Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Are we there yet? Your second Travel Megathread (threadbans in OP}

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,676 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

I’m heading back to Ireland for 6 weeks next month. Kind of dreading it. Life is well on the path to normality in Spain for some time. Covid is virtually non existent in my area. Meanwhile in Ireland there are a few people who are almost afraid to see me because I’m one of those nasty (Irish) foreigners that saabsaab keeps talking about.

From the sound of it I won’t be meeting friends in the pub in Ireland because all the outdoor slots are booked up for June. Contrast that with me last night out for a walk and spur of the moment decision popped in to the local boozer, sat inside and had a sneaky nightcap.

Just like the hiv scares in the 80’s, the scaremongering worked and people still believe that sex without a condom is a guaranteed path to catching hiv when in reality the narrative was never updated event though risks are low. Ireland’s mentality with covid is the same.

We hear about the scaremongering over variants but I don’t think I’ve ever heard an Irish politician or NPHET confirm that the vaccines work against all existing variants. It’s a narrative isn’t aligned with other countries.

I just wonder how long it will be until the Ireland psyche catches up with the rest of Europe.

Taking posters in this thread. Saabsaab views travel like dropping your mickey in to a beef mincer. Mickey32 seems to think travel won’t return in a meaningful way. Not having a pop but it’s clear their mindset is quiet extreme. I’m not sure how prevalent that kind of mindset is in Ireland.

I’ll try not to bring back all the variants from my disease riddled neighbourhood though. Keep you posted lads ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,344 ✭✭✭CruelSummer

https://m.independent.ie/irish-news/health/foreign-holidays-the-price-we-must-pay-for-reopening-as-indian-variant-still-a-black-cloud-40455192.html

I knew it - it’s the talk of travel to other countries with similar or higher vaccination rates to ourselves that has Dr Tony spooked.
    If not now - when 70% / 80% of adults in the EU will have been offered a vaccine by July, when? They could use vaccine take up - Covid metics also to greenlist countries easily.
    They need to be practical about this & stop trying to disconnect Ireland. It’s a disgrace.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,676 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

We can’t thank the gov and NPHET for this. Aer Lingus are saying the closures and cuts aren’t reversible and the airline will emerge from the pandemic smaller. I wonder how long it will be before IAG Will asset strip Aer Lingus and leave it as a specialist airline similar to the Logan Air model

The lack of a plan for aviation for the summer is at the nail in the coffin. I really don’t think people realise how serious this is for Ireland overall. I could list the direct and indirect economic and socioeconomic impacts. But instead, let’s get selfish. Competition for air travel in Ireland is about to get a lot smaller. High prices and greater inconvenience for travel lays ahead

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/aer-lingus-warns-of-more-job-cuts-following-closure-of-shannon-cabin-crew-base-40455255.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 258 ✭✭Wallander

Yeah I agree with the last two posters. The ability to see the wood for the trees is really lacking in Ireland compared to a lot of what I read about on the continent.

What on earth did the CMO mean by saying dark clouds are on the horizon? That's a complete throwaway comment. Why can't we look at the specifics on this? Clearly the Indian variant exists, and it may be the most transmittable one now, although that's not yet certain. But is it really going to overwhelm the health system given the majority of the population will be vaccinated soon? That's the reason for having restrictions on mobility in the first place, surely?

In the UK (a few weeks ahead of us on vaccinations and also on the variant most likely) the debate about it is entirely around whether it would allow for a complete lifting of domestic restrictions next month as planned - with nightclubs, conferences and festivals etc. I get that it could cause a delay to that, but given Ireland will be hesitant to take that step until much later, probably the autumn, what are these black clouds all about?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,678 ✭✭✭Multipass

https://m.independent.ie/irish-news/health/foreign-holidays-the-price-we-must-pay-for-reopening-as-indian-variant-still-a-black-cloud-40455192.html

I knew it - it’s the talk of travel to other countries with similar or higher vaccination rates to ourselves that has Dr Tony spooked.
    If not now - when 70% / 80% of adults in the EU will have been offered a vaccine by July, when? They could use vaccine take up - Covid metics also to greenlist countries easily.
    They need to be practical about this & stop trying to disconnect Ireland. It’s a disgrace.

