If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

What exactly is happening with AstraZeneca?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,746 ✭✭✭✭astrofool

Bambi wrote: »
    Seem very angry there, emotion getting the better of you, which seems to be a thing in this thread.

I see you answered that, but ignored this, any comment?
    astrofool wrote: »
    They are also aware that the solo deals only begin shipping after the EU deal has been fully satisfied, thus the deal is effectively for potential booster shots and for COVAX.

But you were fully aware of that when you posted about the side deals weren't you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 497 ✭✭loughside

RobMc59 wrote: »

Just another EU failure then....

How humiliating and embarrassing - yet again the British have to come to your rescue :pac:

I note on observation of the box of phials from the Oxford Astra vaccine they sport a miniature Union Jack on each bottle, :)

Happy jabbing guys, it`s good stuff !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,088 ✭✭✭✭BonnieSituation

Care to explain what is good news about the UK government offering us vaccine surplus that they don't have?

Thanks for alerting us to this breaking story from 'today'.

https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2058150676&page=207

I mean, it has been discussed on here for almost 24hrs. But no matter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 221 ✭✭Tippbhoy1

loughside wrote: »
    Just another EU failure then....

How humiliating and embarrassing - yet again the British have to come to your rescue :pac:

I note on observation of the box of phials from the Oxford Astra vaccine they sport a miniature Union Jack on each bottle, :)

Happy jabbing guys, it`s good stuff !

Nah, just the Brits trying to stay relevant with the usual fake news to their minions. They don’t have any spare vaccines, hence the use of the term “might”. What “might” happen of course is sufficient reason for celebration in Blighty these days.

If the EU turns off the tap for a while they “might” not even be able to finish their own rollout in the next 6 months. Lucky An Taoiseach stood up for Blighty there during the week when the fate of the UK rollout was agreed at the European Council.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,831 ✭✭✭RobMc59

Care to explain what is good news about the UK government offering us vaccine surplus that they don't have?

Thanks for alerting us to this breaking story from 'today'.

https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2058150676&page=207

I mean, it has been discussed on here for almost 24hrs. But no matter.

Your link doesn't work bonnie and your sarcasm is uncalled for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,088 ✭✭✭✭BonnieSituation

Your link doesn't work bonnie and your sarcasm is uncalled for.

I dunno. Your input was one of gloating about some British benevolence, so perhaps ignorance would be more appropriate than 'sarcasm'. Either way, I was making a point that there's nothing 'new' about your post and that it has been in fact, discussed throughout the day since it broke LAST NIGHT.

The link works for me and I would wager most other posters here, try the link "incognito" or in a different browser where you're not signed into Boards.IE

Tippbhoy1 wrote: »
    Nah, just the Brits trying to stay relevant with the usual fake news to their minions. They don’t have any spare vaccines, hence the use of the term “might”. What “might” happen of course is sufficient reason for celebration in Blighty these days.

If the EU turns off the tap for a while they “might” not even be able to finish their own rollout in the next 6 months. Lucky An Taoiseach stood up for Blighty there during the week when the fate of the UK rollout was agreed at the European Council.

Ah, brave face there TwitBhoy1, doesn`t alter the fact your EU has fecked you over yet again.
    The humiliating sight of Hundreds of your citizens chancing their arm rolling up to our vaccine centres tells it`s own story

https://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-9397309/Hundreds-desperate-Irish-residents-try-book-jabs-NORTHERN-Ireland.html
    Hundreds of desperate Irish residents try to book jabs in NORTHERN Ireland where half the population has been vaccinated - compared to just 10% south of the border

• People from as far as Dublin and Galway have even been making the journey
    • Around half the adult population has now been inoculated in Northern Ireland
    • Head of NI vaccine drive Patricia Donnelly urged ROI residents to stay away

Shameful that the EU has forced the ill and the elderly to do this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,719 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

Ah, brave face there TwitBhoy1, doesn`t alter the fact your EU has fecked you over yet again.
    The humiliating sight of Hundreds of your citizens chancing their arm rolling up to our vaccine centres tells it`s own story

https://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-9397309/Hundreds-desperate-Irish-residents-try-book-jabs-NORTHERN-Ireland.html
    Hundreds of desperate Irish residents try to book jabs in NORTHERN Ireland where half the population has been vaccinated - compared to just 10% south of the border

They're the ones being vaccinated, around 750,000 people so far (around 19% of the adult population).

