If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

What exactly is happening with AstraZeneca?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,448 ✭✭✭✭volchitsa

mista11 wrote: »
    I am referencing Serious complications & Deaths

As usual you have been very selective of your data as well so i will do the same. The rate of clotting complications on the contraceptive pill is 1 in 1000, do women still take it...absoloutly

We have a lot more information about the risks for individuals from the pill though, and indeed some women are not allowed to take the pill because the risk to them is felt to be too high.

The specific risk of blood clots when having the AZ vaccine for women under 30 needs to expressed clearly, for young women to understand their own risk. The way these numbers are usually given as evidence of how safe the vaccine is, ie ras a percentage of overall vaccine delivered, may be masking the risk to this particular cohort.

"If a woman cannot stand in a public space and say, without fear of consequences, that men cannot be women, then women have no rights at all." Helen Joyce

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 20,566 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sam Russell

I find it hard to see how you can reconcile these two things. When the lists were first produced, it was stated to be based on a number of factors, including the risk of serious illness as well as decreasing transmission (it also includes things like the ordinary functioning of society, but lets leave that aside for now as it isn't directly related to the overall best health outcome). You seem to accept that Gardai or indeed anyone who is obliged through their job to interact with the public ought to be vaccinated, not for their own sake, but because by vaccinating them you reduce the risk of it spreading.
    My point about Gardai being given any excess doses of vaccine was that they are always available (well those on duty) and are able to arrive with little notice. Now, on another point, there are just 14,000 of them which is one days worth of vaccine at the current rate, so no biggie if they got vaccinated ahead of others. There are Gardai self isolating after coming into contact with quaritine subjects who tested positive.
    I would agree with you that it is a lot easier to verify age as opposed to profession. However, that doesn't mean it can't be done. Healthcare workers have already been identified, with some small amount of slippage, but that seems unavoidable.

I don't dispute that age increases bad outcomes, specifically death. However, that does not mean that the best strategy to prevent that is to work down the age list. It is an easier strategy, not a better one. The reason being that you can protect people by vaccinating them, but you can also protect people by dramatically reducing the number of overall cases of Covid in a country.

If we are guaranteed a full supply of vaccines such that we can guarantee that everyone who wants it can be fully vaccinated by e.g. the summer or the end of the year, then by age makes sense.
    That appears to be the message from the HSE - most people will be vaccinated by September.
    100% agree. But so too the government should say that to them, instead of reacting in a way that they say "rather than say no to people, lets just do it by age instead". Again, politically more expedient, but is it a better option for the vaccine rollout?

I'm not sure that the man on the street, including myself, is sufficiently knowledgeable in terms of public health to know whether giving the vaccines directly to the most at risk or seeking to protect them indirectly by stopping it spreading is a better strategy to protect them.

But ultimately, the correct answer to your question is "I don't know and I don't want to make that decision on overly personal and emotive grounds. I expect the government to take the best approach based on public health expert advice, and not make it a political issue".

If the flow of vaccines is as expected by the HSE, the whole question of who should be first will be moot by the end of May. Teachers will be on holiday, so they will not matter one way or the other - the older ones will be vaccinated while the younger ones will be self isolating at home.

Age is simple, we all know when we were born (even if some would rather others did not know). Profession is a difficult matter as it gets blurred at the edges. Are hospital porters or cleaners 'health care workers' or are they just porters and cleaners?

They all know how old they are. Everyone should accept that they must wait for their turn to come around - meanwhile Wash hands, wear a mask, and keep distance - but most important, stay at home except for essential reasons. Exercise allows you to venture out up to 5 km (not otherwise).

Stay safe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,130 ✭✭✭✭murphaph

dogbert27 wrote: »
    Is all the blame with AZ? Did AZ conduct the trials in upscaling the Oxford vaccine or was Oxford responsible for the trials?
    I wouldn't blame anyone for this, not AZ nor Oxford. The events are too rare to catch in clinical trials. Even in Ireland where we have given 200k AZ shots, we've not had any known cases.

