Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Going for drinks with future employer after interview

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,807 ✭✭✭ShatterAlan

A fella told me there recently about a company that had an extremely long drawn out interview process. One day he did about 6 one-to-one sessions with different people and he was also invited along for drinks after. Now at that point if I actually wanted the job I would politely decline and tell them I have a sick auntie in hospital or some such thing because I'd be after smelling a massive rat.

One might naively think they're being friendly and a really cool crowd to get along with but of course business is business and really it's just a continuation of the interview. It is extremely easy to slip up in that situation. At this stage I wouldn't even go to the Christmas party until I've been made permanent.

Anyone know of other companies who do this? or perhaps you have some drunk-interviewing experience of your own?

Never go on the piss with work mates until you are established. 6 months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 979 ✭✭✭SupaCat95

dotsman wrote: »
    Where are you getting the "tactics" or "plan" from? You are extremely cynical.

In team-based roles, how well you get on with everyone else is just as important as the other criteria. As I said, a decent, casual free-flowing conversation is a great way to get to know how someone will fit onto a team.

Also, your obvious lack of flexibility or dedication would say you would be a terrible fit.

P.S. In most professions, you are not paid by the hour, but to get the job done. that doesn't mean that you should be working all hours but, as the saying goes, "he who watches the clocks will remain one of the hands".

I believe in healthy boundaries. When you are at work you are at work and your time is your employers, when you are at home your time belongs to your family. Never confuse the two. How many couples have broke up over addiction to work or social media. Be in the place you are supposed to be in.

It is having a conversation under the influence of alcohol. If a police officer did the same there would be consequences. You will find that many people with addiction problems are actually very hard working people (work hard play hard). It is unfair to impose an intoxicant on person during the interview phase.

I would not say I am not hard working but if you dont have boundaries you end up in a situation where you are living in work and end up a slave to your job. I am not a fan of living and working onsite like co-working. Mental health and family life is much more important than ticking boxes. I am guessing I am not going to end up on your team?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,402 ✭✭✭McGinniesta

I did this and ended up reading the signals wrong and trying to go home with the boss. Didn't get the job.

Did you get the ride?

Probably to lull them into thinking about the good environment/culture before sending them out for 12 hour days to the likes of Anglo.

I qualified late in life. I was in my 40's and I was self employed from day 1 for this very reason.

If you are going to do 12 hour days you may as well do it on your own terms and reap the rewards as appropriate.

It's a slog but you can decide who you work for and with and you can be as choosy as you wish.

By extension, if you have a certain level of experience you'll be wary about going anywhere near a pub with any prospective colleague or employer.

I was young and stupid once and had to learn that lesson the hard way. I think if you have had any kind of a life then if you are around booze then things are bound to happen.

This really depends on whether you hope to get the job and ultimately progress in the company. If your job involves you beavering away by yourself in seclusion, you could have the personality of a door knob and it wouldn’t matter. But if you are going to have to interact with clients at social events, or work with a group where it is important to get along, then they will want to check more than just what they read on a page.

Personally I see no issue with them asking, nor indeed with the applicant refusing, If the application depends on how you interact socially, both may have dodged a bullet if the applicant refuses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 497 ✭✭PalLimerick

Go and drink water.

That would be equally as uncomfortable.

Dav010 wrote: »
    This really depends on whether you hope to get the job and ultimately progress in the company. If your job involves you beavering away by yourself in seclusion, you could have the personality of a door knob and it wouldn’t matter. But if you are going to have to interact with clients at social events, or work with a group where it is important to get along, then they will want to check more than just what they read on a page.

Personally I see no issue with them asking, nor indeed with the applicant refusing, If the application depends on how you interact socially, both may have dodged a bullet if the applicant refuses.

I don't know about you but this hasn't always true in my experience. I've worked for some crazies in my time. Some of these people have made it to director and senior management. To say that they have "personality" would be stretching it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Big4?

Stay the **** away ha ha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 724 ✭✭✭athlone573

I would be concerned that such an interviewing practice might be unfair to those who for various reasons (commuting arrangements, religious, medical, childcare responsibilities) may have difficulties with the consumption of alcohol or perhaps even presence on licensed premises. I would advocate an alternative approach to evaluation of relevant skills such as team interviews or presentations. At graduate level fair enough to observe interactions over a lunch or whatever but avoid the drink.

athlone573 wrote: »
    I would advocate an alternative approach to evaluation of relevant skills such as team interviews or presentations. At graduate level fair enough to observe interactions over a lunch or whatever but avoid the drink.

The real question is not about social events or social skills. When you are on the lash, how much do you drink, how do you behave and what secrets are you likely to spill?

Happened to my father with a visiting Swedish company. They arrived in Waterford, took the poor Irish saps out and got them 4 sheets to the wind. The real issue wasnt to return the hospitality but to pump 'em for information. The next morning the General manager and Engineer couldnt remember what happened. My father the purchasing manager saw them coming a mile off, never drank. They wanted to know how much the competition were paying.

Beware Greeks bearing gifts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,854 ✭✭✭✭silverharp

SupaCat95 wrote: »
    The real question is not about social events or social skills. When you are on the lash, how much do you drink, how do you behave and what secrets are you likely to spill?

Happened to my father with a visiting Swedish company. They arrived in Waterford, took the poor Irish saps out and got them 4 sheets to the wind. The real issue wasnt to return the hospitality but to pump 'em for information. The next morning the General manager and Engineer couldnt remember what happened. My father the purchasing manager saw them coming a mile off, never drank. They wanted to know how much the competition were paying.

