Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part IX *Read OP For Mod Warnings*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 268 ✭✭Monster249

they aren't trying to prevent every death though

they are just trying to stop too many

cigarettes have been priced so high only a fool would buy them, next stop is banning them

you have my permission to kill yourself by drinking or eating yourself to death

but you shouldn't be allowed to kill someone else with it, thus the smoking ban

thus the driving test, speed limits, seat belts

all restrictions in place to reduce the carnage you had before

and by jaysus they work quite well if you look at the stats of numbers of people who die on the roads

look i turned you argument around

This is exhausting.

You're right, let's move to level 6 from 5th April. Surely we can save a few more people by shutting down all construction, restricting us to 2km, shutting the not-truly-essential-but-still-open retail stores and closing schools again?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Captain_Crash

less people driving less road deaths

There was more road deaths in 2020 than in 2019
    no flu season

This is fairly easily explained I would have thought! Prior to covid you go to a GP with flu like symptoms and you get examined and diagnosed with flu. Get some pain killers and your on your way. Remember, we don’t routinely test for flu here and never have!

Since covid, you go to the GP with flu like symptoms and your referred for a covid test. When they were testing only symptomatic people, and there was a 25% positive rate, what do you think a lot of the other 75% who tested negative but had the same symptoms were suffering from?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,793 ✭✭✭robbiezero

Positive news from Varadkar for cyclists and long distance runners there, that the 5km limit should go from April 5th. No relaxations for the wider population.

Thats what he thinks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,697 ✭✭✭Chivito550

https://www.independent.ie/news/tanaiste-positive-on-5km-limit-being-lifted-on-april-5-40181216.html

Read the last few paragraphs. Are we really looking at restrictions next winter because of flu and other non-Covid respiratory infections?

The precident has been set now to do whatever it takes to protect our shambolic health service, irregardless of whether Covid is still an issue or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,145 ✭✭✭monkeybutter

Monster249 wrote: »
    This is exhausting.

You're right, let's move to level 6 from 5th April. Surely we can save a few more people by shutting down all construction, restricting us to 2km, shutting the not-truly-essential-but-still-open retail stores and closing schools again?

no lets do the sensible thing, open up slowly and vaccinate

why is always 100% lockdown or no lockdown with some people

no lets do the sensible thing, open up slowly and vaccinate

why is always 100% lockdown or no lockdown with some people

Because keeping the significant level of restrictions (level 4 & 5 in Ireland) until half the population is vaccinated is only a viable strategy when your vaccination programme is actually good (UK, Israel)

It's not a viable strategy when it's going to take 6 months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,046 ✭✭✭JDxtra

Chivito550 wrote: »
    https://www.independent.ie/news/tanaiste-positive-on-5km-limit-being-lifted-on-april-5-40181216.html

Read the last few paragraphs. Are we really looking at restrictions next winter because of flu and other non-Covid respiratory infections?

The precident has been set now to do whatever it takes to protect our shambolic health service, irregardless of whether Covid is still an issue or not.

Yes, that's how it reads. People die every year, some before their time and that is unfortunate. However cruel it seems, there needs to be an acceptable level of risk and death with everything that happens around us. Deaths from flu are expected and normal - it happened year in, year out until Covid took over the show.

We don't ban cars in winter because there are a higher than normal number of road deaths when we have darker evenings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,077 ✭✭✭KrustyUCC

Chivito550 wrote: »

Yes they're already setting the scene for more lockdowns next winter

Just like predicting a lockdown in January/February even before the October lockdown had started

Getting the groundwork in now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,320 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

Because keeping the significant level of restrictions (level 4 & 5 in Ireland) until half the population is vaccinated is only a viable strategy when your vaccination programme is actually good (UK, Israel)

How long do you think the uk is going to take?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 378 ✭✭newuser99999

hynesie08 wrote: »

33% of their population has gotten their first dose they’re not doing too bad

Well as @ 05/03 they had 33 per 100 people vaccinated. They'll be over 50 by the end of March which is aligned with their opening strategy.

Our strategy is 'hold firm until we eventually catch up'

There was more road deaths in 2020 than in 2019

This is fairly easily explained I would have thought! Prior to covid you go to a GP with flu like symptoms and you get examined and diagnosed with flu. Get some pain killers and your on your way. Remember, we don’t routinely test for flu here and never have!

Since covid, you go to the GP with flu like symptoms and your referred for a covid test. When they were testing only symptomatic people, and there was a 25% positive rate, what do you think a lot of the other 75% who tested negative but had the same symptoms were suffering from?

colds mostly, not really the flu, people were not dying in hospital from complications caused by the flu

not all road deaths are from driving

25% less recorded injuries

less drivers died

more cyclists died

more pedestrians died

and weirdly 11 passengers died, god only knows why

level 3 worked quite well at suppressing the virus

level 5 was to knock our world beating numbers down to sensible numbers

The UK is 4 months in now so it will take them more than 6 months

same with the states

who can predict what will happen in the future on that

look the US and the UK ffed up in other areas in their control, the supply of vaccines is in the hands of private companies, theres only so much we can do about it now

Well as @ 05/03 they had 33 per 100 people vaccinated. They'll be over 50 by the end of March which is aligned with their opening strategy.