It's very unfortunate as even with all the nonsense from AZ, it was still looking like the "go to" vaccine for the developing world.....where populations are much younger :-(

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 14,568 Mod ✭✭✭✭johnnyskeleton

My point about Gardai being given any excess doses of vaccine was that they are always available (well those on duty) and are able to arrive with little notice. Now, on another point, there are just 14,000 of them which is one days worth of vaccine at the current rate, so no biggie if they got vaccinated ahead of others. There are Gardai self isolating after coming into contact with quaritine subjects who tested positive.

Yes. The point being that there is a logic to vaccinating people who do high risk jobs, such as the gardai, as a priority. Which is precisely the point.

That appears to be the message from the HSE - most people will be vaccinated by September.

Most people is not the same as everyone who wants one. Most people can be 51% of people, or even 51% of people eligible for the vaccine, or even 51% of people who are eligible and who want it.

I also maintain suspicion about these high level projections by the HSE because they have been wrong before and, more importantly, it masks the lack of detail.

In any event, my point is that if they can guarantee that everyone who wants one can get one, then doing it by age makes sense as an easy way to roll it out. But that is not the scenario that we have. If we have to distribute a limited quantity of vaccines in 2021 (assuming that there will hopefully be wide availability in 2022), then we should distribute them to gain the maximum public health benefit. Priority no. 1 is to give the vaccine directly to the most vulnerable i.e. those at a high risk of death or serious illness as a result of covid. But when that is achieved, as will hopefully be done soon, the vaccines should be distributed in a manner that achieves the best possible public health result.

Now, there are other factors to public health beyond the immediate issue of ensuring that people don't catch covid and don't develop severe symptoms, but just looking at those two factors, it makes sense that once those at high risk of severe symptoms are vaccinated, that emphasis should change to including vaccinations to stop the spread in addition to continuing to vaccinate people by risk profile.

And you accept that it is possible to select certain high risk jobs and vaccinate them.

It would seem unfair to me (and NPHET - see below) that you would vaccinate a 40 year old computer programmer who is working from home alone over a 25 year old shop employee who lives in shared accommodation, but leaving fairness out of it, society as a whole would benefit more from vaccinating the latter as the latter is more likely to catch and spread covid than the former is.

NPHET expressly acknowledge this in their working document on Covid from last year. They even point out that if there is evidence to suggest that the vaccines reduce transmission risk, then people aged 18-34 should be prioritised due to their increased level of social contact and increased role in transmission. This isn't for the benefit of those aged 18-34, but rather its a reflection of the reality that a 20 year old student might socialise a bit during the term (no judgment being passed) and then go home to their families at the weekends. Stopping the spread of the virus can be an effective way of protecting everyone.
    If the flow of vaccines is as expected by the HSE, the whole question of who should be first will be moot by the end of May. Teachers will be on holiday, so they will not matter one way or the other - the older ones will be vaccinated while the younger ones will be self isolating at home.

I don't know why you're mentioning teachers, but Gardai are the most apposite example. It's easy to dismiss the teachers, but that simply isn't who I am talking about. More importantly, however, it isn't about individual considerations, it's about public health. So the government are going to have to put on their big boy pants and do what is in the best interests of public health, not just follow the path of least resistance.

If by the end of May all over 70s, those with serious medical conditions and frontline healthcare workers are fully vaccinated, then we will be doing well for ourselves. But that is still only a fraction of the total population. It will not render the issue of who to vaccinate next moot as you suggest. The other 80% of adults aren't all teachers and aren't all going away on summer holidays.
    Age is simple, we all know when we were born (even if some would rather others did not know). Profession is a difficult matter as it gets blurred at the edges. Are hospital porters or cleaners 'health care workers' or are they just porters and cleaners?

They may not all have been vaccinated with frontline health care workers but do get vaccinated with other healthcare staff and should be vaccinated as a priority. Porters have direct contact with patients and hospital staff, and cleaners have to physically enter and clean the fittings, some of which had contact with covid patients. It's simple really - if you go into a hospital with a broken leg, and the porter or cleaner has covid, then you are at risk of catching covid. Vaccinating hospital porters and cleaners pays a greater dividend to society because of this. It's also the right thing to do, not just in my view as starred above, but also in NPHETs view under the principle of reciporicity:
    The principle of reciprocity requires that special consideration be given to those groups who play an essential role in responding to the pandemic and, in doing so, place themselves at greater risk of being infected than the general population.

