Incident in Tesco today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 513 ✭✭✭The DayDream

breezy1985 wrote: »
    I used deal with a lot of theft working in pubs and in my experience 99% of the time if a staff member is paying a certain customer or loiterer a lot of attention they know the person and have had previous.

Except they definitely didn't know this person unless they have X ray vision that van see through a hoodie and mask.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 127 ✭✭JackTC

breezy1985 wrote: »
    I used deal with a lot of theft working in pubs and in my experience 99% of the time if a staff member is paying a certain customer or loiterer a lot of attention they know the person and have had previous.

Again, he didn't look like trouble. This wasn't some young lad loitering.

His trousers and boots had paint on them so you could tell he was coming from work or somewhere like that. He was just picking up bread/milk on the way home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,681 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

JackTC wrote: »

His trousers and boots had paint on them so you could tell he was coming from work or somewhere like that. He was just picking up bread/milk on the way home.

You don't know that though that's my point. I've had plenty of customers butt in to situations they knew nothing about.

Age by the way has nothing got to do with whether or not this guy was trouble and neither does occupation. You are the one profiling now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,171 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

Earlier today in Tesco a lad came in with his hoody up (Mid-Late 30's, looked harmless).

The security guard asked him to put his hood down and the customer refused and began to shop. The guard continued to follow him around the store asking him to put his hood down and the customer kept refusing.

He only bought a handful of things and left. Should he have taken down the hood or was the security guard out of line?
    Why were you following them around the shop?

JohnMcm1 wrote: »
    No I don't but that's besides the point

It's the entire point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,887 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

Its not even enough to count as an incident.

Its just an indication of a security guard who is bad at his job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 183 ✭✭DerekC16

Mall cop on a power trip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,479 ✭✭✭Esse85

Security guard was out of line. Unless its store policy.
    I mean people wear baseball hats and wooly hats along with their masks, are they asked to take off their hats? I've seen people not remove their motor cyclist helmet too.

Barbers haven't been open in nearly 5 months.

It was raining today, hailstones in fact.

Security guard must of been bored off their trolly and on a power trip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,998 ✭✭✭✭Rothko

Why were you following them around the shop?

Because OP was the guy with the hoodie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,122 ✭✭✭BeerWolf

God damn Hoodieism !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,228 ✭✭✭✭bnt

The idea of showing your face is embedded quite deeply in to Western civilisation. It symbolises openness, a willingness to be known for who you are, and a sign that you don't have something to hide. The military salute is a stylsed raising of the visor by a soldier.

It goes some way towards explaining why we have problems with full burkas etc. I don't see that changing any time soon, and there's really no point in arguing that it's unfair for Tesco to have a problem with people who do that.

In its pure form, fascism is the sum total of all irrational reactions of the average human character.

― Wilhelm Reich

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,434 ✭✭✭whomitconcerns

Was he wearing light grey tracksuit bottoms?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

There was one bank I used years ago that had a sign at the door ordering motorbike riders to remove their helmets.

So their faces could be seen in the event of a theft etc.

Oh look up "Jedi Knight removed from Tesco for wearing a hood. " It is Tesco policy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,707 ✭✭✭Bobblehats

Something of the medieval sleveen about a hood

d3a363386c1ef67fe1604d826efe3282.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,235 ✭✭✭0lddog

Graces7 wrote: »
    So their faces could be seen in the event of a theft etc.

Oh look up "Jedi Knight removed from Tesco for wearing a hood. " It is Tesco policy.

The correct answer ! :)

'No Hats or Hoodies' is a common policy in retail. Its to make it a bit easier to identify people on CCTV

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,166 Mod ✭✭✭✭yerwanthere123

When I opened a thread about an 'Incident in Tesco today' I was expecting to read about an incident in Tesco today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,148 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

Security guard didn't sound boss enough.

Dudes in that position are theoretically meant to be so assertive no one second guesses them.

To be fair, he may have sensed the energy/vibe of the dude being up to no good, the hood up just accentuated that.

If he was experienced security he knew to follow the dude to make sure he didn't pinch nuffin', job done.

Alternately he could have wrist locked him and showed him the window.

This is all inference however, we have no idea what these minute but imperative details were.

Good in theory but in this country everyone who wants to cause trouble knows that security guards have no authority and if they do anything to a person the person will sue them.

