Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part X *Read OP For Mod Warnings*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,565 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

Unless I imagined the fact a few countries were added to the quarantine list last night. I did have a few cans to be fair, so it's possible.

Good, should have been done 12 months ago, it's about time they grew a pair a balls on that issue.

niallo27 wrote: »
    Well no

Well no. I don't actually think it's is up for debate, we are easing restrictions.

Again that's not my opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,114 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Boggles wrote: »
    Well no. I don't actually think it's is up for debate, we are easing restrictions.

Again that's not my opinion.

You are correct. But it would be more accurate to say we are barely easing restrictions and that open prison feeling people have in their lives continues.

I agree it should have been done 12 months ago.

That doesn't mean doing it now in the most idiotic way imaginable is a good move.

Because Israel is on the list?

Who gives a flying fúck? Or was our tourist industry largely dependent on the Israelis?

There was 33,000 "essential workers" piling through our ports not so long ago with a pinky promise to be good.

That was what was idiotic.
    I'm glad you now agree we're not opening up though.

Again it's not really my opinion.

We are, it's pretty simple.

Here it is again

https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=116845339&postcount=4388

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,139 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

Because Israel is on the list?

Who gives a flying fúck? Or was our tourist industry largely dependent on the Israelis?

There was 33,000 "essential workers" piling through our ports not so long ago with a pinky promise to be good.

That was what was idiotic.

Again it's not really my opinion.

We are, it's pretty simple.

Here it is again

https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=116845339&postcount=4388

Aboy the Boggles, hold tight, sure we will look at it. Are you honestly happy with the government saying we will look at it. Your own opinion please.

I'm happy our hospitals are emptying and we are opening up as large swathes of Europe are balls deep in a new wave because they ignored their scientists.

No cheat sheet Niallo.

Hold Firm we are nearly there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,404 ✭✭✭RebelButtMunch

Sorry if it's been asked umpteen times but what's the craic next week with full county travel AND 20k limit?

Im in dublin. Can I travel from Dublin to Bray? Its less than 20k but its wicklow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,678 ✭✭✭Multipass

Sorry if it's been asked umpteen times but what's the craic next week with full county travel AND 20k limit?

Im in dublin. Can I travel from Dublin to Bray? Its less than 20k but its wicklow.

Does anyone care anymore, just go where you want

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,114 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

If anyone stops you just say you're visiting a grave.

I'm happy our hospitals are emptying and we are opening up as large swathes of Europe are balls deep in a new wave because they ignored their scientists.

No cheat sheet Niallo.

Hold Firm we are nearly there.

Just answer the question though. It's a simple question. The whole of Europe is balls deep, let me guess, they are 2 weeks away. Answer the question though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,466 ✭✭✭VonLuck

Seeing as no one else answered your question, yes you can travel anywhere within 20km of your home and anywhere within your county. If the 20km extends into another county, that's still okay.

People who want restrictions to be based on data and logic rather than pulling a list of random countries out of a hat give a flying fúck.

I agree that letting people in with just a promise to be good is idiotic. There is a middle ground between that and blanket quarantine though. Why do we have to flip between all or nothing instead of finding a middle ground? If you can provide proof of vaccination, no quarantine. If you can provide a negative test, quarantine for a few days, test again, release if negative. If you're unwilling to provide any of those, quarantine for two weeks.

I honestly couldn't care less and I can't understand why you do. Unless I am missing something.

We needed to stop the píss take that was our ports and now we have.

As for vaccine passports, these will have to standardized and secured.

You just can't have people rocking up with various different bits of paper from various parts of the planet claiming immunity.

Whatever kinks are there, let them iron them out.

Right now, get a few million vaccinated, open up and then we can say where we are with travel.

VonLuck wrote: »
    Seeing as no one else answered your question, yes you can travel anywhere within 20km of your home and anywhere within your county. If the 20km extends into another county, that's still okay.

Real answer is just go wherever you want. Nobody gives a flying **** anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,466 ✭✭✭VonLuck

Real answer is just go wherever you want. Nobody gives a flying **** anymore.

Well that's just not true. Clearly the person asking the question cares.

Just answer the question though. It's a simple question. The whole of Europe is balls deep, let me guess, they are 2 weeks away. Answer the question though.

What question? I'll just answer what I think they are.

Am I happy that the government listened to it's scientists.

Yes.

Am I unhappy that countries in Europe with a whole new wave of sickness and deaths didn't listen to theirs.

Yes.

Am I happy all in person education is starting again Monday, travel limits and being lifted and things are opening up.

Yes.

What question? I'll just answer what I think they are.

Am I happy that the government listened to it's scientists.

Yes.

Am I unhappy that countries in Europe with a whole new wave of sickness and deaths didn't listen to theirs.

Yes.

