Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mart Price Tracker

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,225 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

50HX wrote: »
    If he's buying for stocking rate better value in hex/fr bullocks

One advantage of buying Friesians is you are not overly tied to U30 months. As well you if they go from O- into O= you are ahead. The trick is trying to buy a decent enough type Friesian

Another option is buying bullocks that are over or going over 36 months. You will often buy them cheap enough. It just a matter them of getting the weight onto them

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,905 ✭✭✭Bleating Lamb

50HX wrote: »
    If he's buying for stocking rate better value in hex/fr bullocks

Same man wouldn’t have them around the place even if he got them for free!:)

It’s only a way of holding a few pound together for him and he’d be happier looking at an animal without right angles on it ;)

The problem is the only 2 year old hungry stores you have a chance of buying nowadays are Friesians

Slava Ukrainii

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 1,935 Mod ✭✭✭✭Albert Johnson

I'm assuming that the same man is only going to hold them for the 7 month's retention and go back to the ring come November? A bundle of middle of the road FRx type store bullock's in a North West mart coming up to Xmas will sell as well as Aran jumpers in the Sahara.

You'd be as well to try and buy a few fair type growthy continental bullock's, try to get 120-180kg on them between now and resale and hopefully they'll gain €150 or more between now and then. The grass will be ate, money turning over and the sub drawn. There's a reason that there's plenty of lad's to buy a CHx bullock of all kinds each spring, they do the business for summer grazer's and although you might not get rich you'll cover all the bases. I'd leave the chancey types and off colour stock to the professionals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,125 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

zetor 4911 wrote: »
    Noticed that, I would say in fairness to Carnaross they seem to be running a good show. I also noticed that Gortalea have gone to great effort to block the view around the ring.

Well they have to. They got a very strong warning not too long ago to cop on or be shut for a month

.....Allegedly

The problem is the only 2 year old hungry stores you have a chance of buying nowadays are Friesians

Would be year olds I will be buying for him.

I'm assuming that the same man is only going to hold them for the 7 month's retention and go back to the ring come November? A bundle of middle of the road FRx type store bullock's in a North West mart coming up to Xmas will sell as well as Aran jumpers in the Sahara.

You'd be as well to try and buy a few fair type growthy continental bullock's, try to get 120-180kg on them between now and resale and hopefully they'll gain €150 or more between now and then. The grass will be ate, money turning over and the sub drawn. There's a reason that there's plenty of lad's to buy a CHx bullock of all kinds each spring, they do the business for summer grazer's and although you might not get rich you'll cover all the bases. I'd leave the chancey types and off colour stock to the professionals.

He has good clean proofy ground,most of bullocks I bought last year put on over 200kg from April to November and only got a shake of nuts for a fortnight before selling to leave them easy to get in for loading.Were Chx and Limx but werent fancy types,just good straight cattle when bought.Can't remember exactly but they made about 175 euro from buying to selling including vets fees/dosing.

Would be year olds I will be buying for him.

Even less likely to find Continental stores that are hungry as yearlings. Lads have them in sheds feeding them 2-3kgs of ration. At this stage even hungry yearlings fro. Friesians, Hereford's and AA have all moved through the system at this stage usually. It's much easier to pick them up in February. Actually from late January and February you get lads shifting runner's off cows that are 2-300 kgs. These calves are getting too heavy to let under cows so lads shift them on. You buy them at 2.5-3/kg .

They are not like Autumn ones which get peunomia easily. Only problem is they do not know an electric fence and it can be a struggle to find them within the parish when they take off

Slava Ukrainii

Even less likely to find Continental stores that are hungry as yearlings. Lads have them in sheds feeding them 2-3kgs of ration. At this stage even hungry yearlings fro. Friesians, Hereford's and AA have all moved through the system at this stage usually. It's much easier to pick them up in February. Actually from late January and February you get lads shifting runner's off cows that are 2-300 kgs. These calves are getting too heavy to let under cows so lads shift them on. You buy them at 2.5-3/kg .

They are not like Autumn ones which get peunomia easily. Only problem is they do not know an electric fence and it can be a struggle to find them within the parish when they take off

Any lad that intends to sell weanlings or stores in the spring usually gives them meal before sale to put a bloom on them. If you see a bundle of raggy stores then there owner probably intends to summer them at which stage they should have caught up with cattle that were fed meal over winter. I always like to have young stock going to grass as proper stores and it's amazing the thrive they do compared to "hot" types for the first few weeks.

A relation of my own was complaining recently that his stores have failed in condition the last few week's. There outwintered but getting ad lib silage and a good shot of meal. I said it was the recent bad weather and to cut out the meal altogether as they'll be going to grass inside a month. He looked at me like I'd two heads and said it's forwards not backwards he wants them to go. The idea that they'll power ahead after turnout as opposed to failing for the first few weeks due to not getting meal is lost on him. Some lad's reckon the only way to keep cattle moving involves a bag and trough regardless of the time of year.

