Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part IX *Read OP For Mod Warnings*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,566 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

Nah, you didn't suggest it, you stated it clearly.

Racists and Weirdo's.
    The vast majority of those who took part belong to a number of factions including anti-vaccine, anti-mask and anti-lockdown far-right, far right groups, and those intent on trouble and disorder

Again not just my opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,536 ✭✭✭Silentcorner

Sobit1964 wrote: »
    In amusing news from the UK via skynews:

Nearly half of over-80s with both vaccine doses breaking lockdown rules...

I get the image of grannies knacker drinking in big not socially distanced groups - good for them!

Grannies are notorious for far right leanings, probably radicalized by online forums, so this is no surprise!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 550 ✭✭✭Sobit1964

Grannies are notorious for far right leanings, probably radicalized by online forums, so this is no surprise!!!

Bahahhahaha any minute now one of the regulars will be on to suggest they are scum and should be batton charged :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,809 ✭✭✭Hector Savage

cjyid wrote: »
    Well New Zealand have only started vaccinations so you'd hope once they have the majority of the population done, when 1 or 2 cases pop up in the future it'll be a case of just carrying on!

We'll find out soon enough anyway, they'll have their population done in no time the way those lads operate.

Hope so! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,053 ✭✭✭✭titan18

dalyboy wrote: »
    Germany is going reopen businesses and society from next week and they’ll review and proceed “every 14 days”.

Incredible how a civilised and economically advanced nation of proactive leadership can make a spectacle of Ireland’s bumbling leaderless government. (What was being touted in Ireland? Every 6 weeks to “review” our pathetic reopening. Hahaha)

https://www.google.com/amp/s/amp.dw.com/en/coronavirus-germany-extends-lockdown-with-plan-to-relax-restrictions/a-56763824

Yup, it's very clear and is a good mix (imo) between reopening and keeping covid under control (which should be every government's priority, not just keeping covid under control). It also gives people something to aim for and for them to not go crazy as you know what you'll lose, whereas here, loads of us think no matter what we do, we won't reopen, so there's no bloody point in sticking to the restrictions anyway.

Sobit1964 wrote: »
    Bahahhahaha any minute now one of the regulars will be on to suggest they are scum and should be batton charged :rolleyes:

You joined boards a few days ago, what are you talking about?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 550 ✭✭✭Sobit1964

Boggles wrote: »
    You joined boards a few days ago, what are you talking about?

I've been reading long enough to know that this post is worthy of one of these :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,792 ✭✭✭PowerToWait

It's a way of delegitimizing people.

Far right, racist, nazi, anti vax - if the media make people believe that everyone that is critical of lockdown is one of the above, than "normal" people will be afraid to admit they are against the current lockdowns.

Prevents it from reaching that critical mass...

How long do you think it would take to reach critical mass? There was less than a thousand at the so called protest, made up of knackers, loonies, hangers on and general reprobates. Maybe there were a few people who actually ever had jobs but not too many.

How long before the whole country buys in to that malarkey? It’s pure opportunism from the crazy right to platform their nut job conspiracies.

The vast majority of decent, right thinking people support our continued efforts to suppress the virus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,792 ✭✭✭PowerToWait

Of course it’s well known that once you get older than 55 you can no longer be a racist or believe any crazy right wing guff and are simply inoffensive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 255 ✭✭bluelamp

dalyboy wrote: »
    Germany is going reopen businesses and society from next week and they’ll review and proceed “every 14 days”.

Incredible how a civilised and economically advanced nation of proactive leadership can make a spectacle of Ireland’s bumbling leaderless government. (What was being touted in Ireland? Every 6 weeks to “review” our pathetic reopening. Hahaha)

https://www.google.com/amp/s/amp.dw.com/en/coronavirus-germany-extends-lockdown-with-plan-to-relax-restrictions/a-56763824

Interesting point: "At least one free rapid test per week will be available for all residents of Germany starting March 8."

Great move, considering most people spreading covid are more than likely unaware of their infection at the time.

Shame NPHET have been dithering for months about the merits of rapid testing.

bluelamp wrote: »
    Interesting point: "At least one free rapid test per week will be available for all residents of Germany starting March 8."

Great move, considering most people spreading covid are more than likely unaware of their infection at the time.

Shame NPHET have been dithering for months about the merits of rapid testing.

The only way that Tony Holohan's Personal Lockdown will end is when politicians grow a collective spine to ignore - yes, ignore - his demands for the strictest possible response to acceptable levels of community transmission.

Given that cases will rise over the summer, it's paramount that Government does not succumb to his demands for another Lv. 4 or 5 Lockdown.

