Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part X *Read OP For Mod Warnings*

Just watching CB Live now and that Glynn fella wouldn’t inspire any confidence in anyone. He hasn’t an ounce of charisma about him at all. And then he says that vaccines aren’t the way out, sure whats the bloody point of it all then so!
    Today was supposed to be a great day, relax the 5k and now I’m too fecked off to leave the god damned house. Watching the UK moving so fast back to life is really starting to get to me.
    I’m really honestly hoping with all the talk of June that the bill will come due and Pascal will be knocking on MM’s door to say enough is enough. Just another 8 weeks but my Christ it’s getting awful hard to keep this charade going.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 17,643 Mod ✭✭✭✭Graham

ypres5 wrote: »
    Not to mention the walloping being given to the AZ vaccine because 4 people out of a million might get a clot. Ridiculous

Agreed.

The public should at least be given the option of taking the AZ vaccine assuming higher priority recipients have been given first refusal and the (tiny) risks have been fully explained.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,500 ✭✭✭showpony1

I have totally lost sight of what the plan is exactly - we cannot do anything until we are all vaccinated from a disease that if young and healthy people catch nothing will happen to them, and the vaccine itself might give you a blood clot.

Meanwhile we have 300 "cases" countrywide and there's worry being put out there again by NPHET to ensure nothing will be opening.

Michael Martin is going to come out in May and tell us nothing else will be opening but X number of people have got the vaccine which is great going etc. and on we go sitting in our houses with nothing wrong with us standing 2m apart outdoors and talking over zoom only to other healthy people.

showpony1 wrote: »
    I have totally lost sight of what the plan is exactly - we cannot do anything until we are all vaccinated

That doesn't appear to be the plan.

Graham wrote: »
    Not the case on this thread.
    So you haven't read the thread. Good to know that in advance.
    We've been locked down with a couple of weeks break for over 5 months.
    Looking at the list there:
    Next week I can train with the rest of my elite GAA friends. Don't see any other changes.
    Following week some outdoor stuff opens.
    After that there's nothing. They're under consideration. They won't tell us what the consideration is. And it'll be staggered. Probably. But they're not saying how. Or why. Or if any metric will be used. They'll consider it.

They UK have played a blinder. I don't see the point in even pretending we could have taken the same approach to acquiring vaccines. No doubt some will disagree and convince themselves we could have won a bidding war against the likes of France, Germany et al.

The reality is by International comparisons we're not doing too badly so far.
    The EU ****ed the vaccine procurement. The government spent the last 3 months making busywork for themselves.
    The hospitals are quieter than most years. But rather than some kind of positivity or roadmap we still hear talk of social distancing for years to come.
    Oh and in 2 months they'll look at reopening hotels.

Even the woolly level of details they have doesn't make any sense.
    3 million vaccine by the end of May
    5 million by early July
    6 million by the end of July.
    So June looks like the biggest month. Except then:
    July and August will see "more intensive vaccination and the vast majority of the population will have significant protection against the virus allowing for significant opportunities to re-open even further".
    Nonsense. By the time we hit 6 million doses we'll be trying to find people to vaccinate. Though at the same time I wouldn't be surprised if August does end up being a big month of vaccination but only because of missed targets before that.

So you haven't read the thread. Good to know that in advance.

Oh dear, opening sentence and you're already wrong. Anyway....
    We've been locked down with a couple of weeks break for over 5 months.
    Looking at the list there:
    Next week I can train with the rest of my elite GAA friends. Don't see any other changes.
    Following week some outdoor stuff opens.
    After that there's nothing. They're under consideration. They won't tell us what the consideration is. And it'll be staggered. Probably. But they're not saying how. Or why. Or if any metric will be used. They'll consider it.

So you don't like the plan because the dates aren't set in stone but they are broken down week by week, month by month.

Understood.
    The EU ****ed the vaccine procurement. The government spent the last 3 months making busywork for themselves.

No idea what your point is there. Did you intend to make one?
    The hospitals are quieter than most years. But rather than some kind of positivity or roadmap we still hear talk of social distancing for years to come.

Hospitals aren't overrun, gosh that's terrible

I don't believe the social distancing for years cobblers either. You can if you like to upset yourself.

Even the woolly level of details they have doesn't make any sense.
    3 million vaccine by the end of May
    5 million by early July
    6 million by the end of July.
    So June looks like the biggest month.

Yes, June is intended to be the busiest month. Deliveries are backloaded towards the end of the quarter.
    By the time we hit 6 million doses we'll be trying to find people to vaccinate. Though at the same time I wouldn't be surprised if August does end up being a big month of vaccination but only because of missed targets before that.

Hopefully August will be a big month too, that would be a good thing don't you think?

