If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Eurovision Song Contest 2021

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 744 ✭✭✭Kewreeuss

Macdarack wrote: »
    The "special effects" were cat . Also she's throwing in the jaw rolled notes too, Like every other Irish pop singer at the moment.

What are jaw roll notes?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,794 ✭✭✭archfi

Oymyakon wrote: »
    I heard she's written for Katy Perry? I stand to be corrected
    No, but she thought sounding like a bad knockoff of Katy Perry (who can't actually sing) was a good look in 2020 :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 247 ✭✭seamey beag84

quartz1 wrote: »
    Irelands record over recent years clearly indicates that the selection process is not delivering .
    Considering the costs incurred.in entering the contest why not reintroduce the traditional optiom.of running a tv selection contest and allow licence payers to have an opinion in selecting the entry. Rte gurus are presently picking their own entry and spending tv licence money on enteries that are not achieving results.

You know what happens when the public get a say....we send in the Turkey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,164 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

Who has she written songs for?

Genuinely curious

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lesley_Roy

I wouldn't know much about pop stars but it says here she is successful and I've heard the same in articles about her

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,413 ✭✭✭raclle

I don't get the hype with Eurovision at all. Its just neighbouring countries voting for each other and the best song more often than not never wins. Everything about that performance last night was very amateurish. The poor girl seemed overwhelmed by the end

I think Ireland should just leave the eurovision....its absolute muck...the irish entry was so bad this year....i physically cringed and felt uncomfortable watching it...

Its turned into something really unwatchable...

You could record marty whelan and play it again year after year...rinse and repeat...

Same aul bollex every year

You could try not watching it and leave it there for people who still enjoy it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,432 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

Irelands record over recent years clearly indicates that the selection process is not delivering .
    Considering the costs incurred.in entering the contest why not reintroduce the traditional optiom.of running a tv selection contest and allow licence payers to have an opinion in selecting the entry. Rte gurus are presently picking their own entry and spending tv licence money on enteries that are not achieving results.

RTE gurus ... losing out on patronage? From their cold dead hands...

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 210 ✭✭writhen

Thought the vocal performance was average at best. The staging was average. The song itself was average - just didn't deliver that killer hook that you need in Eurovision. If you have to qualify every year "average" means you don't get through to the finals.

Some of the songs that got through were poor enough, no better than ours. I think a lot of people just vote for a country, regardless of the quality of the song, and eastern Europe is a massive population block voting for each other. We don't have that kind of support from a block of countries, much as we might think that 'everyone loves the Irish'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,178 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Kewreeuss wrote: »
    What are jaw roll notes?

Is that where they over pronounce “I” as “ayyyyyye”??

It sounds muck if so

inthehat wrote: »
    Some of the songs that got through were poor enough, no better than ours. I think a lot of people just vote for a country, regardless of the quality of the song, and eastern Europe is a massive population block voting for each other. We don't have that kind of support from a block of countries, much as we might think that 'everyone loves the Irish'.

There have only been two Eastern winners in the last decade, so the bloc voting argument doesn't stack up.

Anyone can win if they send the right song, Portugal proved that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 245 ✭✭Oymyakon

Flying Fox wrote: »
    There have only been two Eastern winners in the last decade, so the bloc voting argument doesn't stack up.

Anyone can win if they send the right song, Portugal proved that.

The public vote is also now only 50% of the result with the reintroduction of national juries a few years back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,883 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

thing is the alternative cost more and didnt work either

My weather

https://www.ecowitt.net/home/share?authorize=96CT1F

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,993 ✭✭✭FileNotFound

thing is the alternative cost more and didnt work either

When you see the likes of "other voices" and other things that help young irish acts running all the time it's clear there are more affordable ways of picking actually good acts.

Let acts come with their own music and send in whatever is good.

I will wander down grafton street and find 5 musicians/singers better than the rubbish we watched yesterday.