Dude, trying to insult people’s handles and basing your information off what everyone knows are lying jokes of media outlets, you’re embarrassing yourself (again).

Tippbhoy1 wrote: »
    Dude, trying to insult people’s handles and basing your information off what everyone knows are lying jokes of media outlets, you’re embarrassing yourself (again).

Oh dear, lets have another go,

try this joke of a media outlet then, from your own RTE...

https://www.rte.ie/news/2021/0323/1205728-northern-ireland-vaccinations/

Don't travel North for jab, says NI, as hundreds turned away

People living in the Republic of Ireland have been warned to stop booking Covid-19 vaccination jabs at centres north of the border unless they are registered with a doctor there or have an NHS number.
    Hundreds of people from south of the border, some travelling from as far as Dublin and Galway, have been turned away from centres across Northern Ireland in recent days.

Disgraceful, truly disgraceful.

Oh dear, lets have another go,

try this joke of a media outlet then, from your own RTE...

https://www.rte.ie/news/2021/0323/1205728-northern-ireland-vaccinations/

Don't travel North for jab, says NI, as hundreds turned away

People living in the Republic of Ireland have been warned to stop booking Covid-19 vaccination jabs at centres north of the border unless they are registered with a doctor there or have an NHS number.
    Hundreds of people from south of the border, some travelling from as far as Dublin and Galway, have been turned away from centres across Northern Ireland in recent days.

Disgraceful, truly disgraceful.

A few selfish people trying to jump the queue.
    Another victory for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

I see you answered that, but ignored this, any comment?

That the Germans agreement outside the EU is only supposed to kick in after the EU supplies were met? It's been public knowledge since the deal first came to light, why would anyone ignore it? That would be as silly as pretending that Germany didn't break ranks and procure outside the EU scheme in direct violation of the EUs ban (Which I understood to be legally binding :)). The delayed delivery is a fig leaf for the EU so they can let Germany play by its rule book as per usual.

And fair play to the Germans, they had enough foresight of the clusterf**k to come with the EU scheme and hedged their bets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,699 ✭✭✭Wolf359f

That the Germans agreement outside the EU is only supposed to kick in after the EU supplies were met? It's been public knowledge since the deal first came to light, why would anyone ignore it? That would be as silly as pretending that Germany didn't break ranks and procure outside the EU scheme in direct violation of the EUs ban (Which I understood to be legally binding :)). The delayed delivery is a fig leaf for the EU so they can let Germany play by its rule book as per usual.

And fair play to the Germans, they had enough foresight of the clusterf**k to come with the EU scheme and hedged their bets.

The agreement was the EU would get their doses first and any extra deals would come after. Now there will come a point in time where Pfizer are delivering their promised doses to the EU and they may produce more and that excess will go the Germany or any other countries who bought outside the EU procurement. So if they are contracted to deliver 100mil doses in Q2 based on ~8mil a week to the EU and they produce 12mil, the 4 mil extra could go to Germany or any other countries who done side deals. Why do you think Germany invested so much in the new plant and ordered well in excess of Pfizer doses.

There's no ban, countries can make deals to procure any vaccine they want as long as any existing contract with the EU is completed first.

You seem to think this is some sort of EU disharmony, it isn't, it's a perfect example of countries following the EU guidelines while being autonomous to make their own deals which don't impact upon the EU.

Hungary has been procuring Sputnik and other countries have also been doing side deals with other countries full knowledge that they are doing so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,116 ✭✭✭Melanchthon

There's no ban, countries can make deals to procure any vaccine they want as long as any existing contract with the EU is completed first.

You seem to think this is some sort of EU disharmony, it isn't, it's a perfect example of countries following the EU guidelines while being autonomous to make their own deals which don't impact upon the EU.

Hungary has been procuring Sputnik and other countries have also been doing side deals with other countries full knowledge that they are doing so.

Hasn't this argument been basically settled before anyway?
    The German deal was probably against the rules, otherwise the Commission would have directly said it was allowed when questioned and got rid of the controversy.

The German deal has no material impact on the EU commitments so they are letting it slide. It's a theoretical but not practical breach.

https://www.politico.eu/article/germanys-coronavirus-vaccine-side-deal-at-odds-with-legally-binding-eu-pact/

If you can find a senior Commission figure stating the German deal was within the letter of the rules I would be interested.

