Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Considering giving up main job for side hustle.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,476 ✭✭✭floorpie

I think we should give advice to OP in good faith based on the dilemma outlined, whether it's unlikely or not

• Registered Users Posts: 7,722 ✭✭✭YellowLead

Health11 wrote: »
    You seem very invested. I couldn't care less if you belive me. I asked a question. If you don't want to answer that's fine, not sure why you are on this thread getting angry.

I’m not getting angry, I just find it all super amusing. But it’s fine, I’ve said my piece so I’ll stop posting. I’ll leave you to drumming up new fans and let the gullible guys who are fantasising give you their advice, I wish you no harm.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,402 ✭✭✭celt262

Yeah I am aware of the precarious nature of the career hence keeping all my options open. I have been investing in stocks and bitcoin for a while now. Hopefully I can start making a passive income so if OF goes bust I will have my money made.

Just be careful you might be making good money now but them lads wont be long dropping you and moving onto the next model at any time.

I know a girl local to me started off and was allegedly making what you are getting now and was charging €15 a month for the privilege and has cut the subscription cost to €5 a month now to try and get subscribers. You wont keep making that money unless you start doing stuff with other guys/girls.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,685 ✭✭✭Signore Fancy Pants

LOL

Screenshot of your earnings summary on OF, plz tnx bai.

• Registered Users Posts: 59 ✭✭Health11

celt262 wrote: »
    Just be careful you might be making good money now but them lads wont be long dropping you and moving onto the next model at any time.

I know a girl local to me started off and was allegedly making what you are getting now and was charging €15 a month for the privilege and has cut the subscription cost to €5 a month now to try and get subscribers. You wont keep making that money unless you start doing stuff with other guys/girls.

Yeah I am aware that it may not be sustainable. I was thinking if I could maximise my earnings now, I could live off that anyway along with my nursing job.

How long did it take you to amass €12,000 a month on OF?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,088 ✭✭✭Jequ0n

I am always happy to see when a stressed out front line worker finds a way to relax and unwind after a gruelling shift.

• Registered Users Posts: 834 ✭✭✭Dontfadeaway

It's bizarre some of the posts here. I don't know if it's jealousy or what. I am well aware I am in a very lucky position, and I don't think I am anything 'special' or talented.

I don’t think people know about O.F enough or how big it has become, so they refuse to believe it. Just get what you can while you can.

I didn't think of that but you may be right.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,540 ✭✭✭Luckycharm

floorpie wrote: »
    If you were earning 1m a month people might be jealous, but nobody in the western world is jealous of 10k a month in exchange for the task here. Your 30k estimate is hypothetical at this point.

Judging by public vs private sector threads, posters here would be more jealous if you remained a staff nurse and got to top of the scale.

Re: comments on begrudgery, any comment that says quitting is a bad idea is begrudgery? She's not earning "retire early" money. It's "decent living" money and that's with the major assumption that it remains consistent, which it 100% will not. I think it's bizarre that old timers on a Jobs board are advising someone to quit a career for a hypothetical income, when she currently has both the career + the OF income.

I think she should do a science degree instead that is clearly where the money is :p

• Registered Users Posts: 1,215 ✭✭✭carveone

I was about to say: what's the issue? What's with the "be careful" comments? Just feck off for 8 months, see how it goes, restart when you feel like it.

However I come from an IT/engineering background. So I may be getting it wrong. I'm curious about medicine in contrast to other professions. For example, in the UK, you'd be a house officer, then senior, then registrar. At which point you go into consulting or GP. Is there a point in those years of training where, if you sodded off for a year, that would affect your career? Or at least (like pilots) your currency?

I've worked in IT and, at two points in my career, have decided to take 6 months. And I did. And that was the end of it. Sure, this is anathema to the old careerists, who believe you work for 40 years and taking a career break is the worst thing in the world. But it made no difference to me, indeed each time I did it I ended up with more money in the next job.

I get the chilling impression that nursing staff here are thought of as akin to nuns. It's not a job, it's "a calling" (ie: they screw you on salary and hours). You can leave but don't come back.

The inmo website has a section on: "Can I take a career break". The answer is yes but "only available for domestic purposes, educational purposes or travel abroad". OR ELSE apparently. When you return, they reserve the right to not employ you for 12 months. On zero pay. And you aren't allowed work for anyone else. WTF is this nonsense. And what is "domestic purposes" when it's at home. Allowing you to have children I suppose.

When I lived in Canada, the health service there was actively poaching HSE nursing staff. Australia too. Both my sisters worked in London and they both said Irish nursing staff are actively recruited there. At this stage you could spend 3 years in a cave in Tibet and they'd still absolutely bite your hand off.

Ok. I went a bit mad there but my point was: This country. Jaysus.

Doing OF for 5 months.
    Now up to 12k a month.
    Only doing an hour a day.
    Says her social media from school/college has enough of a following to rake in 12k pm.
    Has bought stocks & Bitcoin....so...maybe has 1 Bitcoin...LOL.