It was really really bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭AndyBoBandy

I'd imagine 'if' (and that's a fairly big IF) RTÉ actually take it seriously (to themselves anyway), and want to do well, there's probably an 'OH SH1T' moment every year when they arrive at the venue and start seeing all the other entrants rehearsing their songs.... and it dawns on them that their entry hasn't a hope in hell of getting out of the semi-final.

In reality though, I reckon they are looking to find a sort of balance of 'good enough to qualify for the final', yet 'bad enough to not have a chance of winning the final'. Qualifying for the final on Saturday would be ideal for RTÉ as it ensures a greater audience on the night (and thus we are bombarded with ads for other REÉ shows etc.... so RTÉ wins).

Then we have Marty and his almost comical annual melt down when we fail to get out of the semi-final.....
    It's either complete delusion from within RTÉ that the song was good and had a chance, or it's complete contempt from them to the viewer when they give us the 'it was a great song, sure I'm a DJ so I know good songs' schtick.... I'm suspecting its the latter here..

Format here needs a complete re-vamp.

Let an independent group of music people (with no connection to RTÉ) select the song/singer/band (with a strong remit for being culturally Irish/unique), and once they have the song, then give it to RTÉ to put a production around it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,760 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Oymyakon wrote: »
    I must be the only person on this board who thinks IRELAND should have gone through, I thought the song and visuals were one of the nicer ones from last night (granted, not a terrific vocal performance on the night but that didn't stop some of the other countries getting through).

Definitely don't think we should been the expense of Cyprus, Sweden and Azerbaijariana Grande going through. I think Australia probably should have gone through as well.

Really?

She was like someone going through one of those books with the pop up pictures in her bare feet on a threadmill.

Very boring to watch compared to the other acts you mentioned, the song was no great shakes either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 245 ✭✭Oymyakon

Really?

She was like someone going through one of those books with the pop up pictures in her bare feet on a threadmill.

Very boring to watch compared to the other acts you mentioned, the song was no great shakes either.

I thought the art style was pretty nice and was way more interesting to me than the Lady Gaga/Ariana Grande copycats. Myself and my other half both enjoyed it so was surprised to go online to find out we're in the minority :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,808 ✭✭✭Man Vs ManUre

We should have Podge and Rodge do a duet next year. It could be a song about how a voluptuous young female vet came to the manor to insiminate one of their heifers, and the 2 boyo’s fall madly in love/lust with her. She likes their roguish charm but let’s them down gently telling them she is a lesbian and going out with the Garihhy wan. Then the heifer gives birth to sextuplets calves and the 2 lads have every woman from a 10 mile radius coming to see them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭Tombo2001

When you see the likes of "other voices" and other things that help young irish acts running all the time it's clear there are more affordable ways of picking actually good acts.

I will wander down grafton street and find 5 musicians/singers better than the rubbish we watched yesterday.

Would completely agree with this.

Yes Eurovision is formulaic - but lets be the innovators here and choose songs and music that actually say something about culture in Ireland.

We have a really strong domestic music scene - it says a lot about the national broadcaster that it is so dislocated from that music scene.

The national song contest could be a 'thing' in its own right. I'd love to see a national song for Eurovision from someone like Denise Chaila or Fionn Regan or Damien Dempsey or Niamh Regan or Ham Sandwich or Pillow Queens or For Those I Love.....

Fukc the rest of yis....we're Irish and this is what we do......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,362 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

I think Ireland should just leave the eurovision....its absolute muck...the irish entry was so bad this year....i physically cringed and felt uncomfortable watching it...

Its turned into something really unwatchable...

You could record marty whelan and play it again year after year...rinse and repeat...

Same aul bollex every year
    Irelands entry are the problem not Eurovision...one qualification in eight years says it all

That was Lesley Roy's own music

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭Tombo2001

Was a real culture cringe moment when - while they were waiting for the results - and the cameras panned to one of the country performers/ entourage and they were all looking at their phones.....

