter.

I do love the logic that because there's no evidence from what happened last week ergo sure its all grand like :D

Btw you might want to actually read those other studies, they were organised and managed events - not a mass street gathering like the antics in DCC - so no not comparable. .

So any actual studies of unmanaged mass Street parties to show they are are all grand and should be allowed without question in the midst of a pandemic?

To be honest I'd much prefer if people just admitted they wanted to go on the raz and not hide behind sure nothing to see here or wtte ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,945 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

So any actual studies of unmanaged mass Street parties to show they are are all grand and should be allowed without question in the midst of a pandemic?

I already posted 2 links showing evidence this has been going on for weeks and there's no evidence of increased infections resulting from it

https://www.thejournal.ie/portobello-plaza-closed-due-to-unacceptable-behaviour-5437111-May2021/

https://www.dublinlive.ie/news/dublin-news/temple-bar-covid-takeaway-pints-20658665

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 859 ✭✭✭OwenM

You're link is behind a firewall. That and you just threw it in without even specifying the headline wasn't relevant. It wasn't. But no matter.

I do love the logic that because there's no evidence from what happened last week ergo sure its all grand like :D

Btw you might want to actually read those other studies, they were organised and managed events - not a mass street gathering like the antics in DCC - so no not comparable. .

To be honest I'd much prefer if people just admitted they wanted to go on the raz and not hide behind sure nothing to see here or wtte ...

Is that your excuse for not following a data driven approach? Lets just go with a hunch and impose a curfew maybe....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 98 ✭✭NoLuckLarry

You're link is behind a firewall. That and you just threw it in without even specifying the headline wasn't relevant. It wasn't. But no matter.

People want their lives back and they are taking them back - they don't need to "admit" anything to you, Tony, or anyone ****ing else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 114 ✭✭dublin_paul

is_that_so wrote: »
    Very few are, it's a reaction to the events in Dublin and journalists are just hunting down sensationalist soundbytes. We've been here before with this particular hand wringing exercise.

Martin is indicating a review of the reopening in july after the fantastic weekend we just had... and the Gardai are now overrreaching their position and powers in the city by harassing people and blocking off access to steets (how is this allowed and legal?). It looks like this hand wringing is quickly turning into actual policy :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 389 ✭✭Vaccinated30

because you reckon nobody else would have noticed several thousand people partying on the streets?

There was just a big a crowd last week and I have photographic proof of friends who were there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,293 ✭✭✭CalamariFritti

I wouldnt dispute that there are people in their 40s in hospital with covid. Some may even be in there from it.

But aren't we slipping - maybe without really noticing it - from preventing a national emergency into nobody-must-ever-get-sick-from-covid-again?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Martin is indicating a review of the reopening in july after the fantastic weekend we just had... and the Gardai are now overrreaching their position and powers in the city by harassing people and blocking off access to steets (how is this allowed and legal?). It looks like this hand wringing is quickly turning into actual policy :confused:
    They review all the time and it would take a fair surge for them to reverse those plans. I have no opinion on local approaches but it seems that councils are adopting extreme approaches over such events.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 275 ✭✭NIAC Fanboy

Ballynally wrote: »
    right. Look in other european countries with less restrictions.Nrs going down. Crowded streets, parks, beaches.
    The focus should be on ventilation indoors, public facilities etc.

Exactly. The Gardaí should be busting sheebeens and house parties, not dealing with people who are saving lives by meeting outside.

My aforementioned surge? I havent referred to any historical surge caused by outdoor gatherings. I'm asking if YOU have any evidence to back up your theory that the outdoor gatherings are causing a rise in case numbers.

On the 2nd point, its a paywall not firewall, and thats why I quoted relevant parts of the article in my post. You must have missed it.

I have read the studies, they are examinations of epidemiology of cases across multiple countries - China, Japan, US and more. All note very low amounts of outdoors transmission.

The "organised and managed" events you are referring to, they were not what I was referring to in the article - however if you want to go there, then lets go there. Here are some events from UK conducted about 1 month ago - primarily younger people in attendence, and at that time the 20-30s were not getting 1st doses in UK yet.
    There were only two cases among 5,900 pop-lovers at an outdoor music festival at Sefton Park, Liverpool, and none at all at the reduced-capacity football at Wembley Stadium, indicating that summer festivals, sporting events and entertainments held outdoors are very safe.

Nine cases were found among 6,000 revellers who packed into a nightclub in Liverpool over two days without masks. The relatively higher incidence confirmed that clubbing is the toughest part of the night economy to bring back safely but is not seen as so high as to rule out the reopening of venues.

So have you any proof that outdoor gatherings are high risk? Or is all your hysteria over gatherings in DUblin city, an overreaction?

Recent surge in Limerick sees most hospital admission in their 40s.

That sounds pretty 'different' to me.

Yeah probably 5 or 6 people, and will probably all get better too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,813 ✭✭✭joe40

People want their lives back and they are taking them back - they don't need to "admit" anything to you, Tony, or anyone ****ing else.

Who is this "people" you are talking about. The crowds gathering in Dublin city centre are not representative of "the people".
    They represent a small proportion who never bought into the restrictions.
    They certainly don't represent all the youth in Ireland.
    In my experience most people can go out without leaving a place like a complete kip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,140 ✭✭✭hamburgham

User142 wrote: »
    What we are seeing here is middle aged men setting policies based on how they would like to behave in this "outdoors Summer".

When the government stated this was an outdoor Summer they clearly were not talking to the young or had in mind how the young would interpret this . When it announced this outdoor Summer it was thinking of what the average 40 year old does for the Summer.

They should be providing more outdoor spaces for the young, more bins. Open outdoor beer gardens. Recommend the use of rapid antigen tests. Instead they are closing off public spaces as if the young will just stay inside and twiddle there thumbs.

This outdoor Summer and easing planned is currently tailored the the elder segment of society. The young as expected to socialize and behave as if they are 50 this Summer.

They shoud just open everywhere properly with no restrictions. We do not have the climate for this outdoor summer nonsense. As though enough money hasn't been wasted already, now pouring more down the drain on outdoor furniture etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,635 ✭✭✭votecounts

They can't accept its over. Withdrawal symptoms.

votecounts wrote: »

Where do you think he should have urinated when nature called?

Legend has it he knocked the homeowner out so he could take a number 2 in his toilet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,429 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

I'll take not outside the ladies house for €1000 Bob.

joe40 wrote: »
    They represent a small proportion who never bought into the restrictions.

Any source for this?

In the first lockdown there was none of this so presumably all these people obeyed restrictions.

What restrictions are they breaking anyway, they are allowed and encouraged to meet outdoors?

Boggles wrote: »
    I'll take not outside the ladies house for €1000 Bob.

So where should he have gone and done it?

Reasons for the increase, cited by public health doctors, are high-risk social indoor activity, including house parties, family and extended family gatherings and events, small to large household gatherings.

Above from RTÉ regarding Limerick, nobody blaming the crowds gathering along the river banks. The gardai are dealing with the wrong gatherings.