Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part X *Read OP For Mod Warnings*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,491 ✭✭✭dalyboy

Or he's lying.

At what point do we call it fraud or are we waaaaaay past that point ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,535 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

NPHET wont be letting their grip go and will always be campaigning for harsh restrictions

I can't even imagine how bad the place will get if we go back to Level 5 in May/June

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,491 ✭✭✭dalyboy

Well put!this if my aunt had balls shed be my uncle logic is then breathlessly repeated by george lee who never Once ! mentioned hospital and icu at 297 and 65 today the lowest sinc e December and also forgot to say 385 and 411 cases today and yesterday a drop of 40% on recent days.Disgraceful selectivity and a dereliction of duty to the idea of balanced reporting

It’s like one massive troll fest everyday on every possible media device , bill board , shop window , bus shelter etc etc ad nauseam .

I mean for the love of god they really think we are thick.

Even the VERY obedient, muzzled and NPHET bowing public have to be going mad with cognitive dissonance at this stage.
    Surely even they have breaking points.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,236 ✭✭✭✭JRant

dalyboy wrote: »
    Mr Nolan from the caravan of joy on the news earlier. Stating the 4th wave (sounds like a movie) will be something of the magnitude of hospitalisation what we had in October ???? !!!!!!

Is Mr Nolan aware that we have a huge cohort of over 70s vaccinated now and that 90% of historical hospitalisation was from this cohort. Additionally we have a massive number of “naturally immune” of society due to the January infection spike (which should cover them to at least July with covered antibodies)

It’s either a failing of communication, deafness , or basic mathematical illiteracy that he is suffering from at this point. (Likely a combo of all 3)

Even my 6 year old can see that what he’s talking is utter b@€&0x

He was also very concerned that we could have up to 1000 cases a day by June/July, which of course is a cause for concern. Surely they are factoring in the fact that everyone will have at least one dose by end of June and the cases will completely decouple from hospitalisations. Either they haven't done that or are purposely peddling half truths and fear to try keep everyone in check.

"Well, yeah, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,320 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

PTH2009 wrote: »
    NPHET wont be letting their grip go and will always be campaigning for harsh restrictions

I can't even imagine how bad the place will get if we go back to Level 5 in May/June

Go back would imply we're out of level 5......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,234 ✭✭✭✭normanoffside

I'm hearing the next 8 weeks are crucial.

https://twitter.com/FergalBowers/status/1377271039655301121

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,498 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

Even the daily case numbers aren't going the way NPHET want at this stage, yet they're still trying to play up the doom.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,498 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

I'm hearing the next 8 weeks are crucial.

https://twitter.com/FergalBowers/status/1377271039655301121

Makes a nice change from the next 2 weeks being crucial.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,883 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

Mr Nolan from the caravan of joy on the news earlier. Stating the 4th wave (sounds like a movie) will be something of the magnitude of hospitalisation what we had in October ???? !!!!!!

Is Mr Nolan aware that we have a huge cohort of over 70s vaccinated now and that 90% of historical hospitalisation was from this cohort. Additionally we have a massive number of “naturally immune” of society due to the January infection spike (which should cover them to at least July with covered antibodies)

Really terrible performance from NPHET terrifying an over-terrified and frightened population - why not focus on the plateauing of hospital cases and addressing other medical timebombs in Ireland today - yet the unelected NPHET continue to over-terrify a nation, with ther never-rending worst case scenarios.
    Lockdowns were about flattening the curve , we have done that , even WHO say Long term lockdown are not good for a country , yet no one in the mainstream media calling out the over-cautious over powerful unelected NPHET controlling Ireland today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,004 ✭✭✭✭AlekSmart

At what point do we call it fraud or are we waaaaaay past that point ?

We have'nt reached it by a long shot.

Many people by now have a niggling sensation that "something's not adding up",but there have been warning lights flashing since Day 1.

One good starting point is to follow the Money,as much as possible,both the origins and destinations of large sums,and their intermediate resting places.

No oversight on "Emergency" contracts,no tendering process,none of the "competitive" element for business and,most importantly NO tiresome long drawn out situation before the approval of the spending.