Only an hour or so a day suggests income is from subscriptions. Doubtful to be from requests. So let's be very very unbelievably generous and believe the OP has earned 12k pm for 5 months, thats €60k....on subscriptions.

In reality, not the case as you'd struggle to have an initial solid following, maybe a handful a week.Also, to gain a fcuk tonne of followers needed to get to €12k pm, you'd want to be doing mad stuff, like 3 girls 2 cups stuff, certainly not a casual hour or so

€12.99 seems to be a nice monthly subscription model, so let's pretend thats the one in use here. Let's pretend that people have subscribed 5 times at €12.99 a pop, totalling €64.95 each.

That's 185 people who have paid up €12.99 consistently for 5 months.....with feck all to show for it. Porn heads and perverts are a fickle bunch. Its a Pandemic, fcuk tonnes of people have been out of work. Nobody is going to consistently pay €12.99 a month to someone who isn't putting the effort in or doing requests (such as the OP). Thats a Netflix subscription.

According to Google, Belle Delphine has a $35 monthly subscription but is apparently worth it with a fcuking huuuge social media following prior to OF.

Niamh O'Connor who is apparently a really really popular Irish OF person, earned €27k in Feb.

The recent article in the Independent, stated a full time OF hawker with 200 subscriptions at $9.99 a pop, earns up to €2k pm.

Quite frankly, the OP is winding ye gullible feckers up.

The OP would need to be really fecking popular and an absolute stunner to be making anywhere near 12k pm.

Its a ballhop.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 467 ✭✭EddieN75

Make hay while the sun shines. The mid 20s spread could be just around the corner and that 12k earning potential could turn into 12 euro in a flash.

• Registered Users Posts: 377 ✭✭ThumbTaxed

My recommendation is to do OF for 24 hours a day and get 288k a month or 3.5m a year and you will earn probably 40m before you are a wreck.

Then go back to nursing.

In fairness, although I don't use it (paying for porn, pfft) it took me all of about 20 minutes to find a site called OnlyFinder.com where you can search locations and such for OnlyFans sex workers, and it generally lists how many people they have subscribing to them, and how much it costs to subscribe (by the month).

I didn't see anyone making 12k a month on it, but then I didn't really look very thoroughly.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,699 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

The government have been ****ing nurses for years, may as well **** yourself and make a few quid at it

YellowLead wrote: »
    https://www.google.ie/amp/s/www.businessinsider.com/onlyfans-monica-huldt-describes-how-makes-money-2020-3%3famp

If you can tell us why you make more money than this lady who is considered one of the sites top earners by only putting in an hour a day....then maybe people might believe you...

She’s nowhere near the top earner. I knew nothing about OF before this thread but a simple google reveals that her claims are hardly that radical.

https://www.irishexaminer.com/lifestyle/people/arid-40228745.html

And she wouldn’t be here asking about leaving her job unless she was successful.

Doing OF for 5 months.
    Now up to 12k a month.
    Only doing an hour a day.
    Says her social media from school/college has enough of a following to rake in 12k pm.
    Has bought stocks & Bitcoin....so...maybe has 1 Bitcoin...LOL.

Only an hour or so a day suggests income is from subscriptions. Doubtful to be from requests. So let's be very very unbelievably generous and believe the OP has earned 12k pm for 5 months, thats €60k....on subscriptions.

In reality, not the case as you'd struggle to have an initial solid following, maybe a handful a week.Also, to gain a fcuk tonne of followers needed to get to €12k pm, you'd want to be doing mad stuff, like 3 girls 2 cups stuff, certainly not a casual hour or so

€12.99 seems to be a nice monthly subscription model, so let's pretend thats the one in use here. Let's pretend that people have subscribed 5 times at €12.99 a pop, totalling €64.95 each.

That's 185 people who have paid up €12.99 consistently for 5 months.....with feck all to show for it. Porn heads and perverts are a fickle bunch. Its a Pandemic, fcuk tonnes of people have been out of work. Nobody is going to consistently pay €12.99 a month to someone who isn't putting the effort in or doing requests (such as the OP). Thats a Netflix subscription.

According to Google, Belle Delphine has a $35 monthly subscription but is apparently worth it with a fcuking huuuge social media following prior to OF.

Niamh O'Connor who is apparently a really really popular Irish OF person, earned €27k in Feb.

The recent article in the Independent, stated a full time OF hawker with 200 subscriptions at $9.99 a pop, earns up to €2k pm.

Quite frankly, the OP is winding ye gullible feckers up.

The OP would need to be really fecking popular and an absolute stunner to be making anywhere near 12k pm.

Its a ballhop.

Too much “research” dude.

Exactly! Im astonished he went to that effort and still came out with an incorrect verdict.

Anyway there’s only two possibilities here.

