Are we there yet? Your second Travel Megathread (threadbans in OP}

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,645 ✭✭✭Micky 32

I see SD has removed Albania and ST Lucia from the list. Also anyone from those countries who were put in the hotel in recent days can leave and finish their quarantine at home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 cpw9802

Travelling to Uk this week from terminal 1. Early flight, Im going to visit my partner.

Any advice on what to expect?

<mod edit: nope>

Thanks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,078 ✭✭✭✭josip

Micky 32 wrote: »
    I see SD has removed Albania and ST Lucia from the list. Also anyone from those countries who were put in the hotel in recent days can leave and finish their quarantine at home.

Do they get a pro rata refund of their €1875 ?

josip wrote: »
    Do they get a pro rata refund of their €1875 ?

Couldn’t find any info on that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,325 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

Couldn’t find any info on that.

It would likely be the same as the case where you could leave after day 10 due to negative test results.

There was also a daily rate of 150 or something for people randomly coming in without acceptable tests

It would be fairly down my list of things to worry about, were I to have such a list.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166 ✭✭jellies

So you would have gone against your o superiors instructions? No, no you wouldn't and don't pretend you would. The law might be foolish but the civil servant didn't write the law.

OK. You are right. I think the law is foolish but I was exaggerating to make the point at the poor civil servants expense It's a bit like the guards that we out doing traffic checks the other day. They are just doing their job even though the traffic stop is pretty ineffective "Are you within your 5k? Yeah. Grand so".

jellies wrote: »
    OK. You are right. I think the law is foolish but I was exaggerating to make the point at the poor civil servants expense It's a bit like the guards that we out doing traffic checks the other day. They are just doing their job even though the traffic stop is pretty ineffective "Are you within your 5k? Yeah. Grand so".

Do you think that having a visible garda presence might deter some people from taking the piss?

That is why they are there. Not because they think they will catch loads of people with that checkpoint. It's a deterrent.

Donnelly said on morning ireland, that within the EU its about variants, outside the EU cases per 100K

The USA just dosent meet the criteria? this will be challenged int he courts,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 725 ✭✭✭M_Murphy57

Has that been officially announced? Because that's a uturn from Friday when SD tried to insist the Israeli travellers needed to remain in prison ?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,682 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

Donnelly said on morning ireland, that within the EU its about variants, outside the EU cases per 100K

So he’s changed their criteria again since last week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 725 ✭✭✭M_Murphy57

I'm going to stop now as I suspect I might be talking to someone with genuine learning difficulties of some kind.

Further proof its Donnelly himself

Everyone will be vaccinated soon in the US anyway, so will become an irrelevance (assuming MHQ will be changed such that vaccinated people are exempt)

faceman wrote: »
    So he’s the changed their criteria again since last week.

its absolute nuts having the USA on it, a lot of folks have to travel for work if they are employed by a US company.

Offally has a higher rate than most countried on the MHQ, just put all of offally in a hotel

Everyone will be vaccinated soon in the US anyway, so will become an irrelevance (assuming MHQ will be changed such that vaccinated people are exempt)

i dont believe they are going to relax for vaccines, most folks travelling back and forth are vaccinated in the Us,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 187 ✭✭Lmkrnr

cpw9802 wrote: »
    Travelling to Uk this week from terminal 1. Early flight, Im going to visit my partner.

Any advice on what to expect or should I have another excuse to fly?

Or how to avoid the checkpoints.

Thanks!

You'll need an excuse. Just walk in with a few lads from Rathkeale they will learn you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 119 ✭✭themacattack.

defintley...this is a shambles that will keep going unfortunatley...am i reading right that donnelly said they are increasing hotel capacity but once its full they might have to introduce a cap on travellers entering the country? madness its prob going to fill up very quickly with the likes of the usa on the list

M_Murphy57 wrote: »
    Has that been officially announced? Because that's a uturn from Friday when SD tried to insist the Israeli travellers needed to remain in prison ?

