Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part X *Read OP For Mod Warnings*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,542 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Brilliant videos going around WhatsApp of huge crowds in the grass by The Dropping Well, it actually looks like a festival.

You'd want to be a total ****ing pleb to still be sitting at home paying any attention to the bull**** restrictions at this stage.

The sad thing is those videos will act as ammo for the media/NPHET to keep the restrictions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,320 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

Brilliant videos going around WhatsApp of huge crowds in the grass by The Dropping Well, it actually looks like a festival.

You'd want to be a total ****ing pleb to still be sitting at home paying any attention to the bull**** restrictions at this stage.

You'd wanna be a ****ing pleb to be advertising it and not expect the gardai to be patrolling there tomorrow. But of course the #madlads have to ruin it for everyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,231 ✭✭✭Del Griffith

PTH2009 wrote: »
    The sad thing is those videos will act as ammo for the media/NPHET to keep the restrictions

"This isn't working.. what to do.. more of the same!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,236 ✭✭✭✭JRant

There's so many of you here that confuse NPHET's restrictions with hospitals enacting emergency plans, and therefore cancelling things like cancer screenings.

It's all the worse because not only are NPHET not responsible for the HSE emergency plans, but the primary goal of the restrictions they've brought in has been to avoid emergency plans being needed to be enacted.

You need to look at who exactly makes up NPHET.

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/National_Public_Health_Emergency_Team_(2020)

If the top brass from the HSE and DOH are not responsible for HSE and hospital planning we really are in trouble.

"Well, yeah, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

And all that'll do is encourage more to switch off from the finger-wagging

Eventually it'll get to the point where the enforcement is quietly dropped - around the same time that the actually vulnerable have been fully vaccinated. I think you can see that by the big deal that was made around the revised vaccination plan tonight.

It might finally be dawning on Micheal that regardless of NPHET, an increasing number of people are done with this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,784 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

Tenzor07 wrote: »
    "a degree of normality" to Nphet and the likes means that for the foreseeable future, masks, social distance, reduced numbers in shops/bars/public places/workplaces, pcr tests to travel...

Looks like those mad conspiracy theorists were right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,517 ✭✭✭RobitTV

Milan, taxi drivers and citizens angry at lockdown and the Draghi government block the city.

https://twitter.com/RadioSavana/status/1375389594347261954

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,234 ✭✭✭✭normanoffside

We'll be allowed to meet up outdoors on 12th April

https://twitter.com/JeremyDixonDJ/status/1376991611679350787

I often think that NPHET pray for bad weather even though the cases always seem to go up when there aren't videos of outdoor gatherings going around (i.e. the weather is sh1t and people are indoors instead)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,536 ✭✭✭Silentcorner

We are supposed to accept

That healthy people ( asymptomatic ) transmit the virus
    Variants are to be treated like a new virus.
    Nobody has immunity from a new variant.
    New variants are more deadly than all the other variants
    There are no effective theraputics
    RAT are useless but masks are effective
    There is no seasonal factor
    There is no way to invest in expanding our health service to cope with excess ICU demand.
    We can only give media attention to hysterical predictions and personalities that have proven to be completely inaccurate from the start.

The only way out is severe lock down and vaccines...we had no vaccine when we locked down first....for which we will need vaccine passports most likely....and we may vaccinate kids like they are suggesting in other countries.

Parts of the US or Europe that haven't imposed draconian lock downs are to be ignored....as do the now 60,000 medical professionals and health experts who have signed the Great Barrington Declaration.

We also have to ignore the Cost Benefit Analysis of the expensive draconian policies, because asking that question is just silly talk.

The complete f##k up our retirement homes is not to be mentioned.
    The complete f##k of protecting our borders from these deadly new variants is not to be mentioned.
    The Vitamin D deficiency factor is the talk of the far right types
    Protests are only acceptable if they are BLM related.

Varadkar on Primetime talking about following the science....are there still people out there believing these lunatics?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,571 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

How many of the young people attending it have died ? Any links to video?

I often think that NPHET pray for bad weather even though the cases always seem to go up when there aren't videos of outdoor gatherings going around (i.e. the weather is sh1t and people are indoors instead)

So the pub isn't even providing bins? Morons.

What do people expect the youth to do after 12 months? - this isn't a surprise that they gathered in the park this afternoon when the weather was lovely. Good for them.

Better then being stuck at home or going for a walk in the same location endlessly.

Alan Kelly now distancing himself from Zerocovid on Primetime

You have to laugh :D Alan Kelly has finally discovered he can't gain any political brownie points from the 'Zero Covid' fantasy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,025 ✭✭✭growleaves

Idbatterim wrote: »
    How many of the young people attending it have died ?