Sensible, moderate, and proportionate mitigation measures - but no lockdown.

Biweekly, televised NPHET conferences must end at the start of April.

Instead, only the number of vaccinations administered should be released by the Department of Health.

The only way that Tony Holohan's Personal Lockdown will end is when politicians grow a collective spine to ignore - yes, ignore - his demands for the strictest possible response to acceptable levels of community transmission.

Given that cases will rise over the summer, it's paramount that Government does not succumb to his demands for another Lv. 4 or 5 Lockdown.

Instead, only the number of vaccinations administered should be released by the Department of Health.

So you are actively campaigning for the suppression of information?

A Nope from me.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 11,094 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hellrazer

RTE news headline is that the effect of the vaccine on healthcare workers has been "phenomenal"

This alone should give everyone a reason to celebrate or even look at loosening some restrictions sooner.

If the effect is the same in the nursing homes and in over 85s then it should be game over for the virus and as such the lockdowns should go with it.

However all we hear about are new variants this and new variant that.

People seem to think the goal of a vaccine is to eradicate covid when in reality its to stop serous illness and deaths and it looks like thats exactly what the vaccines are doing.

I really cant see Tony allowing the loosening up until we have huge amounts of the population vaccinated and thats where the politicians need to grow the spine you are talking about.

Yes we might have to live with covid and some people getting seriously ill and hospitalised but as long as its not killing people then we should be good to open things up.

So you are actively campaigning for the suppression of information?

Nope.

Not suppression, no.

Any information can be made available via reports and journalistic release etc., but we do not require a biweekly diet of insufferable fearmongering misery from this horrendously overpowered iatric triumvirate.

This is what other countries do.

What I am proposing is a shift away from NPHET; the eternal font of negativity - toward the Government taking back control and instituting sensible measures that make an impact.

Not suppression, no.

Any information can be made available via reports and journalistic release etc., but we do not require a biweekly diet of insufferable misery from this horrendously overpowered triumvirate.

What I am proposing is a shift away from NPHET; the eternal font of negativity - toward the Government taking back control and instituting sensible measures that make an impact.

So you want to stop the clear and concise messaging from our public health experts and hand it over to the likes of Donnelly, Foley and Leo?

There is a reason 80+ % people recently polled believe NPHET are doing a good job and the majority feel the government are not.

Your colorful opinion of our public health officials does not translate over to reality.

Again, suppression of information and handing it to people who are clearly out of their depth at "messaging" gets a clear No from me.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 17,643 Mod ✭✭✭✭Graham

Hellrazer wrote: »
    RTE news headline is that the effect of the vaccine on healthcare workers has been "phenomenal"

This alone should give everyone a reason to celebrate or even look at loosening some restrictions sooner.

Absolutely, fantastic news.
    If the effect is the same in the nursing homes and in over 85s then it should be game over for the virus and as such the lockdowns should go with it.

Probably a bit premature to be breaking out the victory pompoms.

So you want to stop the clear and concise messaging from our public health experts and hand it over to the likes of Donnelly, Foley and Leo?

There is a reason 80+ % people recently polled believe NPHET are doing a good job and the majority feel the government are not.

Your colorful opinion of our public health officials does not translate over to reality.

Again, suppression of information and handing it to people who are clearly out of their depth at "messaging" gets a clear No from me.

Political leaders have an obligation to assist the population through a crisis.

In practical terms, you must give the people some sort of hope. The best way of achieving that is to do what the Germans have done - outline a clear pathway toward an end to this phase of the pandemic.

It also means a focus away from cases and deaths, toward a focus on vaccinations administered.

There is no suppression of information here, nor would I recommend that.

But a shift in mentality and focus is very much required. The Irish Government has been strangulated by NPHET, now drunk on hypoxia and clearly not thinking straight.

Let's dump NPHET - retain the sensible mitigation measures, get on with vaccinations, and put together a clear and effective and positive plan that gets the job done.

Not suppression, no.

Any information can be made available via reports and journalistic release etc., but we do not require a biweekly diet of insufferable fearmongering misery from this horrendously overpowered iatric triumvirate.

The notion that government are those best place to disseminate information is quite bizarre. NPHET should be fully accountable to government, government should set the scope of their responsibility and hold them to that, but the idea that comms. on public health should not lie with those who responsible for it is strange.
    Its like in the US when the government of the day didn't like what Fauci et. al. had to say, they continuously sought to undermine and sideline. Is thi the approach ye are looking for? It worked out well over there

The notion that government are those best place to disseminate information is quite bizarre. NPHET should be fully accountable to government, government should set the scope of their responsibility and hold them to that, but the idea that comms. on public health should not lie with those who responsible for it is strange.
    Its like in the US when the government of the day didn't like what Fauci et. al. had to say, they continuously sought to undermine and sideline. Is thi the approach ye are looking for? It worked out well over there

I'm against the current Irish-NPHET model and I'm against the Trumpian model.