Rte reported it :

“” In a statement last night, Mr Donnelly said that because of the "substantially improved" epidemiological situation in these countries, arrangements had been made "on an exceptional basis" for the small number of people who had arrived from these states in recent days and had not been in any other designated state in the 14 days before they arrived, to leave mandatory hotel quarantine as soon as they wished.“”

“”Such travellers must quarantine at home for 14 days or until they get a negative PCR test five days or more after arriving in Ireland.””

M_Murphy57 wrote: »
    Further proof its Donnelly himself

The madness of crowds is fascinating.

There is the same little group that go around furiously thanking their buddies for their increasingly silly rants.

They appear to be inside their own little bubble of madness, refusing to let actual information in from the outside.

That poster doesn't believe that variants exists, or that other countries are taking them into account when making decisions. You point out that other countries maintain similar lists that entail additional restrictions and they refuse to process and accept it.

Other posters then appear to see the logic, but try to negate it. They realise that the variants, and other countries additional restrictions for them, do exist. But then try to say that they don't really exist because they allow exemptions for their own citizens to return. Because they want to remain fully on that "side" of whatever argument they perceive.

The US allows it's own citizens and permanent residents to return from anywhere. That doesn't mean that they don't believe in the existence of SARS-CoV-2 or have any restrictions for people coming from those areas.

There are restrictions on entering the US due to coming from areas with covid. Those restriction exist even though they let their own people return.

Likewise, there are restrictions on entering, say Germany, for those coming from areas with high VOCs. Those restriction exist even though they let their own people return.

The variants do exist and countries do have additional rules pertaining to them. It is not just Ireland imagining their existence.

I might get another inane response like macattacks quickly deleted delly belly response. It won't matter what the response says. It could be about Donnelly being one of the shape-shifting thousand year old lizard people, or Tony Hoolihan being sent to planet earth to pave the way for an alien invasion. The assertion would be made with belief and without a hint of irony. And you'd still get the same 5 or 6 people agreeing with it. :pac:

i dont believe they are going to relax for vaccines, most folks travelling back and forth are vaccinated in the Us,

They have to at some stage. It’s just a question of when.....will it be brought in this side of summer, later in the year, or 2022

You’d imagine so. Biden is planning opening borders to europe soon and you can bet he’ll be expecting europe and Ireland to reciprocate. Something will have to give there.

its absolute nuts having the USA on it, a lot of folks have to travel for work if they are employed by a US company.

Offally has a higher rate than most countried on the MHQ, just put all of offally in a hotel

US has the same infection rate per 100k over the past 7 days as Ireland has over the past 14

Offaly is a little bit of an outlier due to homogenised gene pool. Given that they rarely marry beyond their first cousins there, there is no genetic diversity, which means that if something gets in that affects one of them, it will likely affect a good chunk of them.

The US company workers won't be let into the US from Ireland by the US unless they are citizens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,889 ✭✭✭✭Red Silurian

US has the same infection rate per 100k over the past 7 days as Ireland has over the past 14

Offaly is a little bit of an outlier due to homogenised gene pool. Given that they rarely marry beyond their first cousins there, there is no genetic diversity, which means that if something gets in that affects one of them, it will likely affect a good chunk of them.

The US company workers won't be let into the US from Ireland by the US unless they are citizens.

Long term residents are also allowed into the USA, at least they were late last year, the regs may have changed since... America are doing very well on vaccination but still some individual states are taking the piss while others are being extremely cautious

Not true many are traveling as their work helps the pandemic, cleanroom expansions, engineering support etc. how how are these folks supposed tp do thos but be away from their families for 2 more weeks, even thou they are vaccinated.

Long term residents are also allowed into the USA, at least they were late last year, the regs may have changed since... America are doing very well on vaccination but still some individual states are taking the piss while others are being extremely cautious

Well yes, permanent residents are being letting back in. That was announced at the start. permanent residents effectively meaning GC holder. I don't know whether there were any issues with other categories getting back in or not.

