Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Reeling In The Years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,596 ✭✭✭Declan A Walsh

jos28 wrote: »
    Excellent programme, brilliantly edited. Although I really don't like being reminded of 2010 and the following years. Not exactly our finest hours. I watched last night with the OH and thought I'd have to double his blood pressure meds. He was fuming at the sight of Cowan and Co. His blood was boiling by the time they showed Dempsey and Cullen facing the cameras and denying that the Troika were coming to town. They all ran to hills with their pensions before the sh1t really hit the fan :mad::mad::mad:

It was Noel Dempsey and Dermot Ahern. I have no idea who Cullen is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,798 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

I'd say it was Martin Cullen.

I forgot about him! But I thought it was Dempsey and D Ahern that were in that footage. I just had a look at youtube. The one I've just seen is Dermot Ahern - not Martin Cullen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,184 ✭✭✭riclad

Every year has certain things that happen that are special,
    since 2010 tech has advanced, a smartphone is as powerful as an windows 7 laptop.
    i like the episodes from the 80,s ,90s.
    the clothes are different, low res film, there was no hd in the 80s.
    adverts are so retro and sexist.
    games are now hd 4k.
    i think young people are better behaved now, in that they are obsessed with social media,instagram,tik tok.fashion has not changed alot since 2010.
    i think with streaming ,100,s of tv channels,you have more choice,
    theres not many programs left that everyone watchs live apart from sport.
    when you watch clips from the 70s,80s, you may never have seen that clip before .
    ireland was a poorer country in the 80s,
    now anyone can afford laptops,tablets large screen tvs.
    i think teens now are alot worse off than the 90s.
    they pay high rent, they will struggle to buy a house anywhere .In all western countrys the birth rate is falling.
    i agree with everything redoctober says.
    yes we had a boom, it mostly means you can afford to buy the latest
    phone,games console,gadget.
    increases in wages have not kept up the price of houses .
    the standard of living has not increased much since 2000.
    every new phone seems the same,.maybe the camera is slightly better.
    i agree music seems more bland since its mostly produced on
    laptops using samples ,
    no need to bother spending years learning to play a guitar or touring.

rte have a limited budget i have no problem if they wish to repeat
    programs every month .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,249 ✭✭✭jos28

Sorry, I meant Ahern - my mistake

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 718 ✭✭✭Kunta Kinte

jos28 wrote: »
    Excellent programme, brilliantly edited. Although I really don't like being reminded of 2010 and the following years. Not exactly our finest hours. I watched last night with the OH and thought I'd have to double his blood pressure meds. He was fuming at the sight of Cowan and Co. His blood was boiling by the time they showed Dempsey and Cullen facing the cameras and denying that the Troika were coming to town. They all ran to hills with their pensions before the sh1t really hit the fan :mad::mad::mad:

As others have stated it was Noel Dempsey and Dermot Ahern not Martin Cullen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6 mc.celb

The man who slipped on ice in 2010, was the first show on the 2010 one last night

mc.celb wrote: »
    The man who slipped on ice in 2010, was the first show on the 2010 one last night

It was the first clip in the episode last night, which was covering the year 2010. Next week it will be 2011.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,623 ✭✭✭Padre_Pio

redoctober wrote: »
    Good post. I agree with a lot in your last paragraph. I wonder if it's age-related as I was a young adult in the 2000s so I suppose my golden age would be the 90s maybe. I do feel like we're over-saturated with entertainment these days and we've lost a lot of the soul that previous generations had. It's a shame because we've finally got technology that other generations dreamed of. Having said all that many generations have the tendency to feel like the world has gone to pot as they reach middle age. Maybe that's it.

The first aspect is that anyone over the age of 25 remembers the 2010s and all the recession elements. It's too recent for it to be "history". We're not reeling in anything from 2010, still dealing with a lot of it TBH.

There's no "Ah, I forgot about that!" moment. No nostalgia, no rose-tinted memories. It's like looking in the mirror, not looking through time.

