Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XXXIII-231,484 ROI(4,610 deaths)116,197 NI (2,107 deaths)(23/03)Read OP

Cool cool, you said EU roll out has been poor relative to UK / Israel. What are your thoughts on the one dose, two dose now that there's some data?

See separate reply

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,286 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

PTH2009 wrote: »
    Are the Coroner reports the reason for the delay of the Death announcements ?

No .
    Families have 3 months to register deaths .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,138 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

Ah lads new low for rte, 4 reports of stillborn babies linked to virus, further down the article, they could be linked to virus but we will need to investigate further. Honestly what a shower of ****en *****. Imagine being a pregnant women reading this crap. **** them.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,431 ✭✭✭Stateofyou

niallo27 wrote: »
    Ah lads new low for rte, 4 reports of stillborn babies linked to virus, further down the article, they could be linked to virus but we will need to investigate further. Honestly what a shower of ****en *****. Imagine being a pregnant women reading this crap. **** them.

Ok but... isn't there a reason why pregnant teachers now have an exemption to go back?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,416 ✭✭✭nc6000

Ah here, that's total scaremongering now from Glynn and RTE. It's terrible for the families but as it's still being investigated maybe it shouldn't be brought up at the daily press conference and mentioned on the news!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,070 ✭✭✭✭fits

So you don’t think they should report four cases of stillbirth caused by inflamed placentas among covid positive women in recent weeks?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,828 ✭✭✭✭blade1

I don't watch rte but thank you for scaremongering me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,980 ✭✭✭TheDoctor

Fair play to the writers for still coming up with new story lines to scare people with.

Cant be easy this many seasons in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,234 ✭✭✭✭normanoffside

That was brought up voluntarily by Glynn with a new name 'Covid Placentis' even though it hasn't been proved true or false.
    Then we were treated to a 15 minute study of spread of a student party in Galway which produced hundreds of cases.
    A journalist later asked if any deaths had been linked to the outbreak- the answer was of course no and only 1 hospitalisation.

You'd nearly think the NPHET presentations are designed to deflect attention from important issues. Unfortunately the journalists are all extremely compliant and just ask questions on what they were presented

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,138 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

fits wrote: »
    So you don’t think they should report four cases of stillbirth caused by inflamed placentas among covid positive women in recent weeks?

Not until confirmed no.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,500 ✭✭✭Deeper Blue

If covid was causing stillbirth wouldn't we have heard about a load of cases worldwide?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

A journalist later asked if any deaths had been linked to the outbreak- the answer was of course no and only 1 hospitalisation.

Was there an air of disappointment at the response?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,134 ✭✭✭caveat emptor

George lee asked the question. Glynn confirmed that the coroner was investigating. By all means blame RTE for the dead babies while simultaneously denying that there is a deadly virus spreading.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,561 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

Honestly I don't think anyone blames the Doctors and Nurses, rather the poor equipment, procedures and conditions provided to them by the HSE

People really seem to think the HSE have more involvement in the running of medical treatment within Acute hospitals than they actually do.

"Procedures and conditions" are largely designed and dictated by consultants (sometimes registrars), that determine rosters and ways of working within their specialities. They're largely autonomous from the HSE in these matters.

If covid was causing stillbirth wouldn't we have heard about a load of cases worldwide?

NPHET basically write the RTE news and these are the stories they want to be published.

https://twitter.com/rtenews/status/1367551657840685063

https://twitter.com/rtenews/status/1367541421750841350

George lee asked the question. Glynn confirmed that the coroner was investigating. By all means blame RTE for the dead babies while simultaneously denying that there is a deadly virus spreading.

Sounds like a George Lee question alright.

The tail in that Pfizer chart suggests maintaining 2 dose no more than 6 weeks apart may be appropriate for that vaccine at least. 2 dose regimes are generally around promoting the response then fixing the response. The greater side effects after taking the second dose suggests this is true. I hope there isn’t a sting in the Pfizer vaccine regimen in the uk once people get closer to 3 months, however for the moment it looks like they have lucked out on this one

Given that it looks like prevents hospitalisation and they are far ahead in the rollout do you think we should change our plan to do something similar?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,511 ✭✭✭lee_baby_simms

Not only that but there was a study carried out by Imperial College recently in over 4,000 pregnant women and concluded that there was no still birth risk associated with Covid 19.

https://www.imperial.ac.uk/news/215533/covid-19-infection-pregnancy-linked-with-still/

Then we were treated to a 15 minute study of spread of a student party in Galway which produced hundreds of cases.

"House party in Galway results in increase in hospitalisations"

Not only that but there was a study carried out by Imperial College recently in over 4,000 pregnant women and concluded that there was no still birth risk associated with Covid 19.

https://www.imperial.ac.uk/news/215533/covid-19-infection-pregnancy-linked-with-still/

Surely Dr Glynn would have access to such a study before he would make such an announcement in response to a question. I thought the questions were presubmitted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 171 ✭✭Renault 5

Do people who get vaccinated still need to get tested if in close contact.

I remember reading last year that if a healthcare worker got infected, all their close contacts colleagues needed to quarantine for days. Will this still be the case?

RTE alert just now about it, see how one house party led to 400 cases etc.......

*No deaths and only 1 hospitalisation not included

Surely Dr Glynn would have access to such a study before he would make such an announcement in response to a question. I thought the questions were presubmitted.

It’s completely unethical, a premeditated emotional manipulation of pregnant women. Sick.

Glynn isn’t stupid. He knows exactly what he’s doing.

It’s completely unethical, a premeditated emotional manipulation of pregnant women. Sick.

Christ it's under investigation. To say anymore is actually scaremongering.

Even saying that they were scaremongering is in fact scaremongering. Needs to be concluded before saying anything on it........as Dr Glynn said.

That's a disgusting thing for a doctor to do to expectant women who I suspect are already on edge . These people have no morals whatsoever.

TheDoctor wrote: »
    "House party in Galway results in increase in hospitalisations"

(By 1 from 442 cases.)

They all had to write a 2,000 word essay as punishment.

Christ it's under investigation.

Ah that’s ok then. The pregnant women of Ireland will sleep easy tonight then so.

How about waiting until we have an answer before bringing it up?

Ah that’s ok then. The pregnant women of Ireland will sleep easy tonight then so.

How about waiting until we have an answer before bringing it up?

Dr Glynn: "If anyone has concerns they should contact their obstetrician"

Sometimes you don't need to wait for a coroner's report to warn people.

Even if there is a 10% chance it's true it's better to be cautious. Best case scenario it's not related. Worse case scenario you took precaution.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,368 ✭✭✭Rebelbrowser

TheDoctor wrote: »
    RTE alert just now about it, see how one house party led to 400 cases etc.......

*No deaths and only 1 hospitalisation not included

The level and death and hospitalisation caused by an outbreak of 400+ cases is down to dumb luck. Surely that level of spread is perfectly newsworthy on its own! For example if that had gotten into a nursing home there could easily have been 20 deaths associated. Same outbreak, very different result.

(By 1 from 442 cases.)

They all had to write a 2,000 word essay as punishment.

Yet the gathering of 200 +Travellers in a cemetery in Rathkeale no mention of fines being imposed or essays for that matter distinct lack of outrage from the usual suspects in government. Seems students are the only target . No discrimination at all , at all.