It is entirely reasonable and fair that a 30 year old hospital porter should be vaccinated in priority over a 40 year old who is working from home. And it really isn't all that difficult to establish or administer such schemes.
    They all know how old they are. Everyone should accept that they must wait for their turn to come around - meanwhile Wash hands, wear a mask, and keep distance - but most important, stay at home except for essential reasons. Exercise allows you to venture out up to 5 km (not otherwise).

Stay safe.

I feel like we are talking at cross purposes. I'm discussing the public health advice and how that has been altered for political expediency. You are talking about the individual advice on how to behave in the next few months. These are very different debates.

https://www.google.com/amp/s/medicalxpress.com/news/2021-04-ema-links-astrazeneca-vaccine-thrombosis.amp

Apologies if this link isn't ligit, someone more in the know might confirm. Will this mean it will be paused again?

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 14,568 Mod ✭✭✭✭johnnyskeleton

https://www.google.com/amp/s/medicalxpress.com/news/2021-04-ema-links-astrazeneca-vaccine-thrombosis.amp

Apologies if this link isn't ligit, someone more in the know might confirm. Will this mean it will be paused again?

It should mean that anyone who is to receive the AZ vaccine should be informed that there is a small risk of thrombosis and blood clots if you take it, and then people can make the informed decision whether to take it or not. It will be added to the list of known rare side effects. Most people, I suspect, will still take it.

The HSE already has this warning up on their website:

https://www2.hse.ie/screening-and-vaccinations/covid-19-vaccine/astrazeneca/side-effects.html
    Very rare cases of unusual blood clots along with low levels of blood platelets have been seen in less than 1 in 100,000 people after vaccination with the AstraZeneca COVID-19 vaccine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,993 ✭✭✭FileNotFound

It would seem unfair to me (and NPHET - see below) that you would vaccinate a 40 year old computer programmer who is working from home alone over a 25 year old shop employee who lives in shared accommodation, but leaving fairness out of it, society as a whole would benefit more from vaccinating the latter as the latter is more likely to catch and spread covid than the former is.

In fairness your arguing a non existent argument in many ways.

We are not talking about vaccinating a wfh 40 year old at the moment are we?

We are talking about putting elderly who have a greater risk ahead of young healthy people despite the jobs they may do.

Once we are down to the 40's, the system may be changed again.

At the moment the choice to go by age is right and backed by the associated risk.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,146 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

Is this blood clot risk something that sneaks up on you and people don't notice they have been affected by it until it's too late? Or does the instructions on vaccination just need to change to tell potentially affected people to keep any eye out for symptom X and call this phone number the moment you notice something, they then treat the clot and all is well?

Would have thought if the symptoms are noticeable that something like a blood clot is treatable relatively easily.

In fairness your arguing a non existent argument in many ways.

We are not talking about vaccinating a wfh 40 year old at the moment are we?

We are talking about putting elderly who have a greater risk ahead of young healthy people despite the jobs they may do.

Once we are down to the 40's, the system may be changed again.

At the moment the choice to go by age is right and backed by the associated risk.

In simple terms, the issue is that they have changed the priority list for who gets vaccinated after the elderly and most at risk people have all been vaccinated, which will hopefully be done by the end of May.

The public health advice is that once the most vulnerable people have been vaccinated, you should also consider vaccinating people not based on their individual risk of death or serious symptoms, but in relation to their likely risk as a transmission factor.

The government initially agreed with this advice, but have now changed it and said that they are going to just do it by age, from 69 all the way down to 18. They did this, in my view, because there was a lot of jockeying for position amongst different groups and felt unable, politically to stand up to them.

So yes, we very much are taking about a government policy that would see a 40 year old who works from home vaccinated ahead of a 25 year old Garda.