Either way a very large proportion of the population will be vaccinated. Happy days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,176 ✭✭✭User1998

How can you justify the current level of restrictions when you know the hospitals aren’t over run?

User1998 wrote: »
    How can you justify the current level of restrictions when you know the hospitals aren’t over run?

The restrictions that started to be eased today you mean?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,176 ✭✭✭User1998

The restrictions that started to be eased today you mean?

I’l ask again since you didn’t answer my question.

Oh dear, opening sentence and you're already wrong. Anyway....
    Oh dear. So you're just making stuff up. Great, good to know what I'm dealing with.
    So you don't like the plan because the dates aren't set in stone but they are broken down week by week, month by month.

Understood.
    It's broken down for 2 weeks with incredibly little change (unless you're an elite athlete) then it's nothing except "We'll see".
    No idea what your point is there. Did you intend to make one?
    So is English not your first language or are you just flat out trolling for the laugh?
    Well wasn't that the whole point? So how about we loosen restrictions now that we've "saved" the health service.
    I don't believe the social distancing for years cobblers either. You can if you like to upset yourself.
    It's weird, it's almost like you haven't read the thread.
    Yes, June is intended to be the busiest month. Deliveries are backloaded towards the end of the quarter.
    Yet they're saying that July and August will be the "more intensive vaccination"? Like can you accept any criticism of the woolly and contradictory plan?
    Hopefully August will be a big month too, that would be a good thing don't you think?
    It would be good if it didn't need to be. According to everything in the "plan" it doesn't be sense that it would be but then they just state that it will.
    Either way a very large proportion of the population will be vaccinated. Happy days.
    Yeah, I look forward to it. Whenever it finally ****in happens.

User1998 wrote: »
    I’l ask again since you didn’t answer my question.

Restrictions are eased as cases/hospitalisations decrease and vaccinations increase.

Sounds reasonable to me and a rather sensible way of hopefully avoiding another wave before the vaccination program has sufficiently progressed.

Well wasn't that the whole point? So how about we loosen restrictions now that we've "saved" the health service.

You'll be pleased to hear that we are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

bluelamp wrote: »
    And cowardly people. How people are putting up with this, and actively seeking more restrictions in a lot of cases is beyond me. Guards and the army in our airports like we are at war, passports not being issued, fines for travelling too far, can't buy clothes, can't sit outdoors at a cafe or pub, can't meet a friend in a garden. People need to wake up to this b0llox.

"b0llox" is apt

Those with a bit of cop on are "cowards"? Well I reckon that must make all those who think everything is "boll0xs"- unlikely heros then?

You do know there's a pandemic going on atm? And Ireland is not the only country affected?

As for restrictions - just be happy you're not in Germany for example atm where the rate of infection is rising and they are looking at increasing their already fairly strict restrictions.

https://www.npr.org/2021/04/12/986408031/germany-is-expected-to-centralize-its-covid-19-response-some-fear-it-may-be-too

Here our rate of infection is falling and we're looking at removing restrictions whilst continuing to keep the rate of infection down ...

Let's keep it that way until we can get everyone fully vaccinated and not engage in "boll0xology" or similar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,570 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

11521323 wrote: »
    They're going to be warning us about a fifth and sixth wave soon enough based on their "modelling".

You'd wonder how long until the Government actually govern and start zooming back out to analyze the country from an economic perspective in addition to the health perspective which they've been laser-focused on.

Bunch of short-sighted morons.

The short sighted morons bit, is nothing new in this banana republic!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,401 ✭✭✭rob808

We never be out of this lockdown,the EU and the Government handle this crisis so badly.This level 5 lockdown will last into December and probably longer .while UK and northern Ireland are laughing at us with there freedom.

• Site Banned Posts: 12,341 ✭✭✭✭Faugheen

Funny that the same people who were calling for the country to be open for Christmas were nowhere to be seen in January when it went tits up.

Now they’re back in droves doing the same thing, making up random fantasy conspiracies about banana republics and cherry picking statements from the media to suit their agenda instead of actually listening to what NPHET has to say.

And those some people are first to call others fearmongers when in reality that’s all they are doing. Whipping people up into a frenzy by taking one statement such as ‘fourth wave’ in isolation with zero context as to why that statement is being made.

Meanwhile, the government who continue to hide behind this are nowhere to be seen so they can let NPHET take all the flak and all of the abuse. Making sh*t up that ‘it doesn’t impact them in any way’ when they and their families (Glynn for example has two very young children) have to abide by the same restrictions as the rest of us. But no, nope, the jobs are the only thing that matters here.

Anyone who continues to believe in those narratives are being taken for fools by the government, yet some of them have enough cheek for a second arse to tell everyone else to ‘wake up’.

If we were gradually easing restrictions without adding any, I'd personally be pretty content. Unfortunately we're increasing restrictions on international travel while loosening those on national travel. It's as if we're balancing out the easing of restrictions by imposing more elsewhere.

