If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Are we there yet? Your second Travel Megathread (threadbans in OP}

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,944 ✭✭✭brickster69

Don't know if it has been posted but a group of 3 Indians left quarantine in a Dubbin hotel and are being sought.

https://www.dublinlive.ie/news/dublin-news/dublinairport-mandatoryquarantine-travel-update-hotel-20642139

Hope they were not from Bolton :eek:

“Wars begin when you want them to, but they don’t end when you ask them to.”- Niccolò Machiavelli

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,222 ✭✭✭Valhallapt

Don't know if it has been posted but a group of 3 Indians left quarantine in a Dubbin hotel and are being sought.

https://www.dublinlive.ie/news/dublin-news/dublinairport-mandatoryquarantine-travel-update-hotel-20642139

MHQ is very dangerous, covid is airborne, locking up all those people in a confined space is likely to lead to a covid outbreak.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,931 ✭✭✭saabsaab

Hope they were not from Bolton :eek:

Hope they are caught quickly and punished. If they carry the variant they could double the numbers here in no time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,645 ✭✭✭Micky 32

saabsaab wrote: »
    Hope they are caught quickly and punished.

20 lashes tied to a tree?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,222 ✭✭✭Valhallapt

Hope they are caught quickly and punished. If they carry the variant they could double the numbers here in no time.

Bloody foreigners coming here with their disease and taking our jobs....

Not just foreigners. Anyone coming over bringing disease is the problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,992 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

Micky 32 wrote: »
    You’re hilarious. Maybe you should go to a computer class to learn how to qoute the correct poster when on a forum then? You qouted my posts to my replies not Faceman’s. It seems that you are the one digging the hole. You didn’t like it when i pointed out your post was typical SAGE doomongering with their inaccurate predictions. You then resort to attacking the twitter authors to try and get out of the hole you’re digging. News flash that doesn’t make the claim less true. They are genuine SAGE headlines. Nice one
    Btw i don’t follow any of those on twitter i found the link elsewhere .

I presume you can only be taking the proverbial. Lol.

This is my first comment on facemans post . And here's you then bizarrely quoting me out of context and from where you went on a spiel waffling on about 'SAGE' whooooo! And then you continued despite your error being pointed out by reply.

5afapc.jpg

Maybe try and understand the context (simply humour in this case and not advocacy of "SAGE') of a comment before getting absolutley buried.

But no matter - I'll leave you to it ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54 ✭✭talulon

the voice of science

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 378 ✭✭newuser99999

What so a plane full of unvaccinated & untested people from Bolton sets off to sunny Spain where they are welcomed with open arms. Mixing with people from the rest of Europe, waiters, hotel staff and everyone else for 2 weeks.

What damage could a few plane loads like that do in a couple of months ?

News flash this has happened since the beginning of time. You have no idea what people you come into contact with every single day are carrying. Same as when you pop down to Dunnes for your shop.

The virus is only a year old. Hardly the beginning of time. At least most here have no virus or older versions.

talulon wrote: »
    the voice of science

Yes and basic logic of course.

gozunda wrote: »
    I presume you can only be taking the proverbial

This is my first comment on facemans post . And here's you then bizarrely quoting me and from where you went on waffling on about 'SAGE' whooooo!

5afapc.jpg

Maybe try and understand the context (humour in this case) of a comment before getting absolutley buried.

But no matter - I'll leave you to it :pac: ;):D

. There was nothing wrong with my post. My reply to that post was to be cautious of SAGE because they are known for their doomongering and have been wrong a good few times. So then you come on to try and discredit it by qouting names of twitter authors because you didn’t like your post being possibly discredited so you threw your toys out of the pram.

I can't see anything in the article suggesting these people were carrying disease.

We have actual disease carriers able to freely roam the country at will while healthy people are being locked up for the heinous crime of coming from another country. It's absurd.

Its totally logical. At least the people already here are unlikely to bring in a new variant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,678 ✭✭✭Multipass

I’m rooting for them :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54 ✭✭talulon

Yes and basic logic of course.

it was ironic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,944 ✭✭✭brickster69

So what is the point of restrictions, just everyone get on with it and hope for the best ? Why worry about those 3 Indians, you probably won't bump into them anyway.

“Wars begin when you want them to, but they don’t end when you ask them to.”- Niccolò Machiavelli

. There was nothing wrong with my post. My reply to that post was to be cautious of SAGE because they are known for their doomongering and have been wrong a good few times. So then you come on to try and discredit it by qouting names of twitter authors because you didn’t like your post being possibly discredited so you threw your toys out of the pram.

Oh yes there was! :pac:

Look if you wish to waffle on about SAGE. By all means do so.

But leave me out loosing the proverbial plot because you simply can't admit to getting a comment arsewsys.