Am I happy all in person education is starting again Monday, travel limits and being lifted and things are opening up.

Yes.

Alright, you won't answer it. Best of luck to ya.

The reasons that people care have been pointed out multiple times. I cannot be bothered going through them all again.

You're clearly just trying to wind people up at this point. Cop on.

How is pointing out the absolute idiotic nonsense that was our ports winding you up?

You agreed yourself it was idiotic.

Right now the most important thing is to reach critical mass of vaccination, open up and keep the instance of the virus in the community as low as we can.
    Yesterday, the HSE said there had been ten confirmed cases of Covid-19 detected through testing at mandatory hotel quarantine facilities since 26 March.

More than 413 people had been swabbed in that time

All ready paying off. Every little helps.

Alright, you won't answer it. Best of luck to ya.

You didn't actually ask me a question.

But best of luck to you too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,839 ✭✭✭mcsean2163

JRant wrote: »
    First up, there's no need for insults. Just because someone doesn't agree with you doesn't make them willfully stupid.

Second, what has flu got to do with any of this?

Third, who do you think makes up the main body of NPHET? Here's a clue, it starts with H, ends with E and has and S in the middle.

Fourth, the great myth that the health care system is under resourced, is just that, a myth. They get more than enough funding but there's no accountability in how it's spent.

Go me indeed.

A person being wilfully stupid may be motivated by intentions that are not at all stupid. For example, a drug dealer being questioned may intentionally give stupid answers and that may be the best course of action if they wish to avoid prosecution.

Again, the government run the HSE. It is their responsibility to run it effectively. There is huge waste in the HSE. The consultant if on the nphet does not control staffing. It's possible some on nphet are responsible for staffing/ general overspend but if that is the case it is the government's responsibility to take them to task.

The fact that the government are cowardly to make decisions is not nphets fault, it is the government's. If I'm leading a team and I just do what a junior member wants without due consideration then I'm not really leading.

They've been at it over a year now. Either nphet is right or the government is incompetent. I lean toward the later on many aspects.

Anyway, hope I haven't caused personal offense but I do not agree with the nphet bad stance. Yes, I think nphet live in a very different reality where colleagues and friends have been very disproportionately affected by covid19, where work is hectic and people are burnt out but have not lost their livelihoods or their business has been impacted.

It is up to government to say things like, construction reopening on X. Outdoor dining if X,y,z. Blaming nphet for the cowardice of the government is unfair and in fairness Ronan Glynn looks wrecked, like the last thing he ever wants is another lockdown.

You know rightly that's not the part I was saying was winding people up. I know you think this is clever, but it's incredibly obvious what you're at. Misinterpret someone's post, respond to that misinterpretation rather than what they actually said, repeat ad nauseum. Knock yourself out. I'll be joining that other lad in not bothering anymore.
    I agree it should have been done 12 months ago.

That doesn't mean doing it now in the most idiotic way imaginable is a good move.

I'm glad you now agree we're not opening up though.

Indeed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,482 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

You can travel within your own county or up to 20km from home if it takes you into a neighboring county.

Yes, it's very frustrating when people do that isn't it?
    The reasons that people care have been pointed out multiple times. I cannot be bothered going through them all again.

I find people being intentionally vague and then throwing a strop accusing you of misinterpreting a post far more frustrating TBH.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,000 ✭✭✭Stormyteacup

mcsean2163 wrote: »
    A person being wilfully stupid may be motivated by intentions that are not at all stupid. For example, a drug dealer being questioned may intentionally give stupid answers and that may be the best course of action if they wish to avoid prosecution.

Again, the government run the HSE. It is their responsibility to run it effectively. There is huge waste in the HSE. The consultant if on the nphet does not control staffing. It's possible some on nphet are responsible for staffing/ general overspend but if that is the case it is the government's responsibility to take them to task.

The fact that the government are cowardly to make decisions is not nphets fault, it is the government's. If I'm leading a team and I just do what a junior member wants without due consideration then I'm not really leading.

They've been at it over a year now. Either nphet is right or the government is incompetent. I lean toward the later on many aspects.

Anyway, hope I haven't caused personal offense but I do not agree with the nphet bad stance. Yes, I think nphet live in a very different reality where colleagues and friends have been very disproportionately affected by covid19, where work is hectic and people are burnt out but have not lost their livelihoods or their business has been impacted.

It is up to government to say things like, construction reopening on X. Outdoor dining if X,y,z. Blaming nphet for the cowardice of the government is unfair and in fairness Ronan Glynn looks wrecked, like the last thing he ever wants is another lockdown.

