Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Joe Biden Presidency thread *Please read OP - Threadbanned Users Added 4/5/21*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,420 ✭✭✭✭y0ssar1an22

So, the policies that Biden and his administration are pushing through. Thoughts?

i completely disagree with them for the most part

the covid relief bill. a bridge in schumer's district...how does that help tackle covid?

his immigration policy...psaki had a slip of the tongue where she referred to it as a crisis.

minimum wage that will cost a whole pile of jobs

the pipeline which cost jobs and will be more inefficient in terms of carbon emissions

increasing corporation tax

men in womens sport

i'm sure there's more

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,374 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

Can you name one time in the history of the world where a countries leader has challenged another leader to a live debate and it has happened?

The closest I can think of is Nixon v Krushchev

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

salmocab wrote: »
    Your right on the first part but I doubt you are about the docs. It was a slip by an old man so long as he’s not hurt I doubt doctors will be deciding anything.

i did mention that if he broke a pelvis or was hospitalised docs would make a decision.

but to timberrr's point, do i think there will be a big investigation? of course not, medical privacy and all that jazz.

do i think there should be? absolutely not.

an elderly man falling on stairs is not grounds for an investigation..

what is interesting, is that the dems want the nuclear codes not in the hands of 1 person. they infer its cos of trump but i'm gonna be a bit more skeptical.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,392 ✭✭✭✭Professor Moriarty

the covid relief bill. a bridge in schumer's district...how does that help tackle covid?

That project was dropped.
    his immigration policy...psaki had a slip of the tongue where she referred to it as a crisis.

Slip of the tongue? Yeah whatever. What is your problem with the immigration policy?
    minimum wage that will cost a whole pile of jobs

Jobs that were the equivalent of slave labour replaced by minimum wage jobs. Got a problem with that?
    the pipeline which cost jobs and will be more inefficient in terms of carbon emissions

Which pipeline. What jobs. What inefficiency.
    increasing corporation tax

Fcuk yeah. Drain the swamp.
    men in womens sport

Do you mean trans people competing in gender specific sports? Agreed.
    i'm sure there's more

I'm sure there's unicorns.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,067 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

No mention of the Biden collapse on RTÉ news so far. It’s on the half time break.

will edit and update if it is mentioned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,888 ✭✭✭✭MisterAnarchy

No mention of the Biden collapse on RTÉ news so far. It’s on the half time break.

Newly released footage shows why he fell

https://twitter.com/i/status/1372982815109840898

What collapse?

Yeah. Be sure and update us. On tenterhooks here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

Vlad is absolutely merking him off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,067 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

As predicted, RTÉ buried the story.

Sad to see such blatant bias.

Scary in a way how they can bury stories.

Or maybe they decided it was a nothingburger. Kinda sad to see such straw clutching. You should do better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,888 ✭✭✭✭MisterAnarchy

In all seriousness I hope Biden will be allright.
    No idea why he tried to run up those steps, I'm half his age and I wouldn't even attempt that in a suit and dress shoes.

In all seriousness I hope Biden will be allright.
    No idea why he tried to run up those steps, I'm half his age and I wouldn't attempt that in a suit and dress shoes.

He'll be grand. As will the policies he's pushing through.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,862 ✭✭✭Real Donald Trump

Or maybe they decided it was a nothingburger. Kinda sad to see such straw clutching. You should do better.

It wouldn't be a nothingburger if it were Trump, you can be sure of that. Hardly a surprise though, we all know RTE are extremely biased..

Breitbart na hÉireann.

That project was dropped.

my bad, thought it was just nancy's. doesn't take away from the fact that self serving conditions were put in under the guise of covid relief. i could prob find some that are not linked to covid in the slightest but i couldn't be bothered. maybe later

Slip of the tongue? Yeah whatever. What is your problem with the immigration policy?

the whole setup. yer man saying dont come here now, give us time. what sort of message does that send out? if you want to come in, do it via the legal channels. or else let congress change the laws.

Jobs that were the equivalent of slave labour replaced by minimum wage jobs. Got a problem with that?

what will happen is that all the small businesses will have to lay people off cos they cant afford them. there was a study done that it will cost a net -500,000 jobs:

https://eu.usatoday.com/story/news/politics/2014/02/18/cbo-minimum-wage-jobs/5582779/

granted this story is old, but the data is still relevant.
    i think states should mandate the minimum wage, it accounts for the cost of living variance between new york and montana, for example.