The German deal was probably against the rules, otherwise the Commission would have directly said it was allowed when questioned and got rid of the controversy.

The German deal has no material impact on the EU commitments so they are letting it slide. It's a theoretical but not practical breach.

https://www.politico.eu/article/germanys-coronavirus-vaccine-side-deal-at-odds-with-legally-binding-eu-pact/

If you can find a senior Commission figure stating the German deal was within the letter of the rules I would be interested.

Is the onus not on those who say Germany breached the rules to provide proof and not for Germany or anyone else to prove it was within the rules?

You're just making this up, there was no rule against making deals outside the EU, it's that simple, just as if Ireland wanted to go alone outside the EU, we were, and still are, free to do so.

Did you even read the thing? So Von Der Leyen was lying then?

Here's another source, if the German deal was clearly within the rules the Commission would have said directly.

https://www.euractiv.com/section/coronavirus/news/commission-takes-evasive-action-over-germanys-vaccine-side-deal/

You're just making this up, there was no rule against making deals outside the EU, it's that simple, just as if Ireland wanted to go alone outside the EU, we were, and still are, free to do so.

Your saying I am making this up when you clearly don't have a baldy notion about this topic at all.

Here is the relevant text.
    Article 7: Obligation not to negotiate separately

By signing the present Agreement, the Participating Member States confirm their
    participation in the procedure and agree not to launch their own procedures for advance
    purchase of that vaccine with the same manufacturers .

The fact you bring up the Hungarian deal relating to Sputnik is weird because the EU doesnt have an agreement with Sputnik. The only reason to bring it up is if you don't actually understand the agreement we are talking about, or do understand it but have made it your task to defend them too the hilt even though it doesn't matter a damn.

Source
    https://ec.europa.eu/info/sites/info/files/annex_to_the_commission_decision_on_approving_the_agreement_with_member_states_on_procuring_covid-19_vaccines_on_behalf_of_the_member_states_and_related_procedures_.pdf

Wolf359f wrote: »
    Is the onus not on those who say Germany breached the rules to provide proof and not for Germany or anyone else to prove it was within the rules?

See the actual agreement text, No action is being taken because the German deal makes no material difference to the EU agreement, this is why no commission person is directly saying the EU isn't in breach of the rules. Same as just because someone is not charged doesn't mean that someone hasn't broken the letter of the law, look at the UK and Dominic Cummings as a good example.

Now I will probably get asked why I keep going on about this and that it doesn't matter at all, which is actually true but it doesn't take away from the fact of what the document actually says.

Did you even read the thing? So Von Der Leyen was lying then?

Here's another source, if the German deal was clearly within the rules the Commission would have said directly.

https://www.euractiv.com/section/coronavirus/news/commission-takes-evasive-action-over-germanys-vaccine-side-deal/

Your saying I am making this up when you clearly don't have a baldy notion about this topic at all.

Here is the relevant text.

The fact you bring up the Hungarian deal relating to Sputnik is weird because the EU doesnt have an agreement with Sputnik. The only reason to bring it up is if you don't actually understand the agreement we are talking about, or do understand it but have made it your task to defend them too the hilt even though it doesn't matter a damn.

Source
    https://ec.europa.eu/info/sites/info/files/annex_to_the_commission_decision_on_approving_the_agreement_with_member_states_on_procuring_covid-19_vaccines_on_behalf_of_the_member_states_and_related_procedures_.pdf

See the actual agreement text, No action is being taken because the German deal makes no material difference to the EU agreement, this is why no commission person is directly saying the EU isn't in breach of the rules. Same as just because someone is not charged doesn't mean that someone hasn't broken the letter of the law, look at the UK and Dominic Cummings as a good example.

Now I will probably get asked why I keep going on about this and that it doesn't matter at all, which is actually true but it doesn't take away from the fact of what the document actually says.
    In case an APA containing an obligation to acquire vaccine doses has been concluded with a specific manufacturer, the Member States having made use of the opt-out provided under the present Agreement can enter into separate negotiations with the same manufacturer after the APA under the present Agreement has been signed.
    Did German opt-out of any additional purchases of Pfizer, if they did then that clause could absolve them in regard to separate separate negotiations?

Wolf359f wrote: »
    Did German opt-out of any additional purchases of Pfizer, if they did then that clause could absolve them in regard to separate separate negotiations?