I'm not against the international travel restrictions in principle - they should have been imposed a year ago. Instead, we impose them when we're on the way out of this mess. It makes it feel like we're no closer to normal despite the good news on the vaccination, case number, and hospitalisation fronts.

When the disease is rampant here, international travel bans are like someone bailing out a sinking ship with a tea-spoon. With cases lower its more effective

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,761 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

Just watching CB Live now and that Glynn fella wouldn’t inspire any confidence in anyone. He hasn’t an ounce of charisma about him at all. And then he says that vaccines aren’t the way out, sure whats the bloody point of it all then so!
    Today was supposed to be a great day, relax the 5k and now I’m too fecked off to leave the god damned house. Watching the UK moving so fast back to life is really starting to get to me.
    I’m really honestly hoping with all the talk of June that the bill will come due and Pascal will be knocking on MM’s door to say enough is enough. Just another 8 weeks but my Christ it’s getting awful hard to keep this charade going.

Claire Covid Byrne lapping it up of course.

What I don't understand is how someone in his position can say that "vaccines aren't the way out" without being immediately stopped in his tracks and asked to clarify what the f**k he means by that!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,422 ✭✭✭Snooker Loopy

Faugheen wrote: »
    Funny that the same people who were calling for the country to be open for Christmas were nowhere to be seen in January when it went tits up.

Now they’re back in droves doing the same thing, making up random fantasy conspiracies about banana republics and cherry picking statements from the media to suit their agenda instead of actually listening to what NPHET has to say.

And those some people are first to call others fearmongers when in reality that’s all they are doing. Whipping people up into a frenzy by taking one statement such as ‘fourth wave’ in isolation with zero context as to why that statement is being made.

Meanwhile, the government who continue to hide behind this are nowhere to be seen so they can let NPHET take all the flak and all of the abuse. Making sh*t up that ‘it doesn’t impact them in any way’ when they and their families (Glynn for example has two very young children) have to abide by the same restrictions as the rest of us. But no, nope, the jobs are the only thing that matters here.

Anyone who continues to believe in those narratives are being taken for fools by the government, yet some of them have enough cheek for a second arse to tell everyone else to ‘wake up’.

There's a cohort of people who are extremely active on social media whose ideology amounts to no more than "we can wish this pandemic away".

Thankfully, given the number of cases continues to come down, it would appear those people are much rarer in real life than one would think from social media, where their views are heavily amplified.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,691 ✭✭✭Penfailed

Friends of mine celebrating life's simple pleasures with a few jars in London this evening, meanwhile Ireland is months behind due to a cowardly government delegating all responsibility to NPHET. Claire Byrne show tonight regaling horror stories of what could happen if people have a few tins outdoors, they should be summarily executed if they don't mutate into cannibalistic zombies first. And that "fourth wave" bolloxology is the latest finger wagging exercise to marshall sheep.

It's not due to a cowardly government delegating all responsibility to NPHET. It's down to a lack of vaccine. They've one million doses in arms in the north and a similar number in the south. Population of the north is almost 2 million. Population of the south is almost 5 million. You still can't get a haircut in the north...

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Queens of the Stone Age, Electric Picnic, Vantastival, Getdown Services, And So I Watch You From Afar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 272 ✭✭Accidentally

Penfailed wrote: »
    It's not due to a cowardly government delegating all responsibility to NPHET. It's down to a lack of vaccine. They've one million doses in arms in the north and a similar number in the south. Population of the north is almost 2 million. Population of the south is almost 5 million. You still can't get a haircut in the north...

So Ronan is worried about easing restrictions and a fourth wave, and on the same day we send 300k kids back to school. Is it any wonder people are confused.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,422 ✭✭✭Snooker Loopy

lawred2 wrote: »
    Claire Covid Byrne lapping it up of course.

What I don't understand is how someone in his position can say that "vaccines aren't the way out" without being immediately stopped in his tracks and asked to clarify what the f**k he means by that!?
    Vaccines are a large part of the way out, but they aren't the whole ball game. We don't yet know how many people will actually get vaccinated. It could well be we run into a wall at around 60-65% and that isn't enough - and in any event we're miles away from that right now. The US is doing very well with vaccines now yet Michigan is exploding with cases and cases means deaths.

If you've ever had rats get into your house, the first thing Rentokil will say is that their avenue/s of entry into the house need to be blocked up. If the avenue/s of entry are not blocked up, the rats will return. So it is with Covid.

Mandatory hotel quarantine is a litmus test of whether we're actually serious about getting rid of this scourge or not.

If we are serious about getting rid of Covid, we'll impose it for all foreign travel. If we're not, we won't.

