Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XXXIII-231,484 ROI(4,610 deaths)116,197 NI (2,107 deaths)(23/03)Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,071 ✭✭✭Sweet.Science

Eod100 wrote: »
    Great to see. Wonder how much of a role vaccines are playing so far in reduced rate. Great to see either way.

You would have to think so . Every day i see the vaccine numbers i think of them as being removed from case numbers , hospital numbers, ICU numbers and deaths going forward

Its refreshing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Gruffalux

tenreds wrote: »
    Yeah I’m one of the positives

Awwww. Hope you have an easy go of it. You haven't lost wit if that is any help! Mind yourself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,057 ✭✭✭✭titan18

Yay at those cases. Is there much of a backlog does anyone know? Might get a sub 400 announced day if not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,517 ✭✭✭pauldry

Great numbers

Take that Coronavirus!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 322 ✭✭muddypuppy

Only 11,000 tests. If we did 33,000 tests, there'd be 1,269 cases, the highest since Feb 4th.

How's that?

If we tested the whole population at once we would have found around 200k cases, more cases in a single than all the cases so far. Really makes you think :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,132 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Yohan Blake: 'I would rather miss the Olympics than take the Covid vaccine'

“I don’t want to get into it now, but I have my reasons.”
    They never want to get into it, do they?

Link
    Any more than anyone else should have to get into it. He accepts the consequences of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,219 ✭✭✭prunudo

Fingers crossed we could see a sub 400 case numbers later this week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 247 ✭✭CoronaBlocker

is_that_so wrote: »
    Any more than anyone else should have to get into it. He accepts the consequences of it.

If you're a public figure and make a statement then the onus is surely on you to back it up, no? How can he accept the consequences if he just drops a bomb like that and then refuses to elaborate?

'The moon landings were faked but I refuse to discuss it therefore I'm right and you're all wrong.'

Edit to italicise the sarcastic comment at the end there as apparently some weren't able to figure out what was going on :-/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,119 ✭✭✭manofwisdom

There has to be a negative in those figures somehow.

Of the swabs processed 11227 was negative.

If you're a public figure and make a statement then the onus is surely on you to back it up, no? How can he accept the consequences if he just drops a bomb like that and then refuses to elaborate?

The moon landings were faked but I refuse to discuss it therefore I'm right and you're all wrong.
    Eh, thanks for sharing all of that. Not everyone needs to be vaccinated. Unless it's mandatory where you live it is up to health authorities to encourage enough people do so - that seems to be 70%-80%.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,578 ✭✭✭✭Turtwig

OK, thanks for sharing all of that.

You may scoff and disagree all you like but it's a well known fact the moon landings were faked to cover up the actual Mars landing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,368 ✭✭✭Rebelbrowser

Turtwig wrote: »
    You may scoff and disagree all you like but it's a well known fact the moon landings were faked to cover up the actual Mars landing.

As in, Martians landing here? I knew it.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,839 ✭✭✭fred funk }{

prunudo wrote: »

I'd be fairly confident we'll see sub 400 several times this week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,570 ✭✭✭Tyrone212

Link

Just tell him it is performance enhancing drug and he'll inject himself.

"Four Jamaican runners who admitted using a banned substance have each been suspended for three months.

The bans for Yohan Blake, Lansford Spence, Marvin Anderson and Allodin Fothergill took effect immediately after a sentencing hearing yesterday assembled by Jamaica's sports ministry.

They all admitted to having taken a banned stimulant before Jamaica's national championships in June."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,500 ✭✭✭Deeper Blue

Link

Considering his history I hope the irony isn't lost on him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,595 ✭✭✭✭CIARAN_BOYLE

prunudo wrote: »

Monday and Tuesday are usually the lowest swab days of the week so we probably won't see it.

Eh, thanks for sharing all of that. Not everyone needs to be vaccinated. Unless it's mandatory where you live it is up to health authorities to encourage enough people do so - that seems to be 70%-80%.

well if you want to train in the gym etc, you'll have to get one.. bloody joke really

https://www.msn.com/en-ie/news/other/government-could-introduce-green-cards-to-access-services-post-vaccine/ar-BB1e5KNX?ocid=entnewsntp

Non sequitur.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,780 ✭✭✭✭ninebeanrows

As some have alluded to it would be nice to think the drop is related to the vaccination of HCW, hospitals and residential settings. These are where over 50% of cases have been stemming from but it will only take a small amount of vaccine to eliminate it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,172 ✭✭✭wadacrack

Considering his history I hope the irony isn't lost on him

But you don't know the reasons for him not taking it. Maybe his worried about side effects disrupting his training regime etc. PED's obviously benefit him and not really relevant now

Turtwig wrote: »

There's the wagon circling again :rolleyes:

rusty cole wrote: »
    Ah, that was just Leo saying we'll discuss it, again that extrapolation from what the Israelis are up to. Really can't imagine businesses trying to enforce that here.

