Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part IX *Read OP For Mod Warnings*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

What were you thinking?
    I knew this was all bs mid way back in April 2020 when the 100000 deaths didn't happen.
    Only now you are waking up?
    Better late than never.
    We need to open up and get back to normal immediately.

We bow to such great unfettered wisdom Samson.

Btw have you let Boris next door know yet? ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 866 ✭✭✭jams100

Very disappointed by the parties we have both in government and in opposition. Not one of them have stood up for the self employed and/or relatively risk free activities like golf/tennis.

They simply outsourced responsibility for running the country to a small group of people who's remit was solely covid related with no other factors taken into account, we shouldn't be blaming NPHET as they are only doing the job they were told to do by government.

There's not a chance I will be voting FG, FF, Greens or SF(Who were as silent as they could be on this issue). I've come to realise there is probably no point voting in general elections because as we can see they all sing from the same hymn sheet. In saying that I'll probably just vote independentents just because people fought to allow us to vote etc.

Anyway, I, as a relatively young lad, look forward to being saddled with extra taxes for years to come in order to pay for the governments incompetentence over the past 12+ months.

Thankfully alot of people are starting to wake up to how ridiculous this all is...some nonsense talk of maintaining restrictions into the summer etc. Along with zero covid bulls by Tom Ryan. All bulls**t, once the vulnerable are vaccinated its time to open up, if anyone has a problem they are free to hide under their table at home!

Anyway they are my thoughts thank you and goodnight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,552 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

jams100 wrote: »
    Very disappointed by the parties we have both in government and in opposition. Not one of them have stood up for the self employed and/or relatively risk free activities like golf/tennis.

They simply outsourced responsibility for running the country to a small group of people who's remit was solely covid related with no other factors taken into account, we shouldn't be blaming NPHET as they are only doing the job they were told to do by government.

There's not a chance I will be voting FG, FF, Greens or SF(Who were as silent as they could be on this issue). I've come to realise there is probably no point voting in general elections because as we can see they all sing from the same hymn sheet. In saying that I'll probably just vote independentents just because people fought to allow us to vote etc.

Anyway, I, as a relatively young lad, look forward to being saddled with extra taxes for years to come in order to pay for the governments incompetentence over the past 12+ months.

Thankfully alot of people are starting to wake up to how ridiculous this all is...some nonsense talk of maintaining restrictions into the summer etc. Along with zero covid bulls by Tom Ryan. All bulls**t, once the vulnerable are vaccinated its time to open up, if anyone has a problem they are free to hide under their table at home!

Very good summary

The whole thing is to protect our health system and not overcrowd it but what can the general public do about it ?? Its not our job

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,491 ✭✭✭dalyboy

jams100 wrote: »

If you are relatively young do yourself a big favour.
    Get the hell out of this dump ASAP

Ireland is akin to the titanic.
    We hit the iceberg , the decks band is still playing atm but they’re starting to play out of tune.
    The captain of the ship is as drunk as a skunk and abdicating responsibility to his underlings. He and his officers have a life boat booked though. They’ll be safe and don’t care about the passengers under their “protection”

Awaiting the tilt (IMF)
    Hold tight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,153 ✭✭✭✭Gael23

Philip Nolan should not have made that comment about visiting dying family members in hospital. No human being should have to die alone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 391 ✭✭ingo1984

MOR316 wrote: »
    You can have all the qualifications in the world and have all the data at your disposal but, they're no substitute for common sense...

Philip Nolan said last week, "Over the last week or so, there are signs that people are mixing and socialising more. This is very concerning. We can't let our guard down"

That may have something to do with the fact you opened the schools recently, you absolute prat!

Ah yes. And the increase in cases between 5 and 12 year olds and due to household transmission and not picking it up in the reopened schools. Only way they can categorically state that us if they test every other child in the class/school and they are negative. These clowns are doing my head in. As for that other moron chastising people for visiting their dying family member in hospital, that is just vile. Makes me sick they would even stoop that low.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,236 ✭✭✭✭JRant

The propaganda machine in full flow this morning. Garda will be on all artery roads into the city, checking public transport and people in the city centre.

The government must be really worried there may be bigger numbers at the protests and want it quashed. Another great use of state resources.

"Well, yeah, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 314 ✭✭Golfman64

ingo1984 wrote: »
    Ah yes. And the increase in cases between 5 and 12 year olds and due to household transmission and not picking it up in the reopened schools. Only way they can categorically state that us if they test every other child in the class/school and they are negative. These clowns are doing my head in. As for that other moron chastising people for visiting their dying family member in hospital, that is just vile. Makes me sick they would even stoop that low.

If this age group had been abroad recently, do you think they’d still be saying ‘family setting’ or would they be blaming travel?!!

The deception, lies and incompetence are just staggering.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,159 ✭✭✭hamburgham

JRant wrote: »
    The propaganda machine in full flow this morning. Garda will be on all artery roads into the city, checking public transport and people in the city centre.

The government must be really worried there may be bigger numbers at the protests and want it quashed. Another great use of state resources.

Just as well the drug dealers will be taking the day off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,566 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

Or they just don't want the usual scum acting like the violent cretins they are injuring people like happened last time in Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,790 ✭✭✭PowerToWait

Getting worse than North Korea. Tyranny at work. Basically Myanmar. Ireland is a police state. Fascists. People wake up. Vaccines are poison.

Am I doing it right?

Boggles wrote: »
    Or they just don't want the usual scum acting like the violent cretins they are injuring people like happened last time in Dublin.

If they put a fraction of those resources into cleaning up the city centre on a regular basis it would be the better for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭Don't Chute!

Violent cretins? Did you see the videos of the Dutch police earlier? You and your friends have been very quiet about what <<SNIP>> said. Anything to add to that?

