Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part IX *Read OP For Mod Warnings*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,655 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

Boggles wrote: »
    Jaysus for someone who claims not to watch that Cook Book Grifter you do parrot an awful lot of his nonsense.

Who are you referring to

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,985 ✭✭✭Russman

namloc1980 wrote: »
    Also why would the hospitals be swamped if the people who make up the substantial majority of hospitalisations are vaccinated?

But you can see on the fortnightly epidemiology reports from the HSE that 40%+ of hospitalisations for COVID are under 65. They're not vaccinated yet.

thebaz wrote: »
    A full life , inolves a little risk , thats why people enjoy sports such as rugby / boxing and activities like moto sport / surf and such.

As stated , I am not young, but I care for the long term damage caused to our younger generation of nearly a full year of disruption and lockdowns - I want the younger generation to have a full life.
    and I am so glad that children have returned to school, they seam happy , and that to me is what life is about.

I didn't realise concussions were infectious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,150 ✭✭✭TonyMaloney

What are you on about? There was no mention of herd immunity in this thread until a couple of weeks ago. Now it's everywhere.

I just posted a link to the first mention of herd-immunity, which occurred on page 31 of the very first 'relaxation of restrictions' thread, over 11 months ago.

It has been repeated frequently since then. Often proposed as a solution by some of the people who are clicking like on your posts.

https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=113034372&postcount=459

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 17,643 Mod ✭✭✭✭Graham

I disagree, the lockdown is failing, people dont care as much as you... there needs to be a rethink and a drive to get the vaccine in country and distributed.

I've no doubt there's a cohort that have given up, it's evident in the case numbers.

That's not great news for businesses or the rest of the population because you're right, vaccinations are the alternative. Unfortunately we're constrained by the number of vaccines we'll be receiving for the next few months.

It would have been nice to be in a position to relax restrictions sooner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,294 ✭✭✭Deusexmachina

Graham wrote: »
    because we have a small but significant cohort oh halfwhits who have decided restrictions don't apply to them which means our case numbers aren't dropping.

Unless restrictions are enforced I expect that to continue and restrictions will remain in place until a significant proportion of the population are vaccinated.

You can thank these people for almost guaranteeing restrictions remain in place longer than they otherwise would.

No doubt these same people will blame NPHET for being unreasonable by not just allowing the virus to run wild removing/relaxing restrictions now.

You cannot force the population to conform to your regime in a democracy. Government is by consent. The Government and the medicos are losing that consent.

It’s time we got a breakdown of the data of the exact profiles of those in ICU

Age, BMI underlying conditions etc

Enough of the anecdotal 6 foot 5 inch 22 year olds who were fit as fiddles and ended up in ICU

Give us the info to risk access if we are vulnerable or not

If the information isn’t easily available get Detective Mai Mannix on the case, a mighty Doctor for uncovering the truth

A lot of the info you're demanding is available and online.

It's a little out of date but for instance as of the 12th of December, 11.7% of all those that had been in ICU had no underlying conditions.

https://www.hpsc.ie/a-z/respiratory/coronavirus/novelcoronavirus/surveillance/underlyingconditionsreports/Underlying%20conditions%20summary_1.0v%2014122020.pdf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,883 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

I didn't realise concussions were infectious.

What are you implying I have concussion ? - what a horrible slur -
    besides , I have suffered concussions in the past through sport.

It's a little out of date but for instance as of the 12th of December, 11.7% of all those that had been in ICU had no underlying conditions.

https://www.hpsc.ie/a-z/respiratory/coronavirus/novelcoronavirus/surveillance/underlyingconditionsreports/Underlying%20conditions%20summary_1.0v%2014122020.pdf

Almost 90% of people in ICU had underlying conditions. (see what I did there)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 784 ✭✭✭daydorunrun

I've no doubt there's a cohort that have given up, it's evident in the case numbers.

That's not great news for businesses or the rest of the population because you're right, vaccinations are the alternative. Unfortunately we're constrained by the number of vaccines we'll be receiving for the next few months.

It would have been nice to be in a position to relax restrictions sooner.

Case numbers should be less and less important as the levels of vulnerable are vaccinated increase. HCW's, nursing homes and over 80's are pretty much covered at this stage. I think getting down to under 200 cases a day before opening up is impossible at this point.

“You tried your best and you failed miserably. The lesson is, never try.” Homer.

You cannot force the population to conform to your regime in a democracy. Government is by consent. The Government and the medicos are losing that consent.