DAMMIT MAN,THIS IS AN EMERGENCY !:mad:

Receipt's will prove difficult to produce,if any exist in the first place.

NPHET is comprised of 33 individuals from a relatively tight spectrum,most medical,mathematical,scienctific and the odd "Special Adviser"

Not a Butcher,Baker or Candlestick maker to be found,and almost uniquely no members who's immediate financial or proffesional futures are at risk from their "recommendations".

It is precisely the groups who continue to derive benefit from the undue prolonging of the "Emergency" mindset,that need further and constant monitoring to ensure they have not overdosed on their own medicine and thus become immune to the vaccine of Life itself.

It is NOT the General Public who are deserving of the constant and deepening levels of "Monitoring" from the Gardai,and perhaps even the odd Private Investigator,but instead the new and as yet,unchallenged unelected administrators....:(

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

Charles Mackay (1812-1889)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,566 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

Is Mr Nolan aware that we have a huge cohort of over 70s vaccinated now and that 90% of historical hospitalisation was from this cohort.

I very much doubt Professor Nolan is aware of falsehoods being spouted on here, but you never know.
    While vaccination will significantly reduce the impact of COVID-19 on the hospital system, it will take some time before this benefit fully materialises. It can be anticipated that vaccination will radically reduce mortality when those over 70 are fully protected, but will have a smaller effect on demand for hospital and critical care until the wider population is progressively protected. This is due to the relationship between age and risk – approximately 50% of those hospitalised and 70% of those in ICU since the beginning of the pandemic are under 70 years old

jackal wrote: »
    NPHET boardroom: “Fcuk lads another day of good weather... they are not staying at home like good automatons... any scary projections there Cillian?”

You can be reasonably certain that NPHET will be maintaining ongoing contact with Met Éireann on this very topic.

The predictions and desires of these people largely depend upon Ireland retaining it's cool,wet,windy early spring weather patterns.

That'll keep us in outa the streets,peepin out from behind the lace at the mad inconsiderate yokes daring to walk abroad in the parish.

Our Weather is playing a Large part in determining the pathways laid out by our betters.

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,234 ✭✭✭✭normanoffside

AlekSmart wrote: »
    You can be reasonably certain that NPHET will be maintaining ongoing contact with Met Éireann on this very topic.

The predictions and desires of these people largely depend upon Ireland retaining it's cool,wet,windy early spring weather patterns.

That'll keep us in outa the streets,peepin out from behind the lace at the mad inconsiderate yokes daring to walk abroad in the parish.

Our Weather is playing a Large part in determining the pathways laid out by our betters.

To be fair, today they did say that people who are going to ignore them should meet their friends outside rather than indoors.

The problem is the media aren't reporting this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,938 ✭✭✭beggars_bush

To be fair, today they did say that people who are going to ignore them should meet their friends outside rather than indoors.

People shouldn't need to be told that meeting indoors is stupid
    Then again...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,537 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

It’s like one massive troll fest everyday on every possible media device , bill board , shop window , bus shelter etc etc ad nauseam .

I mean for the love of god they really think we are thick.

Even the VERY obedient, muzzled and NPHET bowing public have to be going mad with cognitive dissonance at this stage.
    Surely even they have breaking points.

no, it's like that they are right and you are wrong.

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 17,643 Mod ✭✭✭✭Graham

On RTE news this afternoon.

548801.png

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,105 ✭✭✭Kivaro

Sorry if this has been discussed already, but I briefly saw an interview this morning on the Virgin Media morning show and the two hosts were ripping into Paschal Donohoe who was there live in studio. I thought "fair play to them". Ironically they pestered him on the kids going back to school shoes dilemma, and hey presto, a few hours later, the government announces kids can get shoes.

Just goes to show what happens when a media outlet asks real questions of our politicians, and not worrying about upsetting them, which may effect the TV license fee and further government (tax payer) hand outs. I am talking about you ... RTE.