He has good clean proofy ground,most of bullocks I bought last year put on over 200kg from April to November and only got a shake of nuts for a fortnight before selling to leave them easy to get in for loading.Were Chx and Limx but werent fancy types,just good straight cattle when bought.Can't remember exactly but they made about 175 euro from buying to selling including vets fees/dosing.

There's nothing wrong with those sort of results and all things considered I'd rate that as a successful outcome for summer grazing. Stock are perhaps a shade dearer than this time last year but I'd be aiming for buying similar types again and looking to repeat the performance. In my mind summer grazing revolves around 2 key aspects and it's there that the profit is made or lost.

Firstly purchase price is key, you'll never buy them all cheap but avoid dear stock like the plague. If there too dear the first day you're onto a loser straight away in 95% of cases and if there's any hiccups along the way you're into the red immediately. Secondly you need good weight gain over the summer, I'm not advocating stuffing them with meal but they need to grow and gain weight and or frame. Stock are usually dearer in the spring than the autumn so you'll need extra kgs to counteract the reduction in price per kilo. If there bought right and kept moving forward over the summer they should leave a small margin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 345 ✭✭dodo mommy

Sold a few yearlings bullocks lately
    420 Lmx €1050
    410 Lmx €1050
    375 Lmx €920
    385 Lmx €1030
    315 Lm €960

They went through early on in the sale. Their seemed to be more of a bit in the trade later in the day. :-(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,609 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

dodo mommy wrote: »
    420 Lmx €1050
    410 Lmx €1050
    375 Lmx €920
    385 Lmx €1030
    315 Lm €960

They went through early on in the sale. Their seemed to be more of a bit in the trade later in the day. :-(

Still good prices tho

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,804 ✭✭✭Cavanjack

dodo mommy wrote: »
    420 Lmx €1050
    410 Lmx €1050
    375 Lmx €920
    385 Lmx €1030
    315 Lm €960

They done well. If the man that bough them sells as stores in the back end he’ll do well to get 1150 for them.

Cavanjack wrote: »
    They done well. If the man that bough them sells as stores in the back end he’ll do well to get 1150 for them.
    They are 380 as average at 1k average cost + fees and transport. I expect you would get 200 kgs on them over a summer grazing. At that they should be hitting above the 1200 euro.

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,804 ✭✭✭Cavanjack

They are 380 as average at 1k average cost + fees and transport. I expect you would get 200 kgs on them over a summer grazing. At that they should be hitting above the 1200 euro.

A good operator will get 200kg on them alright but many’s the limousine store can be only 480kg at the end of the second grazing season and be bought for under €1100. If they’ve a bit of feeding in them now they’ll be two months on grass before they start thriving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,835 ✭✭✭✭Water John

These are the organic cattle I decided to offload in Kilmallock yesterday:
    521kg Red Lm €1,470
    581kg Ch €1,480
    503kg Ch €1,340
    540kg Black Lm €1,420
    535kg Ch €1,170
    Last guy looked imperfect, so fine.
    Very happy, makes room also to set oats. Lad was ploughing yesterday until the rain stopped him. Hopefully get that in this week.

Water John wrote: »
    521kg Red Lm €1,470
    581kg Ch €1,480
    503kg Ch €1,340
    540kg Black Lm €1,420
    535kg Ch €1,170
    Very happy, makes room also to set oats. Lad was ploughing yesterday until the rain stopped him. Hopefully get that in this week.

Good prices accross the lot over 2.5/ kg and if he was excluded it was about 2.7/ kg.

Last one will probably leave the most to whoever bought them

Slava Ukrainii

Water John wrote: »
    521kg Red Lm €1,470
    581kg Ch €1,480
    503kg Ch €1,340
    540kg Black Lm €1,420
    535kg Ch €1,170

It's some touch for the first bullock and you done very well across the board. Was there much cattle in it? There was almost 300 in Drumshanbo the previous Saturday with a strong trade particularly for anything suitable to kill in short to medium term.

There were 6 in the Red Lm lot and 4 in each of the CH lots, 16 cattle in total. Ch were almost pure Ch, mothers Ch too.
    I reckon organic made about a €200/250 diff on each. One buyer asked me what were they eating? My silage wasn't actually great, plenty seeds but it had a handy bit of red clover. I think it's rocket fuel. Crop was fairly stifled by the oats it was undersown to, ploughed in again.
    Wish the buyers luck with them. I believe everyone needs a twist.
    About 350 cattle yesterday, strong trade.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,427 ✭✭✭SuperTortoise

Great prices fair play Water John.
    I sold a few yesterday, will post up prices in a bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,837 ✭✭✭lab man