MOD -

As per OP,

Calling people names such as Dr. Death or Saint Tony etc. only weaken your argument, it's the lowest form of wit.

Getting worse than North Korea. Tyranny at work. Basically Myanmar. Ireland is a police state. Fascists. People wake up. Vaccines are poison.

Am I doing it right?

If, by doing it right, you mean talking shïtê then you've absolutely nailed it.

But sure, it's grand, it's people "hiding" behind their constitutional rights again. Bloody neck of them wanting to protest a government that hasn't a scooby what they are doing.

If they put a fraction of those resources into cleaning up the city centre on a regular basis it would be the better for it.

Unfortunately the every day violent scumbags and criminals don't telegraph their scummary like the special breed of ne'er-do-well's that showed up at the last one in Dublin.

Violent cretins? Did you see the videos of the Dutch police earlier?

No. How it is relevant to my post, I have no idea.
    You and your friends have been very quiet about what <<MOD SNIP>> said. Anything to add to that?

No idea who <<MOD SNIP>> is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 365 ✭✭francogarbanzo

Am I doing it right?

Yes, you are doing straw-manning right.

Am I doing it right?

Another pathetic snipe from you. Now to disappear for a few more weeks and then back again eh?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,027 ✭✭✭growleaves

Unfortunately the every day violent scumbags and criminals don't telegraph their scummary like the special breed of ne'er-do-well's that showed up at the last one in Dublin.

You're meant to be pretending that you think protests should be illegal because the protestors might infect each other, remember?

Are you now an out-and-out apologist for authoritarian rule?

No. How it is relevant to my post, I have no idea.

No idea who Dr. Wally is.

Great name though.

It must be great seeing only what you want to see.

growleaves wrote: »
    You're meant to be pretending that you think protests should be illegal because the protestors might infect each other, remember?

Are you now an out-and-out apologist for authoritarian rule?

Preventing people from being violent scum?

We really are living in upside down world.

Also I thought you had me on ignore, you declared it enough times.

It must be great seeing only what you want to see.

You're right, I should have everything you have seen ready to go first thing in the morning. So you can question me about it. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 365 ✭✭francogarbanzo

2,500 gardaí to be deployed over planned St Patrick's Day protests

Deputy Commissioner, Policing and Security Anne Marie McMahon said:...

"Staying home this St Patrick’s Day is the best thing people can do for their country and the best thing they can do for the people they know and love."

https://www.rte.ie/news/ireland/2021/0316/1204237-gardai-st-patricks-day/

Anyone else find this extremely creepy language especially in the context of the title of the article?

You must be joking me. It's the same areas every day in the city that attracts the scum. The boardwalk, liberty hall, middle abbey street and that's just for starters. Drug dealing, fighting, muggings, all happen around there on a daily basis. They don't need to put it on social media because everyone knows where they'll be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 911 ✭✭✭FlubberJones

The government are no longer in touch with what is happening with the people, the "one trick pony" has failed...

People are ignoring the majority of the restrictions, obviously some they can't (pubs, shopping etc.) but the distances and meeting people are history, I see it happening everywhere these days.

Paddies day tomorrow will be another glaring example of this, they can throw out all the threats and menaces they like but simply put... it is failing and will continue to do so.

utterly hopeless bunch

You must be joking me. It's the same areas every day in the city that attracts the scum. The boardwalk, liberty hall, middle abbey street and that's just for starters. Drug dealing, fighting, muggings, all happen around there on a daily basis. They don't need to put it on social media because everyone knows where they'll be.

It's still easier catch the special scum that give an exact time and place.

But we must forgive the guards for trying to insure more of their members don't get injured like last time.

The Authoritarian Bástárds!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,854 ✭✭✭✭silverharp

"Staying home this St Patrick’s Day is the best thing people can do for their country and the best thing they can do for the people they know and love."

Anyone else find this extremely creepy language especially in the context of the title of the article?

cool, should be able to go for a hike without plod jumping out of a bush :pac:

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 581 ✭✭✭Pitch n Putt

Gael23 wrote: »
    Philip Nolan should not have made that comment about visiting dying family members in hospital. No human being should have to die alone

The whole NPHET thing needs to die. It’s causing more harm than good now.
    It’s gone to the stage now that they’ll use anything to try and create the fear factor.

NPHETs plan all along was to control the people by fear.

Bad news for them though is that initial fear of the unknown has long since disappeared.
    People can now see for themselves the risk and high risk categories.

The shows over but for some reason NPHET don’t want to let go.

Once we heard the use of a term worry meter from supposed experts to measure how worried people were they lost any little credibility they had.

Medical experts and advisors in any other country throughout the globe using these tactics or made up metrics.......

Worry meter off into the sunset for NPHET is what we need and fast fast fast ..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 541 ✭✭✭agoodpunt

Myanmar

people should protest but keep the AHs guessing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,656 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

The whole NPHET thing needs to die. It’s causing more harm than good now.
    It’s gone to the stage now that they’ll use anything to try and create the fear factor.

NPHETs plan all along was to control the people by fear.

Bad news for them though is that initial fear of the unknown has long since disappeared.
    People can now see for themselves the risk and high risk categories.

The shows over but for some reason NPHET don’t want to let go.

Once we heard the use of a term worry meter from supposed experts to measure how worried people were they lost any little credibility they had.

Medical experts and advisors in any other country throughout the globe using these tactics or made up metrics.......

Worry meter off into the sunset for NPHET is what we need and fast fast fast ..

The government created a monster in NPHET

A monster that now has control of the nations ability to sustain itself

Last time we blamed the bankers and credit issues, this time it’s on NPHET