Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part IX *Read OP For Mod Warnings*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,792 ✭✭✭robbiezero

whippet wrote: »
    and you can be sure its going on all over the country - so as i've said before - we are not in lockdown - is a pseudo-lockdown and it's why it hasn't worked.

I don't think it was in January and February.
    My circle anyway which would have ignored a lot of the nonsense restrictions last summer and Autumn were very quiet, but in the last few weeks, they are coming out of lockdown and I'd say rest of country is similar.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 17,643 Mod ✭✭✭✭Graham

robbiezero wrote: »
    Have a few friends in the guards. Said they have been riddled with that **** for last few months. Maybe you know different?

There's obviously a subset of the population that are tired of the few people dragging things out for everyone else.

Not something I'd do but I can see why some might.

My circle anyway which would have ignored a lot of the nonsense restrictions last summer and Autumn were very quiet, but in the last few weeks, they are coming out of lockdown and I'd say rest of country is similar.

and again
    Graham wrote: »
    I wonder why the case numbers aren't dropping so that restrictions can be eased?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,566 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

Have a few friends in the guards. Said they have been riddled with that **** for last few months. Maybe you know different?

Jaysus, chance it.

Sounds like you are being ultra paranoid.

At the end of the day outside is better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 411 ✭✭Enter name here

If I was Robbies neighbour I wouldn't call guards, I'd just stick the hose over the fence and give the clowns a good drenching.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 Tired332

Going fishing later today with my sons , f your restrictions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,966 ✭✭✭ArthurDayne

Flyer1 wrote: »
    Has anyone from government actually stopped and taken a look around.

The vast majority don't give a rats about Level 5 - the roads are busy, people are meeting up in and outside of houses, half the country are going around with a fresh fade and a nice perm.

I did my best to abide by restrictions, I wear my mask when needed, I wash my hands, I make a firm attempt to refrain from licking people as I walk by them in the supermarket.

Now it's looking like I have to move to another country to get work again because my industry has been destroyed. I left Ireland in 2009 when there was no opportunity, now i'm faced with having to leave Ireland in 2021 because everything I spent the last 12 years working for has been destroyed by government policy. I love my country, I love my people but now I am finding myself wishing that maybe I don't have to ever come back here.

You raise what I believe is going to be a huge issue for this country over the next few years. We need our young people right now, we need their talent, their skill and their energy. We need them here on this island to maintain prosperity, to be innovative and help evolve the social and economic wellbeing of this country (not to mention the reality that our population will age and that will come with a need for revenue).

But you look around and you see a country where the concerns of young people have been demoted to almost non-existence. They have been vilified in the media as the underlying house-partying villains — made to feel like selfish degenerates for daring to do the very things that are the essence of being young. You look around at folks with careers, settled in lovely homes with families, frustrated by the restrictions but nonetheless secure — and you listen to them criticising the youth who are cooped up in overpriced rental accommodation, staring endlessly into Zoom lectures or work inboxes with little social stimulation or companionship, and unprecedented uncertainty as to their futures. And then there are those young people who are not fortunate enough to still have a job right now, or developed education / training — left to feel worthless in a world where they are ‘non essential’ workers and not able to earn their keep in a remote job — must sit and be patronised by aforementioned secure older people about how “things are looking up” / “be positive” / “sure we lived through the recession”.

And there will be no reward for our young generation who have sacrificed their education, their social development, the opportunity to form lifelong relationships and friendships. They will emerge from lockdown, they will be staring into uncertainty as the world goes through unprecedented fundamental societal and socioeconomic changes, they will be on the battered end of a housing market in a context where our housing supply line remains ceased. And as the final slap in the face, they will pay the bill.

They say in this country: ‘Mól an óige agus tiocfaidh sí’. Well — ignore the youth, and you will reap a whirlwind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 411 ✭✭Enter name here

You raise what I believe is going to be a huge issue for this country over the next few years. We need our young people right now, we need their talent, their skill and their energy. We need them here on this island to maintain prosperity, to be innovative and help evolve the social and economic wellbeing of this country (not to mention the reality that our population will age and that will come with a need for revenue).

