Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part X *Read OP For Mod Warnings*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,139 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

Penfailed wrote: »
    You've completely misunderstood what life expectancy means. If you are born now, life expectancy is 83. If you are 83 now, you should expect to live for another 'x' number of years.

The majority of people that died were in nursing home or had serious underling issues. People that go to nursing homes, don't live for 10 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,695 ✭✭✭Penfailed

niallo27 wrote: »
    The majority of people that died were in nursing home or had serious underling issues. People that go to nursing homes, don't live for 10 years.

What has that got to do with my post explaining what life expectancy means?

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Queens of the Stone Age, Electric Picnic, Vantastival, Getdown Services, And So I Watch You From Afar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,139 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

What has that got to do with my post explaining what life expectancy means?

Really, you don't see the link.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,718 ✭✭✭paddyisreal

https://www.skysports.com/football/news/19692/12268431/euro-2020-amsterdam-and-bilbao-among-cities-to-commit-to-having-fans-in-the-stadiums

It really says a lot about this government's in ability to create a plan when every other country can make one.
    Everyone knows plans can change but it just highlights how inept and useless they actually are

niallo27 wrote: »
    Really, you don't see the link.

I post an explanation of life expectancy. You post something about nursing homes, underlying issues and throw a figure of ten years into the mix...none of which has anything to do with my explanation. So...what's the link?

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Queens of the Stone Age, Electric Picnic, Vantastival, Getdown Services, And So I Watch You From Afar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,566 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

https://www.skysports.com/football/news/19692/12268431/euro-2020-amsterdam-and-bilbao-among-cities-to-commit-to-having-fans-in-the-stadiums

It really says a lot about this government's in ability to create a plan when every other country can make one.
    Everyone knows plans can change but it just highlights how inept and useless they actually are

I don't think many people give a bollíx TBH.

Boggles wrote: »

Source please?

Read the sentence again carefully.

The mind Boggles

I post an explanation of life expectancy. You post something about nursing homes, underlying issues and throw a figure of ten years into the mix...none of which has anything to do with my explanation. So...what's the link?

It's relevant because the calculation of life expectancy accounts for the entirety of a given age cohort, whereas we already know that Covid-19 is MUCH more likely to kill those who have pre-existing health issues, such as those that would land them in a nursing home.

It is therefore disingenuous to suggest that the average life years lost by people who died within X days of a positive Covid test would be the same as average life years lost to the age cohort.

Comparing the heretofore life expectancy of the people who died, accounting for their pre-existing conditions, and comparing that with when they actually died, would give a better picture. The average expected remaining life of all 83-year-olds is not the same thing as the average expected remaining life expectancy of an 83-year-old in a nursing home with late-stage dementia.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭ypres5

Thank you for being the countries spokesperson boggles, your statesmanship is second only to your humility

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 11,086 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hellrazer

I don't think its that people don't give a bollix - its that the public have been so brainwashed into believing in a big bad scary covid monster that they are wiling to lose out on multiple millions in tourism income because our useless leaders tell us to fear the big bad scary covid monster.

If these matches don't go ahead we will regret it in years to come.

Hellrazer wrote: »
    I don't think its that people don't give a bollix - its that the public have been so brainwashed into believing in a big bad scary covid monster that they are wiling to lose out on multiple millions in tourism income because our useless leaders tell us to fear the big bad scary covid monster.

It just highlights the lack of any planning tbh and shows us in a bad light to the rest of Europe. Like last year when the rest of Europe was open during the summer we still had pubs closed with 20 cases. A joke

• Closed Accounts Posts: 119 ✭✭themacattack.

fantastic news...the sooner the north opens the better
    ..will increase the pressure on our own shower of jokers to ease restrictions...ill be watching their announcements very closely

fantastic news...the sooner the north opens the better
    ..will increase the pressure on our own shower of jokers to ease restrictions...ill be watching their announcements very closely

Yep, it's a game changer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,318 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

Wasn't this announced weeks ago?

hynesie08 wrote: »
    Wasn't this announced weeks ago?

Yes discussed but hopefully confirmed soon enough. Are you concerned that restrictions might be lifted to early?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 391 ✭✭ingo1984

I give a bollix. Couldn't care less about soccer or the event, but it would at least show some sort of progressive thinking to getting out of this mess. The fact all other 11 countries are saying fans will be present in a reduced capacity shows just where we are.

Yes discussed but hopefully confirmed soon enough. Are you concerned that restrictions might be lifted to early?

No, just knew I'd seen the dates before.

Sometimes a question is just a question.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 857 ✭✭✭PintOfView

It just highlights the lack of any planning tbh and shows us in a bad light to the rest of Europe. Like last year when the rest of Europe was open during the summer we still had pubs closed with 20 cases. A joke

I don't doubt how horrendous it has been for people in the pub and hospitality business.
    However, how long do you think the cases would have stayed at 20 per day if the pubs had gone back to any kind of normality last summer?
    (this summer hopefully can be different)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 119 ✭✭themacattack.

prob frothing at the mouth for a drive up the M1 for a lovey pint of guinness and who could blame him

It's relevant because the calculation of life expectancy accounts for the entirety of a given age cohort, whereas we already know that Covid-19 is MUCH more likely to kill those who have pre-existing health issues, such as those that would land them in a nursing home.

It is therefore disingenuous to suggest that the average life years lost by people who died within X days of a positive Covid test would be the same as average life years lost to the age cohort.

Comparing the heretofore life expectancy of the people who died, accounting for their pre-existing conditions, and comparing that with when they actually died, would give a better picture. The average expected remaining life of all 83-year-olds is not the same thing as the average expected remaining life expectancy of an 83-year-old in a nursing home with late-stage dementia.

That's a fair point. It's also fair to say that some nursing homes have long term residents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭ypres5

I think it sticks in some people's craw that the uk are miles ahead of us in nearly every regard. Crabs in a bucket basically

hynesie08 wrote: »
    No, just knew I'd seen the dates before.

Sometimes a question is just a question.

Grand, only joking

Hellrazer wrote: »

only home fans are expected to be allowed into group matches and a "very limited" number of travelling supporters will be permitted for the latter stages of the tournament.

prob frothing at the mouth for a drive up the M1 for a lovey pint of guinness and who could blame him

Drink driving for a ganky pint of guinness cold in a wetherspoons? Nah I'm good mate.

No mention of pubs in that anyway.

ingo1984 wrote: »
    I give a bollix. Couldn't care less about soccer or the event, but it would at least show some sort of progressive thinking to getting out of this mess. The fact all other 11 countries are saying fans will be present in a reduced capacity shows just where we are.

Yes, because allowing limited fans into a stadium in June is crucial going forward.

I'd much prefer we focus on getting fans in for inter county TBH instead of being dictated to by an organisation like UEFA.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,526 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

ingo1984 wrote: »

Yeah its infuriating and humiliating to

I had a ticket to one of the games but got it refunded. it would of given the economy a great boost esp with so many Polish/Slovaks living in Ireland as well as Spanish and Swedes.

Variants and not having the balls to take the risk is the reason for this

ypres5 wrote: »
    I think it sticks in some people's craw that the uk are miles ahead of us in nearly every regard. Crabs in a bucket basically

I openly applaud the first wave of the vaccine rollout in the uk and hope they can continue at that pace, I'd love to get over for a match and a night in the cavern club before too long.