Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XXXIV-249,437 ROI(4,906 deaths) 120,195 NI (2,145 deaths)(01/05)Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,070 ✭✭✭Dickie10

saabsaab wrote: »
    I'd say we would have outdoor pubs in May. Depending on the roll out.

id say mid august for the staycation before schools reopen. then schools go back numbers go up and they shut last week in september again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,134 ✭✭✭caveat emptor

Is it fair to say that, as a result of that doctor "discovering" the link with the clots, the vaccine is less used, so a greater number of deaths might now occur, though from Covid and not from that vaccine?

Yeah probably. Depends on the demographics of spread and on the vaccine rollout rate. This is how Pharmacovigilance works. I think during a pandemic they should be quicker at dealing with things like this as and when they arise and get going again. If it's only affecting women of a certain age then don't give them it while it's worked out.

Although the rate of this rare blood clotting from the vaccine is very likely to be under reported due to nobody connecting the dots until recently, it's still incredibly rare for most people. Even so one of the doctors involved clearly stated that it shouldn't be stopped. The good thing is that they know what to look for and the treatment will make it less deadly. This was the best thing about it.

Prof. Marcel Levi, MD PhD FRCP
    He did not want them to take action, he said, “because I think that vaccination is absolutely great and we should not stop it and we should not scare people. But just to make them aware. So I think they kept a close eye on the numbers in the following days.”

Levi wanted hospitals everywhere to know how to diagnose and treat this new condition. “We began to exchange information with some colleagues from the rest of Europe. The German group had quite a lot of experience with this particular condition. They had exactly the same information, but they were a little bit reluctant to share it with other people because they were in the process of getting it published in one of the scientific journals,” he said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,593 ✭✭✭forumdedum

Yeah talk about him changing his tune to tow the party line.

Dissapointing.

Just another populist spoofer.

None of them have any balls.

I think he's 1 can short of a six pack. Therefore a future Taoiseach :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,607 ✭✭✭Azatadine

Like a deer in the headlights when asked why people from the UK aren't asked to MHQ.

That was hilarious! You could see his eyes pop open and the realisation that he had no clue how to answer that question all over his face. He really was like a deer in the headlights.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,132 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Dickie10 wrote: »
    id say mid august for the staycation before schools reopen. then schools go back numbers go up and they shut last week in september again.
    That is very doubtful with so many having had vaccine shots at that stage. Israeli data already hinting that about 60% coverage may even do it. Unless, of course, this is what you want to see!

RGS wrote: »
    In fairness to jim o'callaghan he was stating we have to live with covid and things need to open up.

On MHQ I got the impression he was defending something he doesn't believe in..
    Not all of them do but in the face of the vast majority of the Dail wanting to lock out the entire world, who'd be agin' it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,234 ✭✭✭✭normanoffside

Like a deer in the headlights when asked why people from the UK aren't asked to MHQ.

Then went on about variants and that's the reason for MHQ from other countries.

Pressed on the UK variant and started rambling about how they are required to quarantine at home.

Whole thing is a farce.

Why would the UK be on the MHQ list?
    Their variant is also our dominant one and they have lower cases than us to boot.

Dickie10 wrote: »

Just like last year eh!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,738 ✭✭✭DebDynamite

Why would the UK be on the MHQ list?
    Their variant is also our dominant one and they have lower cases than us to boot.

I agree - they don’t need to be on it, and the fact that he didn’t even have that answer already prepared is ridiculous. Fair enough if asked why Poland or India aren’t on the list as it’s much harder to defend that decision than it is the UK.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,265 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

I wonder is Ireland the country that is most concerned in the world about potential variants. Every day there seems to be a new story about potential variants.

There was an outbreak in Whistler Canada of the Brazilian variant . They locked down the town , closed the ski slopes and are vaccinating every single person over 16 who live or work in Whistler . They register for an appointment online and the centre is open until 10 pm . They were very concerned .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,187 ✭✭✭GeorgeBailey

I wonder is Ireland the country that is most concerned in the world about potential variants. Every day there seems to be a new story about potential variants.

It's definitely worried about elsewhere too, e.g. Pat Kenny often checks in with journalists around Europe and they mention it. Even gets mentioned in random youtube videos, e.g. https://youtu.be/fqlPsAAsZss?t=155

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,578 ✭✭✭✭Turtwig

is_that_so wrote: »
    That is very doubtful with so many having had vaccine shots at that stage. Israeli data already hinting that about 60% coverage may even do it. Unless, of course, this is what you want to see!

Israel have very strict rules on entry into the country. Being purely selfish, I'd wish they relaxed them so we could see what effect if any travel has. They don't have the South African variant.

The UK will be our best proxy. They've used a mix of vaccines. Largely only first dose given. They're a few weeks ahead of us. We should be able to use this to our advantage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,065 ✭✭✭funnydoggy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

I agree we should get the option, I wasn't giving the news conference my full attention but I thought they said men and women were equally likely (or unlikely) to get a clot after astra, that the reason more women had issues was that women had that vaccine.
    They're playing their cards close to their chest on this one, and I have to believe it's to avoid armchair scientists like me making grand proclamations on the airwaves that then get taken as gospel.

The EMA reports that "most" or a "majority" of clotting cases are women, but they don't seem to be reporting actual numbers. They have reported that of the people who have received AZ, about two-thirds are women. And this is why they can't say at the moment, whether there is a sex link or whether it's just a factor of the numbers.

