If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Covid 19 Part XXXIII-231,484 ROI(4,610 deaths)116,197 NI (2,107 deaths)(23/03)Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,132 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

tom1ie wrote: »
    Yeah and if this is the case why are we putting so much weight behind daily numbers?
    Surely hospitalisations are now the important barometer.
    The 5 day, 7 day and 14 day trends show the progress of the disease and possible future hospitalisations. That said I agree that numbers hospitalised are of more importance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 130 ✭✭Boggerman12

In my local town yesterday the Garda were a joke.they hassling on the way to local lidl was it essential journey etc while they were being softly softie on our ethnic minority “friends” who were having a big gathering in the graveyard for an anniversary.got stopped by a right obnoxious young Garda who when challenged on the 5 km bs had nothing to say.
    They wouldn’t be seen if anything kicked off with our ethnic minority but piss off everyone else

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,065 ✭✭✭funnydoggy

Cork City was a beaut to see yesterday. People out by Electric, sitting down on the green/boardwalk having lots of craic. Music playing, lots of fun. Guards drove by a good few times but they didn't give a crap.

Roll on normality. It was absolutely lovely to see.

Of course, when we got collected our taxi driver was giving out that cases would rise because of it. You can't win.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,431 ✭✭✭Stateofyou

people have made up their minds and its fantastic to see.
    We may not be at protests but everyone I know has given up on 5km, and everyone I know is meeting more than 1 person. Its called living.

You cannot stop living because you are afraid of dying. And very few people are afraid of Covid at this stage. Everything outdoor should be open.

That's a bs assumption and shíte thing to say tbh. People aren't stopping living because they're afraid of dying. They're doing their best not to be part of the problem, which is overwhelming the hospitals and passing the virus on to someone in a chain reaction who may not be ok.

If everyone took your attitude our hospitals would be in serious trouble and there would be senseless illness and death. Cop on.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,431 ✭✭✭Stateofyou

tom1ie wrote: »
    Yeah and if this is the case why are we putting so much weight behind daily numbers?
    Surely hospitalisations are now the important barometer.

Is it not obviously that hospitalisations follow cases...:confused:

So they're both important until we have more vulnerable vaccinated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 872 ✭✭✭Sofa King Great

Stateofyou wrote: »
    To be fair, these are not just simple outdoor gatherings.These were large groups of kids all in each others faces. There's no mitigating for that.

The same kids who have been in school for various periods of the last 12 months?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 911 ✭✭✭FlubberJones

That's a bs assumption and shíte thing to say tbh. People aren't stopping living because they're afraid of dying. They're doing their best not to be part of the problem, which is overwhelming the hospitals and passing the virus on to someone in a chain reaction who may not be ok.

If everyone took your attitude our hospitals would be in serious trouble and there would be senseless illness and death. Cop on.

Look around you, I think you'll find it is not "bs".... and certainly not ****e, happening everywhere, if you don't believe it that's you walking around with blinkers on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,147 ✭✭✭Rosita

funnydoggy wrote: »
    Cork City was a beaut to see yesterday. People out by Electric, sitting down on the green/boardwalk having lots of craic. Music playing, lots of fun. Guards drove by a good few times but they didn't give a crap.

Maybe the Guards "didn't give a crap" because people weren't breaking the law? Nobody has said you cannot sit on a green or play music or have "lots of craic".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,071 ✭✭✭✭titan18

Rosita wrote: »
    Maybe the Guards "didn't give a crap" because people weren't breaking the law? Nobody has said you cannot sit on a green or play music or have "lots of craic".

Isn't it against restrictions to meet up with people outdoors? Guards just couldn't be bothered to enforce it.

Rosita wrote: »

Oh absolutely! But you'd expect that with lots out in groups, that they'd be a little testy. They weren't, and it seemed they were a bit fascinated with what was going on.

Now there was madness in the Lough alright. Absolute scenes!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,227 ✭✭✭Sweet.Science

titan18 wrote: »
    Isn't it against restrictions to meet up with people outdoors? Guards just couldn't be bothered to enforce it.

