An Garda Síochána - COVID19

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92,394 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Gardaí issue 469 fines for Covid19 breaches in Kilkenny

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,497 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

The Nal wrote: »
    What help could an unelected man from outside the county who received less than 1% of the vote provide?
    Publicity, lots of it.
    To be fair regardless of what political party he supports the Guards involved will want to have their ducks in a row.

lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,502 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

Witcher wrote: »
    lol

More view counts than MM's easing of restrictions, I'd say it's all over now, a bit bonkers getting the NP involved in a marriage break up situation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,497 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

More view counts than MM's easing of restrictions, I'd say it's all over now, a bit bonkers getting the NP involved in a marriage break up situation.

It was, but sure it didn't stop you spreading a narrative that was always going to turn out to be lies.

bubblypop wrote: »
    Do you believe every bit of rubbish that anyone writes on Twitter?

You haven't met drunkmonkey
    Dwyer is still down in Castrea Garda Station what ever is going on, have they not returned Pat Sweeney's kids?

First they don't charge him under the mental health act and now they have lost the key to the confiscated children cupboard.

You are on fire @drunkmonkey

First they don't charge him under the mental health act and now they have lost the key to the confiscated children cupboard.

You are on fire @drunkmonkey

He's still down at the station trying to rescue the kids in the cupboard, alleged it took a 15 minute chase around the back garden to catch one of them.
    It'll be interesting to see how this pans out, I'm not getting why he's still in the station asking where they are..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,283 ✭✭✭Oops!

Did i hear right in the latest video the garda mention "i don't know the details of the court case"? That might explain something....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,677 ✭✭✭Happydays2020

Is it time to refocus Garda resources on the key social problems, rather than being out at the airport slapping fines on people going on holidays?

https://twitter.com/pdaly83/status/1389203514858123268?s=21

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,129 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

I honestly think that this would only happen in a few counties in the world.

Is it time to refocus Garda resources on the key social problems, rather than being out at the airport slapping fines on people going on holidays?

https://twitter.com/pdaly83/status/1389203514858123268?s=21

Is it necessarily to place this in every thread?

It's not new and yes it should be priority but the video shows what appear to be security guards.

It's not a simple question of manpower, it's actual powers and enforcement across the entire system.

This isn't new, any Garda will have told you this for years now. By creating a system where under 18s are handled like a ming vase, we created untouchable scumbags. Did you byy any chance see the thread I started about a scumbag kicking the crap out of a Garda and not spending a single hour in jail for it?

It's like demanding that people only fish in a catch and release pond and then being surprised there's nothing for dinner.

The Nal wrote: »
    What help could an unelected man from outside the county who received less than 1% of the vote provide?

A nice cash injection as well by the looks of it, He's just shy of 10k raised on go fund me in the last 3hrs.

How much did you put in?

Donated a few books so Justin can reach the counter next time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,192 ✭✭✭✭hmmm

The Guards need to rein in their social media I think, we've already seen posts this week of cars patrolling a deserted beach, and a bike up a mountain somewhere.

Look I understand they have a job to do, but the message from the Government is clear that people should get outdoors and the Garda message is confusing this. The Guards need to facilitate that message and put the emphasis on stopping what is dangerous activities - happy for pictures of house parties being broken up or shebeens closed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 626 ✭✭✭slimboyfat

hmmm wrote: »
    The Guards need to rein in their social media I think, we've already seen posts this week of cars patrolling a deserted beach, and a bike up a mountain somewhere.

Look I understand they have a job to do, but the message from the Government is clear that people should get outdoors and the Garda message is confusing this. The Guards need to facilitate that message and put the emphasis on stopping what is dangerous activities - happy for pictures of house parties being broken up or shebeens closed.

I think you will find this to a common theme, they very rarely show people, car reg numbers, even houses in their photos, unsure if they are just not allowed or have a policy not to do so.
    But what is does show that they are out and about in various locations doing their job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,853 ✭✭✭✭silverharp

this one :o

https://twitter.com/gardainfo/status/1388502939493408768

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

Why does it bug people to see pictures of Gardai on patrol? Isn't the most common grievance that they aren't out and about?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,866 ✭✭✭Tenzor07

Why does it bug people to see pictures of Gardai on patrol? Isn't the most common grievance that they aren't out and about?