No one is disputing that the over 70s and those with serious medical conditions should be vaccinated first. People also accept that front line healthcare workers should be prioritised which is completely right, but undermines the government's suggestion that people should be vaccinated by age rather than by a combination of individual risk and transmission risk.

robinph wrote: »
    Is this blood clot risk something that sneaks up on you and people don't notice they have been affected by it until it's too late? Or does the instructions on vaccination just need to change to tell potentially affected people to keep any eye out for symptom X and call this phone number the moment you notice something, they then treat the clot and all is well?

Would have thought if the symptoms are noticeable that something like a blood clot is treatable relatively easily.

It can be both. You might notice it or you might not. It might dissolve naturally with no ill effects or it might be very serious:

https://www.healthline.com/health/how-to-tell-if-you-have-a-blood-clot#legs-or-arms

However, the risk seems to be very low at the moment, possibly lower than the risk of a blood clot as a result of a long haul flight or the risk from sitting at a desk for 8 hours a day in an office job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,993 ✭✭✭FileNotFound

In simple terms, the issue is that they have changed the priority list for who gets vaccinated after the elderly and most at risk people have all been vaccinated, which will hopefully be done by the end of May.

The public health advice is that once the most vulnerable people have been vaccinated, you should also consider vaccinating people not based on their individual risk of death or serious symptoms, but in relation to their likely risk as a transmission factor.

The government initially agreed with this advice, but have now changed it and said that they are going to just do it by age, from 69 all the way down to 18. They did this, in my view, because there was a lot of jockeying for position amongst different groups and felt unable, politically to stand up to them.

So yes, we very much are taking about a government policy that would see a 40 year old who works from home vaccinated ahead of a 25 year old Garda.

No one is disputing that the over 70s and those with serious medical conditions should be vaccinated first. People also accept that front line healthcare workers should be prioritised which is completely right, but undermines the government's suggestion that people should be vaccinated by age rather than by a combination of individual risk and transmission risk.

Indeed they did a simplification - no doubt that will change though.

It was intended for the now and all the support stats they use describe age groups above the 40 yr old wfh. If they are using fact basis then you should see a re prioritization when the time is right.

Mind you that's just conjecture from me.

https://today.rtl.lu/news/world/a/1701034.html

Seems to be legit. Probably expect an EMA statement later today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,518 ✭✭✭fly_agaric

murphaph wrote: »
    I wouldn't blame anyone for this, not AZ nor Oxford. The events are too rare to catch in clinical trials. Even in Ireland where we have given 200k AZ shots, we've not had any known cases.

It's very unfortunate as even with all the nonsense from AZ, it was still looking like the "go to" vaccine for the developing world.....where populations are much younger :-(

In the Americas anyway, would not be surprised if they ended up using alot of the US Pharma companies' vaccines (courtesy of the US once they can complete their own programme and the production capacity becomes available).
    That probably won't be until the Autumn of this year at earliest though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,116 ✭✭✭Melanchthon

murphaph wrote: »
    Norway had 6 cases after 120k shots. 1 in 20k risk there. The risk for younger people appears to be far higher than the oft quoted "1 in a million" from the UK. The UK keeps including all the older people in the calculation. Few regulators believe AZ is unsafe in older people though.

I am not sceptical that there is an issue with younger woman having bad reactions now, it seems fairly well backed up. I am still a bit sceptical though of the Norway figure though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,071 ✭✭✭✭josip

fly_agaric wrote: »
    In the Americas anyway, would not be surprised if they ended up using alot of the US Pharma companies' vaccines (courtesy of the US once they can complete their own programme and the production capacity becomes available).

Gottlieb expects the US to run out of demand sometime this month.
    https://www.cnbc.com/2021/02/08/covid-vaccine-scott-gottlieb-expects-wide-availability-by-april-in-us.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 21,277 ✭✭✭✭Stark

Have friends living in the US and from what I've heard it's pretty easy already to get a vaccine appointment as a young person with no underlying conditions due to the low uptake from the higher priority groups.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,518 ✭✭✭fly_agaric

josip wrote: »

That's interesting. Before allowing exports at a large scale, I think the govt. will want to have enough supplies on hand to theoretically vaccinate everyone in the US (even if they start running into difficulties getting last x % of people in any given cohort to actually take it up).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,036 ✭✭✭Charles Babbage

fly_agaric wrote: »

They can predict demand from first and second doses etc. I expect they could share some Pfizer and Moderna with Canada soon enough, and perhaps that would mean more Pfizer available in Europe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,722 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

robinph wrote: »

Two things I heard to watch out for re. potential side effects of the vaccine are bruising on the skin and / or persistent headaches that don't go away after a day or so.

