Are we there yet? Your second Travel Megathread (threadbans in OP}

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,113 ✭✭✭The Continental Op

You will also need a negative PCR covid test before you fly back.

Wake me up when it's all over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,030 ✭✭✭Ray Donovan

I’m so angry over this. Jesus Christ almighty these lads are the biggest shower of fcuking septards that ever walked the planet.

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/coalition-wanted-to-shut-out-travel-for-tourist-season-with-jab-passport-delay-40322401.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,450 ✭✭✭FrankN1

Anyone booked anything abroad yet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,645 ✭✭✭Micky 32

I’m so angry over this. Jesus Christ almighty these lads are the biggest shower of fcuking septards that ever walked the planet.

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/coalition-wanted-to-shut-out-travel-for-tourist-season-with-jab-passport-delay-40322401.html

“”The Irish authorities don’t have the IT to track customers who have received the vaccines. They have no verification system. Effectively the Government position was to delay it because there’s no database””

As if that would have been up and running by September.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,432 ✭✭✭SusanC10

FrankN1 wrote: »

We have moved our originally 2020 holiday to 2022 now.

But both Husband and I have siblings abroad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,276 ✭✭✭KanyeSouthEast

What a time to be alive and Irish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,358 ✭✭✭CruelSummer

This article is full of misleading statements as to what the Digital Green certificate entails. Where could one complain re media coverage of this Travel Cert. The cert is for people with a negative PCR, immunity / antibodies to Covid 19 OR a vaccination.

Some of the misleading statements written in the article:

'The EU is bringing in vaccine passports to allow people to travel once they have had the Covid-19 jab.'

'The ‘Digital Green Certificates’ will allow people to travel throughout the EU once they are vaccinated.'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,470 ✭✭✭✭Father Hernandez

"Ireland took a position, along with Germany and some other countries, that there should be a three-month delay before implementation. The tourist sector would have lost another year. The Irish authorities don’t have the IT to track customers who have received the vaccines. They have no verification system. Effectively the Government position was to delay it because there’s no database. The freedom of movement of people is a backbone of the single market of the EU. Yet you had Ireland leading the charge to delay it being brought in. The tourism industry and airlines would not be pleased,” an EU source told this newspaper."

No database or IT system in place, we have the biggest tech companies in the world with offices here, some the most advanced technology in the world and we're unable to handle databases.

I'm embarassed to see these headlines and becoming more embarassed by the day to be Irish. We were punching well above our weight pre pandemic and now making ludicrious decision by 'leaders' that are now being questioned by other countries for the negativity it's bringing and what value it actually is.

It's a circus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,645 ✭✭✭Micky 32

No database or IT system in place, we have the biggest tech companies in the world with offices here, some the most advanced technology in the world and we're unable to handle databases.

I'm embarassed to see these headlines and becoming more embarassed by the day to be Irish. We were punching well above our weight pre pandemic and now making ludicrious decision by 'leaders' that are now being questioned by other countries for the negativity it's bringing and what value it actually is.

It's a circus.

It’s plain and simple. They don’t want travel to be a part of Irish life going forward. They are all just excuses. The excuses will keep coming. There’s going to be a big battle between people and the government regarding travel in the future. Unless the virus and it’s f***g variants disappears ( which is unlikely) the travel war won’t end. September was a delay tactic. Once September comes they’ll find another excuse to delay further. They will do everything in their power to stop people travelling to their familes at xmas.

We might get to travel again but it will be made as hard and awkward as possible and for most won’t be worth the hassle.

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 78,499 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Threads merged

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,931 ✭✭✭saabsaab

Some very pessimistic views on this and travel generally here. I have confidence that we could get back to some measure of travel when the roll outs are well under way. I have already said late June 2021 but until then no.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,246 ✭✭✭Del Griffith

Scum.

Again the people and the economy must suffer due to these fools ineptitude.

So it's law from June anyway and countries have 6 weeks from then to implement. Obviously Ireland will push this out to the literal last day, last minute, or further if they can get away with it.

****hole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 258 ✭✭Wallander

That's disappointing, but the silver lining is there is a source in the EU clearly frustrated with Ireland's anti-travel BS feeding info to the Irish media :)

Wallander wrote: »
    That's disappointing, but the silver lining is there is a source in the EU clearly frustrated with Ireland's anti-travel BS feeding info to the Irish media :)

I don't see that. Most media I see are against bringing in new variants in line with public opinion.

FrankN1 wrote: »

September. See no reason why I won't be going

It's a circus.

Gibraltar has many financial companies. Doesn't mean they are financially brilliant. Why would Google being here make any difference to our it systems?

Systems that the public had been consistently told is ancient and needs upgrading.

And shame on anytime who still considers the indo to be reliable news

saabsaab wrote: »
    Some very pessimistic views on this and travel generally here. I have confidence that we could get back to some measure of travel when the roll outs are well under way. I have already said late June 2021 but until then no.

It's very difficult to be optimistic about anything when morale is at an all time low.

Vaccine roll out is brutal, we're in the harshest lockdown in the world for 3 and a half months now on top of lockdown in 2020, vaccine controversys with no one held accountable for stealing vaccines and jumping the queue, there is zero plan to get out of this, our government is the worst it's been since the formation of the state.

Travel is something the majority of us like to do and we're hearing reports Ireland is looking to delay it because we're incapable of handling IT.

I sincerely hope you're right about travel in June and not just EU but the globe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,246 ✭✭✭Del Griffith

It's a circus.

Any private company could knock this basic functionality out on a month.

Jesus give me a tenth of the budget they'll waste on this and I'll get it done.