Which pipeline. What jobs. What inefficiency.

keystone XL pipeline. the people building the pipeline. jobs gone with the stroke of a pen. with no pipeline to transport the oil, how does it get transported? via trucks. the pipeline was to be carbon neutral within a few years, instead you will have trucks hammering out CO2.
    Now i will grant you that truck drivers have gotten jobs off the back of the pipeline being cancelled.

its probable that that was a net creator of jobs, but thats not the reason it was cancelled. if it was, you can be damn sure psaki would be saying how many new jobs were created.

Fcuk yeah. Drain the swamp.

would you like corporation tax increased in ireland?

Do you mean trans people competing in gender specific sports? Agreed.

what do you mean gender specific sports? watch this, what they want to pass:

I'm sure there's unicorns.

there may well be.

these are always hard to reply to cos my quotes go. anyway, yours are in bold.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,893 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

Salty, so so salty :D

Economists always predict losses for minimum wage hikes. It rarely happens. Then they predict it again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,312 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Its should have been an immediate breaking news with wall to wall reporters.

A cataclysmic event such as that. We will be telling our grandchildren where we were when Biden slipped.

Surely the bigliest moment in the history of the 21st century if not the woerld.

Salty, so so salty :D

i like brian o'donovan, but rte defo had an angle against trump

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

So I was watching the youbetube there and they said Biden hasnt held a press conference in 57 days, apparently the longest presidential gap in a 100 years. Must be too busy or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,893 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

Bambi wrote: »
    So I was watching the youbetube there and they said Biden hasnt held a press conference in 57 days, apparently the longest presidential gap in a 100 years. Must be too busy or something.

Yup, no time for 2 hour pressers or 3 rounds of golf per week. Just work, work, work work, work.

Economists always predict losses for minimum wage hikes. It rarely happens. Then they predict it again.

do they? with SW, the idea is giving people with no job more money, will stimulate the economy. (but they for the most part aren't going to work anyway).

as in, those people wont hoard that extra money in a deposit account but get out and spend it.

minimum wage could be the same. more spending.

i think (i will stress that :pac:), it will shut down a lot of smaller businesses cos they cant afford the 4 college students for a few months of the summer.
    i dont know if its been accounted for (it must have been) how the trickle up affect of minimum wage will work.
    as in, if i'm managing 4 students on minimum wage and their wage increases ~15%, your damn well sure i'm looking for a similar increase.
    in the end, someone gets laid off, and the 4 remaining workers are earning more.

Yup, no time for 2 hour pressers or 3 rounds of golf per week. Just work, work, work work, work.

No wonder he's wrecked trying to go up stairs. All that good stuff tires a man out. So selfless in the pursuit of righteousness. Brings a tear to the eye. My hero.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,272 ✭✭✭✭Rjd2

The slip from Biden doesn't really matter, he is near 80 so these things can happen and he seems perfectly fine afterwards.

However if you were one of those who was salivating when Trump walked slowly down the ramp and are downplaying this from Biden, you probably should sit this one out. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,614 ✭✭✭Cody montana

Why isn’t he tweeting about cnn?

Rjd2 wrote: »
    The slip from Biden doesn't really matter, he is near 80 so these things can happen and he seems perfectly fine afterwards.

However if you were one of those who was salivating when Trump walked slowly down the ramp and are downplaying this from Biden, you probably should sit this one out. ;)

Nope. Both had a problem with stairs. But one is a proper human being. The other is a terrible human being.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,702 ✭✭✭ceadaoin.

On its own, maybe. But in combination with all the other slips and mistakes he's been making, it's definitely a somethingburger, but maybe not international headline worthy though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,614 ✭✭✭Cody montana

Rjd2 wrote: »

I suppose the difference being someone’s supporters portrayed him as a Zeus like figure.
    The picture of masculinity and strength.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,236 ✭✭✭mcmoustache

namloc1980 wrote: »
    Once again the Trumpists are absolutely embarrassing themselves on the thread. Clear inability to discuss anything policy related so it's just the same old same of Twitter videos and hyperbolic nonsense. Keep it up lads. The desperation is very entertaining.

It's memes. Some people are mad into memes, a word who's meaning has warped over the years, but it's how they inform themselves about what's going on. It's simpler than reading articles that have too many words in them.

That's how you get shít-for-brains questions about first-month State of the Union addresses and whatnot - they see it in a meme and that's enough for them. Why bother learning something when you can just share the text off a picture as if you had an original thought?

Personally, I think Biden's fall was a bit funny. Especially if you add some Benny Hill music to it. He fell, lost some control and then recovered. It's not as funny as puking on a Japanese prime minister but it's still funny.

To think that it's a sign of dementia or that he's too old though, well that's just the meme-level of thinking again.