FFS.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,662 ✭✭✭forumdedum

breezy1985 wrote: »
    You could try not watching it and leave it there for people who still enjoy it

This is what I do. Haven't watched it in almost 30 years. This is due to taste in music.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,362 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

Tombo2001 wrote: »
    Would completely agree with this.

Yes Eurovision is formulaic - but lets be the innovators here and choose songs and music that actually say something about culture in Ireland.

We have a really strong domestic music scene - it says a lot about the national broadcaster that it is so dislocated from that music scene.

The national song contest could be a 'thing' in its own right. I'd love to see a national song for Eurovision from someone like Denise Chaila or Fionn Regan or Damien Dempsey or Niamh Regan or Ham Sandwich or Pillow Queens or For Those I Love.....

Fukc the rest of yis....we're Irish and this is what we do......
    The fukc the rest of yis comment is ridiculous...
    If we did that we would have every chance of doing well. Other countries take it seriously we do not, currently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,641 ✭✭✭✭Elmo

Jaysus, I haven't watch a full eurovision in years. Yes I want my 2 hours back.

I played along and picked all but 2 of the semi-finalist

I had put Ireland and Australia as maybes. Lithuania was out but on a novelty aspect in and if so Ireland or Australia were out.

Sweden initially I put in and then decided it was a fairly bad song out of a bad lot.

I put Russia at the top, followed Azerbaijan.

Belgium I think could be one of those songs that could go on to win, its not very eurovisiony. Same goes for the Ukraine.

As for Ireland..... You have a massive set and you choose not to use it, only at the end....?????? :confused:

Elmo wrote: »
    Jaysus, I haven't watch a full eurovision in years. Yes I want my 2 hours back.

I played along and picked all but 2 of the semi-finalist

I had put Ireland and Australia as maybes. Lithuania was out but on a novelty aspect in and if so Ireland or Australia were out.

Sweden initially I put in and then decided it was a fairly bad song out of a bad lot.

I put Russia at the top, followed Azerbaijan.

Belgium I think could be one of those songs that could go on to win, its not very eurovisiony.

As for Ireland..... You have a massive set and you choose not to use it, only at the end....?????? :confused:

When they called out Norway first I knew that my taste in music and the Eurovisions were definitely 2 very different things

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,432 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

Either they should have found someone else to sing it (maybe no one can do that properly live given its production) or written a song that could be performed properly live.

The studio version of Maps is ok but live it was a failure.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,662 ✭✭✭forumdedum

So much "own music" is junk. Sadly, great songwriters have become pretty rare.

If you read her CV Lesley hasn't really cut it in the songwriting game.

Just watched her on a playback. Poor vocals, voice sounds very tired. Probably over rehearsed etc.

Anyone who has a chance of a career in music certainly shouldn't flush it down the toilet entering Eurovision. Besides, what do the winners do? Apart from Celine Dion and ABBA they are pretty much forgotten.

Niamh Kavanagh went back to working in the bank. Sensible lady (super voice too.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,202 ✭✭✭Mike Murdock

forumdedum wrote: »
    So much "own music" is junk. Sadly, great songwriters have become pretty rare.

If you read her CV Lesley hasn't really cut it in the songwriting game.

Just watched her on a playback. Poor vocals, voice sounds very tired. Probably over rehearsed etc.

Anyone who has a chance of a career in music certainly shouldn't flush it down the toilet entering Eurovision. Besides, what do the winners do? Apart from Celine Dion and ABBA they are pretty much forgotten.

Niamh Kavanagh went back to working in the bank. Sensible lady (super voice too.)

She is not Kara DioGuardi level that is for sure. Lesley pretty much gave up singing in 2009 to concentrate on songwriting.

She should never have sung the song live as she does no have the vocal power or stage presence to pull it off.

The second point is not true. Plenty of established European bands/performers represent their countries at this thing. We seem to be fixated on plucking people from obscurity to represent us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 749 ✭✭✭feelings

Ireland's entry was terrible! The vocals were atrocious and the staging was rubbish. We hadn't a hope.

Could anyone make out wtf she was even singing? Was she even using words ?