A blockchain ledger would be perfect this but they'll find a way to do it arseways, while wasting loads of time and money in the process.

It's very difficult to be optimistic about anything when morale is at an all time low.

Vaccine roll out is brutal, we're in the harshest lockdown in the world for 3 and a half months now on top of lockdown in 2020, vaccine controversys with no one held accountable for stealing vaccines and jumping the queue, there is zero plan to get out of this, our government is the worst it's been since the formation of the state.

Travel is something the majority of us like to do and we're hearing reports Ireland is looking to delay it because we're incapable of handling IT.

I sincerely hope you're right about travel in June and not just EU but the globe.

The roll out is not going so bad and we are in a reasonable position due to our lockdown and the MHQ, to stamp this down for good. The controversies are minor really (a few dozen doses) hardly a major issue in the overall context. Of course no one can predict the future but I am hopeful.

Let’s hope the pharma company’s can make the changes needed as different variants create new problems. I’m still optimistic but this sort of stuff shows why caution is prudent. Nobody can predict exactly how this CoVid rollercoaster is gonna play out.

Gibraltar has many financial companies. Doesn't mean they are financially brilliant. Why would Google being here make any difference to our it systems?

Systems that the public had been consistently told is ancient and needs upgrading.

And shame on anytime who still considers the indo to be reliable news

It doesn't but major IT companies signifies to me that they're here for a reason - we have an intelligent workforce.

A database to hold information on vaccine passports, etc could be done successfully by a private company as Del Griffiths said in next to no time. It's not rocket science.

We spunked millions on a contact tracing system that doesn't work efficiently, plenty other wasted taxpayer money and when something pops up like this, we're unable to do it because our crap systems let us down.

The roll out is not going so bad and we are in a reasonable position due to our lockdown and the MHQ, to stamp this down for good. The controversies are minor really (a few dozen doses) hardly a major issue in the overall context. Of course no one can predict the future but I am hopeful.

Let’s hope the pharma company’s can make the changes needed as different variants create new problems. I’m still optimistic but this sort of stuff shows why caution is prudent. Nobody can predict exactly how this CoVid rollercoaster is gonna play out.

I disagree tbh, vaccines are our seemingly silver bullet. We began 2 months ago and 16% of the population have had their first dose. 6.6% fully vaccinated.

Whatever about the supply issues, it's slow - Donnelly and Paul Reid are backslapping one another to say how great it is whilst not living in the real world.

The controversies are bad IMO, it's tip of the iceberg stuff. If I robbed a coupld vaccines tomorrow for a couple of pals, I'd be rightly arrested and the book thrown at me.

It doesn't but major IT companies signifies to me that they're here for a reason - we have an intelligent workforce.

A database to hold information on vaccine passports, etc could be done successfully by a private company as Del Griffiths said in next to no time. It's not rocket science.

We spunked millions on a contact tracing system that doesn't work efficiently, plenty other wasted taxpayer money and when something pops up like this, we're unable to do it because our crap systems let us down.

It's PRIVATE companies that are being asked to do it.

But public sector purchasing is bureaucratic and slow. It's not done like the private sector because it's not the private sector.

When looking at the PRIVATE sector, add ten layers of bureaucracy, public consultations, in-house fighting and insufficient funding.

Then you have the public sector :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,669 ✭✭✭Klonker

I may tell the missus to cancel our June flights so because saabsaab said no.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,014 ✭✭✭✭Corholio

What's everyone's plan for trip away this summer?

Mid may is when UK are hoping to restart international travel so Belfast will come into play, although the inter county travel archaic stubbornness will slow (not stop) that for sure. End of June, start of July is best I can see here with the adversity to the Green Pass, and will probably be later.

Have family and friends abroad (Netherlands, Belgium) some who have suffered adversely in all of this so looking forward to heading to them for a while.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,071 ✭✭✭✭titan18

Corholio wrote: »

Mid may is when UK are hoping to restart international travel so Belfast will come into play, although the inter county travel archaic stubbornness will slow (not stop) that for sure. End of June, start of July is best I can see here with the adversity to the Green Pass, and will probably be later.

Have family and friends abroad (Netherlands, Belgium) some who have suffered adversely in all of this so looking forward to heading to them for a while.

I have none, I can't see travel being right this summer from here so no point booking anything. I'm hoping for September on before I can get out of this sh1tshow of a country and have done fun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭pottokblue

I'm happier now they've converted the MHQ to I@H not the best scenario but better for me ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,127 ✭✭✭✭Gael23

Catherine Martin should now resign.
    In other news, high court hearing challenge to MHQ

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,276 ✭✭✭KanyeSouthEast

Gael23 wrote: »
    Catherine Martin should now resign.
    In other news, high court hearing challenge to MHQ

Don’t make me laugh. Some disaster having green ministers in transport and tourism at a time where we need strong ministers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 584 ✭✭✭rorrissey

Corholio wrote: »

I am considering heading Stateside for the summer. My boyfriend is over there, I haven't seen him in ages and I work freelance on my own terms. Obviously, the travel ban between the EU & America is still in place, but there are talks of it coming to an end soon. If that doesn't happen, I'll probably go ahead and spend 2 weeks in Mexico and then enter the US that way. A lot of people in my situation seem to be doing that.

I'm not too concerned about the hotel quarantine because I plan on staying there for the full 90 days, so hopefully it will be scraped by the time I return.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,373 ✭✭✭Thephantomsmask

How can they claim to have no database of vaccine recipients? I had to give my PPS number along with a lot of other details to get my vaccine as a healthcare worker, surely everyone getting the vaccine is being asked for this info and thus it can be compiled? The level of incompetence and the laughing stock MHQ is a shambles.