These people are never going to let go of their moment in the spotlight - wait for the triple extra special variant coming for next Christmas. If only they could all put so much effort into the everyday running of the health services, they might actually save lives.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,992 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

faceman wrote: »
    I’m heading back to Ireland for 6 weeks next month. Kind of dreading it. Life is well on the path to normality in Spain for some time. Covid is virtually non existent in my area. Meanwhile in Ireland there are a few people who are almost afraid to see me because I’m one of those nasty (Irish) foreigners that saabsaab keeps talking about.

From the sound of it I won’t be meeting friends in the pub in Ireland because all the outdoor slots are booked up for June. Contrast that with me last night out for a walk and spur of the moment decision popped in to the local boozer, sat inside and had a sneaky nightcap.

Just like the hiv scares in the 80’s, the scaremongering worked and people still believe that sex without a condom is a guaranteed path to catching hiv when in reality the narrative was never updated event though risks are low. Ireland’s mentality with covid is the same.

We hear about the scaremongering over variants but I don’t think I’ve ever heard an Irish politician or NPHET confirm that the vaccines work against all existing variants. It’s a narrative isn’t aligned with other countries.

I just wonder how long it will be until the Ireland psyche catches up with the rest of Europe.

Taking posters in this thread. Saabsaab views travel like dropping your mickey in to a beef mincer. Mickey32 seems to think travel won’t return in a meaningful way. Not having a pop but it’s clear their mindset is quiet extreme. I’m not sure how prevalent that kind of mindset is in Ireland.

I’ll try not to bring back all the variants from my disease riddled neighbourhood though. Keep you posted lads ;)

Ah na bac le sin!

If you want a decent pub / pint then head out of Dublin you shouldn't have a problem getting a 'slot lol.

Not sure wearing a condom is only to prevent HIV tbf ;)

And yup we have been told that vaccines work for variants even by the top brass
    Heres one I saw this week
    https://twitter.com/LeoVaradkar/status/1395363863181336584?s=20

I think the (genuine) concern atm is our CTA with (and whats happening in) the UK and a repeat of the B.1.1.7 variant spreading here the way it did at Christmas, with the obvious danger posed is to those yet to be vaccinated / partially vaccinated (as highlighted by UK health authorities)

As to Ireland catching up? Well I do know the likes of Portugal are desperate to restart tourism regardless - and tbh I think their going to have some issues if only for the reason being the only easy accessed (sun) holiday destination for the UK.

As to the rest - our case rate and death rate are way lower than most of our direct EU neighbours. Most of whom seem to have ample funds to throw at their hospital systems to cope with any big rise in covid admissions. See France etc for details . Not sure its the best way to manage the virus. But hey that's their perogative I suppose.

But yeah travel will return. They're are those that get do caught up with media headlines as gospel - that they have verifiable fits of the vapours every time they read one. God help you if you even mention same :pac:

But just one question before we allow your disease riddled arse back here - are ye vaccinated? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,337 ✭✭✭Sammy2012

Flights booked to Portugal for the 15th of August. I know we don't know yet but all should be okay to travel by then?! Have them booked since January 2020. Just moved them from last summer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 193 ✭✭eltonyio

Sammy2012 wrote: »
    Flights booked to Portugal for the 15th of August. I know we don't know yet but all should be okay to travel by then?! Have them booked since January 2020. Just moved them from last summer.

I would be amazed if you couldn't do this by 15th July.