I think you're confused about the meaning of democracy and how it works.

'How it works' means you can subvert it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 513 ✭✭✭The HorsesMouth

So up until Jan 11th there have been 761 people in ICU. 84 of them had no underlying conditions going by that 11.7%.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,566 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

User142 wrote: »
    The idea of achieving herd immunity through vaccinations literally did not exist as a goal in 2020 at all.

Huh?

Nope. Search the history of the thread. Not a single mention until the start of March. And now we have posters screaming and shouting about herd immunity all of a sudden.

Also why would the hospitals be swamped if the people who make up the substantial majority of hospitalisations are vaccinated?

You do realise this thread began the end of February 2021 (FEBRUARY)?

So up until Jan 11th there have been 761 people in ICU. 84 of them had no underlying conditions going by that 11.7%.

Just to note, in the real world, unlike the restrictions thread, "underlying condition" is not a synonym for "about to die"

I can't believe a lot of people seem not to able to understand the basic fundamentals of vaccination.

A refresher:

https://simple.wikipedia.org/wiki/Vaccination

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,793 ✭✭✭robbiezero

I disagree, the lockdown is failing, people dont care as much as you... there needs to be a rethink and a drive to get the vaccine in country and distributed.

Noticing a huge difference in the attitude to lockdown in my circle in the last 2 or 3 weeks. Gone out the window for most of them.
    Wife visited her family in Meath in February, I visited mine in Tipperary last weekend and judging by traffic back to Dublin on the Sunday evening, I'd say plenty more were doing the same.

Meeting a few lads for a few drinks and watching Cheltenham for the afternoon now. Would prefer to do it outside and could easily have done on a day like today, but thanks to the clowns in charge, that's not an option.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,499 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

You do realise this thread began the end of February 2021 (FEBRUARY)?

Yeah and not a single mention of herd immunity for 6 weeks until it suddenly came to the fore in the last day or two especially.

User142 wrote: »
    The way in which herd immunity was to be achieved in the post you linked and where the current vaccination/lockdown goal posts have moved literally could not be further apart on the Covid response scale.

The idea of achieving herd immunity through vaccinations literally did not exist as a goal in 2020 at all.

Look man, I don't know how you missed all the talk of it in 2020, but you very much did.

It's been talked about by the WHO, NPHET, the media, Boggles, Me. Everyone.

robbiezero wrote: »
    Noticing a huge difference in the attitude to lockdown in my circle in the last 2 or 3 weeks. Gone out the window for most of them.
    Wife visited her family in Meath in February, I visited mine in Tipperary last weekend and judging by traffic back to Dublin on the Sunday evening, I'd say plenty more were doing the same.

Meeting a few lads for a few drinks and watching Cheltenham for the afternoon now. Would prefer to do it outside and could easily have done on a day like today, but thanks to the clowns in charge, that's not an option.

I wonder why the case numbers aren't dropping so that restrictions can be eased?

Yeah and not a single mention of herd immunity for 6 weeks until it suddenly came to the fore in the last day or two especially.

https://www.who.int/news-room/q-a-detail/herd-immunity-lockdowns-and-covid-19

The WHO have been talking about it for a lot longer than six weeks ago.

The "Clowns in Charge" stopped you from going to Cheltenham or putting a TV out your back?

I wonder why the case numbers aren't dropping so that restrictions can be eased?

They aren't going to come down enough to ease them anyway via lockdown.

The "Clowns in Charge" stopped you from going to Cheltenham or putting a TV out your back?

A few lads in a garden drinking a few cans and watching TV would probably have some hysterical twitcher calling the guards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,499 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

https://www.who.int/news-room/q-a-detail/herd-immunity-lockdowns-and-covid-19

The WHO have been talking about it for a lot longer than six weeks ago.

We're talking about this thread. Stop shifting the goalposts. Not a single poster here mentioned herd immunity for a month and a half but suddenly it's the hot topic in the last day or so.

A few lads in a garden drinking a few cans and watching TV would probably have some hysterical twitcher calling the guards.

Unlikely.

But shure it's up to you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭whippet

and you can be sure its going on all over the country - so as i've said before - we are not in lockdown - is a pseudo-lockdown and it's why it hasn't worked.

Unlikely.

More likely a few neighbours just shaking their heads thinking this is part of the reason why we are where we are.

Unlikely.

Have a few friends in the guards. Said they have been riddled with that **** for last few months. Maybe you know different?