I believe the point is that we're seeing pictures of Garda patrols in beauty spots, where people go to walk in the open air, no virus risk , enjoying the outdoors/good for your health... The impression that these pictures create is that these areas are being policed to "catch people out" and stay away...
    I'd rather see Gardai patroling areas of high crime and drug dealing..

Tenzor07 wrote: »
    I believe the point is that we're seeing pictures of Garda patrols in beauty spots, where people go to walk in the open air, no virus risk , enjoying the outdoors/good for your health... The impression that these pictures create is that these areas are being policed to "catch people out" and stay away...

Every citizen in the country deserves to have gardai patrolling their area and keeping them safe.
    Great to see them everywhere :)

Tenzor07 wrote: »

Right so.

Well personally I couldn't give a **** what the Gardai are doing in other areas but where I live, I want them patrolling my area and keeping my family safe by ensuring that my low crime rate area remains that and my kids remain safe.

I don't however expect to see the Gardai from wicklow on twitter arresting anto in ballymun because then I would be wondering who is policing wicklow.

How is patrolling outdoor beauty spots keeping anyone safe, they're just winding people up with pictures like those. It's illegal for a lot of people to drive to those deserted spots. Farscical to believe that's saving lives, it's not just donegal they've been doing this all along.

You know there is more to life then covid right?
    Gardaí should and do patrol the whole country as best they can.
    Keeping people safe, all the time :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,866 ✭✭✭Tenzor07

Right so.Well personally I couldn't give a **** what the Gardai are doing in other areas but where I live, I want them patrolling my area and keeping my family safe by ensuring that my low crime rate area remains that and my kids remain safe.I don't however expect to see the Gardai from wicklow on twitter arresting anto in ballymun because then I would be wondering who is policing wicklow.

Point is people thought this was concerning enough to post up about the National Police force constantly tweeting pictures of them patrolling in wide open areas with no one around...if they're not dancing while on duty then it would be nice to see less focus on low/no crime activities and areas, and putting resources into areas where crimes such as drug dealings and anti-social behavior is taking place, e.g. a woman being pushed under a train in Dublin..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,095 ✭✭✭Ashbourne hoop

Yea he should have aimed higher like someone elected on the 6th count.

Elected would be a start anyway. Anyone who believes the gardai took these kids into care because of a video need to cop on. 100% there's more to this story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,913 ✭✭✭Pintman Paddy Losty

I notice they have a hotline for reporting Covid violations in Donegal. It's a pity they don't have a national hotline for reporting incidents. I have reported several breaches that I have seen in my locality and didn't get much traction with the local Garda station.

You know there is more to life then covid right?
    Gardaí should and do patrol the whole country as best they can.
    Keeping people safe, all the time :)

I sure do but some believe they have a devine right to stop us enjoying the outdoors for no good reason besides the MM said so.
    Anyone who thinks doing their bit is patrolling empty beauty spots and making tic tocs needs their head checked.

I sure do but some believe they have a devine right to stop us enjoying the outdoors for no good reason besides the MM said so.
    Anyone who thinks doing their bit is patrolling empty beauty spots and making tic tocs needs their head checked.

Doing their bit for what?
    MM said what?

Gardaí patrol the country as part of their job.

Doing their bit for what?
    MM said what?

Gardaí patrol the country as part of their job.

Doing their bit to save lives, MM still has us banned from crossing the county border, the only places i've constantly seen checkpoints throughout the pandemic is heading for the coast.
    You'd swear the Germans were invading with the Guards obsession for protecting the beaches.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,217 ✭✭✭TomsOnTheRoof

I have to say I'm in agreement with those posters who are complaining about Gardaí patrolling beauty spots. Areas like those pictured in the tweets above are large, isolated and outdoors. Even if daytrippers were to visit them en masse, the chance of a spike in cases, let alone an instance of solitary transmission, would be very low.

It's needlessly antagonising from An Garda Síochána and betrays an intention to catch people out and issue fines rather than police in the furtherance of the public's wellbeing. It amazes me that the Gardaí have taken such a keen interest in isolated, rural areas, especially considering they've never done so before. Living in such an area myself I could count on one hand the number of times I've seen a garda presence, despite a spate of burglaries and dog-nappings in recent years.

I'm not a conspiracy theorist, nor am I a nutjob but there have been enough high profile incidents in recent years for people's faith in policing in this country to have been eroded and nonsense like the above causes only further anger and resentment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,135 ✭✭✭✭neris

silverharp wrote: »

dont criticise or question the garda info account, they dont like it and are fond of the block button