Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part IX *Read OP For Mod Warnings*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,777 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

450k a year and that lad still hasn't delivered a central IT system for patient records..

The HSE is a vehicle for enrichment and not much else

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 550 ✭✭✭Sobit1964

Tork wrote: »
    So if you get off the plane at Dublin Airport and don't indicate that you've come from an at-risk country, you can avoid being quarantined?

Its required on most airlines that you provide in advance of flying a negative PCR test from an approved lab. The antigen ones via a lab, or indeed the antigen ones you can buy in regular supermarkets on the continent aren't suitable. These tests have a QR code that provides a certificate from the lab in question.

No checking is done, nor is a certificate asked for beyond what you need to upload to print your boarding pass.

This is based on Ryanair.

Its a trivial matter to gain some paperwork saying that you are travelling for essential reasons due to employment. This will only be asked for from overzealous gardai. Its a trivial matter to leave Ireland and setup elsewhere assuming you can WFH/online.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 130 ✭✭Boggerman12

And what prey tell is the other part of the solution?

Another mass

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,883 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

our sluggish vaccination program continues, but we are ramping up testing :-

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/ireland/irish-news/walk-in-testing-to-be-introduced-in-areas-with-high-incidence-of-covid-1.4518329?mode=sample&a

Numbers will remain high , so lockdown will continue for months and well into summer - no ****ing plan to end this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 60 ✭✭Apoapsis Rex

NIMAN wrote: »
    Did I hear earlier than Germany is going for a total lockdown, where even food shopping is closed for 4 days?

That's probably what needed to be done at the start of all this. Tell people to shop for a week and then shut everything.

Instead of having 3 months of level 5, with the roads jammed with tens of thousands still battering into work every day.

They are facing "a new pandemic" as Merkel put it. Whether there is a new variant there we will have to see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Captain_Crash

They are facing "a new pandemic" as Merkel put it. Whether there is a new variant there we will have to see.

Ahh sure we had a whole new virus and it was grand!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,883 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

its the UK / Kent variant that we have had since Christmas - and UK now defeating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,517 ✭✭✭RobitTV

Prime Time would really lift the spirits of the nation. It's full of joy and hope each week :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,936 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

I know we are all mad at the slow pace of vaccination here, but just watched the BBC news report on Germany, and they are just as mad.

Normally Germany is efficient in things they do, but they seem to have made a balls of this too.

Their biggest vaccination centre can do 14000 people a day, and they only have vaccines to do 2000.

Appears Europe wide, the eu have fecked this up royally.

I know we are all mad at the slow pace of vaccination here, but just watched the BBC news report on Germany, and they are just as mad.

Normally Germany is efficient in things they do, but they seem to have made a balls of this too.

Their biggest vaccination centre can do 14000 people a day, and they only have vaccines to do 2000.

Appears Europe wide, the eu have fecked this up royally.

This is in part due to vaccine reluctancy and the royal balls up they have made by causing doubt and acting like anti vaxxers when it came to the AZ vaccine.

In some main EU countries over 50% of the population are saying 'non' to getting vaccinated. This is 100% on the politicians and their silly games.

Ireland and the UK dont have this problem to anywhere close to the same degree.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,637 ✭✭✭votecounts

Sobit1964 wrote: »
    This is in part due to vaccine reluctancy and the royal balls up they have made by causing doubt and acting like anti vaxxers when it came to the AZ vaccine.

In some main EU countries over 50% of the population are saying 'non' to getting vaccinated. This is 100% on the politicians and their silly games.

Agreed we know there is supply issues but there is problems in Germany and France specifically in relation to the reluctance of their population is take the vaccine, how will they get around this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 622 ✭✭✭Natterjack from Kerry

Did I hear earlier than Germany is going for a total lockdown, where even food shopping is closed for 4 days?

That's probably what needed to be done at the start of all this. Tell people to shop for a week and then shut everything.

Instead of having 3 months of level 5, with the roads jammed with tens of thousands still battering into work every day.

I am sure the moan at everything crew on boards.de are bitching mightily about it though :

"Why are we having to have the toughest lock down in the world? Look at Ireland - it hasnt had to close food shopping at all !!! And has a steady level of restrictions for the last three months, that allows people know what they are facing and plan. And their numbers are dropping! And they are ahead of us on the vaccine rollout! And had their version of Octoberfest only last week where they all go balloobas on the schwartz stuff and they had less than 400 cases today! Who the hell is running this federal republic??? This total lockdown stuff is really a police state gone out of control and we know where that got us before. So much for our German efficiency. Mutti hasnt a clue. We need to get that Stephen Donnelly guy, or even Varadkar who might be available shortly apparently although there is something dodgy about him, over here to show our bunch how to handle a pandemic."