Little Reuters dashboard here on the US that gives a visual overview https://graphics.reuters.com/world-coronavirus-tracker-and-maps/countries-and-territories/united-states/

Their cases are rising again. But they are motoring on vaccinations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 605 ✭✭✭a_squirrelman

I wish DT and saab would go back to the other thread. :(

Which one is the other thread?

Would I need MHQ to travel back over to it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 119 ✭✭themacattack.

The madness of crowds is fascinating.

There is the same little group that go around furiously thanking their buddies for their increasingly silly rants.

They appear to be inside their own little bubble of madness, refusing to let actual information in from the outside.

That poster doesn't believe that variants exists, or that other countries are taking them into account when making decisions. You point out that other countries maintain similar lists that entail additional restrictions and they refuse to process and accept it.

Other posters then appear to see the logic, but try to negate it. They realise that the variants, and other countries additional restrictions for them, do exist. But then try to say that they don't really exist because they allow exemptions for their own citizens to return. Because they want to remain fully on that "side" of whatever argument they perceive.

The US allows it's own citizens and permanent residents to return from anywhere. That doesn't mean that they don't believe in the existence of SARS-CoV-2 or have any restrictions for people coming from those areas.

There are restrictions on entering the US due to coming from areas with covid. Those restriction exist even though they let their own people return.

Likewise, there are restrictions on entering, say Germany, for those coming from areas with high VOCs. Those restriction exist even though they let their own people return.

The variants do exist and countries do have additional rules pertaining to them. It is not just Ireland imagining their existence.

I might get another inane response like macattacks quickly deleted delly belly response. It won't matter what the response says. It could be about Donnelly being one of the shape-shifting thousand year old lizard people, or Tony Hoolihan being sent to planet earth to pave the way for an alien invasion. The assertion would be made with belief and without a hint of irony. And you'd still get the same 5 or 6 people agreeing with it. :pac:

i deleted it because i think dellybelly is on a different tread(could be wrong)and people here might not get the point..funny enough you are right i deleted it within a minute or two i think which says more about you sitting and waiting all day and night on this thread to respond to all the so called rubbish everyone seems to be talking except for you of course..we are all intrested in whats going on but you should take a break sometime seriously dude...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,553 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

Posted a reply I got from a FF TD over the weekend.

A FG TD has also replied, now not in my constituency but I'm living close the border of a few electoral areas so emailed those in the locality.

Anyway his reply,

"I fully agree, I have consistently voiced my opposition to MHQ within the party and again last week on the Tonight Show with regard to the then possibility of adding EU Member States.

I struggle to see how the benefits outweigh the very clear costs but there has been a populist campaign to bring this in regardless of the medium term damage as well as the glaring holes when it comes to actual implementation; this is of course before coming to the obvious humanitarian issues that have already been thrown up and the inability to provide for those who have been fully vaccinated."

Posted a reply I got from a FF TD over the weekend.

A FG TD has also replied, now not in my constituency but I'm living close the border of a few electoral areas so emailed those in the locality.

Anyway his reply,

"I fully agree, I have consistently voiced my opposition to MHQ within the party and again last week on the Tonight Show with regard to the then possibility of adding EU Member States.

I struggle to see how the benefits outweigh the very clear costs but there has been a populist campaign to bring this in regardless of the medium term damage as well as the glaring holes when it comes to actual implementation; this is of course before coming to the obvious humanitarian issues that have already been thrown up and the inability to provide for those who have been fully vaccinated."

FG appear to have been outmanoeuvred here, but I am hoping that they are keeping their powder dry ready to intervene at the appropriate moment - maybe re vaccinations, or the exit strategy in June

Getting annoyed that other people are getting more attention on social media than you now.

The connections between yourself and Donnelly are really stacking up.

Yeah, you have me. I'm that fella alright. And "Kermit" and whoever else I was called on the thread. I am everyone and nobody at the same time - simply a manifestation of raw energy floating around the luminiferous ether of spacetime. I exist only in your consciousness. No MHQ can hold me. I worry about no travel restrictions.

Although, for yourself, I'm beginning to suspect that you may not be a real doctor