All of them.

RobitTV wrote: »
    What do people expect the youth to do after 12 months? - this isn't a surprise that they gathered in the park this afternoon when the weather was lovely. Good for them.

Better then being stuck at home or going for a walk in the same location endlessly.

I walked along the grand canal today, people having socially distanced picnics and putting their empties in a bag to be disposed of.

A load of skangers skulling vodka and 7 up and leaving their **** everywhere is a dick move, and it's not the bauld dr Tony's fault.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

Meh. What the hell do they expect at this stage. They make a massive cohort of young people unemployed for the guts of a year and expect them to sit at home twiddling their thumbs until they say it’s safe to resume life. You know what would get them out of the parks and away from gatherings, putting them back in work!
    Now the littering, no excuse for that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,678 ✭✭✭Multipass

Plus the elderly mother is probably vaccinated at this stage, and if she isn’t maybe she should consider staying home for the few weeks left until she is.
    People are finished with this crap, young people gathering is normal and healthy. Time for the worried to stay home and wait for their vaccine.

hynesie08 wrote: »
    I walked along the grand canal today, people having socially distanced picnics and putting their empties in a bag to be disposed of.

A load of skangers skulling vodka and 7 up and leaving their **** everywhere is a dick move, and it's not the bauld dr Tony's fault.

I can understand where you come from, but to be fair, they've been doing for this years. Go to any festival or park on a sunny day in Ireland pre-covid and this has always been the case. I don't want people gathering causing a scene or throwing rubbish around. But the weather was so class today and they've probably had enough, like the rest of us. They want some enjoyment with other people.

It's going to be hard to convince younger people to stay away.

hynesie08 wrote: »
    So the pub isn't even providing bins? Morons.

What's it got to do with the pub?
    Most are drinking carry outs by the look of it.

This is a very safe gathering.
    Even when they were drinking takeaway pints in October/November the cases were not rising. Outdoor transmission is not a thing. When there aren't videos of outdoor gatherings you can be damn sure it's because they are indoors and in private.

Carefree88 wrote: »
    Reassuring and all but would you work in a covid ward maskless with just a vaccine as protection?

How long do you think you'd last without getting infected?

Will vaccinated GP's see covid symptom people without a mask? Eg Flu people like they have done for years?

I don't think you'd go to that Covid ward maskless and I don't think GPs will be seeing Flu symptom people maskless

That's confidence in a vaccine to do that, that's whats required long term, till then variants will be big news unfortunately.

I would, yes. I'd even do it without a vaccine. I'd be willing to take the risk. But I appreciate that other people wouldn't.

You mean GPs won't see someone with flu symptoms maskless from now on? Even though they have been doing it for years?

The Govt ****ed the messaging and appear clueless. Of course young people will get on with their lives.

I can understand where you come from, but to be fair, they've been doing for this years. Go to any festival or park on a sunny day in Ireland pre-covid and this has always been the case. I don't want people gathering causing a scene or throwing rubbish around. But the weather was so class today and they've probably had enough, like the rest of us. They want some enjoyment with other people.

It's going to be hard to convince younger people to stay away.

It's scumbags being scumbags, and I'd bet that rather than being at breaking point, the lads in that video haven't been exactly abiding by the restrictions anyway.

I'm not going to call someone out cause they had a burrito and a beer sitting 6 feet away from their mates on the grass on a day like today, but that's not what that video is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,536 ✭✭✭Silentcorner

Young people need to get out and mingle and f##k the begrudgers.

Quarantining Healthy people is not just anti science, it is deranged.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,457 ✭✭✭✭Oscar Bravo

Littering/dumping over the past 12 months is a pandemic in itself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 185 ✭✭dublinbando

You'd work in covid wards with no vaccine and PPE?

Ok.

GPs don't see people with flu/covid symptoms maskless

You think they do?

The few times I've been to the GP with a flu or worse, chest infection, they weren't wearing a mask.

Ok.

You think they do?

Are you talking bout right now or historically?

Because my family and I have seen plenty of maskless docs with flu-like symptoms prior to last year.

Ok.

You think they do?

I would. But I wouldn't be allowed to.

You mean up until March 2020 GPs wore masks every year when someone would present to them with flu symptoms?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭The Big Easy

How?!

They are a direct result of the restrictions and the pent up frustration within everyone especially the young.

Nphet and the Government have completely mismanaged this from start to finish.

Littering/dumping over the past 12 months is a pandemic in itself.

Probably more a matter of there being less people out and about picking it up. I usually try to grab a few bits whenever I go walking but I’m not going nearly as far and wide right now.