Took 4 to ennis today 3 light bullocks 2 lm 1 ch bullocks and a lm heifer
    Lm bk 265 kg 750e 8mts
    Ch 330 990e 9mts
    A bucket reared calf just to see wat hed make gave 50 euro for him april last year
    300kg 490e lmx took him home.
    1 lm heifer 265 kg 750 8mts
    Happy with these prices
    The bucket lad is leaving prob 250 to 280 profit do ye think twas a mistake taking him home ?

lab man wrote: »
    Took 4 to ennis today 3 light bullocks 2 lm 1 ch bullocks and a lm heifer
    Lm bk 265 kg 750e 8mts
    Ch 330 990e 9mts
    A bucket reared calf just to see wat hed make gave 50 euro for him april last year
    300kg 490e lmx took him home.
    1 lm heifer 265 kg 750 8mts
    Happy with these prices
    The bucket lad is leaving prob 250 to 280 profit do ye think twas a mistake taking him home ?

If you've place for him over the summer then I wouldn't be afraid of holding him until the autumn. You've the hard work done between rearing and wintering him and he's the sort that should thrive when he gets to grass. Without seeing him in the flesh it's hard to say but he didn't do too bad so far if he's 300kg and I'd be hoping to have him 450kg or more by the autumn. It's a different story if your stuck for space but I'd still consider that a poor price and would have been thinking he's worth €2 a kilo atm.

I sold 3 yearling bullocks for a neighbour last week, they'd usually be sold as weanlings last November but he was restricted with Tb. All March and April 2020 born and LM bred
    450kg €1060 (Black LM and the pick of them)
    355kg €900 (Average red LM)
    340kg €810 (Middle of the road mousey LM)

I thought it the price of them and he was happy with how they averaged. However I was thinking that the 2 first bullocks would hardly have gotten €200 from November and the last 1 wouldn't have gotten much with €100. I'd sell his weanlings the last few year's and it would be rare for him to get less than €700 for a bull weanling and he'd often clich €900 for the pick of them. Let's say they'd probably have averaged near €800 last autumn and take feeding from now until then, they'd have the difference eaten. There's one time to sell suckler weanlings and that's either off the cow or as a store the following autumn imo, over wintering them is a fools game I always think.

I sold 3 yearling bullocks for a neighbour last week, they'd usually be sold as weanlings last November but he was restricted with Tb. All March and April 2020 born and LM bred

I thought it the price of them and he was happy with how they averaged. However I was thinking that the 2 first bullocks would hardly have gotten €200 from November and the last 1 wouldn't have gotten much with €100. I'd sell his weanlings the last few year's and it would be rare for him to get less than €700 for a bull weanling and he'd often clich €900 for the pick of them. Let's say they'd probably have averaged near €800 last autumn and take feeding from now until then, they'd have the difference eaten. There's one time to sell suckler weanlings and that's either off the cow or as a store the following autumn imo, over wintering them is a fools game I always think.

Depends when your calving them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,293 ✭✭✭Hard Knocks

Would they be any dearer in a few weeks when the grass in in full flight
    Generally sell in autumn but won’t throw them away either
    Have seen some that aren’t selling well in Autumn might do better in the spring

If you've place for him over the summer then I wouldn't be afraid of holding him until the autumn. You've the hard work done between rearing and wintering him and he's the sort that should thrive when he gets to grass. Without seeing him in the flesh it's hard to say but he didn't do too bad so far if he's 300kg and I'd be hoping to have him 450kg or more by the autumn. It's a different story if your stuck for space but I'd still consider that a poor price and would have been thinking he's worth €2 a kilo atm.

Sound Albert he has plenty room he be let off now as I said tis just for experience about bucket calves as I've bought 15 last year and 25 this year I'll write todays price on his card and hell be sold at about 27 mts I'll be trying to get them to about 650 kg 700 kg at that stage but ya I thought at 300 kg hed make 600e or so the faster calf weighing is brought in the better

Would the second residency make much of a difference cause after me there was a few nice lm with 3 movements 350 kg making 450 euro

You're heading for Easter Monday and the people largely tied to a job will be out to get animals to eat the grass for the summer. I wouldn't delay long. Certainly not worth it, you putting the animals out for a few weeks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,716 ✭✭✭Jb1989

Would they be any dearer in a few weeks when the grass in in full flight
    Generally sell in autumn but won’t throw them away either
    Have seen some that aren’t selling well in Autumn might do better in the spring

Very doubful. Grass buyers are buying their quota now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,293 ✭✭✭Hard Knocks

Jb1989 wrote: »
    Very doubful. Grass buyers are buying their quota now.

Around here cattle aren’t out till mid to late April

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 111 ✭✭bosallagh88

Yea often wondered how much extra it cost to take them weaned calves to 450 kgs compared to selling at 300 to 350 kgs for nearly a thousand for a good sweet one when the stiffer 450 kg calf is doing well to make 1100 or 1150