It was probably easier for NPHET to "permit" such wild carry-on,having first checked the Easter Forecast....

https://www.irishmirror.ie/news/irish-news/ireland-weather-met-eireann-forecast-23819085
    Met Eireann are forecasting a big "wintry" change next week as conditions are set to turn unusually cold.

A very mild few days are in store this week, with highs of 18C predicted in places today along with plenty of sunny spells.

However a significant temperature swing is anticipated over the Easter weekend, with "wintry showers" and "widespread frosts" expected.

Mind you,our Imperial neighbours share the detestation of Blue Skies every bit as much as Tony & The Gang....:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,535 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Imagine when Dr Tony returns

That leopold meme from The Simpsons comes to mind

_Kaiser_ wrote: »
    It's pretty simple really.

RTE, for the first time in years, made a profit last year on the back of advertising. All those Covid ads on TV and radio every 15/20 minutes aren't free.

That and they are altogether far too close to the Government as indeed are a lot of the papers/reporters who are basically auditioning for a job with some TD or in some department/ministry.

It's not just Covid. Immigration and the effects of it is another topic that is only covered one-way.

Hmmm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,690 ✭✭✭✭Mental Mickey

Just missed the piece on RTE news re the parliamentary parties meeting. What was said? Apologies in advance if it's already been answered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,785 ✭✭✭robbiezero

Turned on 9 o clock news there, Philip Nolan with the next 8 weeks are critical. Myself and the wife just split ourselves laughing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,258 ✭✭✭micks_address

From April 12th. Can you have a painter painting inside your house?
    Thanks,
    Mick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 787 ✭✭✭RGS

Spoke to my 84 year old mother this evening, who would be a shining example of caution this past year, and even she was laughing at George Lee's report and nolans 8 week spiel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,388 ✭✭✭LessOutragePlz

"Court orders Belgium to end coronavirus measures due to insufficient legal basis"

https://www.politico.eu/article/belgian-court-slaps-down-covid-19-measures-reports/

A Belgian court has given the Goverment 30 days to fix their lockdown legislation as it is illegal in it's current form.

Are there similar legal challenges ongoing or planned in Ireland does anyone know?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,217 ✭✭✭KanyeSouthEast

I’m not being funny here and please understand that I don’t bother with the news anymore but why is the next 8 weeks crucial? What’s the context of this? Is it that we’ll have a critical mass vaccinated by then so “hold firm” or what are they on about?

robbiezero wrote: »
    Turned on 9 o clock news there, Philip Nolan with the next 8 weeks are critical. Myself and the wife just split ourselves laughing.

Then some earnest lad beside him started whining about people meeting indoors.
    Its because you goons won't let them meet safely outdoors ffs.

I am meeting a few pals for a few jars Friday evening and we have to do it indoors which is ridiculous instead of all of us sat happily in a back garden on a fine evening.

I’m not being funny here and please understand that I don’t bother with the news anymore but why is the next 8 weeks crucial? What’s the context of this? Is it that we’ll have a critical mass vaccinated by then so “hold firm” or what are they on about?

It says it in his tea leaves, where it seems he gets most of his predictions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,398 ✭✭✭SortingYouOut

"Court orders Belgium to end coronavirus measures due to insufficient legal basis"

https://www.politico.eu/article/belgian-court-slaps-down-covid-19-measures-reports/

A Belgian court has given the Goverment 30 days to fix their lockdown legislation as it is illegal in it's current form.

Are there similar legal challenges ongoing or planned in Ireland does anyone know?

This was all covered in the health act under infectious diseases, well before Covid.

Beverly Hills, California

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,537 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

Kivaro wrote: »
    Sorry if this has been discussed already, but I briefly saw an interview this morning on the Virgin Media morning show and the two hosts were ripping into Paschal Donohoe who was there live in studio. I thought "fair play to them". Ironically they pestered him on the kids going back to school shoes dilemma, and hey presto, a few hours later, the government announces kids can get shoes.

Just goes to show what happens when a media outlet asks real questions of our politicians, and not worrying about upsetting them, which may effect the TV license fee and further government (tax payer) hand outs. I am talking about you ... RTE.

it's just co-incidents, nothing more

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.