Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cycling Mikey

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,163 ✭✭✭buffalo

Has he campaigned the relevant authority to do something to prevent cars going down the right on that stretch? Seems like a no brainer with the amount of video he has there. I'd be more supportive of him if he won the battle here like that and move the war on somewhere else.

Why is it up to him to fix the problem? There's no pleasing some people! :D Surely the police or LA should notice the amount of fines being issued at that junction and take action?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,326 ✭✭✭crazy 88

buffalo wrote: »
    Why is it up to him to fix the problem? There's no pleasing some people! :D Surely the police or LA should notice the amount of fines being issued at that junction and take action?

So he can finally move on with his life and into move into proper accommodation instead of living behind a bush

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 26,004 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

Has he campaigned the relevant authority to do something to prevent cars going down the right on that stretch? Seems like a no brainer with the amount of video he has there. I'd be more supportive of him if he won the battle here like that and move the war on somewhere else.

Can't make money if people start behaving. Buffalo is right that it is up to the police but on the same note, they obviously haven't noted a pattern of accidents there or they presumably would have done something. He could easily have made a reasonable petition to the council or met if safety was his primary concern.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,015 ✭✭✭✭Mc Love

CramCycle wrote: »
    "Have you not seen the viral videos" LOL, no, its a few thousand views in a city of millions a good chunk of those views are probably from Ireland at the minute.

This said, it is funny how many of them persist in engaging with him, they are morons. You see the smart ones immediately pull back in, but the ones who persist, you have to wonder the mentality. They would have been through the junction. I still say if his only interest was safety though he would simply sit there and film and report. That said, luckily for him he isn't in Ireland or he would have to go to court each time of the gardai even bothered and a judge or garda would blame him for some of the incidents.

He makes a good point, none of the morons will call the police and if they do, they are even bigger morons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,277 ✭✭✭km991148

Looks like all the predictions that someone was going to physically respond to Mikey were correct.

Amazing how people that were in so much of a rush that they had to drive on the wrong side of the road seemingly have loads of time to hang around and debate the point.

I seen that yesterday - but too busy for here..

Unfortunately correct on both points.

Mc Love wrote: »
    He makes a good point, none of the morons will call the police and if they do, they are even bigger morons.

Don't underestimate stupidity, we have a drug dealer in Dublin turn up at the station to report his gear taken. It was the Gardai who cleared it in a raid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,015 ✭✭✭✭Mc Love

Now that, is a special kind of stupid. I hope he was arrested on the spot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,811 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

Could it be possible that having words with a driver actually helps to improve driving quality?

https://twitter.com/righttobikeit/status/1378021257820700675?s=19

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,521 ✭✭✭MojoMaker

Good result. Cough duly softened for the good of all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,252 ✭✭✭✭Seve OB

I see a driver waiting for an opportunity to pass on a tight road in one clip.

In the other clip on a much wider road I see a driver taking his opportunity to pass, but cut it a bit tight in doing so.

Bloody amateur, how the hell does he expect to get the clicks and thumbs ups if he doesn't hide in a bush like Mikey :D

Seve OB wrote: »
    I see a driver waiting for an opportunity to pass on a tight road in one clip.

In the other clip on a much wider road I see a driver taking his opportunity to pass, but cut it a bit tight in doing so.

Please hand over your driving licence until you learn to overtake properly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,252 ✭✭✭✭Seve OB

Please hand over your driving licence until you learn to overtake properly.

Did I say that I overtake cyclists like that?

Seve OB wrote: »
    Did I say that I overtake cyclists like that?

If you think that driver was 'taking his opportunity' you really do need to learn to driver.

Could it be possible that having words with a driver actually helps to improve driving quality?

https://twitter.com/righttobikeit/status/1378021257820700675?s=19
    I'll admit I could be wrong, just a devils advocate bit below though and bare with me, I'm very cynical.
    This driver is now well behaved around one cyclist or it just happens that some drivers are good sometimes and bad others. Not saying either is the case here. Loads of drivers drive slowly on certain stretches as they are used to cameras there, they don't lift their phones on certain stretches of road as they are common for checkpoints and so on. While I would love to be wrong, those drivers Mickey catches might become better at that junction, I am doubtful they improve in general. Id put money on that if they were in traffic and someone went for it and Mickey didn't step out, they would go for it again, I hope I'm wrong. Like I said, he is doing nothing wrong but if he was in it purely for good (and there is nothing wrong with not being in it solely for the benefit of others), he'd do alot more if he just took info and reported. He would catch alot more and many people would learn to behave on the basis they either will or are close to losing their licence.