I'm in favour of the model I outlined in great detail.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 965 ✭✭✭SnuggyBear

The vast majority of decent, right thinking people support our continued efforts to suppress the virus.

Why was there a report on rte news last night about more people moving around and breaking restrictions then? They are losing more of the public every day that passes.

In practical terms, you must give the people some sort of hope. The best way of achieving that is to do what the Germans have done - outline a clear pathway toward an end to this phase of the pandemic.

I hate to break this to you, but we are not German.

They will by and large get most things right, eventually. They have spent the pandemic helping other European nations.

But even in their ambition plan it is highlighted several times there is brakes and reversal clauses.

We do have one advantage over the Germans, where pressure is put on them from regional governance we don't have that annoyance.

Angela has done well to keep them by and large on message, the likes of Spain and Italy have not fared so well.

But if you are proposing we silence public health and hand it over to self serving politicians, like happened in the USA than I would suggest you carefully reconsider that proposal.

SnuggyBear wrote: »
    Why was there a report on rte news last night about more people moving around and breaking restrictions then? They are losing more of the public every day that passes.

And this from last week:
    There is strong support for reopening society and the economy as soon as possible, according to the latest Irish Times/Ipsos MRBI opinion poll, with only a minority favouring a long lockdown until the virus has been eliminated.

The poll also shows that the zero-Covid approach is not endorsed by a large majority of respondents, who say they want things to get back to normal once the elderly and vulnerable have been vaccinated.

The mainstream media are just relentless in their negativity

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,464 ✭✭✭landofthetree

Political leaders have an obligation to assist the population through a crisis.

It also means a focus away from cases and deaths, toward a focus on vaccinations administered.

There is no suppression of information here, nor would I recommend that.

But a shift in mentality and focus is very much required. The Irish Government has been strangulated by NPHET, now drunk on hypoxia and clearly not thinking straight.

Let's dump NPHET - retain the sensible mitigation measures, get on with vaccinations, and put together a clear and effective and positive plan that gets the job done.

Have they? :rolleyes:

https://www.politico.eu/article/trapped-in-germany-covid-coronavirus-nightmare/amp/?__twitter_impression=true
    How “crazy” it must be, my friend wrote, to be “an American journalist in Germany watching from afar as the U.S. basically falls apart.”

My German friends agreed. I was lucky, they told me, to reside in a country that functions, one led by a trained scientist and not an “incompetent lunatic.”

But six months later (most of them spent in the confines of my home), I don’t feel so lucky.

This week, Germany will enter its fifth-straight month of lockdown with no end in sight. Though infection rates have declined in recent weeks, it remains unclear when schools and shops, not to mention restaurants and bars, will reopen. Amid the uncertainty, small businesses across the country are facing ruin. Such fears, coupled with frustration over the seemingly neverending restrictions, have soured the national mood.

True - it becomes even more apparent after 1 positive item is published.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,030 ✭✭✭growleaves

NPHET should be fully accountable to government, government should set the scope of their responsibility and hold them to that

That hasn't happened though raind. NPHET have become political actors, in their running to the media to influence policy, and the Government are keeping them around as a magnet for dissatisfaction and to shaft them later on.

If you thought NPHET were only a conduit for messaging you wouldn't care if they were relegated from the blaze of publicity. Similarly, those of us who oppose NPHET as political actors wouldn't care about their claiming the spotlight if they were just an information service.

Donnelly et al should stop blurring where authority rests for their own advantage. And of course a government minister can communicate effectively if it comes to that. Presenting advice "in a clear and concise way" is not a function of science, but of Public Relations.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 11,094 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hellrazer

Jesus - we`re in agreement for once :D:D:D:D

Out of date article, is out of date article.

From the same source you quoted from, here is what you forgot to quote.

"The vast majority of those who took part belong to a number of factions including anti-vaccine, anti-mask and anti-lockdown far-right, far right groups, and those intent on trouble and disorder"

This "quote" you keep wheeling out like a stuck record is inaccurate, and you should stop using it lest the extremely tiny minority of people here who still think you're a legitimate voice change their mind.

Fix your ****.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,334 ✭✭✭DenMan

It's full relaxation mode for Conor McGregor and his no mask shop in Kildare.

https://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/conor-mcgregor-buys-his-whiskey-without-wearing-mask-in-kildare-store-1090903.html