Can’t agree with any of this. Where is personal responsibility in the higher echelons of HSE? We expect it from minimum wage workers - they should enforce mask wearing, they should adhere to restrictions, stay home if positive even if wages take a hit, etc., however when some of the members of NPHET are responsible for general overspend and staffing, per your post, it’s fine for them to shrug and continue to suck at the teat of a rotten system? Being fully aware that the system is rotten? Sorry, no - those are not the actions of anyone with a modicum of social responsibility.

And it’s certainly not an either/or scenario that NPHET are right and the government are incompetent. It could be the case that NPHET are wrong and the government are incompetent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,288 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

VonLuck wrote: »
    Well that's just not true. Clearly the person asking the question cares.

I'd say that's only because of the threat of fines or being turned around rather than any real concern about "de virus".

I saw someone post earlier that Donnelly extended the 5k limit another month. If so, then like the above that's nothing to do with Covid either. It's because they screwed up the ban on evictions by tying it to the 5k rule.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 17,643 Mod ✭✭✭✭Graham

Did we not go through this already, are you honestly ok with, "We will look into it." The UK made a plan, was that also aspirational because they are following it.

So far but it has been made quite clear it can be revised if circumstances dictate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,839 ✭✭✭mcsean2163

Can’t agree with any of this. Where is personal responsibility in the higher echelons of HSE? We expect it from minimum wage workers - they should enforce mask wearing, they should adhere to restrictions, stay home if positive even if wages take a hit, etc., however when some of the members of NPHET are responsible for general overspend and staffing, per your post, it’s fine for them to shrug and continue to suck at the teat of a rotten system? Being fully aware that the system is rotten? Sorry, no - those are not the actions of anyone with a modicum of social responsibility.

And it’s certainly not an either/or scenario that NPHET are right and the government are incompetent. It could be the case that NPHET are wrong and the government are incompetent.

It's the government's job to fire non performing persons in the HSE. If they aren't doing their job correctly, they're fired. That's the job of a manager and the government's job is to manage the HSE.

I don't know how you can't see that. I'm not saying the HSE is well run or that everyone in nphet is giving perfect advice, I'm stating the obvious. It is the government's responsibility to manage the country.

The buck stops with the incompetent shower that's running the country and has outsourced running it to nphet because of their extreme incompetence. If I told our kids that from now on they can cook their own dinners, buy their own food, wash themselves, etc. and I would do what the kids tell me to do people would think it was crazy. Because it is. The government is crazy, they are not taking responsibility, MM is appalling as Taoiseach. MM may be a nice man but he is meant to lead the country not hide behind nphet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,000 ✭✭✭Stormyteacup

mcsean2163 wrote: »
    It's the government's job to fire non performing persons in the HSE. If they aren't doing their job correctly, they're fired. That's the job of a manager and the government's job is to manage the HSE.

I don't know how you can't see that. I'm not saying the HSE is well run or that everyone in nphet is giving perfect advice, I'm stating the obvious. It is the government's responsibility to manage the country.

The buck stops with the incompetent shower that's running the country and has outsourced running it to nphet because of their extreme incompetence. If I told our kids that from now on they can cook their own dinners, buy their own food, wash themselves, etc. and I would do what the kids tell me to do people would think it was crazy. Because it is. The government is crazy, they are not taking responsibility, MM is appalling as Taoiseach. MM may be a nice man but he is meant to lead the country not hide behind nphet.

Honestly, equating personal choices of hugely overpaid members of our health service to kids making their own choices is ridiculous. Yes the government are ultimate responsible, but NPHET have happily taken advantage of a weak government. That, imo, is socially irresponsible.

I wish it were that simple that if you fail to perform in HSE you will be fired. But it seems you are bullet-proof if you are a high-ranking member of HSE. Is that a failing of current government, or as a result of a system that has been allowed become more rotten due to decades of mismanagement and opaque accountability?

And they know well that they are cushioned from consequences.

Graham wrote: »
    So far but it has been made quite clear it can be revised if circumstances dictate.

Would you not expect or even like something similar or is ah sure we will look at it there in June or July.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 200 ✭✭darem93

Yeah it's actually mental just how cowardly and spineless MM is, especially in a time when we need real leadership.

He's practically gone into hiding and only appears every 6 weeks to address the nation with waffle that has already been leaked in the days previous. He is supposed to be the one leading the country, and yet he is hiding behind NPHET and letting them do the dirty work and make all the decisions. It's a clear tactic to evade responsibility and deflect the mounting frustration caused by this mess on to someone else.

Compare his complete lack of leadership with the likes of Nicola Sturgeon who put herself in the firing line every day and stood up in front of the public and media to explain the decisions her and her government were taking.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 17,643 Mod ✭✭✭✭Graham

Would you not expect or even like something similar or is ah sure we will look at it there in June or July.

I'd expect that any measure might need to change based on current circumstances. To be honest it would be a bit daft not to.

If something happened in the UK to cause cases/hospitalisations to rocket do you think they'd stick to the original plan?