Second aspect is that IMO 2010-2019 is a watered-down 2000-2009. Now, plenty of interesting things are still happening worldwide and Ireland had a good decade, just not a particularly noteworthy decade.
    Entered in a recession, recovered, had a bit of craziness, leaving in a recession.
    Donald Trump and Brexit dominated politics for half a decade, neither good for Ireland.
    Housing, homelessness, and health are the same as they've always been. Same politicians in power.
    Not too many sporting highlights. Soccer was poor, rugby was so-so (Grand Slam in 2018 aside). Dublin won the Sam seven times, Kilkenny and Tipp shared the Liam McCarthy.
    Decent decade for music, but I think Hozier is the only newish artist that's known beyond Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,019 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

Padre_Pio wrote: »
    The first aspect is that anyone over the age of 25 remembers the 2010s and all the recession elements. It's too recent for it to be "history". We're not reeling in anything from 2010, still dealing with a lot of it TBH.

There's no "Ah, I forgot about that!" moment. No nostalgia, no rose-tinted memories. It's like looking in the mirror, not looking through time.

Second aspect is that IMO 2010-2019 is a watered-down 2000-2009. Now, plenty of interesting things are still happening worldwide and Ireland had a good decade, just not a particularly noteworthy decade.
    Entered in a recession, recovered, had a bit of craziness, leaving in a recession.
    Donald Trump and Brexit dominated politics for half a decade, neither good for Ireland.
    Housing, homelessness, and health are the same as they've always been. Same politicians in power.
    Not too many sporting highlights. Soccer was poor, rugby was so-so (Grand Slam in 2018 aside). Dublin won the Sam seven times, Kilkenny and Tipp shared the Liam McCarthy.
    Decent decade for music, but I think Hozier is the only newish artist that's known beyond Ireland.

You are seriously underplaying the recession, brexit and Trump all are huge noteworthy events as you put it. Also the gay marriage and abortion referendum

We went to 2 Euros won a grandslam and beat the All Blacks for the first time ever. Katie Taylor helps drag womens boxing into the Olympics then wins a rare gold for Ireland and the rowing lads add some medals. It wont get a mention but Dan Martin wins Irelands first cycling monument in 20 years then another to boot

Limerick won an All Ireland for the first time since 1973 and Rovers become Irelands first ever group stage Europa cup team

I know nothing about music these days but every second actor seems to be Irish now especially in the "male heartthrob" category

2011 will have the best Presidential election we have had.

Norris running away with it till he gets caught defending a nonse.
    Miriam ambushing McGuiness
    Dana self imploding

breezy1985 wrote: »
    2011 will have the best Presidential election we have had.

Norris running away with it till he gets caught defending a nonse.
    Miriam ambushing McGuiness
    Dana self imploding

and yet forgetting "tweetgate"?

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/rte-pays-sean-gallagher-substantial-damages-as-tweetgate-case-is-settled-36421036.html
    This related to a tweet read out by presenter Pat Kenny during the final televised debate of the campaign, prior to which Mr Gallagher was regarded as the frontrunner.

A Twitter account with a user name similar to that of the official Martin McGuinness campaign, but not linked to Mr McGuinness, said a man who claimed he had given a €5,000 cheque to Mr Gallagher would appear at a press conference the next day.

Mr Gallagher lost the subsequent election, finishing behind Michael D Higgins.

The former Dragons Den investor successfully complained to the Broadcasting Authority of Ireland about the reading out of the tweet, with the BAI finding it was “unfair” to him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 858 ✭✭✭Plasandrunt

They were wrong on the England v Germany score. It was 4-1 Germany. RITY said 5-1. Christ that's a quick google search and yet they managed to release the program without rectifying :rolleyes:

I've just watched it on the player and it said 4-1, unless they've changed it?

Must have. Definitely said 5-1 last night.