Some of the non-EMA reports though suggest that about 95% of clotting incidents are women. The number of actual incidents is small, so it could absolutely just be an anomaly that so many are women; pure chance. But it's not something that can be ruled out at the moment.

Turtwig wrote: »
    Israel have very strict rules on entry into the country. Being purely selfish, I'd wish they relaxed them so we could see what effect if any travel has. They don't have the South African variant.

They do. It made up 1% of their total cases in February and in one district it was as high as 20%. They haven't released any more recent data unfortunately but it's definitely been there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,578 ✭✭✭✭Turtwig

Hardyn wrote: »
    They do. It made up 1% of their total cases in February and in one district it was as high as 20%. They haven't released any more recent data unfortunately but it's definitely been there.

Yeah I just generously dismissed that as being functionally zero for now. The UK variant is more dominant there and some combination of that spreading, the vaccination programme and social restrictions has kept the SA one heavily suppressed. Unclear what's had the biggest influence.

Being more pedantic I should have said Israel's spread of covid isn't being driven by the SA variant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,294 ✭✭✭✭Eod100

Looks like NPHET considering going to 1 briefing a week from next month. Hopefully a good sign.

https://www.thejournal.ie/nphet-to-consider-holding-briefings-just-once-a-week-if-improvement-continues-5408125-Apr2021/?utm_source=twitter_short

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,629 ✭✭✭✭Vicxas

Eod100 wrote: »

Wohooo doom and gloom reduced by half!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 716 ✭✭✭cheezums

Eod100 wrote: »

great. they should stop releasing daily case numbers as well.

Turtwig wrote: »
    Yeah I just generously dismissed that as being functionally zero for now. The UK variant is more dominant there and some combination of that spreading, the vaccination programme and social restrictions has kept the SA one heavily suppressed. Unclear what's had the biggest influence.

Being more pedantic I should have said Israel's spread of covid isn't being driven by the SA variant.

That's true the numbers are low. At the same time though Israel have had fairly low restrictions on gatherings for vaccinated people for the past while and Passover ended two weeks ago. It's enough that you'd expect to see B.1.351 start gaining ground if it were able to breakthrough the vaccines. So far there's not been any noticeable rise in cases.

It would be helpful if Israel released more sequencing data.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,952 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

cheezums wrote:
    That's the HSE.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,859 ✭✭✭robbiezero

cheezums wrote: »

Why?
    They can release them every 10 minutes for all I care.

• Site Banned Posts: 12,341 ✭✭✭✭Faugheen

eagle eye wrote: »
    That's the HSE.

It’s not, it’s NPHET.

Hospitals, ICUs, vaccinations etc is the HSE.

Either way, if they stopped releasing numbers daily then, as highlighted, people would be giving out yards about hiding the figures, especially if they’re low.

I’ve seen people say the briefings need to be stopped altogether, but then there’s no way for questions to be asked of NPHET’s recommendations.

Also a lot of people (who clearly don’t watch the briefings) seem to think they’re still on everyday when that hasn’t been the case since last June.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,305 ✭✭✭✭Jim_Hodge

Why? So heads can be dug deeper in the sand? Or so doom merchants are deprived of Oxygen? Or so people will be about to complain about a lack of information?

Which is it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,785 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

If they did that, people would complain that they're hiding numbers.

I don't like the media's fixation on case numbers, but that's not NPHET's fault.

Only the last remaining covid obsessives would complain about that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,785 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

Jim_Hodge wrote: »
    Why? So heads can be dug deeper in the sand? Or so doom merchants are deprived of Oxygen? Or so people will be about to complain about a lack of information?

Which is it?

Hospitalizations and ICU numbers not sufficient?

It's not like anyone would expect NPHET and HSE (or whomever) to stop collecting the case numbers.

Faugheen wrote: »
    It’s not, it’s NPHET.

Hospitals, ICUs, vaccinations etc is the HSE.

Either way, if they stopped releasing numbers daily then, as highlighted, people would be giving out yards about hiding the figures, especially if they’re low.

I’ve seen people say the briefings need to be stopped altogether, but then there’s no way for questions to be asked of NPHET’s recommendations.

Also a lot of people (who clearly don’t watch the briefings) seem to think they’re still on everyday when that hasn’t been the case since last June.
    No, it's actually the HSPC with the numbers and always has been. NPHET just do all the fancy data stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 716 ✭✭✭cheezums

Jim_Hodge wrote: »

Which is it?

so older people aren't obsessing over them every day and driving them crazy. my elderly mother's mood is tied in to the daily case numbers for the last year. she's obsessed by them.

i'm not saying hide them. keep them on the website somewhere, they are there if someone cares enough to look for them. just don't tweet them out every day/announce in press conferences and if RTE didn't have them as their headline every single day at 6pm that would be great also.

it's been over a year now. enough.

• Site Banned Posts: 12,341 ✭✭✭✭Faugheen

so older people aren't obsessing over them every day and driving them crazy. my elderly mother's mood is tied in to the daily case numbers for the last year. she's obsessed by them.

i'm not saying hide them. keep them on the website somewhere, they are there if someone cares enough to look for them. just don't tweet them out every day/announce in press conferences and if RTE didn't have them as their headline every single day at 6pm that would be great also.

it's been over a year now. enough.

If they’re kept on the website then the likes of RTE will still be able to get them so I don’t see what difference it will make.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 299 ✭✭purplefields

Faugheen wrote: »

I've never watched a briefing as I don't have RTE.