As far as I read it, and I am not a contract person at all. I think it is refering to this.

Article 4: APAs containing an obligation to acquire vaccine doses

Where the Commission intends to conclude, in conformity with the present agreement,
    an APA containing an obligation to acquire vaccine doses, it shall inform the
    Participating Member States of such intention and the detailed terms. In case a
    Participating Member State does not agree with the conclusion of an APA containing an
    obligation to acquire vaccine doses or its terms, it has the right to opt out by explicit
    notification to the Commission within 5 working days after the Commission has
    communicated its intention to conclude the APA. All Participating Member States not
    having opted out within the period of 5 working days are deemed to have authorised the
    Commission to negotiate and conclude the APA with the vaccine manufacturer in their
    name and on their behalf

Which Germany AFAIK didn't do.

Even if this is not the case it's pretty clear that talking about the Hungarian Sputnik deal indicates a lack of understanding of why people say that the German deal may have violated the agreement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,515 ✭✭✭fly_agaric

Seem very angry there, emotion getting the better of you, which seems to be a thing in this thread. People like yourself putting "side deal" in quotes when Germanys deals outside of the EUs scheme are public knowledge, or the genius who wasn't even aware of them.

Yeah I get annoyed about deliberate distortions. Your own postings later show you are following this topic closely and very well aware that Germany was getting no extra vaccines before other EU countries as a result of their side deal (quoted because that's how you described it).
    So you omitted that small detail because it doesn't support your argument that Germany shows no solidarity towards other countries in the EU & has no committment to the EU.

Afaik (maybe you can fill me in if seeing as you're are following all of this so closely) Germany has been heavily involved in R & D for 2 of the most promising vaccines.

1 of these vaccines is approved and already the mainstay in use across most of the EU incl. Ireland so far. Germany has considerably more resources (larger economy, more industry) than the UK.

Despite this, Germany had not received extra supplies of these 2 vaccines thus far and it's vaccination rate is similar to the rest of the EU.

That is practical, real world evidence of solidarity despite the leading question "Should we question Germany's commitment to the union?" + your statement "We're paying a price alright but its not for solidarity".

What have the German's ever done to you Bambi?
    Ranting about Boris and spin by the British Press rather than accepting the issue was a failure of the EU. I dunno what to tell you, fuhrer bunker seems the best analogy to this behaviour

Don't think I'm guilty of "rants" about Boris or the British press or refusing to accept failures of the EU as regards it's vaccination programme. If I wanted to criticse people for it, Hitler's bunker and WW2 would not be 1st thing that pops to mind as appropriate. 2 world wars and 1 world cup I suppose? However I would really advise taking what the British media says about the EU or Germany (esp. their tabloids) with a very large grain of salt.

I think there would be a problem if it's with same companies the EU already has contracts with (which I assume would be most of the large Western pharma companies that have or are developing a vaccine).
    That is what the IMO unfair & harsh criticism of Germany was about. I am not clued in to what is going on there but can only imagine the political pressures they must be under over speed of EU vaccine rollout (possibly more comparing with the US than the UK), given points I made above.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,581 ✭✭✭JTMan

Now Canada are suspending use of AZ/Oxford in those under 55 ...

https://twitter.com/DFisman/status/1376591481079787520

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,358 ✭✭✭CruelSummer

Does anyone know statistically, what is the increased risk of the clotting condition to those who are under 55 that get AstraZeneca.

Kinda wish I didn't get the Astra Zeneca vaccine now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92,394 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Is this (AZ) vaccine 1 dose which only covers you for 4 months?

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    Is this (AZ) vaccine 1 dose which only covers you for 4 months?

It takes 3 weeks after the first dose for it to start to work. 12 weeks after that you get the second dose. It then takes 15 weeks for full protection.
    I don't know anything about only covered for 4 months.

15 weeks overall

How long ago did you get it and have you had any blood clots yet? Because if you haven't just got it in the last few days and nothing has happened yet, its not going to

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,654 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

Did you feel tired after it ?
    I had it at 2pm , was falling asleep by 9 and was in bed at 9.30. Slept till2.30 am them wide awake !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,212 ✭✭✭masterboy123

I got AstraZeneca first dose about 4 weeks ago.
    Had severe muscle ache and mild fever for the first 36 hours. Been grand since then.
    I am male and in mid 30s.