Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Reeling In The Years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,794 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Like others, I was surprised they've produced this decade so soon. By the end of the run, we'll be reeling in the year before last.

Hold out on watching the rest of the episodes.
    Reeling in the 1990's aired in about 2000.
    So, it's not like it's a new thing.

riclad wrote: »
    I have no interest in watching 1 minute of a sports event from 2010,
    i found the whole program boring or depressing.
    oh the gardai investigated the head of anglo bank,
    but he was not found guilty.whats the point of this clip ?
    i fast forward thru most of it on iplayer.
    i think you,d learn more by typing ireland news into youtube search.
    i think rte has produced drama,s better than this.
    old episodes are more entertaining , you can laugh at the awful clothes
    people used to wear.
    rte is now competing with 100s of channels and netflix.
    high quality drama still gets good ratings, eg normal people

OJ was acquitted of murder and it was still featured on RITY 1994. Might as well exclude The Beast from the East from the 2018 episode cause ah sure the snow melted in the end, what's the point in that clip?
    If it was big news at the time, it goes in the episode.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,069 ✭✭✭Dickie10

i show reeling in the years to TY students if I have to sub and they have no work given. 1990s are great ones. I always find the 2000s particularly 2003-2007 extremely naff to the point of vulgar, we were such an arsehole population those years, the country seemed awash with lads and ladettes, full on Binge Britain Booze Nation stuff

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,807 Mod ✭✭✭✭yerwanthere123

Like others, I was surprised they've produced this decade so soon. By the end of the run, we'll be reeling in the year before last.

I imagine RTE might be disappointed that the first episode only managed to match the viewership of the news. They could well have expected Twitter hype to boost the audience to well over 600k. This is, after all, the programme that many will tell you earnestly is the best thing RTE has ever produced.

A few things caught my eye. Chronology seemed to be all over the place. Surprised they showed the disallowed England goal at the world cup, which didn't leave much of an impression on me. Likewise, the Gordon Brown gaffe didn't seem of much significance to an Irish audience. Of the domestic events, the Brian O'Driscoll royal wedding, complete with fawning commoner, and the inaugural Web Summit could easily have been cut. Most striking to me was that the episode did a poor job of conveying the anger and uncertainty of the time. Only a few seconds of footage of protests and scuffles. In retrospect, Miriam O'Callaghan saying on Bailout night that it was 'one of Ireland's blackest days' seems ridiculous in retrospect.

The Web Summit thing really jumped out at me as being a strange feature. Firstly I didn't remember it, and secondly I'm not sure why it's in any way significant? Open to being enlightened obviously, but I don't know why it was there.

Another thing I didn't actually remember is just how bleak 2010 was economically. If you asked me beforehand I'd have said 2008/09 was the worst of our economic woes. Although 2010 was also my first year in college, so I was probably less concerned about the IMF than I was getting sh*tfaced.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,623 ✭✭✭Padre_Pio

The Web Summit thing really jumped out at me as being a strange feature. Firstly I didn't remember it, and secondly I'm not sure why it's in any way significant? Open to being enlightened obviously, but I don't know why it was there.

The Web Summit is one of the largest tech events in the world, founded by a few Irish lads who are the most influential (and controversial) people in tech.
    Elon Musk was present one year.
    Great way for the country to show off its best and brightest and attract those juicy MNCs.

There was big controversy when they moved to Lisbon in the mid 2000s. Basically, they outgrew Dublin, there wasn't the infrastructure, hotel rooms, or a venue that could accommodate them. Sore spot for a government promoting Dublin as a tech hub.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,805 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

I think it was included as nod to how ireland was becoming/had become one of the most biggest tech hubs in the world

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,379 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

I think it was included as nod to how ireland was becoming/had become one of the most biggest tech hubs in the world

I often wonder how this happened, we had some of the poorest ever investments in IT in primary and secondary schools in any EU country yet became leaders in it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 614 ✭✭✭notsoyoungwan

I was surprised (and annoyed) to see the Brian O Driscoll/Amy Huberman wedding included. Hardly an event worth reminiscing on for the general population. But then, RTE seem enamoured with her and give her relentless promotion so I shouldn’t be too surprised.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,985 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

breezy1985 wrote: »
    2011 will have the best Presidential election we have had.

Norris running away with it till he gets caught defending a nonse.

It was getting caught taking a disability payment from Trinity for decades while working as a Senator that really screwed him up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,018 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

It was getting caught taking a disability payment from Trinity for decades while working as a Senator that really screwed him up.

I have never heard of that. What I remember is his ratings tanking after stuff emerged about a character reference or something similar and some interviews surfacing about "Greek practices" between older men and kids

I was surprised (and annoyed) to see the Brian O Driscoll/Amy Huberman wedding included. Hardly an event worth reminiscing on for the general population. But then, RTE seem enamoured with her and give her relentless promotion so I shouldn’t be too surprised.

Ya they do this quite often but it was a but less annoying in the older seasons because I didnt know the celebrities so wasnt sick to death of them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,794 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

I was expecting it to be in it.
    It was massive at the time it was out version of the royal wedding.