The op is totally lying.
    The op is earning serious money.

If she’s earning €100 a month there would be no need for the thread.

Less than 5 minutes, another 5 doing the sums.

I just opened an account myself. I have no subscribers or content and I'm up €4000 already.

Exactly! Im astonished he went to that effort and still came out with an incorrect verdict.

Prove me wrong.

Less than 5 minutes, another 5 doing the sums.

I just opened an account myself. I have no subscribers or content and I'm up €4000 already.

you seem to know a lot about requests and subscriptions and the difference.

The op could be a total spoofer but if she is on OF at all she is making money, or the thread would make no sense. If it was 2K a month then why would anybody give up a 35K job?

you seem to know a lot about requests and subscriptions and the difference.

Yeah, it's called reading *slow clap* for you boss.
    The op could be a total spoofer but if she is on OF at all she is making money, or the thread would make no sense. If it was 2K a month then why would anybody give up a 35K job?

Maybe because its BS. I hope she ends up making €20k+ per month, girl power etc.

And on that note, this is not AH so I will bow out of the thread, the OP has no obligation to deal with someone like me who will ask questions and counter his/her claims.

Bon chance Amigo.

Yeah, it's called reading *slow clap* for you boss.

Not denying you read it, just wondering when you started reading it.
    Maybe because its BS. I hope she ends up making €20k+ per month, girl power etc.

And on that note, this is not AH so I will bow out of the thread, the OP has no obligation to deal with someone like me who will ask questions and counter his/her claims.

Bon chance Amigo.

Yes, I agree, in these threads we should assume the OP is not lying.

So OP, my opinion:

1) You shouldn't quit your job. This big money might not last.
    2) Make sure that being on OF isn't against your contract as a nurse.
    3) Save.

Get your tax in order.

I'm happy doing what I'm doing so will take no notice of the naysayers.

• Registered Users Posts: 369 ✭✭Timmyr

pm me a link to your of, for research purposes

• Registered Users Posts: 8,825 ✭✭✭893bet

Here for the PM also, just see what the fuss is.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,476 ✭✭✭floorpie

it took me all of about 20 minutes to find a site called OnlyFinder.com ..... generally lists how many people they have subscribing to them, and how much it costs to subscribe (by the month).

I've scraped that depressing site and for anybody interested here are the stats (yes I have too much time)

Exec summary:
    1) OP might be telling the truth but is overly ambitious
    2) OF is a bad business to get into
    3) Girls and guys selling nudes account for 0.00129% of Irish GDP

* There are ~800 Irish accounts visible

* The average subscription price is $6 and the median is $5 (prices are in dollars)

* The average number of likes is 3864 and the median is 134, the range is 0 - 267311

* Of the 800 accounts, 22% (176) earn zero per month, and ~50% make <$10

* Only 57 make their number of subscribers known, the rest hide it (in other words, for these 57 you can know their income from subscriptions, the rest you can not)

* Of these 57 accounts, here are the number of subscribers and the earnings per month for the top 5 accounts in order:

4687 -- $18,748
    371 -- $5,156.9
    31 -- $620
    29 -- $522
    35 -- $279.65

* The top account (with 4687 subscribers) is Matty Gilbert, so in terms of subscriber numbers he doesn't earn €50k per month as claimed by media: https://www.fm104.ie/news/buzz/irish-dad-opens-up-about-decision-to-start-only-fans-where-he-earns-e50k-a-month/
    You can verify that this information is all current by looking at the number of subscribers listed on his page right now (4.6K): https://onlyfans.com/mattygilbert91

* Based on the 57 accounts that show both #subscribers and #likes, you can roughly model the number of subscribers for accounts where it is unknown; on average users get ~0.02 subscribers for each like

* Based on this rough model, the average income for all accounts is $521 per month, and the median is $14, with a tiny % accounting for most income

* The range of income is 0 - $32,000 (i.e. OP's estimate of possible income is pretty good)

* Only 80 accounts make $1000 a month or more

* 10 accounts make $10,000 or more (OP is top tier)

* Many accounts like to brag about being in the top x% of earners, based on information they're privy to via OF. I believe many are incorrect about their standing, but nevertheless it gives you an idea of how much work you need to do to get into a certain select strata, and how little reward you get for being in the top tiers:

Claimed Top %
    #Likes
    Estimated Base Income per month

* These figures don't include tips and requests, which may account for 0-50% additional income

* There's no correlation between attractiveness and income (my personal judgment), so perhaps it's a good business to get into if you're a 5/10 and I'm considering a career change

All in all, OP, your ambition to become the top 0.01% of Irish earners on OF is probably unrealistic just based on probabilities and level of competition. For anybody else, don't get into the porn business, you likely wont make any money

• Registered Users Posts: 35,828 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

OF is only possible with a huge social media base, unless you're a celebrity. Did you really use your normal social media base to promote your OF, but wouldn't that social media base be all your friends and family.