A good few years ago I was on the Luas. The Luas security and Gardaí where trying to remove an old man who looked like he'd not washed in a while, a group of people on the Luas were saying to leave him alone he's doing no harm etc. The Gardai and Luas staff kept trying to get the old man off and the people started getting onto them until eventually a Garda said he's a peado and not allowed on the Luas, they all got very quite and he was removed from the Luas.

Just because someone looks innocent when staff are at them doesn't mean the staff are wrong to be at them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 127 ✭✭JackTC

Fairly mixed responses so far - Wish I had put in a poll

There is no sign that says no hoodies anywhere around the place so I'm not sure if the guard was in the right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,807 ✭✭✭ShatterAlan

If Tesco has such a policy against hoods then I guess he was just following orders.

Policy doesn't trump rights.

You can state that your policy is to not serve minorities but your policy is not going to stand up to the law when you're in front of a judge.

Id imagine it was more to do with the fact that when coupled with a mask the hoody makes the person practically unidentifiable.

Why does a person need to be identifiable?

And unless you actually know the person then you can't identify them anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,273 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

dotsman wrote: »
    Ideally, the scumbag should have been beaten from the store.

However, this is Ireland, where security guards are the ones who get fcuked over if the poor criminal has their feelings hurt.

Ah yes, the call for violence. A common cry on here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,397 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

So, you can be challenged for wearing a hood at the same time as you can be challenged for not wearing a mask?

Have we got a problem with people covering their face or not?

How is this even a question. Of course he should.

Their shop, their rules.

A shop doesn't have "rules".

It's not a private club where you pay a membership fee and sign a contract and agree to adhere to certain rules including a dress code.

The only thing a shop can insist on is that patrons adhere to the law. If you attempt to steal something or assault a staff member or try to pass off counterfeit money or threaten another patron or smoke while in the shop then you are in breach of the law. What you wear has nothing to do with the law and nothing to do with the shop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

Why does a person need to be identifiable?

And unless you actually know the person then you can't identify them anyway.

If there is eg a robbery then CCTV evidence will help ID and catch the perpetrator. If he is masked and hooded then that is nigh impossible. In the post I mentioned banks and helmets for that reason.

I don't know - do you instinctively associate the hijab with gangs of scumbags that ransack shops and fleece the place?

Last Summer I saw a picture of a guy out in Dalkey. He was wearing typical scrote attire, grey hoody, track-suit bottoms, trainers, baseball cap, carrying a supervalu bag, probably full of cans of Dutch Gold. God knows what the knacker was doing in such a well heeled area. Definitely up to no good.

That scumbag was Matt Damon.

Graces7 wrote: »
    If there is eg a robbery then CCTV evidence will help ID and catch the perpetrator. If he is masked and hooded then that is nigh impossible. In the post I mentioned banks and helmets for that reason.

IF there is a robbery. It's always "what if" that's barfed out to justify idiotic restrictions and measures.

If I go into a shop wearing and hoody and the place is robbed it has nothing to do with me.

I have a parka with a fur-lined hood. With the hood up it comes well over the sides of my face. With a face mask and gloves on you'd be hard-pressed to tell the colour of my skin let alone for a cctv camera to capture any valuable information regarding who I am.

You say "what if the guy was about to rob the place?" and I say "what if the guy WASN'T about to rob the place? What if he was a regular Joe Bloggs after a days work getting some items for his tea. What if he was tired and his head was cold and he didn't like to be treated like a kid or a criminal?"

Your fears don't override his rights.

Last Summer I saw a picture of a guy out in Dalkey. He was wearing typical scrote attire, grey hoody, track-suit bottoms, trainers, baseball cap, carrying a supervalu bag, probably full of cans of Dutch Gold. God knows what the knacker was doing in such a well heeled area. Definitely up to no good.

That scumbag was Matt Damon.

Okay... and..? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,466 ✭✭✭✭pgj2015

Funny the way the op said the guy had a trousers on with paint on it, he was probably coming from work. so harmless. one of the biggest knackers from my local town is a tradesman so its not like they are all harmless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,098 ✭✭✭growleaves

dotsman wrote: »
    Ideally, the scumbag should have been beaten from the store.

However, this is Ireland, where security guards are the ones who get fcuked over if the poor criminal has their feelings hurt.

Eh wearing a hood isn't a criminal offence.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 128 ✭✭Ckendrick

growleaves wrote: »
    Eh wearing a hood isn't a criminal offence.

Refusing service to a customer isn’t any kind of an offence as long as it’s not discrimination. You do NOT have the right to demand to be served.