I see some of the vaccine passport garbage has started spreading in the main thread. Interesting to see a Swiss perspective on this:

https://www.20min.ch/story/erhalten-getestete-und-geimpfte-bald-privilegien-463462993993

70% against. The article interestingly and correctly pointing out that such ideas played a part in fascism and were involved in eugenics. Its shameful that some would advocate for a multitiered society.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,272 ✭✭✭theballz

I see some of the vaccine passport garbage has started spreading in the main thread. Interesting to see a Swiss perspective on this:

https://www.20min.ch/story/erhalten-getestete-und-geimpfte-bald-privilegien-463462993993

70% against. The article interestingly and correctly pointing out that such ideas played a part in fascism and were involved in eugenics. Its shameful that some would advocate for a multitiered society.

Find me a non-fat person younger than 40 who legit died of Coronavirus and didn't have a pre-existing condition.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭ypres5

well I had posters telling me last week that the suspension of astrazeneca was the right decision, not politically motivated and would have no knock on effect whatsoever. strangely enough those very same posters are deathly silent on the matter since then. between the us and the uk the eu are looking like the class dullards

theballz wrote: »
    Find me a non-fat person younger than 40 who legit died of Coronavirus and didn't have a pre-existing condition.

I'm sure somewhere someone meeting this criteria has sadly passed - afterall healthy children used to die from the flu only two years ago...

Pre-existing condition is something thats medically diagnosed and is being treated, being fat without health problems doesn't get you into this group - although you might well be on your last lets without seeing a doctor or getting a diagnostic in more than a year.

Utter shambles - there is blood on the hands of the architects and supplicants of this mess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,646 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

votecounts wrote: »
    Agreed we know there is supply issues but there is problems in Germany and France specifically in relation to the reluctance of their population is take the vaccine, how will they get around this.

Speaking of reluctance, you must remember that Germany and France haven’t suffered anywhere near the same restrictions for the last year as Ireland has.

A significant amount of people in Ireland are taking the vaccine for the purpose of returning to normal.

I imagine if we had much less restrictions, reluctance would be higher here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,936 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

If Germany doesn't want their AZ vaccines, we should take the hands off them for them all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,272 ✭✭✭theballz

Are the ridiculous restrictions a result of a failed health system or a shambolic government?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 452 ✭✭Sharpyshoot

If Germany doesn't want their AZ vaccines, we should take the hands off them for them all.

Swap my ads

Its not just AZ, I have 80 and 90 year old relatives on the continent who refuse to signup to get their Pfizer jab - they just don't trust the government and want to wait and see. It drives me nuts. Thankfully half of my elderly relations some with comorbidities have already had the rona and didn't require any form of hospitalisation. They are now immune despite the weirdo health merchants saying they should have *one* dose due to already contracting it - this is actually a thing in some countries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭ypres5

Micheal already went sniffing round for them but was told no dice, same as the uk and us

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 102 ✭✭LameBeaver

Its not just AZ, I have 80 and 90 year old relatives on the continent who refuse to signup to get their Pfizer jab - they just don't trust the government and want to wait and see. It drives me nuts. Thankfully half of my elderly relations some with comorbidities have already had the rona and didn't require any form of hospitalisation. They are now immune despite the weirdo health merchants saying they should have *one* dose due to already contracting it - this is actually a thing in some countries.

What makes you think they are immune?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,922 ✭✭✭Hooked

Are the ridiculous restrictions a result of a failed health system or a shambolic government?

A bit from column A

And a bit from column B

ypres5 wrote: »
    Micheal already went sniffing round for them but was told no dice, same as the uk and us

That was today fm sketch no?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 102 ✭✭LameBeaver

The complete shutdown that will be enforced in Germany over Easter weekend? You need to ask the German people that question chief.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,005 ✭✭✭JPup

I don't understand your post. You're saying that you are frustrated with your elderly relatives for not getting vaccinated but then calling people recommending vaccination weirdo health merchants. Is that not a contradiction?

The advice I've seen is that everyone should get vaccinated even if you've already had Covid since you don't know for sure if your body have developed enough antibodies to give long-term immunity. I've heard some people suggest that one dose is sufficient in that case (the J&J one would be ideal) as a booster for the immune system.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

More wallowing in misery on Prime Time.....I mean almost salivating at a days increase in numbers over the weekend.
    Must be great for the planners of the program as they have not had to come up with a new script for almost a year.
    Thanks be to jaysus I caught it while flicking through channels! I can tell you it was an instant "click" on the doofer :D

Sorry now but don’t be so flippant, we had a fourth wave there over the weekend that lasted at least 24 hours. We must now bring this up at every opportunity for at least the next three weeks and justify us staying in lockdown possibly forever

Pubs won’t be open for another three months, discussion on The Tonight Show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,343 ✭✭✭Omega28

33 year old male here with a congential heart condition. I've had two open heart surgeries and waiting for a third but due to COVID I have had appointments rescheduled throughout the last year because of this which I just can't get my head around.

My day consists of going for a run or a walk. No contact with friends and family, just immediate family. Haven't been to a shop etc because of my condition.

Pain in my bollix tbh. Yes I have an underlying heart condition but I still miss doing stuff like going to the gym, swim etc which is beneficial for my condition.