Can confirm it did. I remember that match too and thought at the time "I'm sure it was 4-1".

glasso wrote: »

Maybe that's what I was thinking of. I thought McGuiness was ambushed with a tweet but it was the other way round

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6 mc.celb

They also have the All Ireland Football Final wrong. It said 0-17 0-16. It was actually 0-16 0-15

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 213 ✭✭AJB39

It’s kind of inexcusable to get those scores wrong. That aside it’s a brilliant programme. It did very well in the ratings as well. An average of 515,000 viewers watched it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,568 ✭✭✭Pauliedragon

sugarman wrote: »
    It will certainly be a challenge to fill a 30 minute highlights reel of 2020 when the time comes.
    It can be summed up very easily. World was warned that a highly infectious virus was on the loose and spreading. Most governments were too slow in putting proper procedures in place to contain it therefore the majority of the worlds health systems/economies went to ****.

And Limerick win another All Ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,069 ✭✭✭Dickie10

Pretty sloppy that all right

that game was the same day as Meath beat Dublin in Leinster championship , Dubs last defeat, Meath scored 5 goals that day maybe they got mixed up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,910 ✭✭✭begbysback

2010 was absolute boredom, except for the guy slipping on the ice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 718 ✭✭✭Kunta Kinte

begbysback wrote: »
    2010 was absolute boredom, except for the guy slipping on the ice

Boredom? In 2010? You have to be taking the piss right?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,910 ✭✭✭begbysback

Boredom? In 2010? You have to be taking the piss right?

I just watched it there, an absolute borefest of a year, other than owing money out it was completely uneventful, would actually give 2020 a run for its money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,040 ✭✭✭crushproof

Just caught up with it there, the England score was wrong and the All Ireland final as well. While the England goal was controversial I'm annoyed they focused on that rather than the pride of South Africa hosting the WC or De Jong smashing into Alonso in the final.

The Trioka/recession was well presented and did show the anger and sheer depression that set in across the spectrum. I'd forgotten the blatant lies days before the trioka marched in. This was the year I emigrated so it did trigger a hell of a lot of resentment for FF and the bureaucrats.

I think one key thing is the reason it doesn't feel long ago is any of the music, news and sport can be looked up on Youtube in an instant whereas previously it would have been solely within the archives. Heck I even had a memory pop up on Facebook with a status update about the Icelandic ash cloud! And it's quite scary remembering boards.ie threads on subjects featured.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 200 ✭✭Connacht15

I had actually forgotten that the Bailout for the wealthy started in 2011, I thought it was a few years earlier!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 8,191 Mod ✭✭✭✭HildaOgdenx

Enjoyed it.

I love the old ones and never get tired of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 602 ✭✭✭iffandonlyif

Like others, I was surprised they've produced this decade so soon. By the end of the run, we'll be reeling in the year before last.

I imagine RTE might be disappointed that the first episode only managed to match the viewership of the news. They could well have expected Twitter hype to boost the audience to well over 600k. This is, after all, the programme that many will tell you earnestly is the best thing RTE has ever produced.

A few things caught my eye. Chronology seemed to be all over the place. Surprised they showed the disallowed England goal at the world cup, which didn't leave much of an impression on me. Likewise, the Gordon Brown gaffe didn't seem of much significance to an Irish audience. Of the domestic events, the Brian O'Driscoll royal wedding, complete with fawning commoner, and the inaugural Web Summit could easily have been cut. Most striking to me was that the episode did a poor job of conveying the anger and uncertainty of the time. Only a few seconds of footage of protests and scuffles. In retrospect, Miriam O'Callaghan saying on Bailout night that it was 'one of Ireland's blackest days' seems ridiculous in retrospect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,623 ✭✭✭Padre_Pio

Like others, I was surprised they've produced this decade so soon. By the end of the run, we'll be reeling in the year before last.

This is the end of it.

The 1960's season omits 60 and 61.
    Teilifis Eireann didn't exist before this, I suppose there's not enough archival footage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,184 ✭✭✭riclad

I have no interest in watching 1 minute of a sports event from 2010,
    i found the whole program boring or depressing.
    oh the gardai investigated the head of anglo bank,
    but he was not found guilty.whats the point of this clip ?
    i fast forward thru most of it on iplayer.
    i think you,d learn more by typing ireland news into youtube search.
    i think rte has produced drama,s better than this.
    old episodes are more entertaining , you can laugh at the awful clothes
    people used to wear.
    rte is now competing with 100s of channels and netflix.
    high quality drama still gets good ratings, eg normal people