I'm assuming that everyone who receives the vaccine is told this when they receive it or given a special leaflet to read.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭Call me Al

I am not sceptical that there is an issue with younger woman having bad reactions now, it seems fairly well backed up. I am still a bit sceptical though of the Norway figure though.

Why would you be sceptical of Norwegian health officials reporting these numbers.
    These conditions are measurable.
    The people with them will be in hospital and will have been properly diagnosed.
    I don't the authorities there are in the habit of questionable reporting of their data. Why would they?

I am familiar with thrombocytopenia. There's nothing vague or unquantifiable about it..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,808 ✭✭✭✭Supercell

Strazdas wrote: »
    Two things I heard to watch out for re. potential side effects of the vaccine are bruising on the skin and / or persistent headaches that don't go away after a day or so.

I'm assuming that everyone who receives the vaccine is told this when they receive it or given a special leaflet to read.

Work colleague of mine got his last weekend (he is diabetic) and he mentioned that they did discuss the clotting thing with him before administering the injection which he was impressed about.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,146 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

New scientific article about AZ being useless

https://www.forbes.com/sites/williamhaseltine/2021/03/17/astrazeneca-vaccine-fails-to-protect-against-the-south-african-variant/?sh=468432166526
    Two doses of the AstraZeneca Covid-19 vaccine were found to have only a 10.4% efficacy against mild-to-moderate infections caused by the B.1.351 South Africa variant, according to a phase 1b-2 clinical trial published on Tuesday in the New England Journal of Medicine. This is a cause for grave concern as the South African variants share similar mutations to the other variants leaving those vaccinated with the AstraZeneca vaccine potentially exposed to multiple variants. This new finding should force a rapid acceleration of second-generation vaccines and encourage further research into the possibility of a pancoronavirus vaccine.

The trial evaluated the safety and the efficacy of the AstraZeneca vaccine in HIV-negative adults aged between 18 to 64 years old with a median age of 30 years old. The trial was conducted between June 24 and November 9, 2020 in South Africa using a multisite, double-blind, randomized, placebo-controlled approach. Out of the trial’s 750 vaccine recipients, 19 (2.5%) developed mild to moderate COVID-19 more than 14 days after the second dose, compared with 23 of 717 placebo recipients (3.2%). Of the 42 total cases of Covid-19, 39 (93%) were caused by the B.1.351 South Africa variant. These results demonstrated that the AstraZeneca vaccine was only 10.4% effective against the B.1.351 South Africa variant.

It is important to note that there were still no cases of hospitalization for severe Covid-19 or deaths observed in the study. Yet the authors did caution that the relatively young median age of participants (30 years) likely influenced the lack of severe Covid-19 cases.[\quote]

They showed some data on how many instances of the different variations they have found in the UK. 170k of the Kent variant, think about 3000 of the Brazil/ Japan variant, and 300ish of the SA variation... with only a few 10's of it having been detected in the last couple of months.

Based on that it's highly unlikely that the SA variation is going to be of any major concern for Ireland any time soon, and certainly not before widespread travel is opened up and if needed secondary booster shots of particular vaccines are rolled out to fill any gaps.

The vaccines in use at the moment work against the variants in the wild locally at the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,877 ✭✭✭take everything

What always gets me about stuff like this is lads like Luke O Neill, initially wrong about masks, now wrong about the safety of Astra Zeneca after cheerleading them any chance he got.

He's making his millions, playing his guitar in his barely concealed midlife crisis way, using his cloying, patronising analogies to describe the immune system and he gets it wrong so often.

He wouldn't stand back and be circumspect about the safety and efficacy of a particular vaccine. He got caught up in his own bull****.

