Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Covid 19 Part XXXIII-231,484 ROI(4,610 deaths)116,197 NI (2,107 deaths)(23/03)Read OP

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,254 ✭✭✭Nqp15hhu

Eod100 wrote: »
    Vaccinations making big difference. If NI finishes vaccinations wonder would people living in border counties be prioritised for vaccines? For relatively small number of vaccines could help NI.

It clearly doesn’t make a difference though does it? I saw a graph yesterday that showed us being 23% lower by case rate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,876 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

batman_oh wrote: »
    Those jammy feckers up there haven't even been forced to stay within 5km with checkpoints handing out fines like we have here. And now they are going to be out of it miles ahead of us. It's a far cry from the narrative a few months back where the North was a laughing stock for some

There isn't much travelling to be done in NI, it's very quiet as most things are shut.

I be in Derry once a week and the city centre is like a ghost town. It is very worrying as it wouldn't be the richest of towns anyway, and id guess a lot of businesses won't reopen.

Supermarkets are busy , but little else.

This travelling outside your 5km is a bit of a bluff imho. It's a sledgehammer approach. It was put in place to try to limit the stupid and those who don't care about infecting others. But if you need to travel 10km to go for a walk in a forest or beach, what harm is that doing?

rob316 wrote: »
    And the lack of any dates for reopening, gives no one any hope so people are like "**** it I'm not wasting anymore of my life".

Literally how hard is it to say if the disease has X profile on 5th April, X can open. If not we will review again in 7 days.

No one has any appetite for this ****e any longer. I can see the sentiment across social media has changed drastically over the last 3 months too.

i'd love to agree with you but I've heard this time and again, "they're losing the people! and social media is awash with fury" but it comes to nothing.

People were more livid over that NI Paddy Jackson rape trial FFS..I stopped adhering to guidelines long ago anyway, by choice.

This keeping people locked up with peace meal offerings is like suicide by lifestyle!

There’s a lot of Donegal drivers coming over here to avoid the 5K ban limit. I live about 30 miles from the border and we have far more Donegal cars than ever before.

I even seen one on the A26 outside Ballymena a few weeks ago. What their excuse for that was is beyond me. No need to be driving 50 miles from the border.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 205 ✭✭Skygord

Eod100 wrote: »
    Seems theres talk on social media about outbreak in Carrick-on-Suir and a school there closing out of caution. Havent seen anything in media yet so could be hearsay.

https://www.irishexaminer.com/news/munster/arid-40249040.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

Tyrone212 wrote: »
    87 cases in NI today. There was 67 in Donegal yesterday. Says it all.

A fantastic achievement by Boris it must be said

Credit where it’s due

• Closed Accounts Posts: 727 ✭✭✭NeuralNetwork

How Donegal has 67 cases in that population is beyond me. It’s remote and has a pop of just 159,192 and is supposedly in 5km restrictions like the rest of us.

Cork had 18 cases yesterday in a population of 542,868.

NI is roughly 3.4 times bigger so, would be like NI having 62 cases.

I think vaccines aside, NI has been taking it a lot more seriously of late too, despite the rocky start a few months ago.

How Donegal has 67 cases in that population is beyond me. It’s remote and has a pop of just 159,192 and is supposedly in 5km restrictions like the rest of us.

Cork had 18 cases yesterday in a population of 542,868.

NI is roughly 3.4 times bigger so, would be like NI having 62 casses.

I think vaccines aside, NI has been taking it a lot more seriously of late too.

Or maybe we already had our peak.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,237 ✭✭✭MrMusician18

Not really, it was bad management more than anything, they shut absolutely everything and then told people make the most of the few weeks in December as there will probably be a shutdown again in January so people went mental.

So the argument goes that restrictions were relaxed at Christmas which a huge number of people took the absolute piss with and you're telling me that people won't do the exact same again if restrictions are relaxed again?

If people could be trusted to not take the piss, then they could be eased. The simple truth is, they can't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 454 ✭✭Mwengwe

Must be a lot in hospital from it since it was "frightening"

Great not being vulnerable isn't it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 454 ✭✭Mwengwe

Skygord wrote: »

Surely some conspiracy or false flag. schools are safe!

Nqp15hhu wrote: »
    Or maybe we already had our peak.

Perhaps, but I’m just wondering what’s going on in Donegal relative to Cork & Kerry.

Either there’s some odd cluster or there’s a lot of flouting of guidelines.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,694 ✭✭✭timmyntc

Perhaps, but I’m just wondering what’s going on in Donegal relative to Cork & Kerry.

Several schools in Donegal have closed with outbreaks.

Also lots of house parties from bored 20 somethings, since all sports etc are suspended.

They’ve all been driving over here so not following the guidelines.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 304 ✭✭11521323

So the argument goes that restrictions were relaxed at Christmas which a huge number of people took the absolute piss with and you're telling me that people won't do the exact same again if restrictions are relaxed again?

If people could be trusted to not take the piss, then they could be eased. The simple truth is, they can't.