Mid August will be fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,222 ✭✭✭Valhallapt

I’m going to Portugal on the 28th of June, will keep you in the loop

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,642 ✭✭✭DellyBelly

Hopefully you should be okay. Think the next 2 weeks are crucial to see where we are in this country regarding the covid infections

A repeat of Christmas is not a genuine concern, it’s paranoid nonsense. At Christmas, we had no one vaccinated, were letting people in from the UK and other hotspots with no controls worth mentioning, and everyone was gathering indoors. If we reopen travel in line with the EU cert, we’ll have a large number fully vaccinated including a majority of the vulnerable, a system that requires proof of vaccine test or recovery to travel, and outdoor gatherings will be a real option that I’m sure plenty of people will opt for (not everyone, obviously, but even some doing so will drive the risk down).

Just a heads up on your 'paranoid nonsense' sic.

Thats not me saying that btw. I was referring to the present UK concerns and the fact that they're well ahead of us with regard to their vaccination programme

The concern is those as yet unvaccinated (which here still includes a large number of at risk individual btw) and those who have only received their first shot. And yes increased socialising does have an impact regardless
    The UK have started bringing forward second jabs to tackle rise of the Indian variant there. So a bit less jumping up and down and screaming. Thanks

Btw we are part of the CTA and funny enough its not Christmas in the UK either but like it or lump it - the present UK strain - which is now dominant here atm will likley be replaced by the new one - especially as it is known to be more transmissible. Only a matter if time. The aim is we have enough vaccinated here to keep it circulating and nothing else.

And btw I did say travel would return just in case you missed it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,495 ✭✭✭brickster69

Germany bans UK travellers from entry tonight because of the Indian Variant.

https://timesofmalta.com/articles/view/germany-bans-travel-from-uk-over-covid-indian-variant.873712

"if you get on the wrong train, get off at the nearest station, the longer it takes you to get off, the more expensive the return trip will be."

I didn’t say it was you saying that.I’m also not jumping up and down or screaming.I have no idea what gives you the impression I missed anything you said.Can you go one post without trying to completely misrepresent the person you’re responding to?

You mean the "paranoid nonsense" bit?
    Well that was either directed ar me or the UK health authorities. And neither is correct tbf.

And btw that I think you did miss some of what I was saying - especially about a new strain spreading here. Now that doesn't doesn't mean it will have the same impact but I'll bet you a pint that in six months the Indian one or similar will be the one on the ground here. And as I said hopefully we can keep up our vaccinations so it doesn't becone an issue.

So yeah I could ask the same ultimate question tbf.

gozunda wrote: »
    You mean the "paranoid nonsense" bit?
    Well that was either directed ar me or the UK health authorities. And neither is correct tbf.

And btw that I think you did miss some of what I was saying - especially about a new strain spreading here. Now that doesn't doesn't mean it will have the same impact but I'll bet you a pint that in six months the Indian one or similar will be the one on the ground here. And as I said hopefully we can keep up our vaccinations so it doesn't becone an issue.

So yeah I could ask the same ultimate question tbf.

Most of Europe will have the Indian variant already. They just have not been testing enough or have the genome sequencing capabilities to detect it.

They do not have a clue, sheer panic. Spain says welcome you do not need a vaccine or test another who is worse than most of Europe refuses entry.

Who is right ?

"if you get on the wrong train, get off at the nearest station, the longer it takes you to get off, the more expensive the return trip will be."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,483 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

This was entirely predictable.

Germany says UK is 'area of variant concern,' bans all non-essential travel
    https://www.euronews.com/2021/05/22/germany-says-uk-is-area-of-variant-concern-bans-all-non-essential-travel

Lumen wrote: »
    This was entirely predictable.

Germany says UK is 'area of variant concern,' bans all non-essential travel
    https://www.euronews.com/2021/05/22/germany-says-uk-is-area-of-variant-concern-bans-all-non-essential-travel

It will be like AZ all over again, everyone will start banning Brits from travelling to them. Not that they can go anyway like :pac::pac::pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,471 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

Look there's a roadmap on travel coming next Friday.

Independent says one thing in one article and in another says UK travel reusmes early July. Looks like EU and UK travel will resume at pretty much the same time.

I get that people are fired up and a bit emotional on the subject but honestly take a step back from the headlines, thats an article written by 2 journalists who love a soundbite.