Our strategy is 'hold firm until we eventually catch up'

that's first jab only

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,077 ✭✭✭KrustyUCC

https://twitter.com/SeanDefoe/status/136965568173797376

Government pushing any easing of restrictions even further down the line

5 months of effectively level 5 restrictions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,832 ✭✭✭Whatsisname

that's first jab only

Thats still over 22 million people who've had their first dose, which gives a high percentage of protection, which is better than no doses. Over 1 million have been vaccinated with both doses currently. Why is there a need to constantly downplay UK's vaccination numbers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,543 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

JDxtra wrote: »
    Yes, that's how it reads. People die every year, some before their time and that is unfortunate. However cruel it seems, there needs to be an acceptable level of risk and death with everything that happens around us. Deaths from flu are expected and normal - it happened year in, year out until Covid took over the show.

We don't ban cars in winter because there are a higher than normal number of road deaths when we have darker evenings.

Leo start preparing the hospitals then

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,893 ✭✭✭the kelt

Thats still over 22 million people who've had their first dose, which gives a high percentage of protection, which is better than no doses. Over 1 million have been vaccinated with both doses currently. Why is there a need to constantly downplay UK's vaccination numbers?

Because so many people follow the "well we're not the worst" as that seems to be the narrative, we dont need to be the best as long as we're not the worst.

For the majority of this pandemic our nearest neighbour has been that whipping boy, "look at the UK, think ye have it bad here" etc etc. They're our nearest neighbour our closest nation in regards to culture etc and as long as we were seen to be doing better then them thats all that mattered.

Now since the vaccine has been rolled out that narrative has changed so they try and downplay it etc etc. You see it across multiple threads.

"Ok well the uk is doing this, but..." or "best of luck to them and i hope it works out, but...."

Its human nature really and a little pathetic .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,320 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

PTH2009 wrote: »
    Leo start preparing the hospitals then

What does the Tanaiste and minister for enterprise have to do with hospitals? You're embarrassing yourself at this point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,543 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

What does the Tanaiste and minister for enterprise have to do with hospitals? You're embarrassing yourself at this point.

Then why is he mentioning lockdowns and that ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,153 ✭✭✭✭Gael23

The U.K. strategy is to give everyone one dose but that won’t work with the AZ vaccine, only the mRNA ones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,832 ✭✭✭Whatsisname

Gael23 wrote: »
    The U.K. strategy is to give everyone one dose but that won’t work with the AZ vaccine, only the mRNA ones.

No it's not.

why is continuously brought up

they are doing a grand old job at the vaccine and did a shoite job with the old covid

if we had gone or own way it would have been even more of a disaster

we were let down by AZ and are going to be let down by others

that is not necessarily the fault of anyone, not even AZ

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 965 ✭✭✭SnuggyBear

JDxtra wrote: »

So he's saying we might have to lockdown as result of locking down. Amazing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,985 ✭✭✭Russman

There's no need to downplay them, but equally no need to compare ourselves with them either. Its beyond apples and oranges.

They took a massive gamble and it looks like it might pay off, grand, let them at it.
    I'm more interested in the group that we're a member of, and how we're doing and how it can be improved and when we might get out of this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,934 ✭✭✭✭fin12

Mid May now most of level 5 to continue, this really has gone beyond a joke now.

My friend in South Korea just cannot believe we have the lockdown we have here, they have all things open over there till 10pm .

I made the mistake to leave my radio on during the news bulletin....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 550 ✭✭✭Sobit1964

Gael23 wrote: »

Source for this? If not there is a forum for flat earthers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,985 ✭✭✭Russman

fin12 wrote: »
    Mid May now most of level 5 to continue, this really has gone beyond a joke now.

My friend in South Korea just cannot believe we have the lockdown we have here, they have all things open over there till 10pm .

I made the mistake to leave my radio on during the news bulletin....

Who said this ? (genuinely asking, not arguing it)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74 ✭✭Riodej1578

Cases numbers coming down.

Hospital numbers coming down.

ICU numbers coming down.

But modest easing of restrictions in April. Thanks to the government once again for the positivity.

This is carnage, absolute CARNAGE.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭statesaver

Riodej1578 wrote: »
    Cases numbers coming down.

Hospital numbers coming down.

ICU numbers coming down.

But modest easing of restrictions in April. Thanks to the government once again for the positivity.

This is carnage, absolute CARNAGE.

Anti lockdown protests are only going to get bigger if that's the case.