How to gain trust and public buy-in:

Step 1: Treat the population like mentally deficient children

Sounds like you've cracked the code my man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,088 ✭✭✭Theboinkmaster

Having spent a lot of weekends up in Donegal years ago, and at a complete guess, I think it's people socialising indoors. House parties, pub lock ins etc.

you're expecting way to much from people, they are only people. It's a greyhounds nature to run after a hare when the traps come up. It's in our nature to socialize so we can procreate and thrive. why are you saying people will take the piss for doing what comes 100% natural to them. Do you realize what it takes to prevent any organism from doing what comes naturally and thus the negative affect it has on them?.. I know you might mean eejits going way over and being..well eeejits but again when you cover a boiling kettle, expect lots of steam waiting to gush out..again, it's only biology and physics..

rusty cole wrote: »
    you're expecting way to much from people, they are only people. It's a greyhounds nature to run after a hare when the traps come up. It's in our nature to socialize so we can procreate and thrive. why are you saying people will take the piss for doing what comes 100% natural to them. Do you realize what it takes to prevent any organism from doing what comes naturally and thus the negative affect it has on them?.. I know you might mean eejits going way over and being..well eeejits but again when you cover a boiling kettle, expect lots of steam waiting to gush out..again, it's only biology and physics..

Yeah the binary lens that some people view people's actions though is baffling. That sort of mindset might be logical if this was March 2020 and people refused to follow the guidelines but it doesn't work 12 months later.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,997 ✭✭✭jj880

Having spent a lot of weekends up in Donegal years ago, and at a complete guess, I think it's people socialising indoors. House parties, pub lock ins etc.

I live in Donegal. In my area over the weekend it was party central. Add to that people are just visiting friends/relatives with their kids as normal. There were lock ins last Summer but havent heard of any recently.

>>> BOARDS IS IN TROUBLE - SUBSCRIPTIONS NEEDED <<<

Info 👉️ Important News!!

Progress 👉 https://keepboardsalive.com/

Subscribe 👉️ https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Well yeah I think people are possibly being unrealistic about what’s achievable socially. There’s a frustration limit and also a reality to what can actually be enforced. Most of it is about buy in in a liberal democracy. When that melts you get the outbreaks.

The only viable solution out of this is technical: vaccines and treatments.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,256 ✭✭✭✭normanoffside

manutd wrote: »
    Micheal Martin in a Live sit down indoor interview telling people do not meet indoors.

https://twitter.com/rtenews/status/1373986470051119105

And he says it from an indoor Radio Studio

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,879 ✭✭✭Nermal

If people could be trusted to not take the piss, then they could be eased.

If people choose to 'take the piss', who exactly are you to tell them not to do so?

Before you tell me you're in the majority: of course people support restrictions in surveys, polls and in the news. Ask someone their opinion, and they'll tell you what they think they're supposed to say.

Actions, not words, reveal true preferences. Lift the restrictions, and we'll see who's really in the majority.

Only 87 cases in Northern Ireland today. The vaccine is clearly working.

Not at all.

NI is still in a lockdown.

There schools only went back last week whilst ours went back 3 weeks ago.

Come back to me in 2 weeks with the NI figures.

Not at all.

NI is still in a lockdown.

There schools only went back last week whilst ours went back 3 weeks ago.

Come back to me in 2 weeks with the NI figures.

You can hardly say that. Only 12% of your population has been vaccinated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,237 ✭✭✭MrMusician18

Well yeah I think people are possibly being unrealistic about what’s achievable socially. There’s a frustration limit and also a reality to what can actually be enforced. Most of it is about buy in in a liberal democracy. When that melts you get the outbreaks.

The only viable solution out of this is technical: vaccines and treatments.

This is correct, vaccines are the only way out of this since achieving collective action like a prolonged lockdown in a liberal democracy is harder than herding cats.

That doesn't excuse people's personal behaviour though. It can be both true that these measures are hard to do at a societal level and the reason for this is because of behaviour at the individual level.

You can hardly say that. Only 12% of your population has been vaccinated.

And you cant say vaccines work untill you open up and try the real test.

Like I said, come back in 2 weeks and lets see what the figures are with schools reopening.

And he says it from an indoor Radio Studio

I saw 5 minutes of the late late show last Friday and yer man Mario "nowinstock"
    was shouting and there was two occasions were you could noticeably see spit flying everywhere!!! FFS..

while I'm saying it, these shows are not essential either..how is lamenting woe is me of a Friday, essential industry??? for any of them..they should be on PUP with the 6.01 news at best being allowed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 171 ✭✭Renault 5

From MM
    I’m saying that for between now and the 5th of April, we will come forward with a plan

Nermal wrote: »
    If people choose to 'take the piss', who exactly are you to tell them not to do so?

Before you tell me you're in the majority: of course people support restrictions in surveys, polls and in the news. Ask someone their opinion, and they'll tell you what they think they're supposed to say.

Actions, not words, reveal true preferences. Lift the restrictions, and we'll see who's really in the majority.

It is in everyone's interest for the piss not to be taken. We wouldn't be where we are if people did as they were asked. Seemingly that was too much.

I'd like to be able to travel, go to pubs and restaurants and most of all I'd like to be with my wife when she attends hospital, but no, that can't happen because too many people do as they please.

This is correct, vaccines are the only way out of this since achieving collective action like a prolonged lockdown in a liberal democracy is harder than herding cats.

That doesn't excuse people's personal behaviour though. It can be both true that these measures are hard to do at a societal level and the reason for this is because of behaviour at the individual level.

Can I ask you a serious question?

Do you expect the vast majority of human beings to adhere to restrictions perpetually and indefinitely, bearing in mind they have been for 12 months already?

If your answer is yes, then you quite literally have no concept of human emotion and it just shows how uneducated you are in that arena. People cannot indefinitely put their life on hold for a virus that they perceive to be of absolutely no danger to them, to think they can shows a real misunderstanding of psychology.