But you look around and you see a country where the concerns of young people have been demoted to almost non-existence. They have been vilified in the media as the underlying house-partying villains — made to feel like selfish degenerates for daring to do the very things that are the essence of being young. You look around at folks with careers, settled in lovely homes with families, frustrated by the restrictions but nonetheless secure — and you listen to them criticising the youth who are cooped up in overpriced rental accommodation, staring endlessly into Zoom lectures or work inboxes with little social stimulation or companionship, and unprecedented uncertainty as to their futures. And then there are those young people who are not fortunate enough to still have a job right now, or developed education / training — they must sit and be patronised by aforementioned secure older people about how “things are looking up” / “be positive” / “sure we lived through the recession”.

And there will be no reward for our young generation who have sacrificed their education, their social development, the opportunity to form lifelong relationships and friendships. They will emerge from lockdown, they will be staring into uncertainty as the world goes through unprecedented fundamental societal and socioeconomic changes, they will be on the battered end of a housing market in a context where our housing supply line remains ceased. And as the final slap in the face, they will pay the bill.

They say in this country: ‘Mól an óige agus tiocfaidh sí‘. Well — ignore the youth, and you will reap a whirlwind.

Biggest croc of horse**** I've heard thus far. The young generation is why we are where we are currently. So yes they can reap what they have brought onto themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,654 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

Biggest croc of horse**** I've heard thus far. The young generation is why we are where we are currently. So yes they can reap what they have brought onto themselves.

Congrats

Thats the most ignorant comment of horse **** I’ve ever had the misfortune to read here

The reason we are here is because the vulnerable were not protected by those in power

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,337 ✭✭✭CruelSummer

There's obviously a subset of the population that are tired of the few people dragging things out for everyone else.

Honestly, how can you post this with any sincerity. Encouraging people to ring the gardai on others, encouraging more blame on society and the most complaint population in Europe, deflection from the failed approach to covid control here - constant lockdowns with no other strategies in sight.

But you look around and you see a country where the concerns of young people have been demoted to almost non-existence.

Young people are not the borg.

They have families like the vast majority of people in this country and want to keep them safe like the vast majority of people.

That's the reality.

Ridiculous attempt at driving a wedge.

Honestly, how can you post this with any sincerity. Encouraging people to ring the gardai on others

Read my post again, slowly this time.

You either misread it last time or you're reading something into it that isn't there.

Honestly, how can you post this with any sincerity. Encouraging people to ring the gardai on others, encouraging more blame on society and the most complaint population in Europe, deflection from the failed approach to covid control here - constant lockdowns with no other strategies in sight.

I think you might have misconstrued what was being said:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,152 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

RTE 1 with Dobbs I think just said 2021 is basically a write off.

Had some English professor in saying the new variants seem to be able for the vaccines.

Finshed with yeah 2021 won't see lockdown lifted.

What an absolute disgrace that that's allowed be broadcast on airwaves.

RTE are gutter.

I am convinced they are revelling and enjoying breaking people's spirit slowly each day.

Haha, to be fair, I will give you a Thank for this comment because it literally just validates everything I have said.

You call it a crock of horse**** and then actually confirm my point about blaming and vilifying young people. In other words, you are doing (quite explicitly and clearly) the very thing I said in my post.

So, notwithstanding the fact that your post doesn’t really make sense, thanks again.

Children and the young people locked up at home, no friends, no mixing, no sport and it is their fault!??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,150 ✭✭✭TonyMaloney

The reason we are here is because the vulnerable were not protected by those in power

We're literally protecting the vulnerable right now, and you want it to stop.

Make your mind up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,337 ✭✭✭CruelSummer

More likely a few neighbours just shaking their heads thinking this is part of the reason why we are where we are.