I genuinely couldn't tell you what the current restrictions are .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,132 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

There's this
    People may meet with people from one other household in outdoor settings when taking exercise.

and this.
    No social or family gatherings should take place in other settings.

Should gives you the out here!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,359 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

Look around you, I think you'll find it is not "bs".... and certainly not ****e, happening everywhere, if you don't believe it that's you walking around with blinkers on

I went to a Dublin park yesterday before 12 . Everywhere were families putting down rugs for picnics and another family close by on another rug .I saw nanas and grandas on benches watching grandchildren play and chatting to family at a 1-2 metre distance .All adults who know they quite simply cannot carry on in isolation and are risk assessing and doing what is least risky . The laughter and smiles and happy grandparents was a joy to see and the naked fear was gone .We have to carry on now and outdoor meetings must be encouraged at this point or the people will quite simply decide

is_that_so wrote: »
    There's this

and this.

Should gives you the out here!

Ya, I doubt drinking in a park counts as exercise so that wouldn't count, but ya, doubt guards are enforcing the should restriction part.

is that "cop on" thing still going on? Maybe you should take some of your own advice! You do you and I'll do me!

I live alone. I walk alone, hike alone, swim alone. I look after my health and I'm slim and fit. So I also "do my best not to be part of the problem" I was delighted to see people out enjoying themselves yesterday. Nobody was taking chances.
    At this stage my 7 month pregnant daughter had Covid, her 18 month old toddler, her parents in law who are very overweight in their 60's and 18 members of my immediate family (I have 7 siblings with kids, a lot who work in healthcare).

My 87 year old mother has also had Covid. All have recovered, none had serious symptoms, although we were obviously worried about my mother, none have "long" Covid.

I have made up my own mind. I would prefer to live my life with the associated risk of getting Covid than hide under my bed for another year. I wear a mask and I regularly see my adult kids and 2 grandkids, I also met 3 friends last week on different days and it was fab!

But I'm not stopping you doing just that. You have to make decisions for yourself. I will NOT allow the Government and NPHET (none of whom are affected by job loss like I have) decide how I live my life.

(Meanwhile our Government haven't even got the vaccination programme efficiently set up, there's inadequate staff, inadequate training, inadequate locations for WHEN we do get a bigger supply from J&J. We will have enough vaccine but not enough vaccinators despite retired consultants, radiographers and phlebotomists offering their services but being refused by the HSE!!! )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,619 ✭✭✭✭tom1ie

Is it not obviously that hospitalisations follow cases...:confused:

So they're both important until we have more vulnerable vaccinated.

That’s the question I originally asked.
    With more and more of the vulnerable getting vaccinated surely this will have an effect on the amount of people going into hospital.
    So maybe it’s not as linear as it was that hospitalisations go up at the same rate as new cases due to vaccines.

Ahhh thanks for the laugh! "Nobody taking chances.." are you for real? After just reading that people are in each others faces (??) lack of social distancing and of course nobody had parties or people over yesterday...:rolleyes:

Just because no one you know got seriously ill doesn't mean that others haven't. FFS have some respect for the people who are actually suffering or lost their lives. They matter too.

That long rant just goes to show how much you feel you need to justify this rubbish.

It wasn't a rant, it was a reply and it was calm and measured.
    You sound very overwrought to be honest. It's you who is swearing, calling people's posts "bull****" and "****e"" not to mention the above FFS in black :rolleyes::rolleyes:

Nobody I saw yesterday was "in each other's faces"! All having a wonderful time within family groups.
    Have a lovely day, I'm off for my swim. I'd advise taking some time off Boards if you feel so upset. You will see life, nature, people all re-starting at this time of the year, its beautiful......... and it will help reduce your stress levels :)

You sound like you're having a shíte on everyone else doing their best not to be a problem and pass it on, and on the healthcare workers too.

In the same post you claim to be doing your best not to be part of the problem and waffling on about all the things you do alone then you unbelievably say:

I'd advise you having some respect instead of feeling entitled that you're above the rules unlike the rest of us.