Fair play to him for knowing what grynder looks like from a distance

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 52,476 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

The ethical dilemmas of driver shaming
    the fact that he had to ask to realise right from wrong here doesn't speak well for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 496 ✭✭timmyjimmy

Another example of righttobikeit being a law onto himself. This is a shared pedestrian path in Cork:

https://twitter.com/righttobikeit/status/1380600880618147842?s=20

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,489 ✭✭✭DaveyDave

Just watched a few of his clips there he really needs to take the lane. It's ridiculous that you have to do it but you really need to force people to budge over the line. For whatever reason motorists will do everything they can to keep their wheel from crossing the lane marker.

When I pass a cyclist my car is fully in the next lane and almost always the cars behind barely move over even though there's no oncoming traffic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,860 ✭✭✭Duckjob

timmyjimmy wrote: »
    Another example of righttobikeit being a law onto himself. This is a shared pedestrian path in Cork:

"Bike lane". It's not a bike lane through the crossing. There's no clear deliniation for bike/pedestrians there, nor does there need to be. A bit of basic cop on tells you when you're going across a crossing you'll be mixing more closely with people on foot so you just need to slow down a bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 849 ✭✭✭IrishLad90

Wow, thus thread is still going and this Mikey guy has not stopped :O i thought it was just a scorned phase from him

Mc Love wrote: »
    timmyjimmy wrote: »

Duckjob wrote: »
    "Bike lane". It's not a bike lane through the crossing. There's no clear deliniation for bike/pedestrians there, nor does there need to be. A bit of basic cop on tells you when you're going across a crossing you'll be mixing more closely with people on foot so you just need to slow down a bit.
    Apparently she says to him he shouldn't be there (I don't see it or hear it, he says it in a reply), but regardless, it is a shared space, and he is moving too fast, in particular because he can clearly see her from ages away. No ifs or buts, he is in the wrong no matter what she said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 496 ✭✭timmyjimmy

Apparently she says to him he shouldn't be there (I don't see it or hear it, he says it in a reply), but regardless, it is a shared space, and he is moving too fast, in particular because he can clearly see her from ages away. No ifs or buts, he is in the wrong no matter what she said.

There's lots of examples of righttobikeit behaving in a same manner. He deletes lots of videos where he gets called out. I actually saw him with my own 2 eyes cycling the wrong way down a one way straight and then give out to someone who walked in front of him.
    I don't know but I think career bike camera men are probably the worst type of cyclist, they all seem to have a chip on their shoulder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,860 ✭✭✭Duckjob

Yeah he seems to be clinging to the argument that one side of the crossing is a bike lane and one side is pedestrian lane, apparently based on the alignment of the traffic lights at the side! As Roger in Lethal Weapon was fond of saying - "that's pretty f****n thin!"

The twitter thread smacks of someone who just can't admit when they've got it wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,170 ✭✭✭✭ED E

Every reply is telling him to cop on and he keeps digging.

ED E wrote: »
    Every reply is telling him to cop on and he keeps digging.

Except for some guy called Colin, who I think is implying that he was 100% in the right and should have mown her down (artistic license used).
    Holy f*ck, I have made mistakes on foot, bike and car on priority, you hold up your hands and say sorry, end of story.
    All I can think of is Homer Simpson shouting at the two of them to dig up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,519 ✭✭✭ozzy jr

This fella popped up in my recommended YouTube videos the other day (The Micky Fella).

At the end of some of his videos he lists the fine and points given out. Sometimes he mentions a victim surcharge. It might be £30 or thereabouts. Does he pocket that?

ozzy jr wrote: »
    This fella popped up in my recommended YouTube videos the other day.

At the end of some of his videos he lists the fine and points given out. Sometimes he mentions a victim surcharge. It might be £30 or thereabouts. Does he pocket that?

No.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,326 ✭✭✭crazy 88

No.

You have obviously audited him so we'll take your word for it.