Decided I’d put your comments in bold instead so we can all analyse what you’re saying, here is my paraphrase:
    - It’s a certain section of society’s fault as to why we are where we are.
    - Some members of our complaint population are ‘ruining’ getting out of lockdown for everyone else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

namloc1980 wrote: »
    We're talking about this thread. Stop shifting the goalposts. Not a single poster here mentioned herd immunity for a month and a half but suddenly it's the hot topic in the last day or so.

Well no. The goalposts relocation started in earnest with - 'but but no one mentioned 'herd immunity" in this thread at all' and then 'nobody mentioned it before February'!

Maybe just maybe people are now talking about it because we have started the vaccination schedule and are now moving towards that goal?

Should we not talk about it just because it was not talked about before?

That rules out just about every topic on boards. :rolleyes:

Boggles wrote: »
    Young people are not the borg.

They have families like the vast majority of people in this country and want to keep them safe like the vast majority of people.

That's the reality.

Ridiculous attempt at driving a wedge.

I honestly just don’t see how people fail to see the logical inconsistencies in what they argue. You are saying that young people want to keep their families safe and that I am attempting to drive a wedge.

At the very same time of course, you will argue that the restrictions are the only thing stopping young people from going out and killing people, right?

So which is it Boggles? Looking forward to your next act of logical contortionism.

Not to mention this bull**** that "the young will pay for this".

Everyone of working age will pay for this. Including those with homes and families already or those like myself, in their early 50s who have another potentially 15-20 years of working life ahead of them who will be paying for this. .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭whippet

RTE are gutter.

I am convinced they are revelling and enjoying breaking people's spirit slowly each day.

How dare they tell the news ... how dare they get opinions from scientists and experts ... how dare they inform the public of the news ....... may be we should replace RTE with MTV from the 90s and we can pretend all is ok and get a bit of a dance on at the same time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

Did you miss the whole vaccine rollout thing as well?

I honestly just don’t see how people fail to see the logical inconsistencies in what they argue. You are saying that young people want to keep their families safe and that I am attempting to drive a wedge.

At the very same time of course, you will argue that the restrictions are the only thing stopping young people from going out and killing people, right?

So which is it Boggles?

Nope. Absolute nonsense.

The vast majority of all people know why they are sacrificing and what for.

In a week where the majority of kids went back to school, we have you on here telling them they have no future.

The constant doom mongering angle is just plain boring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭ypres5

Read my post again, slowly this time.

You either misread it last time or you're reading something into it that isn't there.

coming from you that's hysterical

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 103 ✭✭cjyid

whippet wrote: »
    How dare they tell the news ... how dare they get opinions from scientists and experts ... how dare they inform the public of the news ....... may be we should replace RTE with MTV from the 90s and we can pretend all is ok and get a bit of a dance on at the same time

Yes please. 100% better than RTE.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,538 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

So the Vaccines was never the end game we were promised ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 102 ✭✭LameBeaver

gansi wrote: »
    Children and the young people locked up at home, no friends, no mixing, no sport and it is their fault!??

People are locked up at home you say (which by the way is an utter hyberpolic bull****e claim) And yet others here claim that people and in particular the younger age groups are ignoring restrictions all over the place. So which is it chief?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭ypres5

gozunda wrote: »
    Did you miss the whole vaccine rollout thing as well?

yes that's been such a smash hit for eu countries hasn't it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,878 ✭✭✭facehugger99

I wonder why the case numbers aren't dropping so that restrictions can be eased?

Mass disobedience is the only way to break the stranglehold the country is being subjected to.

Not some shifting goalpost like 'case numbers' that some bureaucrat's pulled out of his arse.

The majority of these so called 'cases' need a test to tell them they've caught this deadly virus.

It's about time people woke up and started doing something - your children's futures are being sacrificed to protect well-paid politicians from making a decision.