Yeah but watch out for those #MotherOfGod twitterers - you never know what you could be linking too :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,138 ✭✭✭I see sheep

One of Mick's cheap flights booked to England at the end of June for a weekend away. From my research it looks like I won't need a negative Covid test on arrival there but will need one on the way back. Can anyone confirm or contradict?

Furthermore if I take a test in Ireland before I depart at Dublin airport will that be valid for the return 3 days later?

Yeah you'll be fine arriving in the UK. No stops/checks.

"a terrible war imposed by the provisional IRA"

Our West Brit Taoiseach

Oh yes there was! :pac:

Look if you wish to waffle on about SAGE. By all means do so.

But leave me out loosing the proverbial plot because you simply can't admit to getting a comment arsewsys.

Yeah but watch out for those #MotherOfGod twitterers - you never know what you could be linking too :pac:

The only waffling i see comes from you constantly berating and winding up other posters. My post was a valid comment about SAGE . You didn’t like it. But tough..

So what is the point of restrictions, just everyone get on with it and hope for the best ? Why worry about those 3 Indians, you probably won't bump into them anyway.

Just wind that back to what happened in Wuhan. It only took a few cases there to spread by air to everywhere. Same with new variants stop them early or we may lose this year too.

The only waffling i see comes from you constantly berating and winding up other posters. My post was a valid comment about SAGE . You didn’t like it. But tough..

So nothing to do with you replying to a comment and completely taking it out of context no? And rabbiting on about "SAGE" non stop for no other reason than not admitting that?

Strangely the only one making stuff up about apparently "berating and winding up other posters" is yourself.

But hey its all a bit hilarious all the same. Thanks for the laugh. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 442 ✭✭Feria40

Do we know what day next week the cabinet are meeting? I'm sure I saw Tuesday mentioned in this thread but on the various news reports I'm just seeing "next week".

Not expecting miracles with RTE already reporting that we won't have a fully operational system in place for the Covid certs until at least mid August and that we won't be accepting anything less than PCR tests, antigen won't be on cards.

With all the blowback this week around Shannon and the industry more generally, the disappearance of the €2k must surely be the immediate starting point..

So nothing to do with you replying to a comment and completely taking it out of context no? And rabbiting on about "SAGE" non stop for no other reason than not admitting that?

Strangely the only one making stuff up about apparently "berating and winding up other posters" is yourself.

But hey its all a bit hilarious all the same. Thanks for the laugh. ;)

More deflecting. My reply about Sage was totally relevent to your post about SAGE. It’s best to lay all the cards on the table if we’re going to discuss about an organisation like SAGE especially as they are known to jump the gun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,126 ✭✭✭✭Gael23

Using private texting to justify not adopting green very until August

NEPHET’s new “concern”. I think we can kiss goodbye to any travel cert now :mad:

https://www.rte.ie/news/2021/0521/1223091-covid-figures-update/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,126 ✭✭✭✭Gael23

NEPHET’s new “concern”. I think we can kiss goodbye to any travel cert now :mad:

I don’t think he has power to block it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 193 ✭✭eltonyio

The only black cloud about is the perpetual negativity and confusion from RTE. Earlier today they had a headline 'Ireland may not be able to fully roll out travel certs before mid-August', but within that very same article it then says:
    This morning the Minister for Health said Ireland will adopt a Covid-19 certificate to help citizens travel more freely across the European Union "as early as possible" and not necessarily by late July as previously flagged.
    'While ministers have said it will be late July or early August before they put the so-called EU's so-called "green certificate" into operation, Mr Donnelly said today that it could be earlier.

Make up your minds lads!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,211 ✭✭✭stargazer 68

Folks currently in Newry. Pub is saying no food until 24th. Happy to serve us outdoor pints though. Have we just found the wrong pub???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,994 ✭✭✭✭Marcusm

It’s certainly amusing to see the Dept of Health suggesting that private enterprises would be incapable of managing the information flow to confirm the results of a covid test. This in a week when it has transpired that having been initially targeted by the ransom attack, the Dept of Health did not alert the HSE or other agencies immediately. While it would likely not have limited the HSE attack which was likely already embedded, the failure to raise an alert within one of its own agencies is telling.

The idea that Boots, Randox etc would be incapable of delivering test data in a manner suitable for inclusion in a certain is laughable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,101 ✭✭✭facehugger99

Wow, 'genuine concern'.

In fairness that is a lot more concern than your 'standard concern' and significantly more concern than your 'disingenuous concern'

I'm sure the timing of the concern itself is incredibly genuine and not just because of the recent news on EU travel pass and Spain opening up to the UK.

I've never been so happy to have Belfast an hour up the road - I don't trust the shower of cowards that we have in charge but I'm pretty confident I'll be off to sunnier climes in a couple of months anyway.