Beware Greeks bearing gifts.

one to watch out there is company training, we had one session but were warned because the guy giving it essentially worked for competition

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

I knew a guy who worked for one of the big 4 hired just out of college, you know the guy, big parish sports star and what not.
    Went out to the christmas social, berated some poor night manager because he had too much to drink and couldnt remember it the next morning. I always thought he was a bit of a nasty sly individual and a penny pincher, well suited to his chosen profession. The family issues with drink, he had a predisposition to alcoholism.

Is it fair to , not force but influence a person to drink like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,657 ✭✭✭KaneToad

I did this and ended up reading the signals wrong and trying to go home with the boss. Didn't get the job.

Sorry. My partner was home that night...had it of been a Wednesday.... ;)

I knew a guy who worked for one of the big 4 hired just out of college, you know the guy, big parish sports star and what not.
    Went out to the christmas social, berated some poor night manager because he had too much to drink and couldnt remember it the next morning. I always thought he was a bit of a nasty sly individual and a penny pincher, well suited to his chosen profession. The family issues with drink, he had a predisposition to alcoholism.

Is it fair to , not force but influence a person to drink like that.

It's totally fair. He had so many options

- don't go to event
    - go to event, don't drink excessively
    - go to event, don't drink alcohol (*shock*)
    - go to event, drink excessively but don't act like an arsehole

My sympathy would be quite low...

silverharp wrote: »
    .......... but were warned because the guy giving it essentially worked for competition

You mean "commercial espionage in plain sight"? Talk about sending the sheep among wolves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,481 ✭✭✭Former Former Former

I think people are reading too much into these things. Like, no company is going to invite an entry-level temp out for gargles, but if you're considering hiring a guy who is going to be a key member of a team, you need to know how he's going to interact with them in real life. Lots of people can do well in interviews and turn out to be total dicks on their first day, or vice versa, you spend months looking for someone, you hire a guy and a month in he tells you "it's not a good fit".

No workplace is going to be shoving tequila slammers in front of you and probing you on your racist proclivities or if you had an abortion in college. It's just a continuation of the interview process. For my current job, I did a heap of interviews then went for dinner with the boss, learned far more in that 90 minutes than in all the previous meetings combined.

On the other hand, if someone who's trying to get hired takes full advantage of the free bar and ends up making a tit of him/herself, then you've saved yourself a lot of heartache down the line.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭YFlyer

Did it with Irish Rail inspectors. Not so much of a problem. Then with Kerry Algae and the lads told JP to take one. After that, start of my PhD, after filling me with drink. They asked me technical questions.

KaneToad wrote: »
    It's totally fair. He had so many options

- don't go to event
    - go to event, don't drink excessively
    - go to event, don't drink alcohol (*shock*)
    - go to event, drink excessively but don't act like an arsehole

My sympathy would be quite low...

Oh we was a total "very special individual". Dont worry about the sympathy part. I am talking about other individuals. Once the drink begins to flow where is the stopping it. I think the asshole was naturally there but the drink brought it right out in public.
    I am always fascinated why people end up in catering and hospitality, minimum wage, no respect and to be treated like a dog by A**holes like him.

My wifes friend is undiagnosed Bipolar type 1, when she drinks stuff happens, bad stuff. Car accidents with her having a claim and fights and what not.
    Another guy I know diagnosed Bipolar Type 2, makes an ass of himself and brings up mistreating blacks with visiting foreigners from the states and intellectually be littles other people who dont agree with him. These are people for their own good need to kept away from alcohol.

YFlyer wrote: »
    after filling me with drink. They asked me technical questions.

Can I ask how you dealt with that one?

I would arrive late, order a round of shots and point to the boss. 'Put it on his tab, barkeep!' I'd roar. Then light the spirits on fire and down them all myself. Then I would demand a raise. And a secretary. Even though the position I was applying for was to BE a secretary.

'He's got balls,' they'd say.

'Damn right,' I'd say, while I lift my skirt to prove it.

Company in Tralee had a busty secretary. During her intern she would wear low cut tops. Once employed full time it was all jumpers. Funny to see.

On the other hand, if someone who's trying to get hired takes full advantage of the free bar and ends up making a tit of him/herself, then you've saved yourself a lot of heartache down the line.

You know why the mouse gets killed in the trap? He hasnt worked out why the cheese is for free. A few quid spent on booze can be a cheap way of extracting information from some poor individual with a weakness in their personality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,628 ✭✭✭JeffKenna

YFlyer wrote: »
    Company in Tralee had a busty secretary. During her intern she would wear low cut tops. Once employed full time it was all jumpers. Funny to see.

I'd fire her for that straight away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,905 ✭✭✭Feisar

Well I myself fairly well oiled up when writing my cover letters for my CV. They are closely reread the next day but it's a great way of getting the thoughts out, I find it really hard to big myself up normally. So I suppose it's fair enough they want to see what one is really like.

"Herodotus, the Greek historian, reported that the ancient Persians tended to deliberate on important matters while they were drunk. They then reconsidered their decisions the following day when they were sober. If it happened that their first deliberation took place when they were sober, they would always reconsider the matter under the influence of wine. If a decision was approved both drunk and sober, the decision held; if not, the Persians set it aside."

First they came for the socialists...

JeffKenna wrote: »

False advertising?

Can I ask how you dealt with that one?

They talk about analytical techniques on their products. I had to say that the technician of the instruments at the university don't have favoritism and we are all inline. They also had this accountant way of thinking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,628 ✭✭✭JeffKenna

False advertising?

No, I think causing moral to drop.

Doubt you get away with it.

No, I think causing moral to drop.

I assume you meant morale?
    If anything she lifted her morals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,623 ✭✭✭El Tarangu

I understand the OP's concerns; I went along for drinks around Christmas time for a big company in Cork; golly-gosh, but those people knew how to let their hair down...