From the sound of it I won’t be meeting friends in the pub in Ireland because all the outdoor slots are booked up for June. Contrast that with me last night out for a walk and spur of the moment decision popped in to the local boozer, sat inside and had a sneaky night cap.

Your post is all just rubbish!
    You go on and on about Ireland and how bad it is, if you don't want to come dont!
    I'm going to a hotel in two weeks with a few friends, have 2 dinners booked already, so is a full body massage. the pool and spa in the hotel is open, so will be making full use of the sauna, even if I have to wear clothes. We will also be visiting a number of landmarks and attractions, all also open. There will be no shortage of alcohol.
    Not sure what your issue is exactly, but maybe people dont want to see you for some other reasons???..

And, as I have said on here lots of times, the only doom and gloom I see is in this thread, it's not real life here.

My comment was directed at NPHET/government concern here. I was referring to this: “ I think the (genuine) concern atm is our CTA with the UK and a repeat of the B.1.1.7 variant spreading here the way it did at Christmas, with the obvious danger posed is to those yet to be vaccinated.”

That reads to me as if you’re saying the concern is a repeat of what happened here at Christmas. If I’ve misunderstood then apologies, but I genuinely can’t see any other way to interpret that.

Fair enough. But yes I was referring to the current concerns in the UK atm and the spread of the Variant. Imho I reckon the UK have enough of its population vaccinated for it not to be the issue it was at the beginning of the year. Hopefully we can do the same

It will be like AZ all over again, everyone will start banning Brits from travelling to them. Not that they can go anyway like :pac::pac::pac::pac:

https://timesofmalta.com/articles/view/germany-bans-travel-from-uk-over-covid-indian-variant.873712[/quote]

I wonder will Ireland get added to that as part of the CTA?

bubblypop wrote: »
    You go on and on about Ireland and how bad it is, if you don't want to come dont!
    I'm going to a hotel in two weeks with a few friends, have 2 dinners booked already, so is a full body massage. the pool and spa in the hotel is open, so will be making full use of the sauna, even if I have to wear clothes. We will also be visiting a number of landmarks and attractions, all also open. There will be no shortage of alcohol.
    Not sure what your issue is exactly, but maybe people dont want to see you for some other reasons???..

And, as I have said on here lots of times, the only doom and gloom I see is in this thread, it's not real life here.

Hahahahahaha. You’re not a very nice person.

You realise you’re one of the people who has been spreading the doom and gloom?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,677 ✭✭✭Happydays2020

Why would you go into a sauna with all your clothes on?

Hahahahahaha. You’re not a very nice person.

You realise you’re one of the people who has been spreading the doom and gloom?

I could say the same about you and the way you speak about Ireland and the people who live here.
    I have 2 people close to me that live in Spain and neither of them have ever spoken like you do.

I have never spread doom and gloom at all.
    Find any single post of mine that is doom and gloom! Had not happened.

Why would you go into a sauna with all your clothes on?

Stupid swimsuits ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,222 ✭✭✭Valhallapt

Says the chief doom monger

Valhallapt wrote: »
    Says the chief doom monger

Where in the world would you get that impression??
    I have always.posted that it's a temporary situation, people need to relax, it'll be back to normal soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,677 ✭✭✭Happydays2020

Stupid swimsuits ;)

Get yourself to Germany then.

Spent a lot of time in Finland ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,646 ✭✭✭yer man!

I took the plunge and booked flights back to Ireland on 14th of August, hope to God there's some semblance of normality by then. My parents are mad to see me after a year and half, some of my siblings are hesitant to see me unless I'm vaccinated, despite them meeting each other every weekend 🙄

yer man! wrote: »
    I took the plunge and booked flights back to Ireland on 14th of August, hope to God there's some semblance of normality by then. My parents are mad to see me after a year and half, some of my siblings are hesitant to see me unless I'm vaccinated, despite them meeting each other every weekend 🙄

It's pretty normal now!
    Hotels open week after next, pubs and restaurants open for outdoors the following week, indoor probably July.
    Everything else is pretty much open already or in next 2 weeks.