I have never heard of that. What I remember is his ratings tanking after stuff emerged about a character reference or something similar and some interviews surfacing about "Greek practices" between older men and kids

It was well covered at the time

https://www.thejournal.ie/norris-received-disability-allowance-because-of-hepatitis-diagnosis-245877-Oct2011/

I dont ever remember seeing it or it being discussed among friends before the election

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,239 ✭✭✭Pussyhands

Was only getting started in college in 2010...never really felt like things were that bad for me back then. My family weren't affected by the recession as we had nothing anyways so maybe that's why. Even when starting working in 2013/14 I don't think things seemed that bad...I remember thinking getting a job would be tough but I think this was general graduate worry.

What are you trying to prove.

I never heard of it that is my experience. Put up all the articles you like and it still won't change the fact I never heard of it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 285 ✭✭boardlady

I think everyone will relate to each decade shown relative to their own age. It is unfair to suggest that certain years/decades were less interesting - or that music ceased to be iconic after a certain era. That, i'm afraid, is simply called ageing! We all find it easier to relate to events from certain times in our lives and those times depend on what age you were during them. The problem with the decade currently showing, is that we are still relatively familiar with it. Watch it again in another 10 years and you may be fascinated by it. Music is very evocative and reminds us of times and people. Most people find the music of their teens and early twenties the most evocative as it coincides with a time in our lives where we are meeting lots of other people, romance and heartache are on the agenda and life changing events are happening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 718 ✭✭✭Kunta Kinte

Plenty of celebrity weddings were featured in previous editions of RITY too in particular the 2000s series so it`s not a new thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,472 ✭✭✭Mimon

Jaysus, you are easily annoyed. Our best ever rugby player marrying an actress is definitely noteworthy. If it doesn't interest you fair enough but annoyed, really??

What are you trying to prove.

I never heard of it that is my experience. Put up all the articles you like and it still won't change the fact I never heard of it

I'm not trying to prove anything. I completely accept that you didn't hear about this widely publicised issue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,623 ✭✭✭Padre_Pio

Mimon wrote: »
    Jaysus, you are easily annoyed. Our best ever rugby player marrying an actress is definitely noteworthy. If it doesn't interest you fair enough but annoyed, really??
    Yep, I'd be surprised if it didn't feature.

O'Driscoll is one of Ireland's main celebrities, especially in the late 2000's. Ireland won the Grand Slam in 09, his biography was published in 08 and he was rarely out of the papers in the decade previous.

Huberman was an actress in RTEs most popular dramas and an author.

From an RTE perspective, they're royalty. Probably on the cover of dozens of RTE Guides over the years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,695 ✭✭✭December2012

So a lot of the comments here are

a) Sure I already knew about that! What was the point in them bringing that back up?

or

b) I didn't even know about that - sure that's not even worth knowing. What was the point in them bringing that up?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,561 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

I was going to say I found it shocking that the previous seasons aren't on the RTE Player but let's face it, nothing RTE foul up on that awful platform could ever shock you...

Sleepy wrote: »
    I was going to say I found it shocking that the previous seasons aren't on the RTE Player but let's face it, nothing RTE foul up on that awful platform could ever shock you...

They usually go up for a certain number of days after the repeat airing on TV then come down again. Most stuff is that way but it would have been nice to promote the new season

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,704 ✭✭✭Cheensbo

Sleepy wrote: »

I dont think they can leave them up for too due to music copyrights but don't quote me on that...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76,746 ✭✭✭✭Welsh Megaman

2011 was the year that Welsh Megaman joined boards.

I assume this momentous occasion was in the programme :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,596 ✭✭✭Declan A Walsh

You will have to wait for the next episode - 2010 was covered so far!

Did you sign a disclosure with RTE and Boards making your full posting history and PMs available to them for the episode?

Better be something juicy on there!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,561 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Cheensbo wrote: »
    I dont think they can leave them up for too due to music copyrights but don't quote me on that...
    I noticed when watching the latest episode that they're using a sound-a-like version of Reeling in the Years rather than the Steely Dan version used on older episodes. Presumed it was a cost-saving measure...

Like anything rights based, it'd just come down to money to pay for the licensing. A simple problem to overcome if RTE management could be convinced to run the company as a commercial operation rather than for the benefit of the vested interests in Montrose.

Reeling in the Years is one of the jewels in the crown of RTE's archives and I'm convinced that were they to fix the RTE Player, negotiate licensing for music rights where necessary (or task a team with re-mixing not only RITY but the cream of the vast RTE archive with new soundtracks they already own the rights for when that's prohibitively expensive) there's no reason that the player couldn't be run profitably.

According to the Channel Four annual report for last year All4 has revenues of £163m. As the platform is free to access in Ireland, you can be sure some of that advertising revenue came from here and it opens up the question of whether revenue could be generated by targeting the Irish diaspora with a revamped (i.e. stable and working) RTE Player.

There's decades of content that would have been produced by RTE themselves which they'd own the rights to and the more recent successes like Love/Hate, Room to Improve which were produced externally are just a matter of negotiation for rights.

The technical issues with the site itself couldn't be simpler to resolve imho: poach a couple of staff from Pornhub and give them a year.