While Kingston Mills his Trinity colleague, one of the few people who did allow himself some circumspection about this vaccine will be forgotten.

Bit of a rant.
    Ha.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,123 ✭✭✭mick087

It all comes down to if the 1 in 20000 risk for young people with no preconditions (seems female mostly?) is higher or lower than risk of same section of population dying of Covid

Let’s see what EMA says in coming days, I wouldn’t trust anything coming out of uk, they had no issues sweeping 70,000 needless deaths under carpet, and by now Tories and their media lapdogs made this brexit vaccine a matter of national pride

Aside 1 in 20000 is fairly bad, risk of dying in fatal car crash is 1 in 36000 per year and that’s after years of concerted road safety efforts

Brexit vaccine :pac::pac::pac:

I think what the UK are doing with the roll out so far has been excellent all the country behind the NHS the roll out is going fantastic.

We need to watch and learn, we need to get behind our roll out and cheer it on, build it up.

The UK government will have many questions to answer about the death toll.
    Then again so will other European elected governments when this is over and the inquires began.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 410 ✭✭Icantthinkof1

New scientific article about AZ being useless \quote]

Not a “new” study about AZ being “useless”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,242 ✭✭✭✭Danzy

If continental European countries falter again with the vaccine.

We should buy all we can of what they turn away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,116 ✭✭✭Melanchthon

Call me Al wrote: »
    Why would you be sceptical of Norwegian health officials reporting these numbers.
    These conditions are measurable.
    The people with them will be in hospital and will have been properly diagnosed.
    I don't the authorities there are in the habit of questionable reporting of their data. Why would they?

I am familiar with thrombocytopenia. There's nothing vague or unquantifiable about it..

Because it's out of whack with the figures coming out of other countries (excluding the UK too though as you say authorities aren't in the habit of reporting false data so I don't know you would discount them).

Additionally there has been well over 20,000 who have received doses in trials, and these trials trended young (which was a problem). It makes sense to be sceptical.

Since your familiar with thrombocytopenia what's the other medication that could be confounding the case numbers in Norway?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,060 ✭✭✭✭biko

Regulators have found a link between AstraZeneca's COVID-19 shot and rare blood clots in younger women, but the exact cause of the clots is unknown, a top official said
    • A European official said Tuesday there was a link between AstraZeneca's COVID-19 vaccine and blood clots.
    • Marco Cavaleri, head of vaccines at the EMA, said the mechanism causing the brain blood clots wasn't yet clear.
    • The clots are most common in younger women, he said.
    https://www.msn.com/en-in/news/newsindia/regulators-have-found-a-link-between-astrazenecas-covid-19-shot-and-rare-blood-clots-in-younger-women-but-the-exact-cause-of-the-clots-is-unknown-a-top-official-said/ar-BB1fm0Yk

mick087 wrote: »
    Brexit vaccine :pac::pac::pac:

I think what the UK are doing with the roll out so far has been excellent all the country behind the NHS the roll out is going fantastic.

We need to watch and learn, we need to get behind our roll out and cheer it on, build it up.

The UK government will have many questions to answer about the death toll.
    Then again so will other European elected governments when this is over and the inquires began.
    As far as I can tell, the HSE injects virtually everything it gets. There are only moderate stocks held back (presumably for second injections they want to maintain some baseline stocks in case supply is interrupted). In Ireland the problem is one of lack of adequate supply.

If the last mile of the chain was the problem the stocks would have piled up but 800k administered out of 900k delivered points to no serious bottlenecks of any kind at the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭Call me Al

Because it's out of whack with the figures coming out of other countries (excluding the UK too though as you say authorities aren't in the habit of reporting false data so I don't know you would discount them).

Additionally there has been well over 20,000 who have received doses in trials, and these trials trended young (which was a problem). It makes sense to be sceptical.

Since your familiar with thrombocytopenia what's the other medication that could be confounding the case numbers in Norway?

Is this a quiz?
    A quiz that Norwegian medics never took in their training perhaps?
    If they are medically qualified enough to realise that the numbers of recently-vaccinated people presenting with ITP are out of kilter then I'm sure they know enough to investigate and account for underlying conditions and medications that may be involved..