Non sequitur.
    Well I was taking the lead from your own rambling stream of consciousness OP!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,241 ✭✭✭Sanjuro

Ah, that was just Leo saying we'll discuss it, again that extrapolation from what the Israelis are up to. Really can't imagine businesses trying to enforce that here.

I could see member based services such as gyms tying it to their memberships, somehow. The gym I'm in had procedures to access the gyms last time they were open. It was an incredibly minor inconvenience and one I was happy to go through.

Well I was taking the lead from your own rambling stream of consciousness OP!

Is that so?

Sanjuro wrote: »
    I could see member based services such as gyms tying it to their memberships, somehow. The gym I'm in had procedures to access the gyms last time they were open. It was an incredibly minor inconvenience and one I was happy to go through.
    They might but it would reduce their membership as current processes apply to everyone without any special requirements. Most people are not tied to their gyms. We just have a booking app, a great innovation anyway, and one I hope they keep. I don't think it's something they favour in government and that was more of a Leo answer to a question.

Is that so?
    Every so often that missing question mark comes back to haunt me!

• Site Banned Posts: 5,975 ✭✭✭podgeandrodge

Of course it isn't. To be absolutely clear: My specific issue with this group, based on the leaked emails, is the fact that they were able to get their propaganda pushed by the national broadcaster and disguised as organic, homegrown content. That's the issue. To give you an analogy, it would be a similar situation if RTE did a special talk show or investigation into the environmental dangers of meat consumption, and then we discovered that in fact, the content of those shows was authored and produced by an animal rights group who had a totally different agenda than the one RTE ostensibly had for airing the segment, and we were never told that this lobby group had written it. In other words, it was claimed to be about environmentalism, but in fact that aspect was a trojan horse to push an animal rights agenda by the back door.

According to the leaks, this group's objective in running these segments on RTE was to scare and depress the public in order to manipulate us into supporting their zero COVID strategy and lobbying our politicians accordingly. Yet RTE aired the segments as if they were just lighthearted craic at best and a factual take on the future of living with COVID at worst.

This kind of fundamental dishonesty simply cannot be allowed in my view. It's similar to the whole issue of Instagram influencers not declaring when a product they "just picked up and are so excited about!" turns out to be something they've been paid or given freebies in exchange for shilling.

Bottom line is this. If a lobby group is being approached about writing and producing segments for supposedly "factual" television programmes aired by our national broadcaster, then either that fact must be disclosed to the public at the time of the segment's airing, or the national broadcaster is essentially abusing its trust-relationship with the public by disguising agenda-driven propaganda as neutral programming.

Does this make more sense?

Another analogy would be if they "just happened" to run a bunch of segments featuring interviews with recovering alcoholics and liver specialists around the subject of binge drinking, and it was subsequently leaked that they had been in direct contact with say AAI about running such a segment, and AAI were privately admitting in their own internal communication to using this platform in order to try and "trick" the public into supporting minimum pricing or earlier closing times.

The issue isn't what was said, it's the fact that it was disguised as a random, organic segment that RTE came up with for the craic, when in fact we have it in black and white (assuming, again, that the emails are legitimate) that it formed part of a sustained campaign to manipulate public opinion into supporting a specified political ideology or objective.

I don't think it's remotely controversial to suggest that being a publicly funded, public service broadcaster and engaging in this type of behaviour - for whatever reason - are mutually exclusive. If segments appearing on current affairs programmes are being written and directed by lobby groups - lobby groups which RTE is in regular direct contact with, apparently - then this must be disclosed openly and obviously to those viewing it. It should be watermarked into the beginnings of the segments as far as I'm concerned - just as I would have to publicly state for the record that the SuperDry hoodie I "just picked up" in the shops was in fact gifted to me by SuperDry on the provisio that I give them some free publicity in my Instagram story.

Without such rules, public service broadcasting has an inherent deficit of trust. In my opinion, this incident should by rights severely damage RTE's credibility, and necessitate a very public statement from those in charge addressing it and, assuming the allegations are true, profusely apologising - not for airing the segment, but for not informing the public as to its true origins.

would a complaint to Comreg be appropriate for things like this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,241 ✭✭✭Sanjuro

They might but it would reduce their membership as current processes apply to everyone without any special requirements. Most people are not tied to their gyms. We just have a booking app, a great innovation anyway, and one I hope they keep. I don't think it's something they favour in government and that was more of a Leo answer to a question.

Yeah, that's fair enough. Also, the logistical nightmare that would be involved in getting everyone's membership up to scratch might be off-putting for the gyms.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,277 ✭✭✭✭Eod100

alentejo wrote: »
    I think the UK and NI figures are also very good at the moment.

I think the UK might have the same or lower figures than Ireland at the moment. I suspect the UK will be the first euro country to see a reduction driven by the vaccine.

Yeah think NI has a third of all adults vaccinated with 1st dose. Will be good for cases here too in long run.