I have the utmost respect for people. I live alone and my daughter and her 2 babies are in my bubble ........... I have been minding them a few days a week (my daughter has post natal depression, I have spoken about this previously here).

I met 3 friends separately, on 3 different days, all outside, all exercise within 5km. Is that ok?

have a lovely day............you really need to chill a bit..............we are a year into Covid and this level of stress and blame without even knowing a poster is rather alarming :)

You sound like you're having a shíte on everyone else doing their best not to be a problem and pass it on, and on the healthcare workers too.

In the same post you claim to be doing your best not to be part of the problem and waffling on about all the things you do alone then you unbelievably say:

I'd advise you having some respect instead of feeling entitled that you're above the rules unlike the rest of us.

Are you aware that people are allowed form a bubble with others and also allowed in a house for essential childcare .?Are you also aware that we can meet a friend for exercise ? Try it one day it might be to your benefit

Ah lads/lassies

iamwhoiam wrote: »
    Are you aware that people are allowed form a bubble with others and also allowed in a house for essential childcare .?Are you also aware that we can meet a friend for exercise ? Try it one day it might be to your benefit

You can form a support bubble with another household if you:

are living alone with children under the age of 18
    live alone
    share parenting or custody arrangements
    live with an adult you provide care for (for example a dependent adult relation or a partner with dementia)
    live by yourself and have a carer or carers who support you, including a live-in carer

Tbh, that's a very small amount of people in those categories.

For exercise, you can meet with one other household for exercise within the 5k. Drinking in a park isn't exercise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,997 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

Why is the EU bemoaning the lack of supply of AZ vaccine, yet most of its countyrys are still suspending its use ?

Seams very strange, and when will they officially announce suspension is ended, EMA have already said it is safe. Seams incredibly bureaucratic in a pandemic , when the 3rd wave is in EU now.

Have a lovely swim Maggie, everyone has their own justifications, right? Very disingenuous of you to come out with your convenient details at the end of all your smugness - which was about the government and NPHET "NOT" telling you how to live your life and how you wouldn't hide under your bed, not your extenuating circumstances.

If 18 members of your immediate family all had covid that should tell you something. And how many people did they pass it to?

You should chill within the guidelines a little more. :)

all of them are healthcare workers (ICU Nurse, midwifery and mental health services) or spouses/children of same. Spread over the UK, Donegal, Westmeath and Limerick. Are you Covid shaming healthcare workers now because without exception that is what they all are?

I am not smug. I don't tell you how to live your life as I don't know anything about you

Why would I say at the beginning of my posts that my daughter has post natal depression and THAT is why I see her? That is nobody's business but I had to tell you to stop your harassment.

live alone
    live with an adult you provide care for (for example a dependent adult relation or a partner with dementia)
    live by yourself and have a carer or carers who support you, including a live-in carer

For exercise, you can meet with one other household for exercise within the 5k. Drinking in a park isn't exercise.
    Sweetmaggie didnt say she was drinking in a park did she ?
    You can enter a house for essential childcare too which covers quite a lot of people around me actually .
    Many grandparents are essential childcare for many families . They always were

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,070 ✭✭✭yermandan

Take it to PM

live alone

Walk to the park, have a refreshment, walk home. Adequate hydration is an important part of exercise

Not sure any guard will buy you drinking a beer as adequate hydration, but it'd be worth a shot.

It you dont have water it is:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,853 ✭✭✭✭silverharp

one for a ladies but you can get your own winerack booze bra :pac:

https://www.amazon.com/Original-WineRack-Booze-Bra-Flask/dp/B0815YRKBF/ref=sr_1_36?dchild=1&keywords=alcohol+smuggling+containers&qid=1616066570&sr=8-36

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 348 ✭✭Timmy O Toole

Brought the kids to see my mother yesterday, outside in the garden, first time since Christmas. My 5 year old asked me last night are we going to be in trouble for breaking the rules. Sad.