We've made the same mistake three times now. Those who suggest making it for a fourth time have no credibility.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,271 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

So reading the papers here and it turns out that the "UK variant" is no more deadly than the others..
    THE main UK variant of Covid-19 which has now been dominant here for months is easier to catch but does not increase the severity of illness, a new study published today reveals,

The study looked at the B117 UK variant, which accounts for the majority of cases of the virus now diagnosed here.

It comes as the daily virus count fell to 394 yesterday with no new deaths.
    The study on the B117 variant in the journal Lancet Infectious Diseases found it led to a higher viral load in people who were infected, and a higher R or reproduction rate.

The study led by University College London found patients with B117 were not more likely to die than those with other strains.

(page 6 of the Indo but multiple online reports as well)

Of course, seeing as Covid in general is only deadly to a very very small number of people, and even then death is by no means a certainty, it makes the fear mongering from NPHET even more unjustified.

But, seeing as the talk from them is already about "fourth waves" and their usual hyper cautious approach, this news will likely be completely ignored.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,893 ✭✭✭the kelt

Vaccines are a large part of the way out, but they aren't the whole ball game. We don't yet know how many people will actually get vaccinated. It could well be we run into a wall at around 60-65% and that isn't enough - and in any event we're miles away from that right now. The US is doing very well with vaccines now yet Michigan is exploding with cases and cases means deaths.

If you've ever had rats get into your house, the first thing Rentokil will say is that their avenue/s of entry into the house need to be blocked up. If the avenue/s of entry are not blocked up, the rats will return. So it is with Covid.

Mandatory hotel quarantine is a litmus test of whether we're actually serious about getting rid of this scourge or not.

If we are serious about getting rid of Covid, we'll impose it for all foreign travel. If we're not, we won't.

We've made the same mistake three times now. Those who suggest making it for a fourth time have no credibility.

So how do you propose we get “rid of the scourge” or virus?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,096 ✭✭✭W123-80's

Beanybabog wrote: »
    I really hope things go well for the UK. Watching them opening up will give us hope. I’m not jealous because if it works for them it can work for us, we might be a bit slower but we’ll get there and can at least start to plan things and to look forward to things again. If opening up goes badly wrong and they end up going backwards in term of cases deaths and hospital numbers even with increased vaccinations that’ll be truly depressing for us all.

That's exactly it.
    If it works for the UK than we and the rest of the planet won't be far behind them.
    If it doesn't work for the UK than we are all in a bother.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,076 ✭✭✭JMNolan

W123-80's wrote: »
    That's exactly it.
    If it works for the UK than we and the rest of the planet won't be far behind them.
    If it doesn't work for the UK than we are all in a bother.

I hope you're right but NPHET by their own admittance are extremely conservative and our government have no backbone so even if things go extremely well for England I don't necessarily see Ireland following the same path.

If we were gradually easing restrictions without adding any, I'd personally be pretty content. Unfortunately we're increasing restrictions on international travel while loosening those on national travel. It's as if we're balancing out the easing of restrictions by imposing more elsewhere.

I'm not against the international travel restrictions in principle - they should have been imposed a year ago. Instead, we impose them when we're on the way out of this mess. It makes it feel like we're no closer to normal despite the good news on the vaccination, case number, and hospitalisation fronts.

If it means in country restrictions can be eased sooner for everyone else and it reduces the number of cases being imported, I would have thought that was a good thing.

Case numbers and hospitalisations are dropping and vaccinations are increasing. I can see why we wouldn't want to undo that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 857 ✭✭✭PintOfView

_Kaiser_ wrote: »
    So reading the papers here and it turns out that the "UK variant" is no more deadly than the others..

(page 6 of the Indo but multiple online reports as well)

Of course, seeing as Covid in general is only deadly to a very very small number of people, and even then death is by no means a certainty, it makes the fear mongering from NPHET even more unjustified.

But, seeing as the talk from them is already about "fourth waves" and their usual hyper cautious approach, this news will likely be completely ignored.

What's your assessment of the risk from the South African variant, or the Brazilian one?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,096 ✭✭✭W123-80's

JMNolan wrote: »
    I hope you're right but NPHET by their own admittance are extremely conservative and our government have no backbone so even if things go extremely well for England I don't necessarily see Ireland following the same path.

Unless the entire pandamic is fake I have to be right!
    I am not being smart when I say that.
    The UK are ahead of many countries, if it goes well for them than logically it bodes well for the rest of us and we will follow similar albeit slower journey's.
    The unknown timeline, unknown vaccine efficacy and unknown variants are the issues. Even the UK have conceded this. I would fully expect their opening up to hit some bumps along the way. But it's progress.

_Kaiser_ wrote: »

Obviously there's some detail missing in your post there but surely it doesn't need to be 'more deadly' for more people to die from it if it spreads easier so more people get it.